• Report: #258316

Complaint Review: Web Marketing Source

Thank You

Read how Ripoff Report saves consumers millions.

  • Submitted: Mon, July 02, 2007
  • Updated: Mon, October 29, 2007

  • Reported By:East Stroudsburg Pennsylvania
Web Marketing Source
14953 NE 95th St Redmond, Washington U.S.A.

Web Marketing Source.com/Captures.com Used fear sales pressure tactics, and told me site was gargage and would not make money. Ripoff Redmond Washington

*UPDATE Employee: In Response...

*Consumer Comment: Pressure Sales Tactics at Web Marketing Source

*Consumer Suggestion: I wish I could help!

*Author of original report: Held Hostage By: Web Source Marketing.com/Captures.com

*Consumer Suggestion: Call Your Credit Card Company and Dispute the Charge!

What's this?
What's this?
What's this?
Is this
Ripoff Report
About you?
Ripoff Report
A business' first
line of defense
on the Internet.
If your business is
willing to make a
commitment to
customer satisfaction
Click here now..

Does your business have a bad reputation?
Fix it the right way.
Corporate Advocacy Program™

SEO Reputation Management at its best!

Used this site for web analysis and they contacted me and told me my site was garbage and would not make money or be picked up by the 3 main we search engines.

They called me every other day to pressure me to use their service. Went as far as telling me to dump the company and services of my present site. They offer a menu of 3 services from really cheap, middle service,or of course the highest, which is the best.
Then they act like they will do you a favor and slip you to a mid range service or another name like silver which is a middle and they lead you into bargining like buying a car.

I myself did not sign a contract because I did not know how to use the highlight in the box next to the check off and when I could not do that, they signed me anyway. I did cancel and then the calls got worse and they really scared me that I was in tears. I told them I cannot do this with out my husbands consent and they tricked me by saying would you advertise for us anyway..

I said "sure",just to be nice and next thing I know I was signed up and did not realize that when they asked that question I was signed up. So, again I was signed up like a real senile person.

when I tried to cancel that it was war time and they called me back and there were 3 guys talking to me with high pressure and ugency in their voices because they did not want my site to fail.

I told them again and again I cannot do this because my husband is on Chemo and It would not be right to ask him to do this when he is suffering through this hard time.

I was on the phone for over 2 hours trying to tell them over and over no. Of course, they told me if they talked to my husband they would explain, with no pressure and that would be the end of it. You know it did not happen as they said..

I had my call on speaker phone and that was not good enough for them. I even told them no matter what you say my husband will say no.

All I know is that they asked my husband if he wanted me to succeed and make money off my terrible site and they made it sound without them it could not happen.

As I thought he said no, they said he agreed. To this day, we argue because he does not remember saying yes to them. They knew we are on a fixed income and we already were taking for thousands of dollars. Guess this knowledge was the clue that we were senile or something. Sure, we were in a bind and now were are deeper and our income cannot handle this and I feel so ashamed to have gotten my husband into this, especially that he is so ill.

I guess they train people to stomp you down till you give in no matter how hard you life has already become.

I have contacted them 12 times and each time they promise to contact me to resolve the issue and instead they ignored my requests and pressured me more.

They delayed a response and charged my credit card anyway and if it was not bad enough, they even went all the way and overcharged me compared to the price they quoted.

Also, if you cannot read the contract, they will sign you up with out telling you the exact fee's, which was $3,000.00 plus the $99.00 they did not tell me about. That does not include the merchant account you would have to get. You know what that can cost.

I reported them to the BBB and filed 2 more reports today on the same complaing because as I suspected , they delayed so that they could charge my credit card.

I searched till I found this site.
Now, these companies are saying that these reports are filed by people that want to take their money, how ironic is that?

We are sick to our stomachs and we cannot sleep at night and worse I caused this for falling it. I am so ashamed ,I do not know how to get my money back. I have resorted to not being nice to these people when they do not contact me as promised. They are liers, and animals that prey on the retired folk and won't stop at know your spouse is on chemo and or that you are house bound due to health reasons.

