pair
  • Report: #562354

Complaint Review: Chilton medical center

Thank You

Read how Ripoff Report saves consumers millions.

  • Submitted: Sat, January 30, 2010
  • Updated: Tue, April 05, 2011

  • Reported By: Pat — Clanton Alabama United States of America
Chilton medical center
medical center drive, Clanton, Alabama United States of America
  • Phone: 205-755-2500
  • Web:
  • Category:

Chilton medical center/Clanton AL emergency room Clanton, Alabama

*Consumer Comment: The Place Is Bad News

*Consumer Comment: NO

What's this?
What's this?
What's this?
Is this
Ripoff Report
About you?
Ripoff Report
A business' first
line of defense
on the Internet.
If your business is
willing to make a
commitment to
customer satisfaction
Click here now..

Does your business have a bad reputation?
Fix it the right way.
Corporate Advocacy Program™

SEO Reputation Management at its best!

I went to the emergency room at Chilton medical center with a very painful toe that I could not get to stop hurting.  It was keeping me from sleeping. 

After they took me back to the room in emergency and the physician came in to see me, I began to explain my pain and asked if he woud like for me to remove my shoe.  he said "no" and left the room without doing anything and I never saw him again.

A few minutes later a lady came in and said the physician said my pain was a "non emergency" and I could have him treat me but my insurance (blue cross/bue shield) probably would deny my claim because he said my ailment wasn't an emergency.  I could sign a paper she had in her hand that I didn't want treatment and I wouldn't be charged anything.

I said that if he was going to say my pain wasn't an emergency then I would sign the paper and leave.

 

I left and dealt with my painful toe all night, but later I DID get a bill from the hospital.  They had charge my insurance company $245  and they paid the claim.  I then called the hospital and after several calls and leaving several messages I got a person that told me that regardless of seeing the ER doctor or not they charged a triage fee of $85.

 

My complaint is -they charged and received payment from my insurance company a boggus amount and then charged me $60+.  With the insurane payment they had alreay recieved plus the money they tried to collect from me, they would receive three times the amount they should have.

 

My concern is, how many times is this done by this hospital and others? Boggus charges to the insurance company when nothing was done to the patient and then charging the patient.  Charges to everyone should be checked and double checked.  Insurance companies are being taken advantage of as well as people like me who can't afford incorrect expensive charges.

 

Thank you.


This report was posted on Ripoff Report on 01/30/2010 05:24 PM and is a permanent record located here: http://www.ripoffreport.com/r/Chilton-medical-center/Clanton-Alabama-35045/Chilton-medical-centerClanton-AL-emergency-room-Clanton-Alabama-562354. The posting time indicated is Arizona local time. Arizona does not observe daylight savings so the post time may be Mountain or Pacific depending on the time of year.

Ripoff Report has an exclusive license to this report. It may not be copied without the written permission of Ripoff Report.

Click Here to read other Ripoff Reports on Chilton medical center

Search for additional reports

If you would like to see more Rip-off Reports on this company/individual, search here:

Search Tips
Report & Rebuttal
Respond to this report!
What's this?
Also a victim?
What's this?
Repair Your Reputation!
What's this?
REBUTTALS & REPLIES:
0Author 2Consumer 0Employee/Owner
Updates & Rebuttals

#1 Consumer Comment

The Place Is Bad News

AUTHOR: mack - (United States of America)

What you were charged for was the little nurse that took your temp and blood pressure when you first arrived. If they felt that you didn't have an emergency, they should have told you that before any of that was done. The fact that they didn't do that means that in effect, they ripped you off. 

I live in Chilton County and have been ripped off there as well. Anymore, I go 30 miles up the road to either a "Doc in a box," or to Shelby Medical Center. The place has a really bad reputation and the people who live here try not to use it. I'm sorry that you had a bad experience in Chilton County.
Respond to this report!
What's this?

#2 Consumer Comment

NO

AUTHOR: Stacey - (U.S.A.)

You were brought into intake, your information and vitals were taken - You were admitted and were seen by a Physician for a non emergency therefore these are not "boggus" charges

Emergency rooms are for EMERGENCIES ie: heart attack, burns, gunshots, automobile accidents, etc etc NOT the flu, injured toe, sore throat or hangnail

I work for a company that owns hospitals and hospitals are not free - they have bills to pay, employees to pay, vendors to pay, etc etc

If you felt the need to see a physician your best bet would have been one of those all night clinics where you could have received non emergency care

Your bill is legitimate - you utilized the facility therefore you owe them period

Respond to this report!
What's this?
Report & Rebuttal
Respond to this report!
What's this?
Also a victim?
What's this?
Repair Your Reputation!
What's this?

Advertisers above have met our
strict standards for business conduct.

Wal-Mart.com USA, LLC


Ripoff Report Legal Directory