• Report: #1062830

Complaint Review: The Universal Travel Network/The Travel Center

  • Submitted: Fri, June 28, 2013
  • Updated: Fri, June 28, 2013

  • Reported By: nieceyq — houston Texas
The Universal Travel Network/The Travel Center
Internet USA

The Universal Travel Network/The Travel Center AKA Rick MatthewsCary SchulmanRichard Brown Misinformation/Maybe a Scam/Terrible Customer Service, No one knows what I booked with Rick! Internet

*UPDATE Employee: The Travel Center Response #2

*Author of original report: The Travel Network

*UPDATE Employee: Travel Center Response

What's this?
What's this?
What's this?
Is this
Ripoff Report
About you?
Ripoff Report
A business' first
line of defense
on the Internet.
If your business is
willing to make a
commitment to
customer satisfaction
Click here now..

Does your business have a bad reputation?
Fix it the right way.
Corporate Advocacy Program™

SEO Reputation Management at its best!

 To Whom this may concern and Richard Brown and Cary Schulman, I am writing to you requesting a refund of the vacations that were booked through The Universal Travel Network with agent Rick Matthews. I received information on my fax machine at work with information on the vacations your company was advertising. I called the phone number on the document and spoke with Rick Matthews. He was very pleasant and gave lots of information regarding the vacations. The one I was interested in was Cancun. 3-day 4-night all inclusive stay at the Riu Resort alcohol included, and all activities as well. The only stipulation is that any occupant had to be 21yrs of age or older. I asked him if he had 3 of those trips available. Neither of us are a couple or married and we wanted 3 of the trips. He explained that to book it would be 180.00 per person. I asked him what the maximum price we would have to pay by the time we complete the vacation he said no more than $450.00. I gave him the account and routing numbers for the purchase and he processed everything. He gave me the information with my client ID number and told me a certified envelope will be sent to me with details on my booking. I have called customer service several times regarding this package because it states nothing about my trip. It states nothing about my purchase no receipt or anything. The only thing it talks about is the Travel Center. When I call to register for this trip, I am told that the rooms are double occupancy. They say they do not have the information that I agreed to with the Universal Travel Network and that I need to get a refund for the 3rd person because they do not accommodate the extra person. I did not purchase for a group I purchased 3 separate vacations. I would like a refund of $540.00 for the 3 SPACES that I have been told that I have purchased. Again, the three of us attending this trip are not in any relationships and purchased 3 separate trips to Cancun. Rick Matthews understood this and never mentioned to me that the rooms would be shared. Please accommodate this refund as quickly as possible as we are trying to book a vacation where we do not have to share a room or accommodations. Sincerely, Triniece Matthews triniece@gmail.com


This report was posted on Ripoff Report on 06/28/2013 09:16 AM and is a permanent record located here: http://www.ripoffreport.com/r/The-Universal-Travel-NetworkThe-Travel-Center/internet/The-Universal-Travel-NetworkThe-Travel-Center-AKA-Rick-MatthewsCary-SchulmanRichard-Brow-1062830. The posting time indicated is Arizona local time. Arizona does not observe daylight savings so the post time may be Mountain or Pacific depending on the time of year.

Ripoff Report has an exclusive license to this report. It may not be copied without the written permission of Ripoff Report.

Click Here to read other Ripoff Reports on The Universal Travel Network/The Travel Center

Search for additional reports

If you would like to see more Rip-off Reports on this company/individual, search here:

Search Tips
Report & Rebuttal
Respond to this report!
What's this?
Also a victim?
What's this?
Repair Your Reputation!
What's this?
REBUTTALS & REPLIES:
1Author 2Consumer 0Employee/Owner
Updates & Rebuttals

#1 UPDATE Employee

The Travel Center Response #2

AUTHOR: The Travel Center - ()

 Thank you for your kind words.  We have tried contacting the company that you purchased from and have left several messages.  At this time, none of them have been returned.  Since you are not in our system, we are at a dead end until they contact us.

Thanks for your time.

Respond to this report!
What's this?

#2 Author of original report

The Travel Network

AUTHOR: nieceyq - ()

 Your company did not and could not verify anything regarding my travel. They never asked my name, and information regarding my travel. All they said was you must register your trip with us for 69.00 per person and that it was Double Occupancy...I asked them to verify my information, they said "The Universal Travel Network did not confirm anything with us". Therefore, I was forwarded to you for your services after working with a company that uses you to do whatever it is that you do (I still don't know, besides ask for 69.00). When I asked questions regarding my vacation, I was told that The Travel Network does not have that information. So, to answer your question, my complaint is with you, the company you represent and the company that forwarded me to you. I am afraid to give you money...I am afraid to work with your affiliates and the service is not pleasent. I am an HR Professional with strong roots in Hyatts, Hiltons, Gaylord entertainment, and Marriotts. I know a thing or two about customer service, travel and the like. Your service is horrible and unless you can prove to me who you are and that you are at all interested in my business, I will not move further in this process. I do appreciate your quick response and on a personal note, who ever you are...has been the nicest person to work with in your company...Your staff is not pleasant and does not represent hospitality or travel for you very well. Please send me a personal email if you would really like to hear of my experience and let me know if you have a wonderful contact at UTN who can help me clear the rest of this up. At this point they do not represent you very well and vice versa. You are a reflection of who you deal with and my time and money is very valuable.

Respond to this report!
What's this?

#3 UPDATE Employee

Travel Center Response

AUTHOR: The Travel Center - ()

 The Travel Center is not the company who sold you your travel program we are only the company that handles the travel documents for dozens of companies just like Universal Travel Network.  We were not involved in the sale or advertisment of what you purchased and you have not paid any money to our company.  It is clear by your post that your transaction was with the Universal Travel Network so we are concerned that you are including our company, Travel Center, in a negative way in your post.  When you received the documents that we were asked to send to you by Universal our terms and conditions for the Mexico Vacation clearly stated that the vacation you bought was for 2 not 3 persons so if Universal didn't tell you that and sold you something that was wrong then your issue is with Universal.  When you called our customer service we gave you that same information again which is the correct information. 

Your complaint is only with Universal an enitrely different company.  Please consider what you have posted about our company and remember you have not paid any money to the Travel Center and we have only given you facts about the vacation.  We at the Travel Center feel that this post is unwarranted and only should have been to the company that sold you the product.

Respond to this report!
What's this?
Report & Rebuttal
Respond to this report!
What's this?
Also a victim?
What's this?
Repair Your Reputation!
What's this?
X