• Report: #666345

Complaint Review: William or Bill Thompson, TV Inc., Beverly Hills, Infomercial Scam complaint, Inside Edition, Business Week

Thank You

Read how Ripoff Report saves consumers millions.

  • Submitted: Mon, November 29, 2010
  • Updated: Mon, November 29, 2010

  • Reported By: Victim2010 — Florida United States of America
William or Bill Thompson, TV Inc., Beverly Hills, Infomercial Scam complaint, Inside Edition, Business Week
2465 Northside Drive, Apartment # 1704 Clearwater, Florida United States of America

William or Bill Thompson, TV Inc., Beverly Hills, Infomercial Scam complaint, Inside Edition, Business Week Global Promise, Celeb-Direct, Muscle Flex Inc, Bravada Infomercial Producer Scam, Professional Liar, Complete Fraud, Theft of Funds, Deceptive Practices, Direct Marketing Scam Clearwater, Florida

*Author of original report: Bill Thompson TV Inc, SCAM FRAUD - Continued

*REBUTTAL Owner of company: Extortionist Tries To Threaten TV Inc and Bill Thompson

What's this?
What's this?
What's this?
Is this
Ripoff Report
About you?
Ripoff Report
A business' first
line of defense
on the Internet.
If your business is
willing to make a
commitment to
customer satisfaction
Click here now..

Does your business have a bad reputation?
Fix it the right way.
Corporate Advocacy Program™

SEO Reputation Management at its best!

William Marvin Thompson, William M. Thompson, or Bill Thompson, infomercial producer dba TV Inc, infomercial production company. This 64 year old man is a seasoned and experienced con artist and very slick talker who represents that he will create a fantastic infomercial for anyone. He claims that he will help you make millions of dollars. In reality, he will slap together an incompetent, almost worthless shoddy infomercial that will be so poorly produced that is will likely NEVER get any orders and never go on national TV. He will do this to you after taking whatever amount of money you may have, be it $1,000 or $60,000 +++ of your life savings from you, as I confirmed he did with other victims as well as me.


Thompsons history of FRAUD and deceiving unsuspecting Victims goes back some 20 years, when, in May 15, 1990, the FTC charged him and his tiny, one-man company, TV Inc. with Fraud: http://www.ftc.gov/opa/predawn/F93/beepollen7.htm


William Thompson and Ira Smolev, who was charged with mail fraud numerous times, are evidently friends. Word is that Ira Smolev introduced Bill Thompson to a future client/victim. Thompson then scammed his new client/victim out of tens of thousands of dollars with a hideously incompetent cheap infomercial.  The 3 actual infomercials I found which he produced were shoddy and of low quality, using antiquated technology from 15 years ago. No wonder the products were total flops and Thompson's Clients lost TENS of THOUSANDS of dollars.


He [falsely] claims that he is a very rich TV producer, good friends with Sean Penn, famous Hiphop artists, Sean Connery, and other celebs, that he hangs out at the Playboy Mansion with Hugh Hefner (as seen on his facebook and Twiiter page,) and that he has done hundreds of infomercials for clients. In fact, he cannot prove any of this. Oddly enough, this flashy, shady character does not have a single picture of him hanging out with all his [imaginary] famous pals, as anyone would have if they really knew celebs. He must be an undercover rich person, as he lives in a $450.00 a month 45 year old rental apartment in Clearwater, FL, (similar to others from which he was evicted for non-payment of rent.)




Although he has dozens of [alleged] clients listed at his website, oddly enough, he cannot provide the names of happy, recent clients. This apparently is why you cannot find a single example of his video production work at his website by this self professed alleged "expert" in DRTV (Direct Response TV). Two months ago, I spoke to several of his past clients, who he had conned out of tens of thousands of dollars by slapping together a worthless "infomercial." Each of them instantly labeled him as a "thief," "con man," and "absolute liar," etc.




