• Report: #272415

Complaint Review: Sunset Lagoon, Royal Sunset, Sunset Group

Thank You

Read how Ripoff Report saves consumers millions.

  • Submitted: Tue, September 04, 2007
  • Updated: Mon, May 05, 2014

  • Reported By:Northville Michigan
Sunset Lagoon, Royal Sunset, Sunset Group
Blvd. Kukulcan Km. 10, Lote 13-B, Zona Hotelera Nationwide Mexico
  • Phone: 011-(52)-9988808750
  • Web:
  • Category: Resorts

Sunset Lagoon, Royal Sunset, Sunset Group, Sunset Fishermen Fraud, Misrepresentation, Timeshare Scam Cancun Quintana Roo

*Consumer Comment: Sunset Group Timeshare Scam

*Author of original report: Issues resolved

*Author of original report: We are just missing one thing

*UPDATE Employee: UPDATE. ISSUE HAS BEEN RESOLVED TO HIS ENTERELY SATISFACTION !!

*Author of original report: Negotiation effort from SUNSET disappeared.

*Author of original report: Thanx you, Rosalia, for your response (December 4, 2007)

*Author of original report: Thanx you, Rosalia, for your response (December 4, 2007)

*Author of original report: Thanx you, Rosalia, for your response (December 4, 2007)

*Author of original report: Thanx you, Rosalia, for your response (December 4, 2007)

*UPDATE Employee: Response from the Sunset Group

*UPDATE Employee: Response from the Sunset Group

*UPDATE Employee: Response from the Sunset Group

*UPDATE Employee: Response from the Sunset Group

What's this?
What's this?
What's this?
Is this
Ripoff Report
About you?
Ripoff Report
A business' first
line of defense
on the Internet.
If your business is
willing to make a
commitment to
customer satisfaction
Click here now..

Does your business have a bad reputation?
Fix it the right way.
Corporate Advocacy Program™

SEO Reputation Management at its best!

On January 22, 2007 I visited Sunset Lagoon and Royal Sunset for a timeshare presentation that was supposed to last 90 minutes. Six hours later I ended up buying a timeshare that still haunts me today.

Why did I purchase more timeshare weeks than I have vacation time? A timeshare that I knew I could not afford.

The salesman sold me on what a great investment a timeshare is. The salesman explained to me how to make money with timeshares. Pay $695/week (also unclear at the time, he made it sound like $695/year for all four weeks) and rent it for over $1500/week. A profit of at least $800 per week!! Just to prove this, they offered a special marketing promotion to purchase my 2 VIP weeks at $1500 each for the first 3 years! This $9000 is deducted from the purchase price and I should be able to get more per week according to the sales team. What a wonderful investment!

Sunset Resorts emphasized that the marketing deal was so good that I will not be able to cancel the deal after it was done. I signed a document waiving my right to a 5 day cancellation period. In the main body of the document, there were several statements to be initialed showing acceptance. I did not initial this clause, I also did not initial a statement that I would be unable to make reservations for six months after becoming a member (signing the contract). Separate forms for both non-initialed clauses were given to me that I signed. These separate forms stated the opposite of the clause that I had not initialed.

That evening I felt I had made a mistake, the next day even more so. The next day, I met a timeshare owner on the tour bus who told me how overpriced the Sunset Lagoon was. He also crushed the idea that anyone would rent a timeshare for anything more than the maintenance fees. I would have cancelled, but I knew I had signed the waiver eliminating my right to cancel.

After returning I tried to think positive and make the best of my mistake. I told many people of my stupidity and fortunately a co-worker pointed out to me that I was a victim of fraud. He showed me that the five day waiver forced on me by Sunset Resorts was illegal by Mexican law. Unfortunately, this didn't happen until late May.

I reviewed the document copies provided by Sunset. I realized a copy of the waiver and the section that I did not initial regarding the 5 day cancellation period was not included. The clause that I did not initial regarding the inability to use the timeshare during the first 6 months was included, but the separate form stating the opposite was not.

