• Report: #880706

Complaint Review: Bahamas Celebration Cruiseline

Thank You

Read how Ripoff Report saves consumers millions.

  • Submitted: Thu, May 10, 2012
  • Updated: Wed, February 27, 2013

  • Reported By: Sandra — Hendersonville North Carolina U.S.A.
Bahamas Celebration Cruiseline
2419 East Commercial Blvd. Ft. Lauderdale, Florida United States of America
  • Phone: 800-237-3503
  • Web:
  • Category: Cruises

Bahamas Celebration Cruiseline Carribean Cruiselines Bahamas Celebration vacation package is a horrible SCAM!!!! Ft. Lauderdale, Florida

*General Comment: Bahamas Celebration - Good Deal!

*General Comment: thanks for the warning

*Author of original report: awwww he just likes picking useless arguments with random people - must be very bored and lonely.

*Consumer Comment: may i say

*Author of original report: Thank you for your response

*Author of original report: I guess I was just mad. Sorry.

*Consumer Comment: boggles the mind

*Consumer Suggestion: Do Your Homework

What's this?
What's this?
What's this?
Is this
Ripoff Report
About you?
Ripoff Report
A business' first
line of defense
on the Internet.
If your business is
willing to make a
commitment to
customer satisfaction
Click here now..

Does your business have a bad reputation?
Fix it the right way.
Corporate Advocacy Program™

SEO Reputation Management at its best!

I wish I would have come to this site before buying into this scam because I now see that they have ripped off a whole lot more people than just me. I was sickened to read other peoples comments about this package because it was like I was reading my own story. I have to say first that my family is not rich or even close to comfortable, income-wise. My husband became disabled about seven years ago and was taken out of work. We waited for five years to get his social security and with the back pay - we paid off our mobile - paid off our truck and decided to take our kids on a vacation since they had never really been on one. I got a phone call at work several days after receiving the money that told me "I won a cruise to the Bahamas for two". All I had to pay was port taxes and gratuities. I still have not seen that "free cruise that I supposedly won" because I fully paid for all of us. The deal sounded great so I continued to listen - which I normally would have hung up in the first sentence, but since we were just talking about taking our kids on a vacation, it seemed like the answer I was looking for was sent right to me. So I asked how much it would be to take my family with me. He really seemed excited then, I should have known better. Anyway, he said they could certainly add my family for a minimal price (hahahaha) and continued to tell me about the package I had "won". He said that we would be staying two days in a "LUXURY RESORT" in Fort Lauderdale Florida, two days aboard the Bahamas Celebration cruise line to take us to the Bahamas, and upon return we would stay at another "LUXURY RESORT" in Orlando Florida. He certainly made the package sound like a real "steal". Now after taking this "not so luxurious vacation" I realize that they were the ones really getting the "steal". I bought two packages that covered my husband, myself and all three of my children and my sons new wife (of course keep in mind that somewhere in there I WON a trip for two). Lets just say this trip was the opposite of what I was promised in this phone conversation. 

