• Report: #722119

Complaint Review: Dish Network

Thank You

Read how Ripoff Report saves consumers millions.

  • Submitted: Tue, April 26, 2011
  • Updated: Sat, May 07, 2011

  • Reported By: Skip — Raleigh North Carolina United States of America
Dish Network
Englewood, Colorado United States of America

Dish Network Echostar No reply from Customer Service on (un-signed) Contract Englewood, Colorado

*Author of original report: Shipping fees

*Author of original report: Response from Mr. Franta

*Author of original report: Acct info forwarded

*UPDATE Employee: Contract

What's this?
What's this?
What's this?
Is this
Ripoff Report
About you?
Ripoff Report
A business' first
line of defense
on the Internet.
If your business is
willing to make a
commitment to
customer satisfaction
Click here now..

Does your business have a bad reputation?
Fix it the right way.
Corporate Advocacy Program™

SEO Reputation Management at its best!

On March 06, I contacted Dish Network to cancel my service, as I was moving. In speaking with the CSR, I advised of my new address, then was transferred to the Loyalty team at which time I was advised that I would be responsible for a $150 "early termination fee" since there was time remaining "on my contract". I informed her that NO contract was signed at the time of installation - that only the Service Order was signed, indicating the work was complete and to my satisfaction. I was put on hold for several minutes, then advised I would be transferred to the 'Executive Offices.'

Once connected, a woman identified herself as Rebecca Dougherty said "I understand you would like to see a copy of your contract?" I told her that since I had been an employee of Dish at the time of installation, a signed contract nor the $99 activation fee was required. She admitted that no 'digital' contract was on file and would have to contact the local office in Greensboro to have them pull the copy. She stated it "could take up to 15 business days" and would call me when she received the (non-existent) copy.

On April 19, I received, via email, my 'new' bill, covering service from April to May. I left a note on the Dish web page advising that the service was terminated on March 06 and to make the necessary adjustments. I also advised that I had 2 receivers and would like instructions on how to return them. On April 20 I received an email reply that simply stated "We have forwarded your information to our loyalty department. A representative will contact you to confirm your request.

To date, I have not heard from anyone at Dish Network concerning this matter.

This report was posted on Ripoff Report on 04/26/2011 06:22 AM and is a permanent record located here: http://www.ripoffreport.com/r/Dish-Network/Englewood-Colorado-/Dish-Network-Echostar-No-reply-from-Customer-Service-on-un-signed-Contract-Englewood-Co-722119. The posting time indicated is Arizona local time. Arizona does not observe daylight savings so the post time may be Mountain or Pacific depending on the time of year.

Ripoff Report has an exclusive license to this report. It may not be copied without the written permission of Ripoff Report.

Click Here to read other Ripoff Reports on Dish Network

Search for additional reports

If you would like to see more Rip-off Reports on this company/individual, search here:

Search Tips
Report & Rebuttal
Respond to this report!
What's this?
Also a victim?
What's this?
Repair Your Reputation!
What's this?
REBUTTALS & REPLIES:
3Author 1Consumer 0Employee/Owner
Updates & Rebuttals

#1 Author of original report

Shipping fees

AUTHOR: CanonPhotographer - (United States of America)

In an effort to return the receivers (2), I inquired, via email, as to a location in which I could deliver the receivers. The reply I received from nick.franta@dishnetwork.com was:
"With the boxes as well there is a $15 charge per shipping label used provided by DISH. There is the option of using an alternate service if you prefer. We wouldnt be able to schedule a tech to come by and get it because there is a $95 tech visit charge for that and there isnt a drop off location....is not a fee that we can waive. During disconnection the fee is disclosed to the customer, which is why you are being informed of it now.
I am finding it incredible that there is no location in which to deliver these boxes in my area (Raleigh, NC)!

I have replied to Mr. Franta's note:

As you may recall from my first contact with Dish concerning disconnection, the CSR transferred me to the Loyalty Team and then to Rebecca Dougherty in Corporate and, as any 'recorded conversation' would show, no method of box return or charges were stated during any of those conversations. It was in your reply to my email of April 27 when I inquired as to how these receivers could be returned, whether there could be a pickup or if there was an address to drop them in or near the 27604 Zip Code (Raleigh, NC) that YOU advised of fees and that there was no location in which to deliver this equipment - a statement I am finding quite unbelievable!
Regarding your statement "
There is currently a charge to return for the use of our shipping labels and is not a fee that we can waive.", may I again remind you of Dish sending my friend boxes in which to ship their boxes back - at no charge. Obviously, this IS a fee that can be waived. (I would be happy to provide you with my friend's information so you may look up the notes and verify my statement is indeed based on fact.)

In short, I have your equipment and will be happy to drop it off at any one of your several kiosks, storefronts or business locations in the Raleigh, NC area. I would also be willing have them ready for pickup or to box and ship them in boxes and packing material provided by Dish providing postage/shipping is paid. I await further instructions from you.

Why does Dish make it so hard to return THEIR equipment?
Respond to this report!
What's this?

#2 Author of original report

Response from Mr. Franta

AUTHOR: CanonPhotographer - (United States of America)

Mr. Franta found no contract and offered to back date the disco to the date of my original call to Dish. Also, he stated notes show Rebecca Dougherty attempted to contact me "but was unable to reach me directly." (I find it odd there is no record of a missed call or voice mail on that date!)

Inquiring now as to how to handle the 2 receivers I brought with me during my move.
Respond to this report!
What's this?

#3 Author of original report

Acct info forwarded

AUTHOR: CanonPhotographer - (United States of America)

Per Mr. Franta's request, account info forwarded to email provided in his reply.
Respond to this report!
What's this?

#4 UPDATE Employee

Contract

AUTHOR: NickF DISH - (USA)

Hello Skip,

I'm sorry it has taken a while to get a response and I would be happy to check the status of the contract for you and review your account.  Feel free to e-mail me with your account information at nick.franta@dishnetwork.com.

Nick Franta
DISH Network Customer Service
Respond to this report!
What's this?
Report & Rebuttal
Respond to this report!
What's this?
Also a victim?
What's this?
Repair Your Reputation!
What's this?

Advertisers above have met our
strict standards for business conduct.



Ripoff Report Legal Directory