Since then I have sent several emails to Sunset Resorts asking them to cancel my contract and return all monies paid. They have responded with threats and now have a company, Resorts Management International (RMI), trying to collect money from me and threatening to sue. I am told, by letter, I have 30 days to respond. At least this time they gave me something in writing.

If anyone can offer any helpful advice I would appreciate it very much.

Gabriel
Northville, Michigan
U.S.A.

This report was posted on Ripoff Report on 09/04/2007 09:35 PM and is a permanent record located here: http://www.ripoffreport.com/r/Sunset-Lagoon-Royal-Sunset-Sunset-Group/nationwide/Sunset-Lagoon-Royal-Sunset-Sunset-Group-Sunset-Fishermen-Fraud-Misrepresentation-Time-272415. The posting time indicated is Arizona local time. Arizona does not observe daylight savings so the post time may be Mountain or Pacific depending on the time of year.

Ripoff Report has an exclusive license to this report. It may not be copied without the written permission of Ripoff Report.

Click Here to read other Ripoff Reports on Sunset Lagoon, Royal Sunset, Sunset Group

Search for additional reports

If you would like to see more Rip-off Reports on this company/individual, search here:

Search Tips
Report & Rebuttal
Respond to this report!
What's this?
Also a victim?
What's this?
Repair Your Reputation!
What's this?
REBUTTALS & REPLIES:
0Author 13Consumer 0Employee/Owner
Updates & Rebuttals

#1 Consumer Comment

Sunset Group Timeshare Scam

AUTHOR: RobMad - ()

Salesperson promises that they can rent out their weeks for over 4 times the price of the maintenance fee. They can choose to use some weeks and rent others so that they have free vacations, or rent them all so that they can pay off their membership quicker. The clients are referred to a rental company that charges them a listing fee to market the property and does not rent any weeks. This is a forum with more complaints about Sunset:

Sunset Group Timeshare Complaints

 

 

Respond to this report!
What's this?

#2 Author of original report

Issues resolved

AUTHOR: Gabriel - (U.S.A.)

We have received a cancellation letter from Sunset and I consider all the issues resolved with Sunset Lagoon and the Sunset Group.

Thank you.
Respond to this report!
What's this?

#3 Author of original report

We are just missing one thing

AUTHOR: Gabriel - (U.S.A.)

Rosalia is correct. I have come to an agreement with the Sunset Group.

However, I am still missing one thing. A letter confirming this agreement from Sunset.

Based on the other comments I see, it looks like their efforts are improving and I am sure they will be helpful in this regard too.

Thank you.
Respond to this report!
What's this?

#4 UPDATE Employee

UPDATE. ISSUE HAS BEEN RESOLVED TO HIS ENTERELY SATISFACTION !!

AUTHOR: Rosalia - (Mexico)

The claim for this member has been resolved. And he accepts the proposal we made !!
Respond to this report!
What's this?

#5 Author of original report

Negotiation effort from SUNSET disappeared.

AUTHOR: Gabriel - (U.S.A.)

In my last update on December 22 I stated that Sunset was now trying to work with me. Amazingly, since that posting there has not been a single attempt by Sunset to contact me.

They have responded to exactly ZERO of my emails requesting an update since December 17th.

It seems that all they wanted was for me to post something positive about them. Now they see no need to follow up. Maybe it is now the peak season and Sunset is busy scamming new victims.

I also noticed Sunset's Better Business Bureau rating slip from "D" to "F" over the last few months.

Since the beginning of March 2008 I started numbering my requests for an update to Sunset. I am only at 4 now (I don't send an email everyday).
Respond to this report!
What's this?

#6 Author of original report

Thanx you, Rosalia, for your response (December 4, 2007)

AUTHOR: Gabriel - (U.S.A.)

I sent the following to Sunset on December 4th to allow them a chance to respond before posting.



Thank you, Rosalia, for your response.

The contract was entered January 22, I sent an email to cancel on June 3rd. My original complaint contains information to this effect and I did not try to mislead anybody.

