• Report: #185197

Complaint Review: Park West Galleries

Thank You

Read how Ripoff Report saves consumers millions.

  • Submitted: Thu, April 06, 2006
  • Updated: Wed, January 09, 2013

  • Reported By:Miami Beach Florida
Park West Galleries
29469 Northwestern Southfield, Michigan United States of America

Ripoff Report REVIEW: Park West, Park West Gallery, Park West At Sea pledges to resolve any and all legitimate complaints. Commitment to Rip-off Report Corporate Advocacy Business Remediation & Customer Satisfaction Program. Customers can feel confident & secure with Park West - the world's largest art dealer pledges its commitment to 100% customer satisfaction & personal service.
Ripoff Report REVIEW: Park West receives a POSITIVE RATING from Ripoff Report -commitment to providing excellent customer service, pledges its commitment to 100% customer satisfaction - over 1 million satisfied clients - feel confident & secure when doing business with Park West Gallery

*Consumer Comment: Somewhat of a positive rebuttal from a customer

*Consumer Comment: Somewhat of a positive rebuttal from a customer

*Consumer Comment: Somewhat of a positive rebuttal from a customer

What's this?
What's this?
What's this?
Is this
Ripoff Report
About you?
Ripoff Report
A business' first
line of defense
on the Internet.
If your business is
willing to make a
commitment to
customer satisfaction
Click here now..

Does your business have a bad reputation?
Fix it the right way.
Corporate Advocacy Program™

SEO Reputation Management at its best!

SPECIAL UPDATE: January 9 2013: Park West Gallery remains committed to increased customer satisfaction and has improved their business practices over the years to better serve their customers. Park West Gallery is truly dedicated to making sure their customers are satisfied and that any complaints which do arise are addressed promptly and fairly.

To date, Park West Gallery has made good faith efforts to resolve all complaints reported on Ripoff Report. Based on our experience, the member business has proven to be among the top members of the Ripoff Report Corporate Advocacy Business Remediation and Customer Satisfaction Program as a Verified Safe Business.

Over time and since becoming a member, Park West Gallery has remained actively engaged and improving the way they address customer service complaints. As an active and current member of the Rip-off Report Corporate Advocacy Business Remediation and Customer Satisfaction Program we are happy to report that now more than ever Park West Gallery remains committed to improving customer satisfaction.

Remember, no company or individual can ever satisfy 100% of the people 100% of the time. There are no products or services that will always be perfect for everyone and even the best companies will receive complaints from time to time. However, by participating in the Corporate Advocacy Program, the member business has made a commitment to working with its customers to resolve complaints quickly and fairly whenever possible.

Please keep in mind that as a consumer you have some responsibilities as well. Success has many definitions that based on your past experiences, current situation and your perceived expectations. Success with any product or service is always based on the proper application and understanding. The fastest car will not run if you never turn the engine on. Look at how you used the product or service that was provided in relation with the instructions that you received. The Corporate Advocacy Business Remediation and Customer Satisfaction Program will help you get your voice heard but please be prepared with documentation and fair representation of your concern, also have an idea of how the company can fix your concern. Can they offer additional services, extend warranties, offer a fair refund or just get you talking with someone that can help. ..let them know and let us know!

*Any consumer not receiving satisfaction from a member of the Corporate Advocacy Program should email us at editor@ripoffreport.com
 Park West Gallery is Rip-off Report Verified

Ripoff Report REVIEW: Park West gets a POSITIVE RATING from Ripoff Report and is fulfilling its commitment to provide excellent customer service. Park West joins the Ripoff Report Corporate Advocacy Business Remediation & Customer Satisfaction Program and pledges to resolve any and all legitimate complaints.