The rental car
I was told that I would be provided with a rental car for the entirety of our trip, or that I could take my own car and I would be reimbursed two hundred dollars in gasoline. A few weeks before the actual trip I called to see what company I would be going to in North Carolina to get my rental car that was offered with the package. Surprise surprise - I have to get to Florida from North Carolina BEFORE I can get the rental car, which of course was never mentioned in the beginning. So, I rented a car here in North Carolina on my own dime and made the best of it! (Trust me - this is not the last time we were forced to "make the best of things during this trip).
The Ramada Plaza Luxury Resort in Fort Lauderdale Florida.
First, I was very clear with the person that booked our vacation that my youngest daughter has a skin condition that limits how much she can go outside in the sunlight and stressed the importance of an indoor pool for her entertainment. I was clearly told that was NOT A PROBLEM and was told that I would be staying at the Ramada Plaza Resort in Fort Lauderdale, Florida and at the Maingate West in Orlando, Florida. I was even given the website to look at the hotel and the pictures which would show the indoor pools that she could use, so I did, and then I showed my kids the pictures of this really nice "resort" we would be staying in so as to get them all excited about these cool resorts we were going to. Of course - they never had any intention of putting my family in that Ramada in the first place. I checked in at that hotel - then they said that the hotel was full (even though I booked four months prior to the trip) and they sent me and my family to the worst motel I have ever been in AND HAD THE NERVE TO CALL IT A RESORT. It was called the Inverrary "resort" what a joke. There was no indoor pool as promised by the booking agent, I honestly considered finding a decent motel but I was travelling on low funds already and again my family saw me crying and said "lets just make the best of it here". Trying to make the best of it, I waited till the sun went down some and took my eleven year old daughter to the outdoor pool and there were a family of ducks living IN THE POOL . It was the most discusting pool I had ever seen, with mold all around the outsides. I could hardly believe my eyes. So, I tried to entertain my daughter with cartoons but the TVs were so old that they were pure static and only two channels worked - neither of them cartoon channels of course. I cried every single day of this trip for my kids - I had promised them luxury resort and I took them to the scums of Florida and put them in a mold and duck infested pool with horrible food and cockroaches in their rooms. They had three elevators but only one of them worked and it was well overworked so it was banging and screeching the whole time you were on it. It was terrifying so we used the stairs every time we had to go up or down - and again my husband is disabled so he had no choice but to get on the crowded elevator that took twenty minutes to get on. The "free food" could not have been worse if my eleven year old daughter made it herself. Absolutely nothing was edible. Their "food vouchers" were useless, and they actually expected us to pay taxes and gratuities for that slop. We ate out for every meal on our trip (which again - I could not afford so it was McDonalds and Burger King the whole time we were on vacation.  It was the most horrible stay in what was called a "luxury resort" I could have imagined. I am still sick at my stomach every time I think of how I lied to my kids about this being a luxury vacation - after being lied to by this company. I have never felt so bad in my entire life. The disappointment was almost unbearable.
The Bahamas Celebration Cruiseline
First I as told during the initial purchase of the packages, that both of my packages included ocean view balconies. Later, during another conversation with the cruiseline, I was told that we did not even have a window in our rooms - that I would need to pay like three hundred dollars extra per package to have our rooms "upgraded".  I ended up paying a hundred extra dollars per package to have our rooms upgraded to an ocean view room that just had a window - no balcony, which was just the beginning of my horror of hidden fees.
I wanted this experience to be perfect for my kids. The cruise was honestly the nicest part of the trip and that is not saying very much (keeping in mind this was my and families first cruise ever so we weren't really expecting very much). The most enjoyable part of the cruise ship was the room keeper who kept our room spotless. How sad is that? I can also say that the ship was very clean and the staff was very nice. The boat seemed thirty years old - it rocked absolutely horribly and only had one working elevator that everyone kept trying to jam into at one time so we ended up taking the stairs up and down every single time - we were all exhausted by the end of the cruise from running up and down stairs the whole time (again besides my husband who was tortured with waiting for the one elevator because of his disability). I was told that the ship would have a 24 hour place that served food and that there was a 24 hour icecream bar, and that all food except for alcohol and sodas were absolutely free - which again - I told my kids - and again - they were lied to just like I was. My daughter spotted chocolate covered strawberries the second we walked in - in a glass case that was at the "24 hr eatery" that stayed open until like 1:00am. When she asked for a strawberry, they tried to charge her $7.25 PER strawberry. What happened to all the food being free??? The "24 hour" icecream bar had about four kinds of icecream to choose from and it stayed open until like 4:00 in the afternoon and then closed down. My kids again were so disappointed. I told them that they could go at three oclock in the morning and get icecream if they wanted it because it was vacation. The cruise ship had one little kid slide that was too small for my youngest daughter and other than that not hardly what I would call any entertainment for her otherwise. The 10-12 age fun zone was closed every time we went to it. I never thought my daughter would become BORED on a cruiseship after all the wonderful stories I had heard about cruising, but she certainly did. Another disappointment to say the least.

The Main Gate West, Orlando Florida
Again - told I would be staying at the Maingate West - where there would be an inside pool for my daughter, and again we were told the hotel I was supposed to stay in was booked up and then sent us to another crappy dirty hotel called the Orlando Grand - in the center of the hood - with NO INSIDE POOL. I was so upset I called the booking agency crying and begged to be sent back to the hotel I was promised to be in. I explained that my daughter has not been able to swim because of her skin condition and because of the lies I had been told and that was the part she had looked most forward to. The lady on the phone was friendly and sympathetic - acted like this was not the first crying disappointed customer she had talked to, and told me there was nothing that she could do for me, and asked me to "try to make the best of it"for my kids sake. I can honestly say that I have never spent so much time saying "lets just make the best of it" as I did on our first vacation. We did not use one single food voucher in the Orlando Grand - the food was barely recognizable much less edible. The rooms were filthy, the sheets were stained, there were cigarette butts all over the balcony - it was terrible. I just dont think I have ever felt so bad for the horrible trip I had just taken my family on after I had boosted them up to have such a wonderful time.


