• Report: #413539

Complaint Review: Instant Tax Service

  • Submitted: Sun, January 18, 2009
  • Updated: Wed, January 21, 2009

  • Reported By:Anytown Ohio
Instant Tax Service
961 Hebron Road Heath, Ohio U.S.A.

Instant Tax Service Feel Riped off, lied to Heath Ohio

*UPDATE Employee: Get the Facts & Get your Fees Back

*Consumer Comment: Check your return

*Author of original report: UPDATE

What's this?
What's this?
What's this?
Is this
Ripoff Report
About you?
Ripoff Report
A business' first
line of defense
on the Internet.
If your business is
willing to make a
commitment to
customer satisfaction
Click here now..

Does your business have a bad reputation?
Fix it the right way.
Corporate Advocacy Program™

SEO Reputation Management at its best!

On Friday the 16th of January I recieved my W2 from my employer, and unlike past years, decided to have someone do my taxes for me because I needed the money as soon as I could have a check in my hands. I called around and Instant Tax Service invited me in right away, no appoitment or waiting, the other guys were busy and I would need an appoitment.

Upon arriving at the office in the Cross Creek Shopping Center, I felt great. They advertise fast cash, usually instant $1000. The office was clean and comfortable, a play area for the kids, free juice and popcorn for the kids and soda for the adults.

We went through the process of doing my taxes. I had actually used the Turbo Tax online software and knew what I should be getting back and had no problem paying a little bit to get that much back that fast. Let me see, using Turbo Tax, it took me 20 minutes.

Sitting there, the guy goes over my paperwork. He seems nice enough, but as I found out, I was his first tax client ever, not a good feeling being the test case. Anyways, after about 1 1/2 hours of him typing stuff in, he showed me the screen and said "this is your refund" which was $2000 lower than I came up with. We went through things, and the store manager had me pull up the turbo tax online thing I used so she could compare, she seen the error right away with their work and then it took them like 20 minutes to figure out how to fix it. Finally fixed.

They ran me for the instant loan and I was denied, the manager said she was not suprised because they had yet to see anyone approved for this, so in my thinking, it is just a marketing scheme to get you into the store. So the new guy, along with the manager tell me they will have me processed for the Refund Anticipation Loan and I will have my funds in 24-48hrs (the document I signed actually said 12-24hrs), Here we are, right at 48 hours into the day and no funds are in my account (I opted for direct deposit). I was told by the store manager that if I do not see the funds today 1/18 to call the store after 12pm. I have tried to call since 12pm and they are conviently closed. I went to their website which stated they were open from noon-5pm today and so I decided to drive by the store, maybe they did not take the phones off of night mode. Nope, nobody there.

I paid $287 for this money to be here in no more than 48hrs. I do not feel I should have to pay for a service I did not get from them. I went as far as calling the bank, SBBT and they said that we are looking at closer to Tuesday before anyone gets any RAL money, but that is ok about the fee, because they do not count the time of filing, but the time the IRS actually accepts the return, which they are not doing until today.

Had Instant Tax Service told me this, I would have just used Turbo Tax and filed and waited until the 30th to file and would have had the benifit of the $287 that I paid for my use instead of theirs.

I would avoid Instant Tax Service. If you can answer a few simple questions and follow simple instructions, go online and use the free sites and do your own and save the money for your pockets.

Anytown, Ohio

This report was posted on Ripoff Report on 01/18/2009 11:51 AM and is a permanent record located here: http://www.ripoffreport.com/r/Instant-Tax-Service/Heath-Ohio-43056/Instant-Tax-Service-Feel-Riped-off-lied-to-Heath-Ohio-413539. The posting time indicated is Arizona local time. Arizona does not observe daylight savings so the post time may be Mountain or Pacific depending on the time of year.

Ripoff Report has an exclusive license to this report. It may not be copied without the written permission of Ripoff Report.

Click Here to read other Ripoff Reports on Instant Tax Service

Search for additional reports

If you would like to see more Rip-off Reports on this company/individual, search here:

Search Tips
Report & Rebuttal
Respond to this report!
What's this?
Also a victim?
What's this?
Repair Your Reputation!
What's this?
0Author 3Consumer 0Employee/Owner
Updates & Rebuttals

#1 UPDATE Employee

Get the Facts & Get your Fees Back

AUTHOR: Taxgirl - (U.S.A.)

I'm an employee at ITS and I was sorry to hear about your bad experience at the Heath, OH office. First, I think it's important to remember that you were offered two different products. We offered a holiday loan product, called the Instant Cash Loan, from December 29th to January 15th.

After January 16th, after you get your W-2, we offer ARALs and RALs, which are advances on your tax refund. These are different products.

It's not ITS who makes the decision about the holiday loan (or the RAL) - it's the bank or lender's decision. If there were high denial rates, it was because bank approval rates have tightened. I do know that there were many people approved for the Instant Cash Loan, though, so it wasn't just a marketing thing.

It's true that if you claimed a credit that you weren't due, it will delay your RAL. Most ITS locations are franchise owned, though, and the owners are really happy to work with customers. Explain the situation to the owner and see if they're willing to work with you. If the return was delayed due to an error they made (instead of one you made), you can probably get your fees refunded.
Respond to this report!
What's this?

#2 Consumer Comment

Check your return

AUTHOR: Mike - (U.S.A.)

Don't buy into this crap. Do your own taxes. Instead of calling these morons, use the IRS site.

Respond to this report!
What's this?

#3 Author of original report


AUTHOR: Steve - (U.S.A.)

Today I call Instant Tax Service (hereafter called ITS) to check on the status of my refund, since their "automated" system had no information. The manager I spoke to seemed suprised that the store was not open on Sunday but later found out the owner decided not to open due to weather, I am thinking what was the issue, it was cold, literally we had a few snow flurries and that was IT.

Anyways, she told me my return had been rejected by the IRS due to one of my children being claimed for Child Tax Credit. So I go in and we have to refile removing the child in question.

I am now told I have to wait yet ANOTEHR 24-48 hours before I know if I will be getting a RAL, but regardless I will have to pay the fees, even though I may not get it.

This company advertises fast cash, but while there, the manager stated she had about 6 unhappy clients she had to deal with today, and from the way they talked, nobody gets approved for the instant tax loan, and not many get the RAL.

So, basically the company is advertising a product they are not really offering or standing behind.
Respond to this report!
What's this?
Report & Rebuttal
Respond to this report!
What's this?
Also a victim?
What's this?
Repair Your Reputation!
What's this?