• Report: #291171

Complaint Review: Thedvdplanet

Thank You

Read how Ripoff Report saves consumers millions.

  • Submitted: Wed, December 12, 2007
  • Updated: Sun, December 16, 2007

  • Reported By:Brooklyn New York
Thedvdplanet
thedvdplanet.org Nationwide Canada

Thedvdplanet They take your money with no product to show for it. Canada

*REBUTTAL Owner of company: RESPONSE FROM MANAGEMENT - PAUL JACOB, OWNER - THEDVDPLANET.ORG

*Consumer Comment: 5 years? NOT by thedvdplanet.org domain!

*REBUTTAL Owner of company: RESPONSE FROM MANAGEMENT - PAUL JACOB, OWNER - THEDVDPLANET.ORG

What's this?
What's this?
What's this?
Is this
Ripoff Report
About you?
Ripoff Report
A business' first
line of defense
on the Internet.
If your business is
willing to make a
commitment to
customer satisfaction
Click here now..

Does your business have a bad reputation?
Fix it the right way.
Corporate Advocacy Program™

SEO Reputation Management at its best!

Just yesterday i had written a review on the so called "company" thedvdplanet.org. This morning I received an emaill from Mr. Brian Lawson, the Management end of the company. He apparently could not understand why I was so upset regarding the run around I have been given since placing my order with them.

This is what I recieve as an email:

Hello,

What is your problem?


Brian Lawson
Mangement

----- Original Message -----
From:
To:
Sent: Tuesday, December 11, 2007 10:49 PM
Subject: TheDVDPlanet.org: User filled in Contact Us form!


>
> You have received this notification from TheDVDPlanet.org
> ------------------

This is not a professional company ....

Melissa1429
Brooklyn, New York
U.S.A.

This report was posted on Ripoff Report on 12/12/2007 11:02 PM and is a permanent record located here: http://www.ripoffreport.com/r/Thedvdplanet/nationwide/Thedvdplanet-They-take-your-money-with-no-product-to-show-for-it-Canada-291171. The posting time indicated is Arizona local time. Arizona does not observe daylight savings so the post time may be Mountain or Pacific depending on the time of year.

Ripoff Report has an exclusive license to this report. It may not be copied without the written permission of Ripoff Report.

Click Here to read other Ripoff Reports on Thedvdplanet

Search for additional reports

If you would like to see more Rip-off Reports on this company/individual, search here:

Search Tips
Report & Rebuttal
Respond to this report!
What's this?
Also a victim?
What's this?
Repair Your Reputation!
What's this?
REBUTTALS & REPLIES:
0Author 1Consumer 2Employee/Owner
Updates & Rebuttals

#1 REBUTTAL Owner of company

RESPONSE FROM MANAGEMENT - PAUL JACOB, OWNER - THEDVDPLANET.ORG

AUTHOR: Paul Jacob - (Canada)


Hello Robert,


First of all, thank you for your feedback and opinion. We appreciate all feedback both positive and negative.

I will address those issues/concerns in detail below.

Second, I noticed you have posted on all of the Reports regarding our Company and therefore assume you have personally had an issue with an order.

If this is the case, and you are unhappy with your experience with our Company and have an unresolved issue, please contact me personally and I assure you I will do everything in my power to make sure your issue is dealt with Swiftly and Professionally.

Thank you once again for your comments.

Warmest Regards,
Paul Jacob
Owner/President
TheDVDPlanet.org
Paul@thedvdplanet.org
24 Hour Support - Support@TheDVDPlanet.org


Now, with regards to the 2 issues you commented on:


1. TheDVDPlanet Domain Name

You are absolutely correct...TheDVDPlanet.org domain is our newest addition to our family of DVD sites.

It was added in late 2007 as a way to branch out, take some of the burden off our other site, and also provide a new and updated Customer Admin and Support system...All with the busy Holiday Season and customer in mind.


Please keep in mind, when I stated our company has been operating for over 5 years, I was referring to the business in general. Not any specific website or URL

We appreciate you being an watchdog consumer and trying to protect fellow Online Customers....this is to be commended. However making false and misleading statements is neither the credible nor professional avenue. From our standpoint, it simply seems like you are trying to cause problems and make trouble rather then actually getting an issue resolved.

Once again, if you have a personal or particular issue that has not been dealt with to your satisfaction, we simply ask you to contact us and allow us to rectify the situation.



2. Links to other Sites

I will confirm that DVDCollections.tv is in fact one of our older domains and websites. We have never denied or attempted to hide that fact. In fact, TheDVDPlanet was started in early November with a completely revamped Customer Admin and Support system in the back end.

