• Report: #374564

Complaint Review: Thrive Learning Institute, Momentum Marketing, Biz Review

  • Submitted: Sat, September 20, 2008
  • Updated: Thu, July 26, 2012

  • Reported By:Springfield Missouri
Thrive Learning Institute, Momentum Marketing, Biz Review
15 West Scenic Pointe Drive, Ste 100 Draper, Utah United States of America

Thrive Learning Institute, Momentum Marketing, Biz Review Would not let me cancel within the required 3 business days, said they considered Saturday a "Business Day", cost me $12,500.00 Draper Utah

*Consumer Comment: Crooks! Thrive Learning

*Author of original report: Come on Thrive...Where's your Rebuttal....?

*Author of original report: Thrive Ripoff Institute

*Author of original report: Beware of Thrive Learning and Angel Stevens

*UPDATE Employee: Kathy Response

*UPDATE Employee: Response to the complaint filed by Kathy Miller

*Author of original report: Class Action Lawsuit....please explain

What's this?
What's this?
What's this?
Is this
Ripoff Report
About you?
Ripoff Report
A business' first
line of defense
on the Internet.
If your business is
willing to make a
commitment to
customer satisfaction
Click here now..

Does your business have a bad reputation?
Fix it the right way.
Corporate Advocacy Program™

SEO Reputation Management at its best!

I have worked 2 jobs for almost 10 years, 14-16 hours a day for the last 2 years. Three nights a week I receive only 2-3 hours sleep. I'm over worked and underpayed as most people are. I'm weary, depressed, and desperate. I invested $200.00 into being a Rebate Processor so I could at least work from home as one of my jobs.

During the start up period, I was contacted by Thrive Learning Institute. Very courteous young men. Very persuasive and seemed to care about me. Yeah Right. They wouldn't take no for an answer. I let them talk me into investing $12,500.00. Stupid huh. I have no excuse except that I'm a "walking zombie." I wanted to learn how to set up a website and sell Christian merchandise by drop shipping. I was so excited....until I "woke up" and realized the mistake I had made.

They assured me that I could cancel within 3 business days. I signed up on Friday, Sept. 5 and tried to cancel on Tuesday Sept. 9. They said I was too late to cancel because they consider Saturday a "Business Day." And that even if I had canceled in time...they would still have been allowed to keep up to 15% of the $12,500.00. (which I have to confess was stated in the contract....why should they be allowed to do this?...how did they earn it?)

I haven't cried in years, but when he said "too late", I felt my life was over. "How am I going to pay off the charge on my credit cards" I asked him. He said I could walk through my house and find things to sell on E-Bay. After I sell all my belongings ...I won't own anything except a debt of $12,500.00. And when am I going to find time to learn their "secrets to success." I barely have time to write this letter.

I own 2 houses. My daughter in one, my Mother in the other. I'm afraid I'm my have to go bankrupt. I'm afraid of losing my houses.

I have called my credit card companies and have "disputed" the charges. They are now on "hold". I have no money for an attorney.

I feel this "Thrive" could actually work for someone that has money and time on their hands. Two items I do not have in my possession.

My question is....What is happening to our society? How could anyone take advantage of someone like this? How do they sleep at night? Is this what they are teaching their children?..... Greed.

Do I have to lose everything I have worked so hard for just because of one stupid mistake.

Kathy Springfield, Missouri
U.S.A.

This report was posted on Ripoff Report on 09/20/2008 12:09 AM and is a permanent record located here: http://www.ripoffreport.com/r/Thrive-Learning-Institute-Momentum-Marketing-Biz-Review/Draper-Utah-84020/Thrive-Learning-Institute-Momentum-Marketing-Biz-Review-Would-not-let-me-cancel-within-t-374564. The posting time indicated is Arizona local time. Arizona does not observe daylight savings so the post time may be Mountain or Pacific depending on the time of year.

Ripoff Report has an exclusive license to this report. It may not be copied without the written permission of Ripoff Report.

Click Here to read other Ripoff Reports on Thrive Learning Institute, Momentum Marketing, Biz Review

Search for additional reports

If you would like to see more Rip-off Reports on this company/individual, search here:

Search Tips
Report & Rebuttal
Respond to this report!
What's this?
Also a victim?
What's this?
Repair Your Reputation!
What's this?
REBUTTALS & REPLIES:
0Author 7Consumer 0Employee/Owner
Updates & Rebuttals

#1 Consumer Comment

Crooks! Thrive Learning

AUTHOR: SusanS - (USA)

They have companies that are scammers in AZ calling old ladies, selling them businesses that are fake and then Thrive Learning merchant account takes the money when it was never authorized. THEY DID THIS TO A LADY OVER 82 YRS OLD! Unbelievable!!!!!! ELDER ABUSE MUCH???? 
Respond to this report!
What's this?