Customers can feel confident and secure with Park West. Park West pledges its commitment to 100% customer satisfaction and friendly, personal service. Our investigation found that Park West has had a reputation of excellence in the art industry since its founding in 1969. Over 1 million clients - the majority of whom have been repeat customers. The number of complaints Park West received on Ripoff Report in comparison to the number of satisfied clients is incredibly low Less than one complaint per year posted on our website for every 50,000 clients. Park West at Sea received the Porthole Magazine Reader's Choice Award for the Best Art Auction Program". Park West auctions are a highly anticipated event for many cruise vacationers. All Park West art is certified authentic; an independent audit revealed that Park West has never had to issue a refund based on authenticity!

The Park West call center operates seven days a week with courteous personal attention always putting the customer first. Park West believes one complaint is too many that is why they approached Rip-off Report and requested to join Rip-off Report's Corporate Advocacy Business Remediation & Customer Satisfaction Program. Our investigation revealed that Park West truly cares about its clients, and makes every effort to provide an excellent level of service to each and every one of them.

Read more about Park West and their commitment to total customer satisfaction and why consumers should feel safe and confident when doing business with a member of Rip-off Report's Corporate Advocacy Program.

===================== NOW TO THE ORIGINAL REPORT THAT WAS FILED ===================== Park West Galleries - Park West At Sea A scam, a rip off, a deception and a fraud!  That's what Park West Galleries is.  Pure and simple.  They  lie to your face and tell you one thing and completely deny it later.  I was the victim of a bogus art scam while on a Royal Caribbean cruise in Sept 2005. Southfield, Michigan Michigan

Pure criminal fraud! Park West Galleries, a crooked art dealer, has a branch on the Royal Carribbean cruise ships called Park West at Sea. (I can only assume that Royal Caribbean as a partner is making so much money from this scam that they tolerate the fraudulent behaviors since they have not reponded to my complaints either)

This so called "fine art auction" is a spiders web of deceit and trechery for those who are not indoctrinated into the art world. These con artists masquerade as auctioneers and acknowledge fake bidding in the audience by moving their heads to where people are sitting and arbitrarily raising the prices on art work they are selling.

I was promised an appraisal of a painting I purchased for over $5000 in which the full value or more would be realized and glowing annual appreciation in the double digits would be had.

The sales person, Claudio Medel,(Claudio_medel73@hotmail.com) said "don't worry once you get back to land you can have it appraised by a third party to verify our appraisal and if you have any doubts you can cancel the purchase then. "A big company like this would never jeopardize their standing" he said. Trusting like a fool, I found out later from 4 reputable sources that the painting was in fact worth a tiny fraction of the promised value. I had bought the Brooklyn Bridge. After contacting anyone remotely connected with this crime to cancel my purchase I was told all sales are final.

I was embarassed to be lied to over and over in this way and am seeking satisfaction from many avenues including the FBI, Local Police FTC, The Miami Herald, Royal Carribean Cruise Line, both civil and criminal charges and the public domain. I also want to warn others not to buy any art on a cruise ship and to avoid, like poison, Park West Galleries.

Michael Miami Beach, Florida
U.S.A.

This report was posted on Ripoff Report on 04/06/2006 05:38 AM and is a permanent record located here: http://www.ripoffreport.com/r/Park-West-Galleries/Southfield-Michigan-48034/Ripoff-Report-REVIEW-Park-West-Park-West-Gallery-Park-West-At-Sea-pledges-to-resolve-an-185197. The posting time indicated is Arizona local time. Arizona does not observe daylight savings so the post time may be Mountain or Pacific depending on the time of year.

Ripoff Report has an exclusive license to this report. It may not be copied without the written permission of Ripoff Report.

Click Here to read other Ripoff Reports on Park West Galleries

Search for additional reports

If you would like to see more Rip-off Reports on this company/individual, search here:

Search Tips
Report & Rebuttal
Respond to this report!
What's this?
Also a victim?
What's this?
Repair Your Reputation!
What's this?
REBUTTALS & REPLIES:
0Author 3Consumer 0Employee/Owner
Updates & Rebuttals

#1 Consumer Comment

Somewhat of a positive rebuttal from a customer

AUTHOR: Evangeline - (U.S.A.)