The Topper of the Trip - TIME SHARES
I was never told that I would have to attend one time share much less two. I was informed of ONE of the time shares upon arrival. The first time share was in Fort Lauderdale  - at 2:30 in the afternoon - while trying to relax on vacation - we had to leave the beach - load up everyone just to go look at a place that we should have been staying at in the first place. It was like a slap in my face to take my family to this beautiful resort to show them what they should have been staying in on this trip and then turn them around and drive them back to the junk hotel that we were stuck in. I cried inside all the way back to the hotel after the timeshare presentation. My kids knew what I was thinking - they were thinking it too - they wanted to go back and stay at the timeshare condos instead of going to the crap they had put us in but we couldnt. And I had to look at them and say "I am so so so so sorry that this trip has not been everything I promised it was going to be". Do you know how horrible it was to come back and hear my kids response when people asked them how the trip was, their response was "it wasnt that bad" just to keep from hurting my feelings. They should have come back screaming and yelling "that was the best trip EVER - THANK YOU MOM". I feel like throwing up just typing this . The second time share was at 8:00 in the morning - thirty minutes away from the crap hotel we were staying in. So again, while we are supposed to be relaxing, I had to wake up my family at 7:00 to get ready to go see another time share presentation at yet another place that we should have been staying at in the first place. I cant tell you how incredibly horrible it was to do this to my family.

The worst part of it all is that I cant make up for it - I cant afford to take my family on another trip to try to make it right. All I can do is warn everyone that I can not to book with this cruiseline - I hope that I can stop them from hurting another family the way they have hurt mine. I hope that the person/company that sold me this package is pleased, because they have ruined my one chance at a luxurious trip for my children and myself and my husband. They stole that from us. They DO NOT CARE THOUGH - I sent a complaint to their compliance dept but they have not responded and probably never even read my letter - just added it to the millions of other letters they have received I am sure. Oh and by the way - they never reimbursed me for my gas either - even after I saved and sent them all my receipts. THANKS FOR NOTHING CARIBBEAN CRUISELINES!!! I hope I can stop at least one person from going through what we went through.

This report was posted on Ripoff Report on 05/10/2012 07:36 AM and is a permanent record located here: http://www.ripoffreport.com/r/Bahamas-Celebration-Cruiseline/Ft-Lauderdale-Florida-33308/Bahamas-Celebration-Cruiseline-Carribean-Cruiselines-Bahamas-Celebration-vacation-package-880706. The posting time indicated is Arizona local time. Arizona does not observe daylight savings so the post time may be Mountain or Pacific depending on the time of year.

Ripoff Report has an exclusive license to this report. It may not be copied without the written permission of Ripoff Report.

Click Here to read other Ripoff Reports on Bahamas Celebration Cruiseline

Search for additional reports

If you would like to see more Rip-off Reports on this company/individual, search here:

Search Tips
Report & Rebuttal
Respond to this report!
What's this?
Also a victim?
What's this?
Repair Your Reputation!
What's this?
REBUTTALS & REPLIES:
3Author 5Consumer 0Employee/Owner
Updates & Rebuttals

#1 General Comment

Bahamas Celebration - Good Deal!

AUTHOR: Eddie Sanchez - (United States of America)

