• Report: #1040071

Complaint Review: Theravent

Thank You

Read how Ripoff Report saves consumers millions.

  • Submitted: Tue, April 02, 2013
  • Updated: Sat, October 26, 2013

  • Reported By: John — newport beach California
Theravent
101 Metro Drive #620 San Jose, California United States of America

Theravent ventusmedical.com Snooring Snoring Sleep Scam Billing TV ad Lies Fraud San Jose, California

*Author of original report: GOT A REFUND THIS MONTH NOV.2013

*Author of original report: NO REFUND FROM THEM SCAMMERS

*Consumer Suggestion: Option to Not be rebilled by Credit Card

*Author of original report: NOW GETTING COMPUTER VOICE MAIL

*General Comment: not a scam, just incompetent

*UPDATE Employee: Theravent Customer Service Commitment

*Consumer Comment: My Experience with Theravent

What's this?
What's this?
What's this?
Is this
Ripoff Report
About you?
Ripoff Report
A business' first
line of defense
on the Internet.
If your business is
willing to make a
commitment to
customer satisfaction
Click here now..

Does your business have a bad reputation?
Fix it the right way.
Corporate Advocacy Program™

SEO Reputation Management at its best!

I signed up for the free sample for mail only. $4.95 for a sample. Now they are charging my Credit card monthly for $97.25!!!

WTF! Scam! Once they get your credit card, they keep charging you full price every month till you cancel your card.

POS company!!! Fraud & scammers.

This report was posted on Ripoff Report on 04/02/2013 02:07 PM and is a permanent record located here: http://www.ripoffreport.com/r/Theravent/San-Jose-California-95110/Theravent-ventusmedicalcom-Snooring-Snoring-Sleep-Scam-Billing-TV-ad-Lies-Fraud-San-Jose-1040071. The posting time indicated is Arizona local time. Arizona does not observe daylight savings so the post time may be Mountain or Pacific depending on the time of year.

Ripoff Report has an exclusive license to this report. It may not be copied without the written permission of Ripoff Report.

Click Here to read other Ripoff Reports on Theravent

Search for additional reports

If you would like to see more Rip-off Reports on this company/individual, search here:

Search Tips
Report & Rebuttal
Respond to this report!
What's this?
Also a victim?
What's this?
Repair Your Reputation!
What's this?
REBUTTALS & REPLIES:
3Author 4Consumer 0Employee/Owner
Updates & Rebuttals

#1 Author of original report

GOT A REFUND THIS MONTH NOV.2013

AUTHOR: Johnjason - ()

GOT A REFUND, THIS MONTH. NOV.2013

Respond to this report!
What's this?

#2 Author of original report

NO REFUND FROM THEM SCAMMERS

AUTHOR: Johnjason - ()

Verbally said they would refund me!!!

LIARS LIKE OBAMA!

 

Respond to this report!
What's this?

#3 Consumer Suggestion

Option to Not be rebilled by Credit Card

AUTHOR: nytimesreporter - ()

Any compnay that stands by its product, ought not to automatically rebill without the approval of the customer. There  should be an option to rebill, instead of having to go throught the hassle of telephonic the company, which  has proven to be time consuming and problematic. Certainly, charge the credit card, (Or PAypal) for the initial shipping and handling, but  NOT automatically start  billing cycles.

Not  a good practice, and a good way to  not get clustomers.

Respond to this report!
What's this?

#4 Author of original report

NOW GETTING COMPUTER VOICE MAIL

AUTHOR: Johnjason - ()

THEY WANT YOU TO REORDER SO MUCH, THEY HAVE A COMPUTER DIAL YOUR PHONE NUMBER TO REMIND YOU TO REORDER! AFTER I HAD TO CANCEL MY CREDIT CARD FOR THIS POS TO STOP BILLING ME! POS COMPANY!

Respond to this report!
What's this?

#5 General Comment

not a scam, just incompetent

AUTHOR: LesterIngber - ()

I agree with a previous posting.  The proiduct is not a scam.  In fact the product works quite well for me.  After 30+ years of snoring, my wife and I are getting decent no-snoring/little-snoring sleep.

 

The problem is their customer service and infrastructure.  Emails sent to Customer Service with any detailed content are answered with a suggestion to call them by phone.  Calls by phone are handled very nicely, but the subsequent actions taken are really a mystery and do not seem to jive at all with the calls!

 

Below is a typical recent correspondence I had with them.  Note that I suggested they report it to their management -- to help thje company learn to conduct business!  Of course, the reply I got by email was that I should call CS!!!

 

Also note the confusion they have have and pass on to the customer re the way they handle recurrent charges:

 

Theravent
3:47 PM

Dear Valued Customer,

Thank you for your inquiry regarding Theravent.

Due to the nature of your request we ask that you contact customer service at 1-855-265-7667. If you have any questions please call or email customer service.

Thank you and have a wonderful day.


Theravent Inc.
www.theraventsnoring.com
(855) 265-7667
5am-5pm P.S.T Mon-Fri

 


-----Original Message-----
Received: 6/2/2013 3:00 PM
To: "Theravent" <theravent@webcsr.info>; customerservice@theraventsnoring.com
Subject: Re: Email-Cancellation Confirmation [1128846:3596535]

Your product works very well for me. I suspect you'd have a much larger and more profitable business if you could just get all your departments to communicate with each other, and thereby be more responsive to your customers.

