• Report: #1086185

Complaint Review: Yodle

Thank You

Read how Ripoff Report saves consumers millions.

  • Submitted: Fri, September 20, 2013
  • Updated: Fri, September 20, 2013

  • Reported By: Houston TX Area CPA — Katy Texas
Yodle
50 W 23rd St, Suite 401 New Yourk, New York USA

Yodle Inc pay per click, online advertising, SEO, internet marketing New York New York

*UPDATE Employee: Clarifying Yodle's Business Practices

What's this?
What's this?
What's this?
Is this
Ripoff Report
About you?
Ripoff Report
A business' first
line of defense
on the Internet.
If your business is
willing to make a
commitment to
customer satisfaction
Click here now..

Does your business have a bad reputation?
Fix it the right way.
Corporate Advocacy Program™

SEO Reputation Management at its best!

Practices used by this company can be downright damaging to your company's web presence in the long run.

  1. They rent the URL to you (yes, you pay for it, but they own it) so all the advertising money you spend to promote the URL is lost when you leave them. (Unless you know this and insist they use a URL that you buy and refuse to transfer to them).
  2. When you leave them, they rent "your" URL to your competitor. Now your competitor begins immediately receiving the trailing benefit of all your advertising spent with Yodle. Yodle looks good to new client, because they are re-routing all residual leads that come in after you stop paying them to their new client.
  3. They take over your Google Places page. If you let them "manage" your Google places page they will remove your ID and password and take full control. You are cut out of access to Google places.
  4. When you leave they threaten to close your Google Places page. If you let them setup your Google Places page, they claim they will close it down. If you let them "Manage" your existing Google Places page, you will have to fight and argue to get them to give you back the ID and password access you once had.
  5. They will sell you a website, then re-sell it to everyone around you. In my case, same colors, same people photos, etc... This makes you look like a cookie cutter commodity.
  6. The phone number they promote is not your phone number. Again, like the URL, they can and will re-direct the phone calls to your competitor when you leave.

When I worked with them they were not able to produce enough leads to cover the cost of their service plus the direct costs to service the client. When we asked to cancel service they refused. Then after the contract was over, our position in Google for our favorite three key words (we were ranking #1 on two of them and varied between #1,#2, and #3rd position on the third one) was severely damaged. We stayed on first page for one keyword, however, much lower, and for the other two key words we stopped appearing on the first page all together. Our Google Reviews disappeared and we can’t seem to get them back.

Over a year later, we still have not fully recovered our Google Places position. We have had to hire someone to get this fixed.


This report was posted on Ripoff Report on 09/20/2013 06:02 PM and is a permanent record located here: http://www.ripoffreport.com/r/Yodle/New-Yourk-New-York-10010/Yodle-Inc-pay-per-click-online-advertising-SEO-internet-marketing-New-York-New-York-1086185. The posting time indicated is Arizona local time. Arizona does not observe daylight savings so the post time may be Mountain or Pacific depending on the time of year.

Ripoff Report has an exclusive license to this report. It may not be copied without the written permission of Ripoff Report.

Click Here to read other Ripoff Reports on Yodle

Search for additional reports

If you would like to see more Rip-off Reports on this company/individual, search here:

Search Tips
Report & Rebuttal
Respond to this report!
What's this?
Also a victim?
What's this?
Repair Your Reputation!
What's this?
REBUTTALS & REPLIES:
0Author 1Consumer 0Employee/Owner
Updates & Rebuttals

#1 UPDATE Employee

Clarifying Yodle's Business Practices

AUTHOR: J. Teer - ()

Hi. My name is Jasmine Teer and I work for Yodle’s communications team. I am sorry to hear that you did not have a positive experience working with us. Below, I have addressed some of the topics that you mentioned and listed some options that may be of interest to you. Yodle respects our customers’ right to choose which marketing solutions work best for them, and if a customer decides to part ways, we actually take several steps to make that process as seamless and simple as possible. Here is some information that may help. I have also included below a few points that will hopefully help to clear up some of your concerns.

  • Yodle purchases website URLs for our customers based on what they do and where they are located. This helps ensure that our customers get found online. If someone decides to part ways with us, Yodle typically takes down the site, unless the customer wants it. If it’s requested, we can transfer over the URL and the website files. Most people never ask for this, but it is an option for anyone.
  • Our customers give us permission to manage their Google Places listings because part of Yodle’s offering is to keep these pages up to date. After parting ways with us, Yodle sends customers an ID, password and instructions on how to reclaim their listings – we do not hold on to these.
  • We do not redirect phone calls to competitors of any customers that end their relationship with Yodle. This is not, and never has been, our business practice.
  • As far as the websites that we create for our customers, we encourage all customers to send us logos, custom content and custom photos so that we can make each website customized and personal. Some customers opt not to do this, but the choice is open for everyone.
  • As far as Google Reviews disappearing, there was an incident that happened at Google and unfortunately, thousands of reviews were lost. This event was not related to Yodle.

I hope that this information better clarifies Yodle’s company practices. If you’d like to follow up with me on this, feel free to contact me directly at jteer@yodle.com or at (212) 542-5403. Best regards. 

Respond to this report!
What's this?
Report & Rebuttal
Respond to this report!
What's this?
Also a victim?
What's this?
Repair Your Reputation!
What's this?

Advertisers above have met our
strict standards for business conduct.



Ripoff Report Legal Directory