• Report: #1040094

Complaint Review: netSpend

Thank You

Read how Ripoff Report saves consumers millions.

  • Submitted: Tue, April 02, 2013
  • Updated: Mon, April 08, 2013

  • Reported By: Amber — Ferndale Washington
netSpend
Internet United States of America

netSpend TurboTax, netSpend PREMIER REFUSES to activate netSpend card for access to our tax return! Has FALSELY "Flagged" our account with no explanation! REFUSES to accept state-issued ID, Social Security card & current power bill as I , Internet

*UPDATE Employee: NetSpend

What's this?
What's this?
What's this?
Is this
Ripoff Report
About you?
Ripoff Report
A business' first
line of defense
on the Internet.
If your business is
willing to make a
commitment to
customer satisfaction
Click here now..

Does your business have a bad reputation?
Fix it the right way.
Corporate Advocacy Program™

SEO Reputation Management at its best!

We filed our tax return with Turbo Tax on March 3, 2013 and opted to have our return loaded to a netSpend card which we relieved in the mail within a week.  The IRS disbursed our return funds on March 11, 2013 to netSpend.  We relieved NO notification of any kind that our return had been disbursed.  After waiting several weeks for notification we went to the IRS web-site and discovered that our tax return money had already been sent (on the 11th) and so we then contacted netSpend by calling the number found on the back of the card to see if our funds were available.  We were given an automated message that our card had not been activated yet and to wait on the line for the next available representative to help us with the activation.  After waiting for almost an hour, we were connected with a representative who told us that for security reasons we needed to fax them additional information to verify our identity. They told us that after netSpend received that information our card would be activated within 2 business days and our funds would be available for our use. They asked to be faxed a state-issued ID, social security card and a piece of mail with our current address.  We faxed all that they said was required that very afternoon, March 25.  

On March 28th our card had still not been activated and so we called and waited on hold for another hour before reaching another representative who told us that there was a problem with the information that we sent.  She couldn't specify what, exactly, the problem was.  We requested to speak with a supervisor and after being transferred several times and waiting on hold for another hour we finally spoke to "David" a supervisor.  He told us that our account had a "hold" placed on it and it had been "Flagged" for fraud and that we needed to fax still more information to verify our identity.  When we asked why our account was flagged he told us that it was, "For your security and protection" and refused to provide any more details. "David" assured us that he would personally see that our issue was resolved within a half-hour and that he would be waiting by the fax machine for the additional information and put everything through himself. "David" also took our phone number and promised to call us as soon as our card was activated and our funds were available for our use and that it should all be taken care of within a half-hour.  We gathered the additional information (state issued ID, SS card and current power bill) and faxed it immediately.  We waited over an hour for "David" to call before we called them.  After waiting on hold for 40 minutes we were connected to a representative who told us that they didn't know of a supervisor named "David" and that if we faxed more information we would just have to wait again for the 2 days that everyone must wait for our card to be activated.  So we waited.  Since the 28th was a Thursday and their office is closed on the weekends we had to wait until Monday to call.  

On Monday, April 1st we called several times and waited on hold to speak with a supervisor for HOURS!  Finally after being put in contact with a supervisor they told us that there was still a problem with our information and that we would need to talk with someone in the fraud department. The supervisor transferred us to the fraud department where we waited on hold again until after business hours and they would no longer take our call!  We called the next morning (today April 2) got the run-around again and waited on hold for hours AGAIN and FINALLY got through to Scott in the Fraud Department. He told us that we had to send MORE information including our entire current power bill (not just the 1st page with all the pertinent information) and then it would take 2 more days before they could tell us if the "Hold" could be lifted off our account.  We said NO WAY and demanded that they send our Tax return funds back to the IRS and that we would not be doing business with them.  Now we are waiting and our funds should be cleared from their system and returned to the IRS within 24 hours.  I will update you if this actually happens.           

This report was posted on Ripoff Report on 04/02/2013 03:02 PM and is a permanent record located here: http://www.ripoffreport.com/r/netSpend/internet/netSpend-TurboTax-netSpend-PREMIER-REFUSES-to-activate-netSpend-card-for-access-to-our-ta-1040094. The posting time indicated is Arizona local time. Arizona does not observe daylight savings so the post time may be Mountain or Pacific depending on the time of year.

Ripoff Report has an exclusive license to this report. It may not be copied without the written permission of Ripoff Report.

Click Here to read other Ripoff Reports on netSpend

Search for additional reports

If you would like to see more Rip-off Reports on this company/individual, search here:

Search Tips
Report & Rebuttal
Respond to this report!
What's this?
Also a victim?
What's this?
Repair Your Reputation!
What's this?
REBUTTALS & REPLIES:
0Author 1Consumer 0Employee/Owner
Updates & Rebuttals

#1 UPDATE Employee

NetSpend

AUTHOR: NetSpend Corporation - ()

We are very sorry to hear about the problems you have experienced with our service.  We understand your frustration, but we can assure you the block on your account was placed for your protection.

We would appreciate the opportunity to assist you with this and request that you send your information to feedback@netspend.com.

Thank you,


NetSpend

Respond to this report!
What's this?
Report & Rebuttal
Respond to this report!
What's this?
Also a victim?
What's this?
Repair Your Reputation!
What's this?

Advertisers above have met our
strict standards for business conduct.



Ripoff Report Legal Directory