So I admit, I did not try to cancel until 4 months and 12 days after entering the contract. As I explained in my original complaint, this is due to my belief that I had waived my right to cancel after signing a waiver of my 5 day cancellation right. I knew Sunset's activities were deceptive, but this was when I learned their activities were illegal. At that point, trying to make the best of a bad situation was not enough, I had to cancel.

In an email from Rosalia on July 6th, she did offer a temporary cancellation to allow me to move to a reduced service package. I wrote back that I wanted a cancellation and a full refund. The next email I received from Rosalia/Sunset stated that they turned my file over to the developers because I was insisting on a refund. I understood this as, dont talk to me anymore, take it up with thedevelopers

Is that a "good faith effort?"

The next time I was contacted was by Sunset's debt collection agency. That was another interesting experience that I have taken many notes on. The collection agency also offered to help negotiate a settlement. They offered arrangements to continue as a member and pay off my debt, buy out the contract (which suddenly has increased by a major amount) and enjoy membership, or buy out of the contract for a number in the mid $20,000's. I thought they must have something else to offer, but no, just more threats. "If you don't pay, your credit will be so bad you won't be able to buy a stick of gum for 10 years."

Good faith effort?"

On December 1st, I received a letter threatening a lawsuit for libel based on this posting and another on thesqueakywheel.com. It is listed as the 3rd request, I never received the first two requests, but this is the type of company we are dealing with in Sunset Lagoon/Sunset Royal/Sunset Group.

In the letter they provide the name of the law firm that will sue me. They also provide a phone number for this law firm, I called the provided phone number and it was the wrong number. Is this a simple mistake on the part of Sunset? Or part of their tactics?

Recently, I put together a pamphlet warning tourists about the dangers of purchasing timeshares in Mexico and especially at the Sunset Lagoon/Sunset Group. It is nearing peak travel season and I live near a major airport with several direct flights to Cancun everyday. I plan to help other tourists avoid my pain by distributing the pamphlets at the international check in counters 3 to 1 hours before any direct flight to Cancun.

If anyone is interested in receiving a copy of these pamphlets (this offer includes employees of the Sunset Group), please contact me and I will send you a copy.

In the end, I want to come to an agreement with Sunset more than they do. I don't want to waste my time on this. It is much better to put it behind us all. But I don't see that "good faith effort" from Sunset at this time.

To summarize, I was deceived into believing a timeshare at Sunset Lagoon was a great investment. Then I was defrauded by the illegal waiver of my 5 day cancellation right. Now, I receive threats after trying to cancel and get a refund.



______________________________
I sent the above rebuttal to Sunset on December 4th, 2007 to give Sunset another opportunity to make things right before I posted again.

For the first time, I am seeing some communication from Sunset and what appears to be a willingness to work towards cancelling the fraudulent contract and refunding monies paid.

They have offered a lesser service option again. Due to my experience with Sunset, I would cause more trouble if I returned to Cancun than it would be worth to both sides. Never mind that I have no desire to continue to do business with Sunset after this is resolved.

We still do not have a satisfactory outcome, but I must acknowledge that the Sunset Group does seem to have decided to drop the threats for now.
Respond to this report!
What's this?

#7 Author of original report

Thanx you, Rosalia, for your response (December 4, 2007)

AUTHOR: Gabriel - (U.S.A.)

I sent the following to Sunset on December 4th to allow them a chance to respond before posting.



Thank you, Rosalia, for your response.

The contract was entered January 22, I sent an email to cancel on June 3rd. My original complaint contains information to this effect and I did not try to mislead anybody.

So I admit, I did not try to cancel until 4 months and 12 days after entering the contract. As I explained in my original complaint, this is due to my belief that I had waived my right to cancel after signing a waiver of my 5 day cancellation right. I knew Sunset's activities were deceptive, but this was when I learned their activities were illegal. At that point, trying to make the best of a bad situation was not enough, I had to cancel.