     Well just returned today 2/27/13 after free trip to the Bahamas...  First off, anyone thinking that free lunches really do exist is mistaken.  The free part is the cruise itself and the food.  I bought into it and decided to take my wife to the Bahamas for a three day cruise.  So ok, We had to pay the port charge. It was $59 a peice. Thats actually what it cost to enter the Bahamas per person. Then Took and upgrade to a suite, another buck : Then decided to add both kid's, a buck nineteen each.  Ok were now at $400 and change...
     Hidden fee time: $12 a day per person times 4 people = $48(mandatory tip charge).. Added all up with tax, around $500... and change...  All through Caribbean Cruise Line who markets time-shares as well... Initially they wanted to sell us a package deal for 800.00, but living in Florida we only took the cruise option.(choice)..  
     The day before the cruise we were required to pick up the voucher at a welcome center where folks who opted for the $800 package were actually staying. Most were from out of the state. We were asked if we were interested in seeing a time share presentation after the cruise. This was only an option. We accepted..  Because of a $500 bonus certificate we get just for going.. We did compare prices with Caribbean Cruise Line and the Bahamas Celebration(The cruise line itself).  Caribbean Criuse line/time shares = $500 and change vs. The Cruise line itself $800 and change.. Savings $300..
     Here's what happened: We got to the port and paid $30 for valve parking in a secured lot. From that time on reps from the cruise line treated us like we were important until we got onboard. Once onboard we found the ship to be immaculately clean, the food all free except one of the gourmet restraunts.  All the crew bending over backwards to please us.  Superb cabin with no window. The best and funnest shows in the clubs. It was truely top notched all around. Clean, clean, clean pools, jacuzzi's. The food was out of this world..  The cruise was fun and exciting and would recommend through the timeshare company or direct... We opted not to take a time share after all but the timeshare company did deliver and we saved around $300.... After doing the 3 day cruise to the bahamas, I would recommend this to everyone. 
      Other fee's: So if you want to booze a little, well you'll have to pay a little to play...  So you pay $6 to $9 a drink... while cruising through the aqua blue water's of the Bermuda Triangle. Which they'll deliver right to your lounge chair on the upper desk while you bake in the warm sun. Follow the drink specials.
Respond to this report!
What's this?

#2 General Comment

thanks for the warning

AUTHOR: princessrell - (United States of America)

I dont exactly see why anyone would not appreciate your being bold enough to even share your bad experience because if most people went through that then they probably wouldnt want to admit it to anyone. I found it helpful and it definitely served to do as you had hoped;

When I recieved the call, I absolutely thought it sounded too good to be true as well. Luckily for me its right after christmas so being "broke" actually came in handy for me. I basically had no money when they caught me off guard with the call...(at my work phone at that). I am a student too and I started thinking hey maybe this would be a nice and inexpensive thing to do right after graduating in a few months, you know like a gift to myself that I on a students budget could actually afford and still have fun. So I recieved the exact same "promotional
cruise speech" and word of mouth is the best advertisement. etc. blah blah blah, then they continued to go on and on about the extended stay upgrade, free car rental, free meals, etc. however, I told them even though it all sounds lovely, I cannot give them any money at that exact moment and if they can wait until the
following day then sure I'd be interested,  I told them it wouldnt go through and could they at least just wait until the following day (pay day) but no they wanted the $118 on the spot. So after I hang up with them, I started
reading all these online testimonials. So just as a precaution to make sure they didnt try to withdraw money anyway even after I warned it wouldn't work, I called my bank. It showed that they had not only attempted to pull the $118, but made 4-5 more additional attempts for all different amounts, $49, $150, $200, $598. So
thats when my financial institution blocked them for making so many attempts and will now only authorize a
payment to them if i call back and personally give that authorization. So shout out to my bank, to Visa and to being broke at the moment because for once it saved me! None of those charges were able to go through








Respond to this report!
What's this?

#3 Author of original report

awwww he just likes picking useless arguments with random people - must be very bored and lonely.

AUTHOR: Sandra - (U.S.A.)

Not exactly sure what your problem is or why you are so mean spirited but I dont need anymore responses from you Mr. Righteous. Please keep your opinions to yourself unless you have something helpful to offer. I am starting to think you are trying to ease your own conscious because maybe you work for this company or one the like. Please stop replying to this post unless you have something to add that would be useful or helpful to anyone - because seems that no-one is enjoying your smart aleck attitude and its really not accomplishing anything but making you look like the jerk that you obviously are.
Respond to this report!
What's this?

#4 Consumer Comment

may i say

AUTHOR: Righteous1 - (USA)

I consider your dismissal attitude to match the trip you endured. So not worth delving into. Glad you got a sugar coated response. !
Respond to this report!
What's this?

#5 Author of original report

Thank you for your response

AUTHOR: Sandra - (U.S.A.)

Just wanted to say thank you for your response. You were right about everything you said - and you said it kindly. I appreciate that. Others aren't so friendly - pretty much for no reason at all - like they were the ones that were ripped off. I completely agree with everything you said in your post - I should have done more research - I certainly have learned my lesson the hard way unfortunately. You were also right that I should have just gone to Myrtle Beach and found a nice place on the beach to stay at. I am positive we would have had more fun. Also, you are right about the fact that I should have refused to go to the places they sent me - I pitched a pretty good fit on them but I guess I should have refused to go - maybe got alot louder. Again - hind sight is 20/20 unfortunately. From now on - if I ever get another opportunity to take my family on a vacation - I will surely plan it myself. No more "vacatation packages" for this ole girl.  Again, I really appreciate your kind reply and I will definately heed to your advice for future adventures. :-) thank you!
Respond to this report!
What's this?