Thompson's favorite false statement is that he is the force behind the success of the Bose table Radio and that he produced the commercials for Bose, and devised their marketing plan. When he was asked to provide any proof whatsoever of his most popular claim, he could not a shred of proof of this, primarily because another company actually produced the Bose infomercials. He tells people this "Bose" story like a mantra, yet cannot prove a single word of this story. In reality, Thompson had nothing whatsoever to do with the Bose table radio success, commercials or marketing plan. But since virtually everyone has seen the Bose commercials, he selected that one to [falsely] claim as his baby, as a clever ruse to create the illusion of being competent and credible.




Thompson is a master of deception, and tries to impress unsuspecting Victims with numerous false credentials, including having lush offices all in 3 expensive areas, and phony credentials that lead a prospect to believe he is a bona fide expert:




He [falsely] claims to have offices in Beverly Hills, New York, and Sweden. Again, upon thorough investigation, none of these alleged office locations could be found in any database, or verified. It is safe to assume this is also part of his stack of lies. His only confirmed "office" is his tiny, 45 year old, $450.00 month rental apartment which he rents - similar to other units from which he was evicted.




Another significant Thompson deceptive strategy and outright lie is this one: Thompson claims he is a member of the Associated Press, and that he pays AP dues of $3,000.00 a year. Calls to the Associated Press (AP) in NYC and Miami confirm that once again; Bill Thompson is a complete liar. The AP never heard of him or TV Inc. The reason he [falsely] claims this AP affiliation is so he can then deceive his Victims further with this lie: because I am a member of the Associated Press, if you hire me (for $50,000.00 +) to create an infomercial for your product, I will easily get massive publicity for your product, which will make you rich very quickly.




In order to further gain your confidence so as to rip you off, until recently, Thompson had other phony credentials at his website, indicating that he was also a member of the Electronic Retailing Association, and the Direct Marketing Association. On information and belief, the legal departments of these two credible trade associations recently contacted Thompson and demanded that he remove these false and misleading credentials from his site, or face legal consequences. Only then did Thompson comply and remove the offending false credentials from his website. Too bad for Thompson that in early October 2010, I took, then preserved, scores of evidentiary screenshots of every page of every site on which he has fraudulently promoted himself and broadcast tons of lies about himself.




Perhaps Bill Thompson needs professional psychiatric care and long term treatment. He recently conned his way onto 30 seconds on Inside Edition which ran a segment about Secrets of People Who Say They Never Get Sick. He tries to convince viewers that he has not been sick in 27 years, because each morning he dips his face into a bowl of water with hydrogen Peroxide and iodine, which cleanses the area around his mouth and nose and eyes. Of course simply wiping ones face with alcohol will accomplish the same momentary and temporary benefits. Within an hour, bacteria obviously will again become present and flourish on ones skin. As always, this is just another flim-flam attempt at publicity, based on wholly unsubstantiated, absurd claims. How would Inside Edition ever verify how long it has been since someone has a cold?




BTW, in the 30 seconds featuring Thompson, one will notice it was filmed in his beat up 45 year old rental kitchen with a 1960s era stove where this self-proclaimed millionaire actually lives. Interestingly enough, Thompson told me he was "fighting a cold" when I met with him this summer. His Inside Edition appearance was just another absurd lie and desperate attempt at publicity from veteran scammer bill Thompson.




Too bad Inside Edition did not first check out the Pinellas County Court records on this con man: William M. Thompson. Searching for the name William M. Thompson on the Pinellas County Court records confirms that William M. Thompson (Jr.) has a long history of lawsuits against him, evictions from $450.00 a month, very old rental apartments, divorce, and a DOMESTIC VIOLENCE record, and Emergency Protective Orders issued against him, which should explain his divorces:




Link to domestic violence record etc:




http://pubtitlet.co.pinellas.fl.us/servlet/pcg.wsclient.servlet.CivilDocketServlet?CS__CASE=97004265FD&CS__RESULTS__KNT=10




To view all the results of just those people who had to sue him (which does not count all of those he has ripped off for the past 20 years), copy and paste this:




http://pubtitlet.co.pinellas.fl.us/servlet/justice.crosssystemnamelookup.GEVA




I am forwarding the overwhelming evidence of the criminal scam he perpetrated against me, in which he ripped of thousands of dollars from me using a scheme involving false, deceptive material representations over the telephone, etc. to the appropriate Law Enforcement agency in only a few days for prosecution. He needs to be incarcerated so as to protect the public.




