• Report: #944608

Complaint Review: The Great Getaways, San Antonio, TX

Thank You

Read how Ripoff Report saves consumers millions.

  • Submitted: Fri, September 21, 2012
  • Updated: Sun, October 21, 2012

  • Reported By: Alain — Brigantine New Jersey USA
The Great Getaways, San Antonio, TX
16700 Blanco Rd San Antonio, Texas United States of America

The Great Getaways, San Antonio, TX Great Getaways Travel Houston, TX Deceptive, Dishonest Fraud San Antonio, Texas

*General Comment: Great Getaways is a ripoff

*Author of original report: Stealing Commissions and hot checks

*Author of original report: Fraud is Fraud, and you Lie

*UPDATE Employee: NOT THE EMPLOYEE HE CLAIMS HE IS

What's this?
What's this?
What's this?
Is this
Ripoff Report
About you?
Ripoff Report
A business' first
line of defense
on the Internet.
If your business is
willing to make a
commitment to
customer satisfaction
Click here now..

Does your business have a bad reputation?
Fix it the right way.
Corporate Advocacy Program™

SEO Reputation Management at its best!

while working for this company I became concerned when customers were frequently having loud conversations at our office. It worsened when we were picketed for a week by a dissatisfied customer and then my customers started arriving at my office complaining  that they got better deals online. The whole time the VP Steve Haberman insisted the member was confused. When the company stared deleting commissions from paychecks disgruntled members I complained that I performed my duties and if you can't fulfill what you promised them it was the company's fault not mine they said if I didn't like it I could leave.

 That's when I finally realized how badly the new members were being treated, because my last check was NSF and they didn't care to fix it. I asked nicely twice and I was ignored for 2 weeks. I threaten  everything I could think of to to them legally and finally got a response from the VP, "I didn't know your check bounced you didn't have to go about it this way. They said they would handle it and yet here I am another week later and still with a  minus $1481.00 in my account.

This is considered felony fraud in Texas, and yet still they won't correct it. This is the type of people you would be doing business with if you make if you become a member. I was an unknowing and unwilling participant in perpetrating a fraud on the people of Texas, and would be happy to testify to the DA or Attorney General if any of you disgruntled members need my assistance in recuperating your monies from The Great Getaways. Just like everybody else I am now calling the police and going to court. Yet they still don't care. These people are thugs.

This report was posted on Ripoff Report on 09/21/2012 09:12 AM and is a permanent record located here: http://www.ripoffreport.com/r/The-Great-Getaways-San-Antonio-TX/San-Antonio-Texas-78232/The-Great-Getaways-San-Antonio-TX-Great-Getaways-Travel-Houston-TX-Deceptive-Dishonest-944608. The posting time indicated is Arizona local time. Arizona does not observe daylight savings so the post time may be Mountain or Pacific depending on the time of year.

Ripoff Report has an exclusive license to this report. It may not be copied without the written permission of Ripoff Report.

Click Here to read other Ripoff Reports on The Great Getaways, San Antonio, TX

Search for additional reports

If you would like to see more Rip-off Reports on this company/individual, search here:

Search Tips
Report & Rebuttal
Respond to this report!
What's this?
Also a victim?
What's this?
Repair Your Reputation!
What's this?
REBUTTALS & REPLIES:
2Author 2Consumer 0Employee/Owner
Updates & Rebuttals

#1 General Comment

Great Getaways is a ripoff

AUTHOR: Carter - (United States of America)

The product Great Getaways sells is a complete ripoff. In the sales presentation all of the prices are misrepresented. We had recently taken a trip to Hawaii so we know exactly how much a trip to Hawaii is supposed to cost. After we purchased the travel package from Great Getaways for $4,000 we received our welcome packet in the mail. When we called to book our next Hawaii trip we learned the salesman had misquoted the resort week price by over $4,000. Buyers do not buy their package.

They lure you in with a free gift which isnt even free. They tell you they are giving you 2 round trip airfare tickets inside the U.S.. However you have to pay a non refundable registration fee for both tickets and you can only fly certain places. Buyers please contact me if you need additional information as to why you should not buy from them. I will allow you access to my login to their webste which will verify the deals they verbally tell you in the presentation do not exist. But you do not find this out until about two weeks after the purchase when the welcome packet arrives. 

I went up to the Sales office and spoke to the owner Steve  about all of this. They refused to give us a refund even though we could prove all of the information was misrepresented to us. I have spoken to several other people who were also ripped off by this company. I can provide you their contact information as well.  My email address is (((email redacted))). I will help you avoid making the same mistake we did.

CLICK here to see why Rip-off Report, as a matter of policy, deleted either a phone number, link or e-mail address from this Report.
Respond to this report!
What's this?