#6 Author of original report

I guess I was just mad. Sorry.

AUTHOR: Sandra - (U.S.A.)

Thank you for your posts. I am sorry you felt like you wasted your time reading my post - I didn't ask you to read it. If you thought it was too long you should have stopped reading it in the first paragraph. that was your decision to sit and read the entire thing. The first person to post was helpful and considerate and exactly right - I now know very well that I should have done more research on the trip offer. Hind site is 20/20. This was my first vaction - I had no experience with time shares, etc. I was just so excited and since the person called when I actually had money in the bank, it felt "meant to be". As I said before I know I was wrong - I really dont need Post #2 to tell me so. I have certainly learned some good lessons on this trip. To answer your questions about my daughter - her skin condition allows her to spend MINIMAL time in the direct sun. So, its not like she cant go outside or anything but I have to limit her time spent in the sunlight - which was why it was so important to me to have the indoor pools at the HOTELS not on the ship because I knew there would be plenty of other entertainment for her on the cruise ship besides swimming. The hotels were the only real place where I knew I would need to provide entertainment so the inside pool would have made life alot easier - which is again why I was making sure I had that covered in the beginning. They were supposed to have all kinds of activities for her age on the cruise ship, so I did not worry about  that part, I knew she could do lots of stuff inside that wouldn't require me timing her exposure to sun. I only posted this so that other people could avoid the rip off that I had experienced. I am starting to wish I hadn't. I guess I wasn't expecting to be ridiculed for trying to save others from making the same mistake I had made. I thought that was the point in posting to this site. I honestly didnt expect any responses, I had just hoped to save someone else the heartache I had experienced with this package. Sorry that it wasn't to your liking.  Anyway, thank you to the first person who posted - your comments were helpful and friendly and I appreciate that.  
Respond to this report!
What's this?

#7 Consumer Comment

boggles the mind

AUTHOR: Righteous1 - (USA)

Til I was done reading this plethora of non informative material there were three things that struck me.
1: A child with an aversion (sensitivity) to sunlight going on a cruise! Really now? Where is the sensibility in taking any child on a vacation to a "SUNNY" place when their health is at risk?
2: A simple: The package did not equal the "words" expressed by the scam artist. Empty promises and promotional dupes!
3: Brief and informative would have worked wonders, I just lost 15 minutes of my life reading this mini novel. I consider that a rip off of time.
The one responder did have wonderful suggestions and it pays to investigate. I personally consider these "Time share Schemes" to be worthless in more ways then one! Seriously save your hard earned money for worthwhile investments, like a memorable trip or family outing that doesn't involve them picking your pockets! Your deserve to have the promotion meet your expectations...this one clearly didnt ..:(
Respond to this report!
What's this?

#8 Consumer Suggestion

Do Your Homework

AUTHOR: Karl - (U.S.A.)

I'm sorry that you got taken in the very famous Ramada Plaza Resort operation. It is not a scam at all. The company is paid to attract people to time share presentations and they do so by putting together a budget vacation in Florida.  It is obvious from your letter that you are on a tight budget and also appear to know nothing about researching a vacation before you go on one.

If you had a confirmed room at the Ramada you should have demanded a similar or better hotel. Most people who complained loudly were switched to the Westin I understand from reading other ROR reports. Instead you meekly went to wherever you were directed to go. Same in Orlando.
The ship is a converted North Sea ferry - certainly not the equal of even Carnival.

Next time don't fall for pitches on the phone. Nobody gives you something for nothing. Sit down and look at hotel rating sites like Trip Advisor. Select a hotel based on guest reviews. Look for a bargain cruise on a major cruise line - Carnival, NCL, etc. Put together your own package. You certainly don't need a travel agent if you own a computer.

Actually you would have had a better time -probably cheaper - if you had driven over to Myrtle Beach and stayed in a condo for a week . I've stayed in scores of Marriotts and never experienced a bad hotel or motel in any of their properties. If you want a nice vacation drive to Miami, stay at motels that are recommended and take a short cruise on a major line. Save up for the cruise because the fare is only a fraction of what you pay while aboard.
Respond to this report!
What's this?
Report & Rebuttal
Respond to this report!
What's this?
Also a victim?
What's this?
Repair Your Reputation!
What's this?
Wal-Mart.com USA, LLC

Advertisers above have met our
strict standards for business conduct.



Ripoff Report Legal Directory