• Report: #902431

Complaint Review: newegg.com

Thank You

Read how Ripoff Report saves consumers millions.

  • Submitted: Mon, June 25, 2012
  • Updated: Fri, July 06, 2012

  • Reported By: fedup — Las Cruces New Mexico United States of America
newegg.com
9997Rose Hills Road, Whittier, CA Internet United States of America

newegg.com sent inoperable product; has not answered email request for an R.A. for return; phone lines are always busy , Internet

*Author of original report: INSINCERE Customer Service offer and MUCH too late.

*UPDATE Employee: Newegg Support

*Consumer Comment: Recommendation

*Consumer Comment: Team Rebutt is always wrong

*Author of original report: VERY SKETCHY BUSINESS MODEL.CONSEQUENCE IS FRAUD.

*Author of original report: You are right!

*Consumer Comment: Wrong again

*Consumer Comment: Inferior advice

*Author of original report: Selling inferior product is fraudulent.

*Consumer Comment: False accusation

*Consumer Comment: ??

*Consumer Comment: My experience.....

What's this?
What's this?
What's this?
Is this
Ripoff Report
About you?
Ripoff Report
A business' first
line of defense
on the Internet.
If your business is
willing to make a
commitment to
customer satisfaction
Click here now..

Does your business have a bad reputation?
Fix it the right way.
Corporate Advocacy Program™

SEO Reputation Management at its best!

My computer technician recommended that I purchase a wifi range extender from newegg.com.
This person has good credentials and seems to know what he is doing.

I ordered the equipmentproduct: WL RE EDIMAX  EW-7416APNR.

The computer tech had to return to Washington DC to finish some work there and was gone about two weeks. At the end of that period, I had a death in my family and was helping with my family since then.

When the computer tech and I got back together it had been 5 weeks since I ordered the above wifi
range extender.  I had not even opened the box it came in.  The invoice states that the return policy is within 30 days.  I would argue that the above circumstances should allow for a reasonable extension.

However, I cannot even reach this company by email or telephone to obtain an RMA number assuming
they will consider my situation.  

I assume based upon the other things I have read on this site land based upon their neglegent customer service that they must send out a a good deal of inferior product.  If they were a reputable company, this kind of customer service roadblock would not be in place.

My next step is to write the Attorney Generals of the states of California and New Mexico and report their fraudulent practices.


This report was posted on Ripoff Report on 06/25/2012 09:31 AM and is a permanent record located here: http://www.ripoffreport.com/r/neweggcom/internet/neweggcom-sent-inoperable-product-has-not-answered-email-request-for-an-RA-for-return-902431. The posting time indicated is Arizona local time. Arizona does not observe daylight savings so the post time may be Mountain or Pacific depending on the time of year.

Ripoff Report has an exclusive license to this report. It may not be copied without the written permission of Ripoff Report.

Click Here to read other Ripoff Reports on newegg.com

Search for additional reports

If you would like to see more Rip-off Reports on this company/individual, search here:

Search Tips
Report & Rebuttal
Respond to this report!
What's this?
Also a victim?
What's this?
Repair Your Reputation!
What's this?
REBUTTALS & REPLIES:
4Author 8Consumer 0Employee/Owner
Updates & Rebuttals

#1 Author of original report

INSINCERE Customer Service offer and MUCH too late.

AUTHOR: fedup - (United States of America)

I wrote NE immediately to discover my options after a delayed installation and the discovery of a faulty product. Absolutely no response at all. About a week later, out of frustration, I file a ripoff Report and several other consumer complaints hoping that a stronger complaint will stimulate some relevant action. No response.

Now I have only one more higher authority to contact regarding your company's business model, if that is even an accutarte description of your "pseudo-business" practice.

In my research to find a contact for help, I learned that I am not the only NewEgg customer left with faulty merchandise and no recourse. I also read many of your BELATED 'saccharin sweet' customer service letters all arriving much too late and clearly written to persuade some outside authority that you are delivering a service that you have no intention of providing ever.

NewEgg equals "theft and fraud" in my experience. And NON-EXISTENT customer service.
Respond to this report!
What's this?