#2 Author of original report

Come on Thrive...Where's your Rebuttal....?

AUTHOR: Kat - (U.S.A.)

Come on Thrive....Answer my question....Why was my investment so much more expensive? Cause I'm blonde, stupid, or alone? I deserve an answer for $12,250.00. !!!!!! GIVE ME MY MONEY BACK OR I GO TO THE ATTORNEY GENERAL .....YOU GOT 2 DAYS....!!!!
Respond to this report!
What's this?

#3 Author of original report

Thrive Ripoff Institute

AUTHOR: Kat - (U.S.A.)

I would like to know why did I have to invest $12,250.00 when other people's investment was much lower. Hey Thrive....answer that one.
Respond to this report!
What's this?

#4 Author of original report

Beware of Thrive Learning and Angel Stevens

AUTHOR: Kat - (U.S.A.)

Thrive Learning Institute does not know how to take NO for an answer. They sugar coat everything and make you feel their company is the answer to your prayers. Literally. After trying to cancel on the third business day... they had me in tears when I was told I couldn't cancel because they considered Saturday a "business day."

They have no heart. They take advantage of honest, desperate, hard working people. Whatever you do ......don't listen to them. I never started the training because.... I DECIDED TO CANCEL !!!
Respond to this report!
What's this?

#5 UPDATE Employee

Kathy Response

AUTHOR: Zachary - (U.S.A.)

Kathy's relationship began on the 12th of September 2008 when she had a welcome call to initiate her into the training. This call is designed to explain to Ms. M how the training works, to understand where his experience is online, and to give him some initial assignments to start making money online.
The notes for that call are as follows.
Call went a little long. She has some special needs with stress and limit on her time. She works a LOT of hours. She just moved out of her BF place and has more expenses. She loves camping and would love to buy a kayak. She's 53 and has been on 1 vacation in her adult life. I told her to take time for herself as she's able to accomplish goals and get things done.

Assignments: general knowledge, setting up your business, ebay, list an item on ebay, BM#1...

She has $2,000 worth of herbalife sitting that we need to sell locally or on ebay. Someone locally would like to buy it otherwise we need to help her sell it on ebay.
We called her for her follow up call on the 19th of September 2008 but she still had not done anything to complete her previous weeks assignments.
We are willing to help Ms. M move forward with creating her business but it seems that she has such a back and forth attitude about actually doing the work. We teach correct principles about making money online. They work and they work every single time but that is the key; you have to put in the work to make this business happen. So far Ms. M has not done a lot to take advantage of the knowledge that is available to her. We are awaiting her call to help her move forward.
Respond to this report!
What's this?

#6 UPDATE Employee

Response to the complaint filed by Kathy Miller

AUTHOR: Alex - (U.S.A.)

Ms. Miller was contacted by our office after she ordered some information on starting a home based business on 9/5/08. At that time she did sign an online enrollment agreement where the cancellation policy was made very clear to her as it is in bold lettering. She was also made aware of the Warranty of Service which states that if a client does not make all of their money back within 6 months we will continue working with them as long as necessary until all monies have been recouped.

Ms. Miller did call in on 9/9/08 with concerns about continuing with the program. However, on that day she did agree to continue with the program. She went forward and had her scheduled welcome call on 9/12/08 where she did mention that she has a crazy schedule. We told her that we could work around her schedule to better accommodate her. We also found out what her hobbies were and of some products from another company she has at her home that she was needing to sell. From there this client has done nothing. We try to stress to all the clients that we work with that results are based on the work they do. We are there to make sure that their exposure to mistakes is very limited if not eliminated.

As you can see in her complaint, she does not state that the coaching had failed her, not helped her out or did not live up to the agreement that was made with her that day. She even states that this program probably does work. All we ask is that Ms. Miller put in the time she committed she would and find out for herself. We are still very committed to helping this client achieve her goals in starting a business.
Respond to this report!
What's this?

#7 Author of original report

Class Action Lawsuit....please explain

AUTHOR: Kat - (U.S.A.)

So tell me....what exactly is a Class Action Law Suit? Can we get our money back? I don't have any money left for an attorney. Know anyone that can help? -Kat-
Respond to this report!
What's this?
Report & Rebuttal
Respond to this report!
What's this?
Also a victim?
What's this?
Repair Your Reputation!
What's this?
X