#2 Author of original report

Stealing Commissions and hot checks

AUTHOR: Alain - (USA)

I am not hiding my name, this website requests that you do. To prove that Steve Haberman, and Great Getaways are people you never want to do business with I have uploaded and attached a copy of a hot check written a month ago which still hasn't been paid. I left the company because they stole commissions from me. The last day I worked they stole $560.00 from the check that was NSF and $591.00 on the following checks which have never been paid to me.

 Think of the lack of quality of an individual who would purposely write a bad check and then continue to do nothing about it till the authorities come after him. I don't know where his information comes from nor why what other companies do is important, I guess it is a smoke screen like politicians use to hide their lies but I can prove what I say is true. Read the NSF copies supplied to me by my bank. 
Respond to this report!
What's this?

#3 Author of original report

Fraud is Fraud, and you Lie

AUTHOR: Alain - (USA)

No matter what you say you write bad checks and deceive the public. You already bribed one customer to recant on their statement by paying them back their money. You are nothing less than a thief. You stole commissions from me and you wrote a hot check that under Texas, law is fraud and you are still stupid enough to make up stories to cover for yourself without paying back the money. You are the same thief that stole from Castaways Travel Club, and were fired then went on an online rampage to attack the man who fired you.

I have contacted him and have collateral proof that everything that comes out of your mouth is a lie! Do not confuse me with the kind of person you are. I told you I would sue you, and I told you I would make myself available to any member who would like their money back to testify in their favor. You can't hide from the law and eventually will have to explain to the courts why you have been writing what the DA called "hot checks". For the folks at home I have attached a copy of the NSF check that Steve Haberman, and The Great Getaways refuses to pay as evidence. I can prove everything I say and I will continue to contact members you have wronged so they can post their complaints also.
Respond to this report!
What's this?

#4 UPDATE Employee

NOT THE EMPLOYEE HE CLAIMS HE IS

AUTHOR: Project Director Great Getaways - (United States of America)

ITS UNFORTUNATE THAT DISGRUNTLED EMPLOYEES NEED TO VENT THEIR FRUSTATIONS WITH THEMSELVES ON A SITE LIKE THIS BUT...ITS A SAD WORLD AND.. IT IS WHAT IT IS.

FIRST AND FOREMOST..THIS POSTING WAS NOT DONE BY AN EMPLOYEE OF GREAT GETAWAYS UNDER THE NAME HE IS USING TO WRITE THIS REPORT..HIS ACTUAL NAME IS CARLOS **** AND HE LIVES IN NEW JERSEY NOT THE NAME "ALAIN" WHO IS CLAIMING WROTE THIS LETTER .THAT IN ITSELF WOULD BE A RED FLAG AS TO HIS ACCURACY IN REPORTING

MR. **** WAS LET GO OF EMPLOYMENT BECAUSE OF HIS UNCONTROLABLE ANGER ISSUES..FREQUENT TEMPER TANTRUMS WITH CuSTOMERS AND EMPLOYEES,AND HIS CONSTANt USE OF THE "F " WORD. WHICH HAS NO PLACE IN OUR BUSINESS. ALL COMPLAINTS WE HAVE RECIEVED HAVE ALL STEMMED FROM MR. **** TREATMENT OF CUSTOMERS,,,,  ANOTHER REASON HE WAS LET GO.HE HAS WORKED PREVIOUSLY IN THE TRAVEL INDUSTRY AND AFTER SOME RESEARCH WE FOUND HE HAS BEEN LET GO FOR EXACTLY THE SAME REASONS HE NO LONGER WORKS FOR US.

HE ALSO HAS BEEN ASSOCIATED WTH A TRAVEL CLUB OWNED BY A PEIRRE BENNET...ALSO OUT OF NEW YORK AS THEIR  VP AND DIRECTOR, AND ALL OF HIS BUSINESSES HAVE BEEN SHUT DOWN BY THE FTC AND I BELIEVE IS WANTED BY THE FEDERAL GOVT FOR FRAUD.... SO IN CLOSING REMEMBER WHEN YOUR POINTING FINGERS ...THERE IS ALWAYS THREE MORE POINTING BACK. AND FOR ALL YOU PROSPECTIVE EMPLOYERS OUT THERE ...BEWARE OF THIS INDIVIDUAL...HE MAKES UP STORIES...LIES TO CUSTOMERS AND HIS EMPLOYERS...NOT ON THE REHIRE LIST.

Respond to this report!
What's this?
Report & Rebuttal
Respond to this report!
What's this?
Also a victim?
What's this?
Repair Your Reputation!
What's this?

Advertisers above have met our
strict standards for business conduct.



Ripoff Report Legal Directory