In an email from Rosalia on July 6th, she did offer a temporary cancellation to allow me to move to a reduced service package. I wrote back that I wanted a cancellation and a full refund. The next email I received from Rosalia/Sunset stated that they turned my file over to the developers because I was insisting on a refund. I understood this as, dont talk to me anymore, take it up with thedevelopers

Is that a "good faith effort?"

The next time I was contacted was by Sunset's debt collection agency. That was another interesting experience that I have taken many notes on. The collection agency also offered to help negotiate a settlement. They offered arrangements to continue as a member and pay off my debt, buy out the contract (which suddenly has increased by a major amount) and enjoy membership, or buy out of the contract for a number in the mid $20,000's. I thought they must have something else to offer, but no, just more threats. "If you don't pay, your credit will be so bad you won't be able to buy a stick of gum for 10 years."

Good faith effort?"

On December 1st, I received a letter threatening a lawsuit for libel based on this posting and another on thesqueakywheel.com. It is listed as the 3rd request, I never received the first two requests, but this is the type of company we are dealing with in Sunset Lagoon/Sunset Royal/Sunset Group.

In the letter they provide the name of the law firm that will sue me. They also provide a phone number for this law firm, I called the provided phone number and it was the wrong number. Is this a simple mistake on the part of Sunset? Or part of their tactics?

Recently, I put together a pamphlet warning tourists about the dangers of purchasing timeshares in Mexico and especially at the Sunset Lagoon/Sunset Group. It is nearing peak travel season and I live near a major airport with several direct flights to Cancun everyday. I plan to help other tourists avoid my pain by distributing the pamphlets at the international check in counters 3 to 1 hours before any direct flight to Cancun.

If anyone is interested in receiving a copy of these pamphlets (this offer includes employees of the Sunset Group), please contact me and I will send you a copy.

In the end, I want to come to an agreement with Sunset more than they do. I don't want to waste my time on this. It is much better to put it behind us all. But I don't see that "good faith effort" from Sunset at this time.

To summarize, I was deceived into believing a timeshare at Sunset Lagoon was a great investment. Then I was defrauded by the illegal waiver of my 5 day cancellation right. Now, I receive threats after trying to cancel and get a refund.



______________________________
I sent the above rebuttal to Sunset on December 4th, 2007 to give Sunset another opportunity to make things right before I posted again.

For the first time, I am seeing some communication from Sunset and what appears to be a willingness to work towards cancelling the fraudulent contract and refunding monies paid.

They have offered a lesser service option again. Due to my experience with Sunset, I would cause more trouble if I returned to Cancun than it would be worth to both sides. Never mind that I have no desire to continue to do business with Sunset after this is resolved.

We still do not have a satisfactory outcome, but I must acknowledge that the Sunset Group does seem to have decided to drop the threats for now.
Respond to this report!
What's this?

#8 Author of original report

Thanx you, Rosalia, for your response (December 4, 2007)

AUTHOR: Gabriel - (U.S.A.)

I sent the following to Sunset on December 4th to allow them a chance to respond before posting.



Thank you, Rosalia, for your response.

The contract was entered January 22, I sent an email to cancel on June 3rd. My original complaint contains information to this effect and I did not try to mislead anybody.

So I admit, I did not try to cancel until 4 months and 12 days after entering the contract. As I explained in my original complaint, this is due to my belief that I had waived my right to cancel after signing a waiver of my 5 day cancellation right. I knew Sunset's activities were deceptive, but this was when I learned their activities were illegal. At that point, trying to make the best of a bad situation was not enough, I had to cancel.

In an email from Rosalia on July 6th, she did offer a temporary cancellation to allow me to move to a reduced service package. I wrote back that I wanted a cancellation and a full refund. The next email I received from Rosalia/Sunset stated that they turned my file over to the developers because I was insisting on a refund. I understood this as, dont talk to me anymore, take it up with thedevelopers

Is that a "good faith effort?"

