• Report: #307373

Complaint Review: Westgate Resorts, Park City, Utah

Thank You

Read how Ripoff Report saves consumers millions.

  • Submitted: Fri, February 08, 2008
  • Updated: Thu, April 19, 2012

  • Reported By:Syracuse Utah
Westgate Resorts, Park City, Utah
westgateresorts.com Park City, Utah U.S.A.

West Gate Resorts Westgate Resorts, Park City, Utah Westgate resorts. Run as fast as you can!!!!! Big ripoff and a bunch of lies!!! Park City Utah

*Author of original report: Still unhappy with this Timeshare

*Author of original report: I have tried and tried and no luck!!!

*Consumer Suggestion: Here's how it works.

*REBUTTAL Owner of company: maybe i can help

What's this?
What's this?
What's this?
Is this
Ripoff Report
About you?
Ripoff Report
A business' first
line of defense
on the Internet.
If your business is
willing to make a
commitment to
customer satisfaction
Click here now..

Does your business have a bad reputation?
Fix it the right way.
Corporate Advocacy Program™

SEO Reputation Management at its best!

My wife and me purchased a time-share at the Westgate Resort at Park City, Utah in 2006. After a 4-hour ordeal that was to take 90 minutes, as many other complaints I've read about this resort have also gone through, we purchase a floating week unit in hopes to trade our week for other locations using Interval International. At the sales pitch we where told that we could trade our week each year if we wanted as a one bedroom on a float year or a two bedroom on a non-float year. In 2007 we did not use our week at all. When I recently called to exchange my week for this year I was told that I could not exchange it because I had not put my week in for an exchange for 2007. These are things you are not told during the pitch. Also as many other owners, when you go to use your week or flex time, there are never any rooms available. Rooms are not available even when you book ahead in advance 30 to 60 days. This has been the most frustrating experience I have ever gone through.

The reservation specialists are the rudest people I have ever tried to deal with. They are reluctant to give you a number that you can call and complain to. I have yet been able to find someone that will talk to me and try to make things good. This is the biggest scam I have ever seen. Funny, you don't see Worldmark or Trendwest on the complaint list.

I too wished I had done my homework on this place but in a high pressure sales environment you can't think about and make a decision the next day because it won't be there according to the many sales people they throw at you. I have wasted over $4,000 now that I could have used for a very nice vacation for my family, in return all I have is Westgate's excuses. Word to the wise; DON'T purchase a timeshare from Westgate!!

Justfun

Justfun
Syracuse, Utah
U.S.A.

This report was posted on Ripoff Report on 02/08/2008 01:54 PM and is a permanent record located here: http://www.ripoffreport.com/r/Westgate-Resorts-Park-City-Utah/Park-City-Utah/West-Gate-Resorts-Westgate-Resorts-Park-City-Utah-Westgate-resorts-Run-as-fast-as-you-c-307373. The posting time indicated is Arizona local time. Arizona does not observe daylight savings so the post time may be Mountain or Pacific depending on the time of year.

Ripoff Report has an exclusive license to this report. It may not be copied without the written permission of Ripoff Report.

Click Here to read other Ripoff Reports on Westgate Resorts, Park City, Utah

Search for additional reports

If you would like to see more Rip-off Reports on this company/individual, search here:

Search Tips
Report & Rebuttal
Respond to this report!
What's this?
Also a victim?
What's this?
Repair Your Reputation!
What's this?
REBUTTALS & REPLIES:
1Author 2Consumer 1Employee/Owner
Updates & Rebuttals

#1 Author of original report

Still unhappy with this Timeshare

AUTHOR: Justfun - (USA)

So after finally getting a sales person to help us exchange our time with a company called Interval International Exchange, this still is not working as promised in the sales pitch. It has been over a year since we banked our time with this company giving them a request for the Oregon coast and also the California coast resorts to exchange with. We gave them a wide span of time as well for when we wanted to exchange, June through September, and still nothing.

Also, when you bank your time, there is a fee of course, and then if Interval can't get you a time, there is another fee to switch your time back to Westgate Resorts. All I want is this to work like I was told when I purchase this awful thing. I have wasted so much money on this and I'm so frustrated, I can still not say a good thing about Westgate resorts. And it is impossible to sell to anyone. Is there anyone at Westgate Resorts that make this what it was suppose to be?
Respond to this report!
What's this?

#2 Author of original report

I have tried and tried and no luck!!!

AUTHOR: Justfun - (U.S.A.)