We chose to upgrade our site and provide the customer with the best experience during the busy Holiday season...and with this in mind, TheDVDPlanet was launched to take some of the traffic and stress away from DVDCollections.

Now, with regards to the other sites mentioned, we are IN NO way affiliated with TVBOXSET, TVADDICTS, DVDDONKEY or any of the other 100+ DVD website operating online.

We have TWO Sites in our family as of right now....TheDVDPlanet.org and DVDCollections.tv. End of story.

Robert, simply because we sell similar products and have similar pictures on our sites (which are provided directly from our suppliers), does not automatically mean we are the same company.

Making these types of false conclusions is unprofessional and misleading. We take our business and customers very seriously and make every attempt to satisfy 100% of our 4000+ weekly customers. Therefore, incorrectly linking us to other Websites, Companies or situations must be addressed by us so that customers know the truth and our not mislead.


Robert, I will once again close with a very simply statement....

I am not sure if you are a customer of ours....a competitor....or simply someone with some extra time on their hands....however, if you have a SINCERE issue or unresolved situation that involves either one of our sites, I ask you to contact us immediately via email and explain the situation. I can personally assure you the issue will be handled swiftly and professionally.

Making multiple comments on this, or any other forum, will not help us, other potential customers, and most of all YOURSELF.


Thank you once again for your feedback and we wish you the best during this Holiday Season.

Regards,
Paul Jacob
Respond to this report!
What's this?

#2 Consumer Comment

5 years? NOT by thedvdplanet.org domain!

AUTHOR: Robert - (U.S.A.)

Domain ID:D148923449-LROR
Domain Name:THEDVDPLANET.ORG
Created On:21-Aug-2007 13:28:07 UTC
Last Updated On:29-Oct-2007 10:26:58 UTC
Expiration Date:21-Aug-2009 13:28:07 UTC
Sponsoring Registrar:GoDaddy.com, Inc. (R91-LROR)
Respond to this report!
What's this?

#3 REBUTTAL Owner of company

RESPONSE FROM MANAGEMENT - PAUL JACOB, OWNER - THEDVDPLANET.ORG

AUTHOR: Janice Beakman - (Canada)

Dear Customer and Readers,


My name is Paul Jacob and I am the Owner/President of TheDVDPlanet.org


I am responding to the many issues/complaints we have received on behalf of ALL of the Management and Employees here at TheDVDPlanet.org


It has come to our attention that there have been several complaints regarding a couple important issues (I will cover these issues in Detail below).


First of all, let me clearly state that we have been in business for over 5 years and have received and fulfilled over 120,000 orders since 2002.
We are in NO regard a "scam" or "fraudulent" company and 99% of our customers receive their order ON TIME and are happy with the DVD's.


However, as in all business, you simply cannot please EVERYONE. (Even though all 23 employees here at TheDVDPlanet.org give 110% effort and do their very best to make sure 100% of our customers are completely satisfied)


Please keep in mind we are a very large volume company with a huge customer base and turnover.

We ship over 500 orders/packages per day (4000 orders per week), and with this type of volume there will occasionally be:

a) lost, delayed or late orders
b) communication/contact issues and delays


We ask ALL customers to be patient with us, ESPECIALLY during the Holiday Seasons. Your order is in Good hands, WILL be processed and shipped and WILL arrive at your location.

And if during this ENTIRE PROCESS you are not 100% satisfied with the Service you have received from TheDVDPlanet.org, we are always more then happy to provide you with a FULL REFUND of your order.

Our business has always been based on Customer Service and we truly do our best to keep the customer happy...even though it is difficult to do this 100% of the time.


We simply ask that you do not assume the worst and give us a chance to rectify any problems or issues you may have. I am personally sure that if you give us a chance, you will end up satisfied with your experience.

Thank you for your time, cooperation and continued patronage.


We are definitely not perfect however we will ALWAYS strive to go the extra mile, learn from our mistakes, and provide the customer with a better experience.


Warmest Regards and Happy Holidays,

Paul Jacob
Owner/President
TheDVDPlanet.org
Paul@theDVDPlanet.org
24/7 Customer Service - support@thedvdplanet.org



Now, let me please cover and address the main concerns we have received in detail:


ISSUE #1 - LATE/LOST/DELAYED ORDERS

This seems to be the main issue and cause for MOST concern.

As stated earlier, when shipping over 4000 packages per WEEK, there will always been issues with packages being lost/delayed or late.

