• Report: #36690

Complaint Review: ascentive.com

Thank You

Read how Ripoff Report saves consumers millions.

  • Submitted: Sun, December 01, 2002
  • Updated: Wed, October 01, 2003

  • Reported By:Portland Oregon
ascentive.com
ascentive.com Internet U.S.A.

ascentive.com active speed garbage ripoff fraudulent ripoff business Internet

*Consumer Comment: It's impossible to put in a canceelation notice to ascentive

*UPDATE Employee: Missed Their Cancellation Period

*0: ascentive.com

What's this?
What's this?
What's this?
Is this
Ripoff Report
About you?
Ripoff Report
A business' first
line of defense
on the Internet.
If your business is
willing to make a
commitment to
customer satisfaction
Click here now..

Does your business have a bad reputation?
Fix it the right way.
Corporate Advocacy Program™

SEO Reputation Management at its best!

I downloaded their active speed software. What a bunch of garbage. It didn't work, after two days I uninstalled it and forgot about it.

Exactly one month later I got an e-mail saying they had a bad credit card number. Of course by this time I didn't even know who ascentive.com was.

I e-mailed back asking what they were billing me for. It took until October 25th from the e-mail on October 13 to tell me what they were billing for.
I sent back another e-mail telling them to cancel the bill that their product didn't work and if they checked their records they would see that I had not logged onto their site since two days after I had originally downloaded active speed. You have to log on to use active speed. That way they can track your internet use.

Once again it took from 10-25-02 to 11-05-02 to get a response this one telling that I had not contacted them in time. And that they would not refund or cancel. Immediately afterwards my credit card was billed.

I'd like to know what refund period they are talking about because obviously they refused me one. I did keep both e-mails from them telling me what it was and that they would not refund my money.

L
Portland, Oregon

Click here to read other Rip Off Reports on Ascentive.com

This report was posted on Ripoff Report on 12/01/2002 10:00 AM and is a permanent record located here: http://www.ripoffreport.com/r/ascentivecom/internet/ascentivecom-active-speed-garbage-ripoff-fraudulent-ripoff-business-Internet-36690. The posting time indicated is Arizona local time. Arizona does not observe daylight savings so the post time may be Mountain or Pacific depending on the time of year.

Ripoff Report has an exclusive license to this report. It may not be copied without the written permission of Ripoff Report.

Click Here to read other Ripoff Reports on ascentive.com

Search for additional reports

If you would like to see more Rip-off Reports on this company/individual, search here:

Search Tips
Report & Rebuttal
Respond to this report!
What's this?
Also a victim?
What's this?
Repair Your Reputation!
What's this?
REBUTTALS & REPLIES:
0Author 3Consumer 0Employee/Owner
Updates & Rebuttals

#1 Consumer Comment

It's impossible to put in a canceelation notice to ascentive

AUTHOR: Bruce - (Canada)

I recieved my order for "active speed" about 2 weeks ago. Reported to the company that it didn't work and further tied up my computer.I kept getting replys from support"your internet connection is not working" (yet they could get my emails and I could get theirs).I filled out many support forms at their site, with no results. As it affected my machine I removed it.

Since I have spenf hour trying to cancell, but no one can give me the form to do so. They state without the numbered form you can't cancell.

I always felt the law stated on any email there shoud be a cancellation URL you click.

I am so fed-up I am reporting them to the FTC, BBB,and am sending a regestered letter to thier
office at 201 spring garden street, Phil.

I have pages and pages sending me from one page to an other never did find the report.
Respond to this report!
What's this?

#2 UPDATE Employee

Missed Their Cancellation Period

AUTHOR: Martin - (U.S.A.)

First of all, when any customer orders our software they must agree to the License Agreement (viewable here: http://www.ascentive.com/download/EULA.html (section 9 deals with Trial Software)) which states the cancellation policy (ii. All charges and fees will be billed to your credit card at the end of your trial period. Your trial period begins at the time you submit your order regardless if you have used the software or not.).