I realize that because of the nature of the website you'll only have negative reports about them. I have had a positive experience with them (perhaps due to the reports on Rip-off they're trying to improve?) but even so I have some caveats.

I ended my cruise with RCL about 2 weeks ago, and my boyfriend was wondering when I would get the print that I had "won" from them, so since I didn't have the receipt right on hand I decided to look them up to see the policy. When I googled them I saw the link for Rip-off with all the negative reviews I began to stress out over it (I had to pay a $35 shipping and $35 "appraisal fee") but thank god, the very day I read the reports (today as I am writing this rebuttal) the print came. It was what I had chosen, came with the appraisal and was shipped within a very large container and well protected inside, I don't know if it was worth the $590 appraisal (can check the internet, a good thing to make up for the bad-the unnecessary worry!) but I know from the quality of the print it's well worth over $70!! I am saying all this to reassure someone who DID purchase something, is awaiting the purchase and stumbles across this site. Having said all this, however, I probably wouldn't recommend buying art this way.

Unless you want to pay cruise ships outrageous internet charges (about .50 a minute) it's hard to research the actual value. And I don't know if this is the practice at most galleries (having never bought art before) that you can't get a refund, that at least give you a cooling period, but their no refund policy DOES bother me. I was not too happy that I had to pay for my prize, but I liked the artwork that I could choose, and felt that my artwork was worth more than what I paid. But I would not discourage people from attending the auctions for these reasons.

First, to promote the auctions they often go to other venues, like the trivia games or the shopping presentation and to get people in the mood, they hold mock auctions, for spa treatments, Russian dolls (I was on the Baltic cruise) and other paintings. Some people like me were confused and didn't bid not wanting to have to pay for the items, but FYI, the ones who bid the highest, got the items for free (except for the painting which like me probably had to pay for shipping and appraisals) so play along (you know it's free when they don't ask for the cruise card when they give you the item!)

Then if you go to the auctions, you get the free champagne, the print for attending which usually are nice, and they often have raffles or auctions or some way that you can get spa services and other cruise ship services or products at much lower costs then their original prices.

Most of the auctions have a theme and it's often about the artists or various styles of paintings so it can be informative.

Last but not least, if you really like the painting and can afford it and not planning to sell it (which is the only time the appraisal was important-I didn't like when they said that the painting was worth nothing without the appraisal) go ahead and buy it, you may not find it elsewhere. Although perhaps their appraisals may usually be higher than found elsewhere, occasionally there are probably bargains where you CAN get a good deal.
Respond to this report!
What's this?

#2 Consumer Comment

Somewhat of a positive rebuttal from a customer

AUTHOR: Evangeline - (U.S.A.)

I realize that because of the nature of the website you'll only have negative reports about them. I have had a positive experience with them (perhaps due to the reports on Rip-off they're trying to improve?) but even so I have some caveats.

I ended my cruise with RCL about 2 weeks ago, and my boyfriend was wondering when I would get the print that I had "won" from them, so since I didn't have the receipt right on hand I decided to look them up to see the policy. When I googled them I saw the link for Rip-off with all the negative reviews I began to stress out over it (I had to pay a $35 shipping and $35 "appraisal fee") but thank god, the very day I read the reports (today as I am writing this rebuttal) the print came. It was what I had chosen, came with the appraisal and was shipped within a very large container and well protected inside, I don't know if it was worth the $590 appraisal (can check the internet, a good thing to make up for the bad-the unnecessary worry!) but I know from the quality of the print it's well worth over $70!! I am saying all this to reassure someone who DID purchase something, is awaiting the purchase and stumbles across this site. Having said all this, however, I probably wouldn't recommend buying art this way.

Unless you want to pay cruise ships outrageous internet charges (about .50 a minute) it's hard to research the actual value. And I don't know if this is the practice at most galleries (having never bought art before) that you can't get a refund, that at least give you a cooling period, but their no refund policy DOES bother me. I was not too happy that I had to pay for my prize, but I liked the artwork that I could choose, and felt that my artwork was worth more than what I paid. But I would not discourage people from attending the auctions for these reasons.