Especially when each package is shipped from our Toronto,Canada warehouse and must clear USA Customs to reach our USA customers.

(and as I am sure everyone is aware of, USA Customs has increased/changed their regulations and inspection policies since 9/11 and delays/issues are quite common)

This is why we do our best to communicate with our customers and inform them of all the specific shipping dates and issues AS SOON as an order is placed.

We provide all customers with DATES their order will be shipped and TRACKING #'s once their order is shipped.


Yes, sometimes the tracking system is not the most accurate or speedy (due to the fact Canadapost drops the packages off with USPS (Post Office) when the parcel arrives in the USA)


However, we are always available via email or the CONTACT US form on our website.



Please also keep in mind of one VERY IMPORTANT fact and policy of TheDVDPlanet.org....

If your order is late or does not arrive on time, we are more then happy to RESHIP a second package (via EXPRESSPOST) FREE of charge

OR

Provide you with a FULL refund of your order.


Even though we cannot always guarantee the Canadapost/USPS Postal System or Customs Inspectors, we always back our Shipping Guarantees and if for ANY reason the order does not arrive on time, the RESHIPMENT or REFUND is available to the customer.



ISSUE #2 - EMAIL ISSUES/DELAYS

There also seem to be several customers that have trouble contacting us via email or receiving responses from us.

Please keep in mind we have dedicated staff answering OVER 2200 emails PER DAY from our customer service center in Toronto, Canada.


There are 2 main causes for email issues:

1. Our emails go to your SPAM/BULK Mail folders - ALL emails are responded to within 12-24 hours. We actually have 6 FULL time Customer Service staff that simply sit and answer emails all day.

Therefore, your emails are ALL received and responded to. If you do not receive a response within 24 hours, please check your BULK or SPAM mail folders. 95% of the time, our response will be sitting there.


2. Emails Blocked by your ISP - Many times, your local Internet Provider will have their own SPAM filters that block emails from arriving in your Inbox. This also causes some of our automatic ORDER CONFIRMATION emails and SHIPPING emails to be blocked.

Therefore, if you do not receive a CONFIRMATION email or SHIPPING CONFIRMATION email, please be patient and email us and we can manually re-email those Automatic Order Confirmation emails.


Once again, we ask customer be patient and not immediately assume the worst. We have successfully answered over 2.6 MILLION emails in the past 5 years and can assure you someone is always here reviewing and responding to your emails.



ISSUE #3 - NO TELEPHONE #/TELEPHONE SUPPORT

One question we get quite often is regarding a Telephone # and why we do not have an accessible Telephone #.

Even though this may not be very convenient to our customers, our response is very simple:


When we started this company in 2002, we received 2-3 orders per day and had a 1-800# available for customer questions and inquiries.

However, as we grew and expanded, it simply became too difficult to hire enough staff and provide enough 800#'s to support the call volume. At one point in 2004, we actually were receiving over 5 Telephone Calls PER MINUTE from our customers.

It simply came to a point where we were unable to answer our customer phone calls effectively (customers were put on hold for 10-15 minutes). This caused a huge amount of upset and frustrated customers.

At that point in the business, we decided to go to an EMAIL SUPPORT SYSTEM (which nearly ALL of the Major Online Retailers use) which allowed us to answer emails quickly & efficiently and serve our customers better.


We understand some customers prefer to make contact via the Telephone and feel that this provides them with a quicker/more effective response...however in our case and factoring in the volume of customers/potential calls, you will ACTUALLY receive a much more detailed and effective response via our EMAIL SUPPORT SYSTEM.




One final note...

After being in business for over 5 years, shipping and fulfilling over 120,000 orders, answering 2.6 Million emails, and issuing over 1900 refunds (to cover damaged, lost, delayed or any other issues with orders) we have really seen it all.

We continue to grow and provide the customer with a more effective and more satisfying experience....even though there are some issues occasionally.

We are here to serve our customers and regardless of what the small percentage of customers may try to communicate, we will continue to operate our business with the customer in mind and do everything we can to satisfy 100% of our DVD Customers.

Thank you ONCE AGAIN for your time during this Holiday Season and we look forward to another 5 years of shipping you your favorite DVD Collections.


Merry Christmas from the entire Staff at TheDVDPlanet.org
Respond to this report!
What's this?
Report & Rebuttal
Respond to this report!
What's this?
Also a victim?
What's this?
Repair Your Reputation!
What's this?

Advertisers above have met our
strict standards for business conduct.



Ripoff Report Legal Directory