• Report: #959195

Complaint Review: The Online Watch

Thank You

Read how Ripoff Report saves consumers millions.

  • Submitted: Wed, October 24, 2012
  • Updated: Wed, October 24, 2012

  • Reported By: Mike — United States of America
The Online Watch
Internet United States of America

The Online Watch predator mugshots Blackmail Internet

*Author of original report: Update

What's this?
What's this?
What's this?
1Author 0Consumer 0Employee/Owner

Does your business have a bad reputation?
Fix it the right way.
Corporate Advocacy Program™

SEO Reputation Management
at its best!

This website publishes fake personal ads on craigslist's casual encounters section.  Then when someone replies to them, they take the name, picture and email address and create a profile on their website, which is marketed as a website for "potential" online predators.  The victim is then sent an email saying they've been added to their watch list, but they can be removed for $100.  This is pure blackmail and extortion.  They've already been shut down for doing this under "predator mug shots" or some other name, now they're back to their old illegal tricks doing it again under a different name.

This report was posted on Ripoff Report on 10/24/2012 05:26 AM and is a permanent record located here: http://www.ripoffreport.com/r/The-Online-Watch/internet/The-Online-Watch-predator-mugshots-Blackmail-Internet-959195. The posting time indicated is Arizona local time. Arizona does not observe daylight savings so the post time may be Mountain or Pacific depending on the time of year.

Ripoff Report has an exclusive license to this report. It may not be copied without the written permission of Ripoff Report.

Click Here to read other Ripoff Reports on The Online Watch

Search for additional reports

If you would like to see more Rip-off Reports on this company/individual, search here:

Search Tips
Report & Rebuttal
Respond to this report!
What's this?
Also a victim?
What's this?
Repair Your Reputation!
What's this?
REBUTTALS & REPLIES:
1Author 0Consumer 0Employee/Owner
Updates & Rebuttals

#1 Author of original report

Update

AUTHOR: Mike - (United States of America)

I was able to finally get a hit on a whois for the website.  It is registered through eNom.com out of Washington.  If you are being victimized by this website, go to enom.com and contact their legal department, demanding the page being taken down.  The website is registered out of Sweden to Gottfrid Swartholm, which is the name of the pirate-bay cofounder, so I suspect it's a fake name on the registry.  That guy was arrested last month for extradition back to Sweden though, so maybe it's the real guy and this is how he's raising his defense funds.  This site was only registered on 12 October.  I highly doubt they have that many new anonymous contributors all of a sudden putting all of those people in there, just more proof it's a scam.
Respond to this report!
What's this?
Report & Rebuttal
Respond to this report!
What's this?
Also a victim?
What's this?
Repair Your Reputation!
What's this?

Advertisers above have met our
strict standards for business conduct.