• Report: #315689

Complaint Review: Tropico Kennels

Thank You

Read how Ripoff Report saves consumers millions.

  • Submitted: Fri, March 07, 2008
  • Updated: Mon, August 04, 2008

  • Reported By:Buena Park California
Tropico Kennels
southerncalkennels.com Palmdale, California U.S.A.

Tropico Kennels Mixed Feelings Palmdale California

*REBUTTAL Owner of company: Tubie, what relationship do you have to me or to my kennel? Obviously your real name is not Tubie!

*Consumer Comment: Tropico Kennels

*Consumer Comment: Sharon - follow your instincts...

*REBUTTAL Owner of company: Tropico Kennels - read rebuttal to Sharon, written by Tropico Kennels

What's this?
What's this?
What's this?
Is this
Ripoff Report
About you?
Ripoff Report
A business' first
line of defense
on the Internet.
If your business is
willing to make a
commitment to
customer satisfaction
Click here now..

Does your business have a bad reputation?
Fix it the right way.
Corporate Advocacy Program™

SEO Reputation Management at its best!

I purchased a standard goldendoodle puppy from the Tropico Kennels. After several emails along with a $300 deposit, I arranged for an appointment to choose a puppy. My dog is wonderful...extremely loving and dotes on me, is eager to please, etc. In addition she has no major medical problems. From that standpoint, I guess that I am lucky compared to some of the other reports that I read. My only complaint was that after driving several hours, having decided on a pup, the price was suddenly much higher than discussed.

Although she had mentioned that the price would depend on the dog chosen, the "average price range was $1200." Peviously aware that I did not want a black goldendoodle or a male, "surprisingly" only the black male puppies were priced at $1200. The dog I chose was $2000. I felt that she was definitely taking advantage of my situation, I was recently widowed and wanted companionship, but I did go ahead and pay the price requested. No sire or dame information was provided for my pup which bothered me, along with the fact that neither were onsite for inspection, but I knew that I wouldn't be able to inspect the parents if I went to a local pet store either.

I have recently considered purchasing another pup and noticed that the name of the kennel had suddenly changed, the mother dogs were still not available for inspection, so I have decided to go elsewhere. With the emotional and financial expenses involved with pets, I cannot rely on luck twice.

Sharon
Buena Park, California
U.S.A.

This report was posted on Ripoff Report on 03/07/2008 11:59 AM and is a permanent record located here: http://www.ripoffreport.com/r/Tropico-Kennels/Palmdale-California/Tropico-Kennels-Mixed-Feelings-Palmdale-California-315689. The posting time indicated is Arizona local time. Arizona does not observe daylight savings so the post time may be Mountain or Pacific depending on the time of year.

Ripoff Report has an exclusive license to this report. It may not be copied without the written permission of Ripoff Report.

Click Here to read other Ripoff Reports on Tropico Kennels

Search for additional reports

If you would like to see more Rip-off Reports on this company/individual, search here:

Search Tips
Report & Rebuttal
Respond to this report!
What's this?
Also a victim?
What's this?
Repair Your Reputation!
What's this?
REBUTTALS & REPLIES:
0Author 2Consumer 2Employee/Owner
Updates & Rebuttals

#1 REBUTTAL Owner of company

Tubie, what relationship do you have to me or to my kennel? Obviously your real name is not Tubie!

AUTHOR: Lisa - (U.S.A.)

I have noticed that you have taken an interest in me more than once on this web site and so my question to you is why? Who are you and what is your relationship to me or to my kennel? I did NOT change my kennel name, Tropico is still up and running like always.

In regard to Tropico's Bearfox Blackadder, well you can see him on my favorite links page and on my celebrities page, his call name is "Dougal" and his owner Cathy owns "Dougal's Bed & Breakfast".
Dougal is a happy healthy boy!

The other issues you brought up I'm not even going to address them, because to be honest I already forgot what they were and I would have to log back on to that page to read it again and honestly it's not worth my time. I will not respond to you anymore, you do not have a dog from me, you do not know anyone that has a dog from me, so the only conclusion that anyone can reasonably come to, is that your a breeder. In L.A. I am the #1 recommended kennel by professional dog trainers here in L.A., so I am severe competition to many other breeders, other breeders which find me a threat to their own business. I have a list of professional dog trainers on my favorite links page that speak very highly of us. I also have a list of other breeders that have purchased dogs from us, that also speak very highly of us, and of course a long list of very happy clients. However no one can please all of the people all of the time! If any prospective clients have questions for us, they can email or call me and I will be more than happy to answer them. If a legitimate client like Sharon has an issue I am happy to address it, but your nobody "Tubie", that's not even a real name, so stop "obsessing" with me, your like some crazy "stalker", get a life!
Respond to this report!
What's this?

#2 Consumer Comment

Tropico Kennels

AUTHOR: Tubie - (U.S.A.)

Tropico Kennels

A few questions about your response to Sharon:

Why did you change your name from Tropico Kennels to Southern Cal Kennels?

Why would someone have to ask for the information about the parents of their puppy? I thought that was stuff that good breeders automatically give to the new owners?

On your website, you have the names of only your Poodle dads listed, why arent the mothers names and information available as well? Maybe thats what Sharon meant when she said that the mother dogs were still not available for inspection.