I have learned a lot about the infomercial production business and that there are many expert con men like William Marvin Thompson in this business. However there are some professional and honest producers out there, if you can find them. Rather than risk getting ripped off, and to save tens of thousands of dollars, my advice is to actually create your own infomercial. Go to http://www.productionhub.com/directory/ for list of people to hire for each part of the production. (Beware - Thompson/TV Inc. is listed there also). In all cases: 1. VERIFY ALL references by speaking directly with them, 2. insist on seeing verifiable examples of recent work, 3. get a contract, and 4. NEVER pay more than a part of the fee for each individual part of the production in advance! In other words, pay for the editing part in part when it begins, then the full amount after you are fully satisfied with the editing process etc.




 




This report was posted on Ripoff Report on 11/29/2010 12:05 PM and is a permanent record located here: http://www.ripoffreport.com/r/William-or-Bill-Thompson-TV-Inc-Beverly-Hills-Infomercial-Scam-complaint-Inside-Edition-Business-Week/Clearwater-Florida-33761-2228/William-or-Bill-Thompson-TV-Inc-Beverly-Hills-Infomercial-Scam-complaint-Inside-Editi-666345. The posting time indicated is Arizona local time. Arizona does not observe daylight savings so the post time may be Mountain or Pacific depending on the time of year.

Ripoff Report has an exclusive license to this report. It may not be copied without the written permission of Ripoff Report.

Click Here to read other Ripoff Reports on William or Bill Thompson, TV Inc., Beverly Hills, Infomercial Scam complaint, Inside Edition, Business Week

Search for additional reports

If you would like to see more Rip-off Reports on this company/individual, search here:

Search Tips
Report & Rebuttal
Respond to this report!
What's this?
Also a victim?
What's this?
Repair Your Reputation!
What's this?
REBUTTALS & REPLIES:
1Author 0Consumer 1Employee/Owner
Updates & Rebuttals

#1 Author of original report

Bill Thompson TV Inc, SCAM FRAUD - Continued

AUTHOR: Victim2010 - (United States of America)

William or Bill Thompson, TV Inc. SCAM FRAUD, Continued

I stand by my factual and well-documented report: 100%. I strongly encourage any person who is even considering spending/losing money to Bill Thompson, a/k/a TV Inc, to research ALL of the facts in my report. Feel free to easily verify the Pinellas County FL court records on William Marvin "Bill" Thompson, the Domestic Violence perpetrator who keep also keeps getting evicted from his $450.00 a month apartments. Call Bose Corporation marketing department and ask if they have ever heard of Bill Thompson or his one man, apartment-based fraud enterprise called TV Inc. Ask the Electronic Retailing Association if Bill Thompson or TV Inc. has ever been a member, as he falsely represented for years. Click the link to the FTC fraud charges the US government filed v. Bill Thompson and TV Inc. Ask Bill Thompson to show a single pic of him at the Playboy mansion, or with Hugh Hefner, Sean Penn, Sean Connery, or his other imaginary pals whom he says are his close friends.

Or just call Bill Thompson and pretend that you are a prospective Client. In an scheme to make you his next Victim, he will immediately unleash his well practiced series of lies and deceptive statements to gain your confidence, the steal your money, just as he has been doing for "over 20 years", [as he freely admits]. Ask him for actual samples of his infomercials. Ask for proof that he created them. Ask for actual business Client references with whom you may speak, whose product he was responsible for a making a success. Since he cannot provide any this, you will get nothing from him, except another series of manipulative lies. 

I fully anticipated that Bill Thompson, a lifelong con man and scammer, would react no differently than any other professional crook. They do not like to finally have the world know how they have spent their entire careers ripping people off and duping trusting Victims. Bill Thompson is no different. 

On Friday October 1, 2010 I paid this criminal William Marvin Thompson $3,000.00 for "marketing services" that were to have been performed in October 2010. Of course I can provide the actual invoice proving this fact also, and that Bill Thompson had done no work whatsoever for me. Thompson did NOTHING to market my company. What Bill Thompson DID do is spend some eight hours over a five long month [conning and lying] period, to commit multiple felonies by using numerous false and misleading statements in a scheme to illegally obtain thousands of dollars from me. Bill Thompson patently false statement that he spent "85 hours" giving me free services is consistent with everything he says; it is simply an absolute, baseless, absurb lie.

