• Report: #401612

Complaint Review: TigerDirect.com

  • Submitted: Mon, December 15, 2008
  • Updated: Fri, December 19, 2008

  • Reported By:west wendover Nevada
TigerDirect.com
7795 West Flagler St., Suite 35 MIAMI, Florida U.S.A.

TigerDirect.com Beware - Price Switching - Horrible Customer Service Lost this Customer! MIAMI Florida

*UPDATE Employee: We Apologize

What's this?
What's this?
What's this?
Is this
Ripoff Report
About you?
Ripoff Report
A business' first
line of defense
on the Internet.
If your business is
willing to make a
commitment to
customer satisfaction
Click here now..

Does your business have a bad reputation?
Fix it the right way.
Corporate Advocacy Program™

SEO Reputation Management at its best!

I chose TigerDirect.com to purchase a 120" Mustang electric projector screen as they had the best advertised price of $229.99 (on sale from $249.99). I placed the item in my cart and was interested in their suggested accessories, so I decided to also purchase a projector mount. When I added that, the price of the screen jumped to $249.99. Not a huge deal, but I wanted it on sale as advertised and figured there must be some mistake and with $44 shipping, I wanted to save what I could. I backed around trying to get it back, but I could only find it at $249.99.

I called the company figuring customer service could help me out. The first guy I spoke to said, "No, it says $249.99." I again explained how it was on sale and he inquired with his supervisor. I was told that she checked the price history on the item and it hadn't been changed in quite a while. So, being called a liar, I figured I had no other action.

That's when I remembered that I also had been looking for the item on my work computer. I took a screenshot of the price to prove what I was saying was true. Each email I sent, I offered to send the screenshot as proof since nobody seemed to want to keep a customer. Three of five emails went unresponded to even though they claim I will hear from them within 48 hours. One email got a response from Charles. One of my follow-up emails was responded to by Bernadette "VP of customer service." Customer service agents are definitely trained to apologize...as evidence of other complaints. The problem isn't that I want an apology. The problem is that I wanted someone from customer service who wanted to keep me a customer. From the phone and online agents up to "VP" nobody stood behind their philosophy they proudly state on their website.

So, if you are a consumer who expects to be treated like reputable businesses do, you may want to look elsewhere. I gave TigerDirect.com ample opportunities to fix the situation. Instead, they must be doing better than the promise they make but don't stand behind and can afford to lose customers.

Through all this, the silver lining is that I was able to find a better deal at superwarehouse.com. I can't guarantee their customer service is better, but I can say that I am paying less for my screen and shipping was less than half. Best of all, when I placed the item in my cart, it stayed the price that was advertised.

Todd
west wendover, Nevada
U.S.A.

This report was posted on Ripoff Report on 12/15/2008 04:05 PM and is a permanent record located here: http://www.ripoffreport.com/r/TigerDirectcom/MIAMI-Florida-33144/TigerDirectcom-Beware-Price-Switching-Horrible-Customer-Service-Lost-this-Customer-M-401612. The posting time indicated is Arizona local time. Arizona does not observe daylight savings so the post time may be Mountain or Pacific depending on the time of year.

Ripoff Report has an exclusive license to this report. It may not be copied without the written permission of Ripoff Report.

Click Here to read other Ripoff Reports on TigerDirect.com

Search for additional reports

If you would like to see more Rip-off Reports on this company/individual, search here:

Search Tips
Report & Rebuttal
Respond to this report!
What's this?
Also a victim?
What's this?
Repair Your Reputation!
What's this?
REBUTTALS & REPLIES:
0Author 1Consumer 0Employee/Owner
Updates & Rebuttals

#1 UPDATE Employee

We Apologize

AUTHOR: Tiger Direct Pat - (U.S.A.)

We apologize for the inconvenience. Due to pricing volitility of certain products that we carry, our prices can change rather quickly and without warning. However, adding items to the cart locks in the price. Our databases are constantly updated, so our agents convey the most recent information. We do not have a "VP" of customer service, and I am sure a manager could have assisted had one been spoken to. We do not engage in any sort of "scams" including price switching. If ever you have an issue placing an orde online, feel free to contact a sales agent for assistance. Please contact me at Patrice.Altine@tigerdirect.com if you have any further concerns.

Sincerely,

Patrice Altine
TigerDirect.com
Respond to this report!
What's this?
Report & Rebuttal
Respond to this report!
What's this?
Also a victim?
What's this?
Repair Your Reputation!
What's this?
X