#2 UPDATE Employee

Newegg Support

AUTHOR: Newegg Support - (USA)

Dear Fedup, 

We are sorry to hear about your current situation and would like to look into this further. We offer 3 main avenues for support. You may reach us by phone Monday-Friday 5:30 AM - 5:30 PM PST, email, or live 24/7 chat support. We ask that you please email us directly at PublicImage@Newegg.com with your order number, the email you used to contact us, and number you used to call. We will be more than glad to look into our records and assist you with this matter. Please be advised that our return policy is for 30 days with most of our products. In addition, all our items are shipped exactly as they are received by the manufacturer or vendor. Newegg.com is strictly an online retailer and we do not manufacture the products sold on our site. We look forward to hearing from you and further assisting you with this matter. Thank you very much for your time. 

Newegg Support
Respond to this report!
What's this?

#3 Consumer Comment

Recommendation

AUTHOR: coast - (USA)

"My next step is to write the Attorney Generals of the states of California and New Mexico... yes, I am special"

When you write the attorney generals be sure to point out that you consider yourself exempt from Newegg's return policy [even though you agreed to their policies at the time of purchase] because you are special.

The attorney generals will demand that Newegg honor your return and refund request due to your 'special' status.
Respond to this report!
What's this?

#4 Consumer Comment

Team Rebutt is always wrong

AUTHOR: The Outlaw Josey Wales - (United States of America)

 Butt does that stop the rebutts, NO
Respond to this report!
What's this?

#5 Author of original report

VERY SKETCHY BUSINESS MODEL.CONSEQUENCE IS FRAUD.

AUTHOR: fedup - (United States of America)

 Unfortunately I did not check newegg.com's reputation online before I ordered merchandise from them. (I relied upon my computer tech's recommendation.) Now I see that mine is only one of hundreds of other complaints about the business practices of this company. The basis of their business model:  take the money and run.  Or perhaps it is:  take the money and abuse the customer. They even pay people to identify the complaints citing "fraud" and write rebuttals that include personal attacks. I wonder how many states are investigating this company for consumer fraud. Buyer Beware.
Respond to this report!
What's this?

#6 Author of original report

You are right!

AUTHOR: fedup - (United States of America)

Your language is more precise than mine. And that is exactly what newegg did. They sent
a product that did not work and they are providing no avenue to tell them about it or to return it.  
And yes, I am special.  You probably are, too.  And my situation deserves consideration. Just as yours 
would under my same circumstances.
Respond to this report!
What's this?

#7 Consumer Comment

Wrong again

AUTHOR: coast - (USA)

"Selling inferior product is fraudulent"

No it isn't. Knowingly selling defective products is fraudulent. The item you purchased may be defective but that does not constitute fraud.

"don't stand behind it no matter what your policies are"

They stand behind it for thirty days but clearly you consider yourself an exception to policies because you're special.
Respond to this report!
What's this?

#8 Consumer Comment

Inferior advice

AUTHOR: The Outlaw Josey Wales - (United States of America)

 Advice from Team Rebutt is fraud
Respond to this report!
What's this?

#9 Author of original report

Selling inferior product is fraudulent.

AUTHOR: fedup - (United States of America)

It is fraudulent if you sell inferior product and don't stand behind it no matter what your policies are.

You might check your position against that of the FTC.  
Respond to this report!
What's this?

#10 Consumer Comment

False accusation

AUTHOR: coast - (USA)

You admit your purchase is outside of the 30 day return period yet you claim fraud. Get this--That's not fraud.

You may need to contact the manufacturer to obtain warranty service.
Respond to this report!
What's this?

#11 Consumer Comment

??

AUTHOR: FTCISCLUELESS - (United States of America)

Yea everybody loves Newegg. I thinks you champ.
Respond to this report!
What's this?

#12 Consumer Comment

My experience.....

AUTHOR: Adolph - (USA)

....with Newegg.com has been faultless. In fact, my (assembled) desktop on which I'm typing is about 70% or more Newegg parts. I think if you'd be able to convey the situation to them, they'd probably make good on the deal.

Sorry to hear of your problem with them..
Respond to this report!
What's this?
Report & Rebuttal
Respond to this report!
What's this?
Also a victim?
What's this?
Repair Your Reputation!
What's this?

Advertisers above have met our
strict standards for business conduct.



Ripoff Report Legal Directory