The next time I was contacted was by Sunset's debt collection agency. That was another interesting experience that I have taken many notes on. The collection agency also offered to help negotiate a settlement. They offered arrangements to continue as a member and pay off my debt, buy out the contract (which suddenly has increased by a major amount) and enjoy membership, or buy out of the contract for a number in the mid $20,000's. I thought they must have something else to offer, but no, just more threats. "If you don't pay, your credit will be so bad you won't be able to buy a stick of gum for 10 years."

Good faith effort?"

On December 1st, I received a letter threatening a lawsuit for libel based on this posting and another on thesqueakywheel.com. It is listed as the 3rd request, I never received the first two requests, but this is the type of company we are dealing with in Sunset Lagoon/Sunset Royal/Sunset Group.

In the letter they provide the name of the law firm that will sue me. They also provide a phone number for this law firm, I called the provided phone number and it was the wrong number. Is this a simple mistake on the part of Sunset? Or part of their tactics?

Recently, I put together a pamphlet warning tourists about the dangers of purchasing timeshares in Mexico and especially at the Sunset Lagoon/Sunset Group. It is nearing peak travel season and I live near a major airport with several direct flights to Cancun everyday. I plan to help other tourists avoid my pain by distributing the pamphlets at the international check in counters 3 to 1 hours before any direct flight to Cancun.

If anyone is interested in receiving a copy of these pamphlets (this offer includes employees of the Sunset Group), please contact me and I will send you a copy.

In the end, I want to come to an agreement with Sunset more than they do. I don't want to waste my time on this. It is much better to put it behind us all. But I don't see that "good faith effort" from Sunset at this time.

To summarize, I was deceived into believing a timeshare at Sunset Lagoon was a great investment. Then I was defrauded by the illegal waiver of my 5 day cancellation right. Now, I receive threats after trying to cancel and get a refund.



______________________________
I sent the above rebuttal to Sunset on December 4th, 2007 to give Sunset another opportunity to make things right before I posted again.

For the first time, I am seeing some communication from Sunset and what appears to be a willingness to work towards cancelling the fraudulent contract and refunding monies paid.

They have offered a lesser service option again. Due to my experience with Sunset, I would cause more trouble if I returned to Cancun than it would be worth to both sides. Never mind that I have no desire to continue to do business with Sunset after this is resolved.

We still do not have a satisfactory outcome, but I must acknowledge that the Sunset Group does seem to have decided to drop the threats for now.
Respond to this report!
What's this?

#9 Author of original report

Thanx you, Rosalia, for your response (December 4, 2007)

AUTHOR: Gabriel - (U.S.A.)

I sent the following to Sunset on December 4th to allow them a chance to respond before posting.



Thank you, Rosalia, for your response.

The contract was entered January 22, I sent an email to cancel on June 3rd. My original complaint contains information to this effect and I did not try to mislead anybody.

So I admit, I did not try to cancel until 4 months and 12 days after entering the contract. As I explained in my original complaint, this is due to my belief that I had waived my right to cancel after signing a waiver of my 5 day cancellation right. I knew Sunset's activities were deceptive, but this was when I learned their activities were illegal. At that point, trying to make the best of a bad situation was not enough, I had to cancel.

In an email from Rosalia on July 6th, she did offer a temporary cancellation to allow me to move to a reduced service package. I wrote back that I wanted a cancellation and a full refund. The next email I received from Rosalia/Sunset stated that they turned my file over to the developers because I was insisting on a refund. I understood this as, dont talk to me anymore, take it up with thedevelopers

Is that a "good faith effort?"

The next time I was contacted was by Sunset's debt collection agency. That was another interesting experience that I have taken many notes on. The collection agency also offered to help negotiate a settlement. They offered arrangements to continue as a member and pay off my debt, buy out the contract (which suddenly has increased by a major amount) and enjoy membership, or buy out of the contract for a number in the mid $20,000's. I thought they must have something else to offer, but no, just more threats. "If you don't pay, your credit will be so bad you won't be able to buy a stick of gum for 10 years."

Good faith effort?"