On Wednesday morning October 6, 2010, after I finally checked Bill Thompson out and personally spoke with a few of his former Clients, a/k/a Victims, I contacted this liar and demanded my money back, as I then knew what a total fraud Bill Thompson indeed is. Regrettably I did not do this first, prior to depositing $3,000.00 directly into his back account, as he cleverly requested I do. That was my mistake in this matter.

As with all experienced con artists, Thompson will attempt to distort the truth about him and try to negate the irrefutable facts with a futile and desperate attack on a bona fide whistle-blower. This timeless cover-up strategy is known as "killing the messenger."

Interestingly, Thompson states in his little rebuttal: "We have always found that its best not to succumb to threats and liable." At least Thompson admits to having experience with many other Victims who trusted him and whom he screwed, who he then falsely claims "threatened and libeled" him after they also were totally defrauded out of thousands of dollars. (Thompson needs to learn to spell "libel".)

Since Thompson is totally broke, I know I will never get my $3,000.00 back from this EXPERT CONMAN. The good news is that Thompson was ONLY able to steal $3,000.00 from me before I found out what a liar and thief he truly is, as well as how utterly incompetent his "work product" is. No wonder Thompson has failed to post a single video of his "infomercials" on his own website. The three so-called "infomercials" he produced, which I viewed, could have literally been done better by a 9th grader with a Flip HD camcorder. Thompson ripped off his other Victims for amounts ranging from $40,000.00 $60,000.00. In that respect, I am truly lucky that Bill Thompson was only able to con $3,000.00 from me, before I discovered the REAL William Marvin Thompson.

Perhaps Thompson will one day seek long-term professional treatment for his chronic pathological lying and obvious delusions of grandeur. I do not know if William M. Thompson is possibly an alcoholic or a drug addict, or possibly criminally insane.

This factual report will prevent others from becoming Victims of just another professional con man and crook, named Bill Thompson.

Bill Thompson is the extortionist here, as well as a criminal who committed Wire Fraud, Grand Theft, Theft by Deception, and Fraud.

Thank God there are websites like RipOffReport.com, which have been PROTECTING innocent Consumers from lying criminals and talented con artists like Bill Thompson since 1998!!

Mr. J. Morrison, Original Bill Thompson Scam Whistle-blower, and Bill Thompson Scam Victim.

Respond to this report!
What's this?

#2 REBUTTAL Owner of company

Extortionist Tries To Threaten TV Inc and Bill Thompson

AUTHOR: tvinc - (United States of America)

November 29, 2010

I am William Thompson, founder and CEO of TV Inc. (www.tvinc.com).  Weve been in business for over 20 years.  We help companies bring their products to market typically using direct response marketing strategies & vehicles.

From time-to-time the inexperienced would-be business person seeks our help and advice.  We try to be helpful.  We give as much free advice as possible.  At one point, we must request payment for services if the freshman business person wishes to continue to have access to our expertise.

Such a person has accessed our services.  He had is girlfriend give us a small deposit cheque in the amount of $3,000 for these services.  Subsequently, he called saying he had changed his mind, asked for a refund, and promised to pay us $250 for nearly 85 hours of work.  Clearly we declined his offer.

He then threatened criminal action against us which in every state in the union is outlawed as a felony.  One cannot threaten criminal action in order to solve a civil matter.  No matter.  The businessman continued to harass us promising to ruin our reputation.  In other words, if we agreed to his extortion attempts, he would not liable us.  To the contrary, he promised to recommend us to others.

We have always found that its best not to succumb to threats and liable. 

If you have any questions about this matter, please feel free to contact us and speak to me directly.

Respond to this report!
What's this?
Report & Rebuttal
Respond to this report!
What's this?
Also a victim?
What's this?
Repair Your Reputation!
What's this?

Advertisers above have met our
strict standards for business conduct.



Ripoff Report Legal Directory