Well, now after 3 years of this horrible experience with Westgate Resorts, it just keeps getting better. We have tried to use this awful timeshare as everyone has suggested and still are unable to use it. We have wasted over $8,000 to something we cannot use. We could have had some nice vacations with that money that we have paid to something that does not work!

We finally did get Westgate to give us our 2007 time back with a two-year limit to be used at any of their resorts. We tried to use that time during the year in 2008, but whenever we called to set up times that we wanted to use, there were no available rooms. I even went out 3 months ahead for other dates and still no rooms available. It is the most frustrating experience I have ever encounter. The people are rude and don't even try to accommodate your needs. I'm Glad that every phone conversation is recorded, not that it really matters to management at all.

In December we did make reservations for July of this year, and was finally able to get the rooms we wanted at the time I had specified. The 2009 HOA and taxes are now due, and we are making monthly payments on these. We received our conformation for our time in July, but in order to stay at that time these HOA and taxes must be paid in full. Once again, another block in staying at this awful place. I understand that if I was using my 2009 time and the HOA and taxes had not been paid then I would expect not being able to use it. Not for the 2007 time that was paid in full. I can't even rate what my experience could actually be bought staying there for a week. It must be as much fun as it has just getting the time to stay there. Maybe better off not ever using it!

We cannot even sell this awful timeshare for what we paid at the original purchase price 3 years ago. It's not even worth the balance of what we owe. I have finally come to my last resort and just giving the timeshare back to Westgate and foreclosing on the mortgage. We simply have tried over and over to use this timeshare and it is almost impossible. We where lied to during the sales process and how easy it is to use by just calling 30 days in advanced to use the bonus weekends. We have never been able to get these because all the rooms are full. I guess they are all full trying to get other suckers to purchase this awful scam.

We can't afford to just keep throwing our family vacation money away to something that is unusable. In all the Westgate promotions, they promote how wonderful the Westgate Resorts are and how they give families such fond memories. More like nightmares!!!!!!

WESTGATE IS A RIPOFF!!!! Just read all the posts on this site.
Respond to this report!
What's this?

#3 Consumer Suggestion

Here's how it works.

AUTHOR: Nikki - (U.S.A.)

First, you said you did not use your week in 2007. Since you did not turn your week from 2007 into Interval, your week was not used and remained unused by you or anyone else. No one else could use it because you did not deposit it with II. Therefore your entire 2 bedroom unit was forfeited by you. Technically, you own a 2 bedroom unit for 2007, 2009, 2011, 2013, etc., but can use it in the off years if you did not use your entire unit during your ownership year.

Now, you want to vacation in 2008. Unfortunately, they will not even give you even the 1 bedroom unit because you did not allow them your 2007 usage.

II is an exchange company. They will not give you a week unless you exchanged something for it.

Say you and a friend share a condo. You were supposed to use it in 2007, but did not. Then you call your friend in 2008 and tell them you want to use it because you did not use it in 2007. Since you did not let them know you weren't going to use it in 2007 so they could, they're not about to let you use it in 2008.

Think of II as a large friend database. Instead of you finding a friend to trade your week with, they find one for you, hence the fee. Same thing applies to where you want to vacation. II cannot give you the week when and where you want to go unless a "friend" has turned in their week to II.

When I state "week" I mean a week during the time that you own.

Don't forget to deposit your 2009 week so you can either vacation in a 2 bedroom during 2009 or a 1 bedroom in 2009 and a 1 bedroom in 2010. If you know you are not going to use it at Westgate, deposit it with II, then call II periodically to see if they have availability when and where you want to go.
Respond to this report!
What's this?

#4 REBUTTAL Owner of company

maybe i can help

AUTHOR: Lois - (U.S.A.)

it is not difficult to exchange your week, depending on what you own. If you purchased something in park city that is not a ski week, then you probably do not own a high season week. you call the resort reservation, ask them for a week to be pulled then exchange it through interval. you can do this every january. your maintenance must be paid and not past due. you can also exchange your week online with interval.

keep in mind, as i have no idea what you purchased, if you do not own a red week, floating or not, you can not exchange to alot of places and you CAN NOT exchange for high demand times of years, like spring break, holidays, schools out calendar...etc..if you are willing to be flexible, you can do a flex change through interval, whereby you book and travel in 59 days or less, that may be a better option for you, especially if you purchased an off season (yellow or green) time of year
hope that helps, i know it is frustrating but it is not difficult once you understand it
Respond to this report!
What's this?
Report & Rebuttal
Respond to this report!
What's this?
Also a victim?
What's this?
Repair Your Reputation!
What's this?

Advertisers above have met our
strict standards for business conduct.



Ripoff Report Legal Directory
thoroughly