First, please pay attention my my three (3) orders in your records:

(1)
Order Id: 2284913
Placed On:May 05, 2013 $9.99 Method: N/A
Tracking Code:: placed

(2)
Order Id: 2290489
Placed On:May 13, 2013 $44.99 Method: N/A
Tracking Code:: placed

(3)
csr@webcsr.info
May 24
Dear Theravent Inc. Customer,
Thank you for your recent Theravent Inc. order. Your order VNTS00010814 has been shipped. Please expect to receive it in 7-10 days.

After my order 2284913, I signed up for your 2-month subscription program, which is order 2290489.

When I got order 2290489, I called because I felt that there might be some manufacturing problem, e.g., perhaps the slits that operate the technology were cut with a too-blunt blade and perhaps this causes some whistling noise when breathing in (not breathing out -- the seal is fine; I know how to apply the strips). I told Customer Service (CS) that I must have wasted about 15 strips trying to overcome the whistling noise. I was told that I would be contacted with a couple of days.

Well, after a couple of days, no one contacted me, but that is the date when I got the email of May 24. I couldn't figure out just why I was being charged for and receiving yet another order, VNTS00010814.

I then called CS about this new order, VNTS00010814. The lady explained that after my order 2284913, I was automatically place on a 1-month subscription plan. I guess no one looked at my account to see that I was by then already on your 2-month subscription plan?? I explained that "I am one person with two nostrils, and I do not require two overlapping subscriptions"! CS said they would cancel the 1-month plan, and I hope that CS got this straight and that this is what this latest email from you is all about?

This still left the matter of my getting reply about my concern with the occasional "whistling" problem. I was was assured (again) that I would hear from someone in management about this in a couple of days, e.g., by tomorrow, Monday. I am not holding my breath waiting for this contact.

Note that in previous emails to CS, after a day or two, I was told by email replies that I had to call CS to handle the issues. Well, I won't be doing that again; I just do not have time to go over this again and again.

Instead, you will be doing your company a great service by forwarding this email to your upper management, so that they can see that they have some work to do on your infrastructure.

Please just make sure that my 2-month subscription, order 2290489 is NOT cancelled. I expect that the 1-month "subscription" order VNTS00010814 most certainly should be cancelled. I'll keep the strips in VNTS00010814, because as I explained above, I wasted quite a few dealing with the whistling noise.

Thanks.

Lester


On Sun, Jun 2, 2013 at 2:35 PM, Theravent <theravent@webcsr.info> wrote:
Dear Valued Customer,


Thank you for your inquiry regarding Theravent. We would like to inform you that we have cancelled your Auto Shipment Program and your cancellation number is 00010814. You will not receive any future shipments or billings to your account. We would appreciate some feedback as of to why Theravent did not work for you. We value your business and hope you will consider us again in the future. If you have any questions please call or email customer service. Thank you and have a wonderful day.


Theravent Inc.
Order # 00010814
www.theraventsnoring.com
(855) 265-7667
5am-5pm P.S.T Mon-Fri

 

Respond to this report!
What's this?

#6 UPDATE Employee

Theravent Customer Service Commitment

AUTHOR: Matt Williams - ()

 

Dear Johnjason:

We are sorry to hear that you may have experienced a billing problem with Theravent.   We are committed to servicing our customers and maintaining our high customer satisfaction ratings.   Please contact us at 888-757-9355 so we can promptly assist you in this matter.

To further clarify our TV and web offering, we currently offer the following free trial program: 

“Free Trial Offer includes enrollment into the Quiet Nights Program. After receiving your free 14-night trial (you will be responsible for $9.99 S&H), you will receive one 30-night pack every month, billed monthly at $24.99, including free shipping. Cancel anytime by calling 855-265-SNOR (7667). Returns will be governed by our return policy.”

As part of our commitment to customer satisfaction, we attempted to locate you directly through a database search.  The amount you have mentioned is inconsistent with our billing options and we were unable to find a charge for $97.25.   We would like to resolve the matter for you as quickly as possible, so again, please call us at your convenience at 888-757-9355. 

Sincerely,

Matthew Williams

CEO & President

Theravent, Inc.

Respond to this report!
What's this?

#7 Consumer Comment

My Experience with Theravent

AUTHOR: nachoport - ()

I purchased the trial as well, under the following plan:

>>>Enjoy 14 quiet nights using Theravent for FREE, just pay $9.99 shipping
>>>and handling. After your 14-night trial, you will receive one 30-night
>>>pack every month, billed monthly at $24.99, including free shipping.

However, my experience was much different. Before even trying out the product, I forgot about it for a couple months and soon had two of the $24.99 shipments with accompanying charges to my credit card. Since I hadn't tried the product, I called customer service (855-265-7667) and they quickly worked with me to refund both $24.99 charges and canceled me from the monthly program.

The fact that you're being charged $97.25 per month doesn't make sense using any combination of their purchase plans. You should call them and have them explain the charges and then cancel the program if you don't like it. However, the "free" trial explains very clearly that they will enroll you in the monthly purchase plan, where you will remain until you cancel it. This is standard operating procedure with thousands of products and companies these days.

I have no relation to the company whatsoever, but feel you are unjustified in calling the company's program a scam and fraud. Further stating that "they keep charging you full price every month till you cancel your card" is an incorrect statement. You do not have to cancel your card. You can simply call them and cancel the program. They will give you an RMA number to return the unused product and provide a full refund. They did it for me.

By the way, I have now used the product and found that it really worked for me. I slept deeply last night and my wife said she didn't hear me snore once. I plan to get back on the $24.99/month program!
Respond to this report!
What's this?
Report & Rebuttal
Respond to this report!
What's this?
Also a victim?
What's this?
Repair Your Reputation!
What's this?

Advertisers above have met our
strict standards for business conduct.



Ripoff Report Legal Directory