• Report: #1076125

Complaint Review: Beth's Cakes

Thank You

Read how Ripoff Report saves consumers millions.

  • Submitted: Thu, August 15, 2013
  • Updated: Thu, August 15, 2013

  • Reported By: Kitties82 — Lawton Oklahoma
Beth's Cakes
532 Fort Sill Boulevard Lawton, Oklahoma USA

Beth's Cakes Beth Sanchez Rude, unprofessional business. No customer service and bully tactics Lawton Oklahoma

*Author of original report: Conversation where it all went wrong

What's this?
What's this?
What's this?
Is this
Ripoff Report
About you?
Ripoff Report
A business' first
line of defense
on the Internet.
If your business is
willing to make a
commitment to
customer satisfaction
Click here now..

Does your business have a bad reputation?
Fix it the right way.
Corporate Advocacy Program™

SEO Reputation Management at its best!

I reserved Beth's Cakes to do my wedding and groom cake in June 2013. After asking for information on cake tastings and help designing my cake in July I was ignored. After ignoring my requests for help designing my cake, to not receiving quality customer service culminating in a rude/unprofessional message from her explaining to me that she already told me she doesn't do cake tastings (which she never told me this), and where she told me she supports 7 kids and she can't give anything away for free.... on top of a bunch of stuff that shows her ego is way too big, I decided to not use her to make my cakes on November 9th. I asked for my money back since I did not sign a contract, she never told me the deposit was non-refundable and she never sent me her policies. This event is still over 3 months away so she never made my cakes. She claimed she bought stuff already (3 months out?) to make my cakes. Even if so, she runs a bakery and makes cakes, I'm sure she can easily use cake supplies. After she told me I can't get my money back I told her I will take this further to try to get my money back. She then added on her facebook page where she runs her business from that all deposits are non-refundable and tried to act like it was there the whole time and told me to show it to the BBB.  She told me she has 7 kids and I should be ashamed of myself for trying to bully her into getting my money back. Very unprofessional. I was professional the entire time, she was the one using her children and rude messages to try to bully me/guilt trip me into not asking for my money back. On top of all of this I know she already lost another customer because they could not stand her unprofessionalism any longer. I would steer clear of this business!

This report was posted on Ripoff Report on 08/15/2013 01:01 PM and is a permanent record located here: http://www.ripoffreport.com/r/Beths-Cakes/Lawton-Oklahoma-73507/Beths-Cakes-Beth-Sanchez-Rude-unprofessional-business-No-customer-service-and-bully-ta-1076125. The posting time indicated is Arizona local time. Arizona does not observe daylight savings so the post time may be Mountain or Pacific depending on the time of year.

Ripoff Report has an exclusive license to this report. It may not be copied without the written permission of Ripoff Report.

Click Here to read other Ripoff Reports on Beth's Cakes

Search for additional reports

If you would like to see more Rip-off Reports on this company/individual, search here:

Search Tips
Report & Rebuttal
Respond to this report!
What's this?
Also a victim?
What's this?
Repair Your Reputation!
What's this?
1Author 0Consumer 0Employee/Owner
Updates & Rebuttals

#1 Author of original report

Conversation where it all went wrong

AUTHOR: Kitties82 - ()

Here's the conversation where everything went wrong:

Beth's Cakes Emily, I have already established in earlier correspondence that I do not offer tastings.  I have a daily cupcake delivery schedule that you may order off of if you are interested in trying my wares. Everything I do offsets the costs of raising seven children. My prices are very fair and I don't give anything away for free. I am the best in the area at what I do and I can assure you that you need not look any further.

Emily  Beth, I am a little offended by your message. If you look in our previous messages you never told me you don't offer tastings. I asked and was ignored. I also asked for your input on different designs for my wedding cake and was ignored. As you mentioned to me, I understand you are busy and have 7 kids, but that is a personal matter and I think is a little unprofessional to mention that to me. I also have obligations I must meet as well and I am not looking for something free, I am looking for someone that I can hire to assist me with good customer service to get my cake made. This event is over 3 months out, and you did not say my deposit was non-refundable and there was no contract signed nor any information given to me regarding your policies. I have all of our correspondence if you would like to review. I am disappointed and let down with my interaction with your business and would like to cancel this order with you and receive my $75 back and I will not bother you for business anymore. Please let me know if this will be an issue, so I can look into this matter further. Thank you.

Beth's Cakes It was not my intention to offend you but to reassure you. You may transfer your payment to another order but that's all I can offer. It's is your choice to accept or decline my offer. I apologize if you feel that my honesty is unprofessional, but I am who I am. I always do my best to present the human side of why I work so hard and can't waste time and money. I have already purchased things that I don't need for anyone else on your word with your deposit. It is your choice to terminate this agreement and not recover your money with another order.

Emily Ok I will follow up with the BBB on this... By law I did not sign a contract with you nor did you tell me this was non-refundable

Beth's Cakes You did not sign a contract because I took you at your word. Are you canceling your date and refusing material compensation?

Emily I did not get the customer service that I should have gotten therefore I want to cancel and receive my $75 back since I did not sign a contract and you never told me it was non-refundable.

Emily Are you going to refund my money or do I need to take this further? I am very disappointed it has to come to this.

Beth's Cakes Emily, I'm sorry something has happened to create so much frustration, but I can't amend my policies for one without doing it for all. I am also sorry that you are unhappy with my correspondence, but that does not constitute a refund. You have changed your order more than once. You contacted me and reserved my services without any solicitation from me.You are now making threats against a business that provides for a family because you've suddenly changed your mind. I have done nothing wrong. I have not canceled or changed anything. I feel that I have done much to serve you considering all of the changes and have nothing more to offer than material compensation in the amount of $75. After I explained in this thread that deposits were not refundable, your reply was, "Ok thanks, I will keep you to do my cakes. Can you let me know when we can do a tasting session so we can pick the flavors? Thanks." We have a verbal agreement that you initiated.You paid a deposit to retain my services. You changed your mind. I have stayed true to everything I have offered.Your cancellation credit for $75 will remain on the books for a one time delivery at any available date until 12/31/2013 if you choose to use it. If not, you may transfer it to a friend. I' am sorry you are so unhappy and wish you the very best.

Emily Ok I will have no choice to file a complaint with the BBB & local resources then

Beth's Cakes Ok, but when you do, please be sure to include this thread along with this link that is publicly displayed on this page. I won't be bullied into changing because you can't make up your mind. You should be ashamed of yourself.


Respond to this report!
What's this?
Report & Rebuttal
Respond to this report!
What's this?
Also a victim?
What's this?
Repair Your Reputation!
What's this?

Advertisers above have met our
strict standards for business conduct.