Once the customer's order is approved, they are automatically sent a receipt and another email with download instructions. Both of which contain a link to our License Agreement. You can view a copy of a sample receipt here: http://supportdev.ascentive.com/receipt.html and a copy of a sample download email here: http://supportdev.ascentive.com/download.html



Secondly, before the customer may install the software, they are, again, given this agreement and must press, "Yes" to install the software (see: http://supportdev.ascentive.com/EULA.gif). If the customer was not satisfied with the software, they could have emailed us BEFORE the trial period ended for assistance or to cancel. We provide a link on every single page of our support site (www.ascentive.com/support) to a form to email our company.



Third, at the time this customer wrote to us, we were very short staffed and yes, it did take more than a normal time to answer emails, but regardless, the email that this customer sent was on the day after their trial period was over. Again, as stated in our License Agreement, the software must be cancelled within the trial period. They had 30 days to email us to cancel. We do not offer phone support, we however, offer a Live Chat feature during business hours and also our email is available 24 hours a day, 7 days a week, 365 days of the year. If their email to cancel had come in within their trial period, regardless if we had not answered until days, weeks or even months later, the email is stamped by receive date and that is the date that the cancellation is recorded and their request would have been honored.



If this customer failed to read all the terms of the License Agreement, that is not our fault. They were presented this agreement a minimum of 4 times so they were made well aware that this software was bound by this agreement. Even if they missed the links on the order page, the download email and the receipt, they had to physically click a button to state "Yes I agree to these terms..."
Respond to this report!
What's this?

#3 0

ascentive.com

AUTHOR: - ()

Subj: Re: Bad Credit Card

Date: 10/25/2002 6:48:41 AM Pacific Daylight Time

From: support@ascentive.com

To: Schwrtzlea@aol.com

Sent from the Internet (Details)







Hi,



Thank you for contacting Ascentive. You purchased subscription software (ActiveSpeed) from Ascentive on September 13th. There was a one-month free trial period, after which you were charged the price of $39.95 on October 13th.



I hope you are enjoying the software. Let me know if there's any other way I can help you.





Sincerely,

Sharon Wasko

Ascentive Support

http://www.ascentive.com



-----Original Message-----

In a message dated 10/13/2002 3:24:52 AM Pacific Daylight Time,

support@ascentive.com writes:





> support@ascentive.com.



what are you billing my credit card for?



Return-Path:

Received: from rly-xd01.mx.aol.com (rly-xd01.mail.aol.com [172.20.105.166]) by air-xd03.mail.aol.com (v89.10) with ESMTP id MAILINXD32-1025094841; Fri, 25 Oct 2002 09:48:41 -0400

Received: from azure.he.net (azure.he.net [216.218.223.210]) by rly-xd01.mx.aol.com (v89.10) with ESMTP id MAILRELAYINXD16-1025094827; Fri, 25 Oct 2002 09:48:27 2000

Received: from ascentive.com (keystone.ascentive.com [146.145.12.114]) by azure.he.net (8.8.6/8.8.2) with SMTP id GAA09790 for ; Fri, 25 Oct 2002 06:48:29 -0700

Message-Id: <200210251348.GAA09790@azure.he.net>

Date: Fri, 25 Oct 2002 13:48:36 -0000

From: support@ascentive.com

Subject: Re: Bad Credit Card

To: Schwrtzlea@aol.com









Subj: Re: Bad Credit Card

Date: 11/5/2002 10:51:15 AM Pacific Standard Time

From: support@ascentive.com

To: Schwrtzlea@aol.com

Sent from the Internet (Details)







Hi,



I am sorry to hear that you are unhappy with your purchase. Because you did not cancel within your 30 day trial period, you are still responsible for the subscription fee whether you intend to use the software or not. Not using the software does not cancel the trial.



When you purchased and/or installed your Ascentive software, you agreed to the terms and conditions of our software agreement.



The order page on our web site specifies, "By pressing "Process Secure Order", you state that you accept the software's License Agreement."