Guess, we should watch who we speak honestly to. If you are down, they will dig the grave for you.

Arline
East Stroudsburg, PA

Arline
East Stroudsburg, Pennsylvania
U.S.A.

This report was posted on Ripoff Report on 07/02/2007 05:43 PM and is a permanent record located here: http://www.ripoffreport.com/r/Web-Marketing-Source/Redmond-Washington-98052/Web-Marketing-SourcecomCapturescom-Used-fear-sales-pressure-tactics-and-told-me-site-w-258316. The posting time indicated is Arizona local time. Arizona does not observe daylight savings so the post time may be Mountain or Pacific depending on the time of year.

Ripoff Report has an exclusive license to this report. It may not be copied without the written permission of Ripoff Report.

Click Here to read other Ripoff Reports on Web Marketing Source

Search for additional reports

If you would like to see more Rip-off Reports on this company/individual, search here:

Search Tips
Report & Rebuttal
Respond to this report!
What's this?
Also a victim?
What's this?
Repair Your Reputation!
What's this?
REBUTTALS & REPLIES:
0Author 5Consumer 0Employee/Owner
Updates & Rebuttals

#1 UPDATE Employee

In Response...

AUTHOR: Matt - (U.S.A.)

The original poster of this report has written numerous reports with the same complaints. We have attempted several different resolutions with Arline. They are all being complied under one report now, here...

http://www.ripoffreport.com/reports/0/210/RipOff0210222.htm

In Response to Friendly,

Thank you for posting your report as an opinion and for stating things the way you did! These are the kinds of reports that should be pointed out as 'the correct' way of doing things. This is an opinion site, you stated yours, and you did it in a way that was not libelous. We appreciate your feedback and are willing to look into your claim. If we find this to be the case, we would happily address the issue with any reps who address their customers in this manner. We go to great lengths to provide accurate information and by all means do not think our clients sites are trash or incapable of making them money. We actually try to portray that the ways in which their sites are designed can affect where they end up in search engines (on-page factors).

We also tell them that they have choices in the ways their sites are constructed. We never mean to make you feel like you know nothing about marketing and certainly do not claim to know all there is ourselves, we simply want to help our clients do better. Yes, we do market directly by making phone calls to qualified potential clients, whether you agree with this model or not, it is commonly practiced in many business models across the world. It is always your choice and we will never bug you for choosing not to do business with us, we only want to make sure you are aware and that you get the assistance you need, whether it's from us or another company. We would love your business, don't get me wrong, but I think you are capable of finding a fit for you, based on your needs and previous knowledge.
Respond to this report!
What's this?

#2 Consumer Comment

Pressure Sales Tactics at Web Marketing Source

AUTHOR: Friendly - (U.S.A.)

Hello! I just got off the phone with Web Marketing Source. Who told me numerous times how my business would fail if I did not use them to get to the first page of Google. Also, they try to tell you that you know nothing about marketing even if you have done alot of research. I would assume they get most of their customers this way. Plus they do use two different people to try and get you to buy. They do not even use rebuttals that offer new information each time.

One thing they told me after talking about their program and talking down to me was " You must not care about your company, because you sound bored and unresponsive." News flash: Most people are going to seem bored if you do not seem to be listening to them.

Do not fall into high pressure tactics. If you feel that they are right for you, that is fine. I have an issue with sale pitches like this.

Good luck to all you business owners.
Respond to this report!
What's this?

#3 Consumer Suggestion

I wish I could help!

AUTHOR: Melissa - (U.S.A.)

Arlene,


I'm sorry to hear this. They are trying to bully me at present as well. They have a collections company currently harrasing me! They too are telling me I could never cancel and have no record of my cancellation, even though my sales guy told me he knew I canceled. He's the one that took my cancellation request.

I also have my old emails I wrote trying to cancel as proof as well. So save those emails in case you need them later! This company is just wrong and unethical in their business practices and needs to be stopped!