First, to promote the auctions they often go to other venues, like the trivia games or the shopping presentation and to get people in the mood, they hold mock auctions, for spa treatments, Russian dolls (I was on the Baltic cruise) and other paintings. Some people like me were confused and didn't bid not wanting to have to pay for the items, but FYI, the ones who bid the highest, got the items for free (except for the painting which like me probably had to pay for shipping and appraisals) so play along (you know it's free when they don't ask for the cruise card when they give you the item!)

Then if you go to the auctions, you get the free champagne, the print for attending which usually are nice, and they often have raffles or auctions or some way that you can get spa services and other cruise ship services or products at much lower costs then their original prices.

Most of the auctions have a theme and it's often about the artists or various styles of paintings so it can be informative.

Last but not least, if you really like the painting and can afford it and not planning to sell it (which is the only time the appraisal was important-I didn't like when they said that the painting was worth nothing without the appraisal) go ahead and buy it, you may not find it elsewhere. Although perhaps their appraisals may usually be higher than found elsewhere, occasionally there are probably bargains where you CAN get a good deal.
Respond to this report!
What's this?

#3 Consumer Comment

Somewhat of a positive rebuttal from a customer

AUTHOR: Evangeline - (U.S.A.)

I realize that because of the nature of the website you'll only have negative reports about them. I have had a positive experience with them (perhaps due to the reports on Rip-off they're trying to improve?) but even so I have some caveats.

I ended my cruise with RCL about 2 weeks ago, and my boyfriend was wondering when I would get the print that I had "won" from them, so since I didn't have the receipt right on hand I decided to look them up to see the policy. When I googled them I saw the link for Rip-off with all the negative reviews I began to stress out over it (I had to pay a $35 shipping and $35 "appraisal fee") but thank god, the very day I read the reports (today as I am writing this rebuttal) the print came. It was what I had chosen, came with the appraisal and was shipped within a very large container and well protected inside, I don't know if it was worth the $590 appraisal (can check the internet, a good thing to make up for the bad-the unnecessary worry!) but I know from the quality of the print it's well worth over $70!! I am saying all this to reassure someone who DID purchase something, is awaiting the purchase and stumbles across this site. Having said all this, however, I probably wouldn't recommend buying art this way.

Unless you want to pay cruise ships outrageous internet charges (about .50 a minute) it's hard to research the actual value. And I don't know if this is the practice at most galleries (having never bought art before) that you can't get a refund, that at least give you a cooling period, but their no refund policy DOES bother me. I was not too happy that I had to pay for my prize, but I liked the artwork that I could choose, and felt that my artwork was worth more than what I paid. But I would not discourage people from attending the auctions for these reasons.

First, to promote the auctions they often go to other venues, like the trivia games or the shopping presentation and to get people in the mood, they hold mock auctions, for spa treatments, Russian dolls (I was on the Baltic cruise) and other paintings. Some people like me were confused and didn't bid not wanting to have to pay for the items, but FYI, the ones who bid the highest, got the items for free (except for the painting which like me probably had to pay for shipping and appraisals) so play along (you know it's free when they don't ask for the cruise card when they give you the item!)

Then if you go to the auctions, you get the free champagne, the print for attending which usually are nice, and they often have raffles or auctions or some way that you can get spa services and other cruise ship services or products at much lower costs then their original prices.

Most of the auctions have a theme and it's often about the artists or various styles of paintings so it can be informative.

Last but not least, if you really like the painting and can afford it and not planning to sell it (which is the only time the appraisal was important-I didn't like when they said that the painting was worth nothing without the appraisal) go ahead and buy it, you may not find it elsewhere. Although perhaps their appraisals may usually be higher than found elsewhere, occasionally there are probably bargains where you CAN get a good deal.
Respond to this report!
What's this?
Report & Rebuttal
Respond to this report!
What's this?
Also a victim?
What's this?
Repair Your Reputation!
What's this?

Advertisers above have met our
strict standards for business conduct.



Ripoff Report Legal Directory