As stated in paragraph 8, subsections 2, 3 and 4 of the End User License Agreement:



ii. ALL CHARGES AND FEES WILL BE BILLED TO YOUR CREDIT CARD AT THE END OF YOUR TRIAL PERIOD. YOUR TRIAL PERIOD BEGINS AT THE TIME YOU SUBMIT YOUR ORDER REGARDLESS IF YOU HAVE USED THE SOFTWARE OR NOT.



iii. SUBSCRIPTION FEES: THE SUBSCRIBER IS RESPONSIBLE FOR PAYING PERIODIC SUBSCRIPTION FEES ACCORDING TO THE "THEN-CURRENT TERMS" OF ASCENTIVE LLC. SUBSCRIPTION FEES ARE NON-REFUNDABLE ONCE YOUR AGREED TRIAL PERIOD HAS ENDED AND YOUR CREDIT CARD HAS BEEN CHARGED. IF THE USER CAN'T ACCESS THE SERVER DUE TO TECHNICAL PROBLEMS NOT RELATED TO ASCENTIVE LLC, THE SUBSCRIPTION FEE WILL NOT BE REFUNDED.



iv. AUTOMATIC RENEWAL: SUBSCRIPTION FEES FOR REGULAR MEMBERSHIPS ARE AUTOMATICALLY RENEWED AT THE END OF THE ORIGINAL TERM SELECTED, FOR A LIKE PERIOD OF TIME, UNLESS NOTICE IS SUBMITTED BY THE SUBSCRIBER TO ASCENTIVE LLC OR THE SITE THREE (3) DAYS PRIOR TO THE END OF THE TERM. SUBSCRIPTION FEES FOR TRIAL OR SPECIAL INTRODUCTORY OFFERS AUTOMATICALLY RENEW TO THE SUBSCRIPTION RATE AT THE END OF THE ORIGINAL TERM SELECTED, UNLESS NOTICE IS SUBMITTED BY THE SUBSCRIBER TO ASCENTIVE LLC OR THE SITE THREE (3) DAYS PRIOR TO THE END OF THE TERM. UNLESS AND UNTIL THIS AGREEMENT IS CANCELLED IN ACCORDANCE WITH THE TERMS HEREOF, SUBSCRIBER HEREBY AUTHORIZES ASCENTIVE LLC TO CHARGE SUBSCRIBER'S CREDIT CARD (OR OTHER APPROVED FACILITY) TO PAY FOR THE ONGOING COST OF MEMBERSHIP.



I'm sorry that we are unable to process your request at this late date. We believe that a month is enough time for users to decide whether or not they want to continue with subscriptions and we apply that rule to everyone, including you. We would be happy to provide the organization of your choice with copies of your receipt, the EULA that you agreed to when you made your purchase, our dated email logs, and an explanation of your failure to cancel within 30 days of your purchase.



You will, however, continue to receive Lifetime Technical Support for your software and free replacement copies.





Best regards,

Scott Kaufman

Ascentive Support

http://www.ascentive.com



-----Original Message-----

Yes, there is another way you can help me. Cancel whatever account you have

for me and credit my credit card. If you check your records you will see

that I have not logged into your site to use the software since about 2 days

after I downloaded it. It didn't work. Even if it had the fact that it took

you until the 25th to responde to an e-mail sent the 13th would be enough to

make me cancel.



Return-Path:

Received: from rly-xj03.mx.aol.com (rly-xj03.mail.aol.com [172.20.116.40]) by air-xj03.mail.aol.com (v89.12) with ESMTP id MAILINXJ33-1105135115; Tue, 05 Nov 2002 13:51:15 1900

Received: from azure.he.net (azure.he.net [216.218.223.210]) by rly-xj03.mx.aol.com (v89.10) with ESMTP id MAILRELAYINXJ310-1105135052; Tue, 05 Nov 2002 13:50:52 1900

Received: from ascentive.com (keystone.ascentive.com [146.145.12.114]) by azure.he.net (8.8.6/8.8.2) with SMTP id KAA22611 for ; Tue, 5 Nov 2002 10:50:55 -0800

Message-Id: <200211051850.KAA22611@azure.he.net>

Date: Tue, 05 Nov 2002 18:51:05 -0000

From: support@ascentive.com

Subject: Re: Bad Credit Card [T2002101300AG]

To: Schwrtzlea@aol.com









Obviously as you can see from the dates on these e-mails their claim of 24 hour customer service by e-mail is not true. I had also tried calling and just sat on hold without ever talking to a person. As a consumer that also does customer service their customer service sucks. Also as you can see if I had received an e-mail back immediatley my cancellation would have been on time.
Respond to this report!
What's this?
Report & Rebuttal
Respond to this report!
What's this?
Also a victim?
What's this?
Repair Your Reputation!
What's this?

Advertisers above have met our
strict standards for business conduct.



Ripoff Report Legal Directory