• Report: #1066983

Complaint Review: Balfour Beatty NWS Charleston

Thank You

Read how Ripoff Report saves consumers millions.

  • Submitted: Sun, July 14, 2013
  • Updated: Sun, July 14, 2013

  • Reported By: RobinH — Suquamish Washington
Balfour Beatty NWS Charleston
742 Fletcher St Goose Creek, South Carolina USA

Balfour Beatty NWS Charleston MOLD Goose Creek South Carolina

*Author of original report: It's clear you are thinking of someone else

*Consumer Suggestion: Mold issue

What's this?
What's this?
What's this?
Is this
Ripoff Report
About you?
Ripoff Report
A business' first
line of defense
on the Internet.
If your business is
willing to make a
commitment to
customer satisfaction
Click here now..

Does your business have a bad reputation?
Fix it the right way.
Corporate Advocacy Program™

SEO Reputation Management at its best!

August 14 2012 we found mold dusted all over my sons bedroom. We called the maintenance immediatley and for the next 7 weeks we lived in mold infested conditions. The maintenance was at my house 3-4 days a week for 6 weeks installing a uv light in the a/c unti, mastic a/c unit, mastic duct work, paint with kilz, shampoo carpets twice, over 80% humidity in the house even running a dehumidifier 24/7 pulling 4-6 gallons of water out of the air and so on and so on. We were told one lie after another and finally got the Command involved. After having a meeting with the Capt, 2 CMC's, builidng inspector for JB Charleston(who is inept) and manager, mantenance manager and rep from Balfour Beatty, we were finally offered another unit next door. That house sat empty for 8 months with no work done on it or actual cleaning when I recieved a phone call from the new residents(we transfered last month out of state). They were told they were the first people to be moved in there, then were told that it's only been empty 1 month, then were told that they moved us out after we complained too much that the a/c wasn't working well enough for us. Lie after lie. I have so much more info but all I have to say is that Balfour Beatty are vultures, liars and scammers. Stay away and live off base.


This report was posted on Ripoff Report on 07/14/2013 06:56 PM and is a permanent record located here: http://www.ripoffreport.com/r/Balfour-Beatty-NWS-Charleston/Goose-Creek-South-Carolina-29445/Balfour-Beatty-NWS-Charleston-MOLD-Goose-Creek-South-Carolina-1066983. The posting time indicated is Arizona local time. Arizona does not observe daylight savings so the post time may be Mountain or Pacific depending on the time of year.

Ripoff Report has an exclusive license to this report. It may not be copied without the written permission of Ripoff Report.

Click Here to read other Ripoff Reports on Balfour Beatty NWS Charleston

Search for additional reports

If you would like to see more Rip-off Reports on this company/individual, search here:

Search Tips
Report & Rebuttal
Respond to this report!
What's this?
Also a victim?
What's this?
Repair Your Reputation!
What's this?
REBUTTALS & REPLIES:
1Author 1Consumer 0Employee/Owner
Updates & Rebuttals

#1 Author of original report

It's clear you are thinking of someone else

AUTHOR: RobinH - ()

The only facts that need to be cleared up are, number 1: there were no other people living in that house before we moved in. I watched that house being built in early 2011 and we were the first tenants and moved in June 2011. Second, it was not a 2 story house it was a single story UFAS house that we were living in that had the mold issue that never truly was resolved. They would paint it with KILZ and 5 days later we see it coming through and moving down the hallway.  A single story home that had a humidity problem of over 80% even with a dehumidifier running 24/7 is as you said, a flaw in design and constuction. When we moved out of that house into the 2 story house next door to it, that single story house sat empty from mid Cotober 2012 until early June 2013 and I saw on two separate occasions maintenance van spend about 10 miniutes tops during each visit. There was no cleaning happening in that house until the week we work getting ready to pcs and I said to my husband, well it looks like they are finally moving someone in there now that they know we are leaving the area. One month later I get a call from the new tenants who were told so many lies and never told about any issues with mold. In fact they were told that they were the FIRST people to ever move in there. Then they were told that they moved us out because we complained too much that the a/c wasn't working well enough for us. Third, I NEVER had a problem with roaches in my house and never called maintenance regarding roaches, so you are clearly thinking of a completely different house. And in my original report, I stated there is a lot more info regarding this however posting every detail here isn't going to do any good. I posted the highlights and warnings to others to what to look for.

Respond to this report!
What's this?

#2 Consumer Suggestion

Mold issue

AUTHOR: Judith - ()

 Ok, let's get a few things straight before this report goes any further. There are some truths to your story but there are also some things missing in your report. 

 First, there have been 3 previous couples to live in that house. I know what house you're talking about as I live near there. The first owners moved due to a PCS. The second couple moved due to roaches (l'll get to that later). And the third, as you know called you. 

 Second, their roach problem was due to mulch, and lots of it. And a tree, and that forest that's right near the house. They did complain and I believe they moved into another house. The house was empty as you said, however, it was empty for a few months so they can get rid of the roaches (did you not see the many vans at the house?). If you ever have trouble with that, call maintenance (they have a new pest control company and they will thoroughly inspect your home to get rid of whatever pests you may have. 

 As for your mold situation, I'm sorry to hear about the mold, it's a bad situation to be in, I truly understand. And there is a design flaw in the construstion of the building. With a two story building, as you know, it's hard to keep the second story cool enough while you have the first story freezing. The second story is never cool enough. Also, I hope you made sure all the vents were open and the fans weren't running all the time.

I noticed it gets a little more humid upstairs with you have the fans on 24/7. But with all that said and done, Balfour Beatty did try everything in their power to help with the mold issue. And it does take a whole to get rid of it. You did say they shampooed, used UV lights and so on, but consider they are not magicians, and they are trying their best. I have a rat in my wall and they can't do anything until they see a hole where it has been, trust me- they've been everywhere. Thank god you got to move out and I hope Balfour Beatty doesn't turn you off in the future. 

I am not a Balfour Beatty employee, ex-employee nor am I a family member of someone that works there, I just truly understand the hard work they do. They can only do so much. 

Respond to this report!
What's this?
Report & Rebuttal
Respond to this report!
What's this?
Also a victim?
What's this?
Repair Your Reputation!
What's this?

Advertisers above have met our
strict standards for business conduct.