There is a dog listed on the Orthopedic Foundation For Animals website called TROPICO SERENADES HERE COMES THE SUN that says that the hips were PRELIMINARY MODERATE for hips. There is also a dog called TROPICO'S BEARFOX BLACKADDER whoms hips are BORDERLINE and whoms elbows are FCP/DJD I UNILATERAL LEFT. The website says that MODERATE means dysplastic and that if the elbows dont say normal they are dysplastic too. Are you the breeder of these dogs cause if you are you do have some dysplastic dogs instead of just the one you said wasnt proven.
Respond to this report!
What's this?

#3 Consumer Comment

Sharon - follow your instincts...

AUTHOR: Tubie - (U.S.A.)

Please do not let what Lisa Barreras of Tropico Kennels (or is it Southern Cal Kennels now?) said change your mind about finding another breeder. Going with your gut feeling is the best thing that you can do in this situation.
Respond to this report!
What's this?

#4 REBUTTAL Owner of company

Tropico Kennels - read rebuttal to Sharon, written by Tropico Kennels

AUTHOR: Lisa - (U.S.A.)

Dear Sharon,

We are very sorry your experience was not a good one. We wish you had taken the time out to contact us directly. We wouldn't even be aware of your grievances, had we not been told about your testimonial from a friend that read it. We are happy to hear your dog is good tempered and healthy, which we find to be true with all the dogs we breed. That is why we don't understand your comment when you say: "I guess that I am lucky compared to some of the other reports that I read", because the only comments we have read on this web site, that were written by our actual clients, have all been really nice things, where they were defending us and saying how we honor our guarantees and how great their dogs are.

We are aware of ONE isolated incidence, where one of our clients has claimed that their dog from us has CHD, however that was never proven to be true. After they contacted us by mail, we sent them a letter in return, asking for them to allow our vet to x-ray their dog at our own expense and after that we never heard from them again. We wrote a rebuttal to what they wrote, if you read their comment, then we hope you read ours as well. As the saying goes, there's always two sides to every story. In fact as we mentioned in our rebuttal to them, we have a report from their own vet, that even states their dogs OFA x-rays were normal.

We would also like to address some of the other things you mentioned as well, like the price of the puppies at the time you purchased your dog. At that time the average cost of our F1 Standards was $1500 to $2000, not $1200.
$1200 was a discounted price for black puppies only, because black puppies did not sell very good and that is the reason why we do not breed for black puppies any longer. We would never take advantage of someone's situation and then base our prices on that. We would be happy to show you copies of the receipts by mail or by fax, to show you what the other people paid for their puppies from the same litter yours came from, so that you can see you are not the only person that paid $2000 for their puppy and that only the black puppies sold for $1200.

In regards to information about the parents, had you asked us for any information on them, we would have gladly provided it to you. All our Poodles have their information listed on the sires page of our web site, their AKC numbers and their pedigrees. All our Poodles and Goldens are AKC registered and we have AKC papers for all of them, along with their pedigrees, so had you asked for any of those things, we would have gladly made you copies, which means that you must not have asked.

Currently we do not register our Goldendoodles with any of the mix breed registries and we even state this on our web site. However if the buyer wishes to register their puppy with one of the mixed breed registries themselves, then we will do everything we can to provide them with all the information they need to be able to do so.

You have stated in your testimony, that the parent dogs were not hear for you to meet, but there has never been an occasion we can remember, where we did not have both the parents here for the buyer's to meet them. We have no idea why you did not meet the parents of your dog, we do not remember the exact situation, but maybe you were in a rush and never asked to see them? That's the benefit of being local, that you get to meet both parents. There is a dog trainer on our web site, she is listed on our favorite links page, her name is Danielle and all her contact info is on that page for anyone that would like to contact her. She has been training dogs for 11 years and she has trained many dogs we have bred, Goldens and Goldendoodles. Danielle has also been to our home/kennel on numerous occasions and she can testify, that never once when she has been here, have both the parent dogs not been here with their puppies.

We always have both the parents out in the main part of our back yard, so people can meet them. In fact she can further testify, that out of all the dogs of ours that she has trained for people, that never has there been a situation where the buyer was not able to meet both parents to their puppy. Maybe yours was ONE isolated incident, where maybe the mother or father was at the groomers that day or something like that and we don't remember it, but that would never happen on a weekend, because we plan for the weekends when all the people are coming to pick out their puppies.

In fact you even said in your testimonial, that you wanted to get another dog, but again the parents were not hear for you to meet for a second time, but something like that for sure wouldn't happen on more than one occasion. What were you told was the reason you could not meet the parents? If we said they were not hear, then where did we say they were?

We're very sorry and at the same time very surprised that you have complaints, because your dog seems to be a wonderful dog and we feel that the things you have complained about, could have easily been avoided with a little more communication. We know that we would have gladly emailed you pictures of the puppies with their individual prices before you came over. We also know that had you asked us for the parents information, we would have gladly provided you with that as well. We can't imagine a situation where both the parents would not have been present at the time you came over, or even one of the parents, but as previously mentioned, if there was some isolated incidence that we're not remembering, then we know that had you mentioned you wanted to meet both parents, then we would have arranged a day for you to come over when that would be possible. We only hope this proves to be a learning experience for everyone.


Sincerely, Tropico Kennels
Respond to this report!
What's this?
Report & Rebuttal
Respond to this report!
What's this?
Also a victim?
What's this?
Repair Your Reputation!
What's this?

Advertisers above have met our
strict standards for business conduct.