On December 1st, I received a letter threatening a lawsuit for libel based on this posting and another on thesqueakywheel.com. It is listed as the 3rd request, I never received the first two requests, but this is the type of company we are dealing with in Sunset Lagoon/Sunset Royal/Sunset Group.

In the letter they provide the name of the law firm that will sue me. They also provide a phone number for this law firm, I called the provided phone number and it was the wrong number. Is this a simple mistake on the part of Sunset? Or part of their tactics?

Recently, I put together a pamphlet warning tourists about the dangers of purchasing timeshares in Mexico and especially at the Sunset Lagoon/Sunset Group. It is nearing peak travel season and I live near a major airport with several direct flights to Cancun everyday. I plan to help other tourists avoid my pain by distributing the pamphlets at the international check in counters 3 to 1 hours before any direct flight to Cancun.

If anyone is interested in receiving a copy of these pamphlets (this offer includes employees of the Sunset Group), please contact me and I will send you a copy.

In the end, I want to come to an agreement with Sunset more than they do. I don't want to waste my time on this. It is much better to put it behind us all. But I don't see that "good faith effort" from Sunset at this time.

To summarize, I was deceived into believing a timeshare at Sunset Lagoon was a great investment. Then I was defrauded by the illegal waiver of my 5 day cancellation right. Now, I receive threats after trying to cancel and get a refund.



______________________________
I sent the above rebuttal to Sunset on December 4th, 2007 to give Sunset another opportunity to make things right before I posted again.

For the first time, I am seeing some communication from Sunset and what appears to be a willingness to work towards cancelling the fraudulent contract and refunding monies paid.

They have offered a lesser service option again. Due to my experience with Sunset, I would cause more trouble if I returned to Cancun than it would be worth to both sides. Never mind that I have no desire to continue to do business with Sunset after this is resolved.

We still do not have a satisfactory outcome, but I must acknowledge that the Sunset Group does seem to have decided to drop the threats for now.
Respond to this report!
What's this?

#10 UPDATE Employee

Response from the Sunset Group

AUTHOR: Rosalia - (Mexico)

Gabriel did not request cancellation until after 6 months of his joining our club. Up until then all communication we had with him was ok and all questions asked were clarified by our staff to his satisfaction. In a good faith effort to assist him, we tried working with him in reaching an agreement to reduce his membership which he declined. Sunset Group tried in good faith to resolve this issue before further action had to be taken.
Respond to this report!
What's this?

#11 UPDATE Employee

Response from the Sunset Group

AUTHOR: Rosalia - (Mexico)

Gabriel did not request cancellation until after 6 months of his joining our club. Up until then all communication we had with him was ok and all questions asked were clarified by our staff to his satisfaction. In a good faith effort to assist him, we tried working with him in reaching an agreement to reduce his membership which he declined. Sunset Group tried in good faith to resolve this issue before further action had to be taken.
Respond to this report!
What's this?

#12 UPDATE Employee

Response from the Sunset Group

AUTHOR: Rosalia - (Mexico)

Gabriel did not request cancellation until after 6 months of his joining our club. Up until then all communication we had with him was ok and all questions asked were clarified by our staff to his satisfaction. In a good faith effort to assist him, we tried working with him in reaching an agreement to reduce his membership which he declined. Sunset Group tried in good faith to resolve this issue before further action had to be taken.
Respond to this report!
What's this?

#13 UPDATE Employee

Response from the Sunset Group

AUTHOR: Rosalia - (Mexico)

Gabriel did not request cancellation until after 6 months of his joining our club. Up until then all communication we had with him was ok and all questions asked were clarified by our staff to his satisfaction. In a good faith effort to assist him, we tried working with him in reaching an agreement to reduce his membership which he declined. Sunset Group tried in good faith to resolve this issue before further action had to be taken.
Respond to this report!
What's this?
Report & Rebuttal
Respond to this report!
What's this?
Also a victim?
What's this?
Repair Your Reputation!
What's this?

Advertisers above have met our
strict standards for business conduct.



Ripoff Report Legal Directory