In the mean time keep fighting the charge with your credit card company. If you did not authorize this charge than it needs to be reversed. Call your credit card company and dispute it and also write your credit card company a letter of dispute.

Make sure you send it by certified mail, so you have proof they received it. And cancel your card in the meantime and have a new one issued so they cannot charge your card EVER AGAIN!


Melisa
Respond to this report!
What's this?

#4 Author of original report

Held Hostage By: Web Source Marketing.com/Captures.com

AUTHOR: Arline - (U.S.A.)

I have been held hostage by: Web Marketing Source.com/Captures.com. I asked over and over again that they cancel services. I was told if I did not do what I did, such as report them to the BBB, I would not be going through this trouble; putting it into words.

I was told they would investigate this matter of why my requests to cancel being ignored and all they could say was that someone tried to contact me many times which was not true.

When I tried to dispute the hearsay, and asked for documentation, they hung up on me.

Websource Marketing/Captures does not reply by email for any updates and continue to hold me hostage. As I told them I did make an error about the price; but all other information is documented.

I recently, did send an email to them asking them if it was about the $3,000.00 and because I felt tortured by them at this point, they could keep the money, and that they should do what they thought was right.

I did get a phone call as about to leave the home from someone saying it was Captures and the next words were: It was never about the money. I really was not in the mood to hear that, because it confirmed that they were in fact holding me hostage and torturing me.

What can I do? They continue to hold me hostage and torture me. I am under great strain over this and it is making me sick.

They are bullying me and I feel they take great joy in it. I guess they feel it is the proper way to do business, and have no respect for women and or the elderly.

I regret ever going to their site for a free web analysis, it was that fear of failure of my new business on the net they used to hook me, and that site is not even up and running; yet.

All I wanted was to see if my web business was set up correctly so that the search engines would pick it up. By filling out a form it gave Websource Marketing/Captures all my information and they called me and used pressure and fear to get me. They ( Mr. M.B.) actually that my new business site was crap and would not get any business.

That free analysis is what started this whole thing. So, I have not contacted them since they replied onto the BBB site with a copy of an email, which I sent. Yet, when I ask for documentation from them, of keep requesting a cancellation of service, they refuse to reply and I only have fear they will keep charging my credit card.

All they had to do was reply to my request and none of this would have happened.
They would not be angry that I reported them to the BBB, Instead they want to continue to hold me hostage and torment me.

I have been ill everyday since this started. My husband is on Chemo, and I feel like I am going to have a heart attack.

A.T.
Respond to this report!
What's this?

#5 Consumer Suggestion

Call Your Credit Card Company and Dispute the Charge!

AUTHOR: Melissa - (U.S.A.)

Hi,

I just finished reading your report and I know exactly how your feeling! This company tried to scam my business out of $7,100 dollars. I just wanted to let you know that you can call your credit card company and tell them you are disputing the charge. Tell them you never authorized your card to be charged. They did the same thing to me and when I requested for them to refund my card, of course they didn't.

Almost always the credit card company's side with the consumer in debates such as these. I did this with my credit card and they refunded my money back to my card. Now let me warn you, I did this and a month later they started to charge my credit card again for so called "monthly service fees".

To protect yourself from this, just call your credit card company and have that card canceled and have a new card issued so they no longer have any of your credit card info.

I am glad you filed a report on them. I have filed a BBB report as well and also contact the Washington State Attorney Generals Office. You can file a report on them as well there. If the State Attorney General's Office gets enough complaints on a company, they will start an investigation on them! In the mean time at least you can try to get your money back. Hope this helps and good luck with your husbands chemo treatments. My heart goes out to you and your family!

Melissa - Hollister,CA
Respond to this report!
What's this?
Report & Rebuttal
Respond to this report!
What's this?
Also a victim?
What's this?
Repair Your Reputation!
What's this?

Advertisers above have met our
strict standards for business conduct.



Ripoff Report Legal Directory