• Report: #692556

Complaint Review: route 66 warranty

Thank You

Read how Ripoff Report saves consumers millions.

  • Submitted: Tue, February 08, 2011
  • Updated: Mon, February 13, 2012

  • Reported By: SideOfTheRoad — Salt Lake City Internet United States of America
route 66 warranty
Mountain Home, Arkansas United States of America

route 66 warranty Left me hanging on the side of the freeway for three and a half hours. Mountain Home, Arkansas

*Consumer Comment: What is wrong with you people?

*Consumer Comment: Read the fine print on Route 66 warranty

*Consumer Comment: Route 66....Cant beat it

*Consumer Comment: Route 66 looks good to me

*Consumer Comment: Quote "genius move"

*General Comment: Route 66 was a BAD idea!

*REBUTTAL Individual responds: Experiences

*Author of original report: That was their statement

*Consumer Comment: Say What?

*Author of original report: At least they tried

*Author of original report: Dont be misinformed or fooled.

*UPDATE Employee: Roadside Assistance experience

What's this?
What's this?
What's this?
Is this
Ripoff Report
About you?
Ripoff Report
A business' first
line of defense
on the Internet.
If your business is
willing to make a
commitment to
customer satisfaction
Click here now..

Does your business have a bad reputation?
Fix it the right way.
Corporate Advocacy Program™

SEO Reputation Management at its best!

Yesterday i my vehicle broke down on the freeway. After i was able to get off the road i called Route 66 Warranty. I have the route 66 easy street plan (the best available) which includes 24/7 towing and roadside assistance. When i called in everything seemed great and i was told that a towing company would contact me very soon. 45 mins later i was contact by the towing company. They said they would be at my location in 35-45 mins. (Note: the towing place was only 5 miles away) an hour went by and no word. I was freezing in the car because it wouldnt start and i had no heat in a snowstorm. I then called the towing company and they told me that they had to get gas first but they didnt have a credit card that worked, What a joke!!! I called route 66 and they said we will send someone else out it will take 45-60 mins. I told them forget it and called AAA (my other emergency service) who arrived on the scene within 20 mins. I would strongly recommend staying clear of Route 66 Warranty.

This report was posted on Ripoff Report on 02/08/2011 02:36 PM and is a permanent record located here: http://www.ripoffreport.com/r/route-66-warranty/Mountain-Home-Arkansas-72654/route-66-warranty-Left-me-hanging-on-the-side-of-the-freeway-for-three-and-a-half-hours-692556. The posting time indicated is Arizona local time. Arizona does not observe daylight savings so the post time may be Mountain or Pacific depending on the time of year.

Ripoff Report has an exclusive license to this report. It may not be copied without the written permission of Ripoff Report.

Click Here to read other Ripoff Reports on route 66 warranty

Search for additional reports

If you would like to see more Rip-off Reports on this company/individual, search here:

Search Tips
Report & Rebuttal
Respond to this report!
What's this?
Also a victim?
What's this?
Repair Your Reputation!
What's this?
REBUTTALS & REPLIES:
3Author 8Consumer 1Employee/Owner
Updates & Rebuttals

#1 Consumer Comment

What is wrong with you people?

AUTHOR: DocAceZ - ()

I have EASY STREET too and it says right on their brochure that they DO NOT cover "BRAKES" (learn to read!!) No warranty company covers maintenance items NONE. You want an oil change too – buy it.

For the overheating fella below, that one is on you too. You decide to drive the car when you were told NOT (BTW this is common sense)  to so you blew the head and that is their fault??? Ummm no. Like another posted here that was a “Genius” move pal.

RT66 is without a doubt one of the BEST aftermarket warranty companies I have ever had.

I went into the shop to get ONE front wheel bearing done and needed the other three done as well. They paid with issue, needed valve cover gaskets done as well; they paid no questions asked, then they found some other gasket kit was needed – DONE with no issues. All in all it was close to a 3K repair bill, I paid tax and diagnosis fees about $350.00.

My car goes in tomorrow for a throttlebody and harness replace/repair no issues or worries for me AND I get a rental on them. 

If you can’t use this company properly YOU are the issue not them – AND YOU CAN TAKE THE CAR ANYWHERE YOU LIKE, DEALERS INCLUDED and with NO deductible required. Ya they really stink - not.

RT66 is the BEST, I’d buy this plan again WITHOUT hesitation whatsoever.

Respond to this report!
What's this?

#2 Consumer Comment

Read the fine print on Route 66 warranty

AUTHOR: Damian - ()

 I took my car in to the dealership to have the breaks done cause it states that on the brochure but it didnt cover the break pads just the parts around it.They did a diagnositc check cause my check engine light was on and they found my sensor's in my engine and transmission were bad.They took my transmission apart to see which sensor was out and they replaced it.The warranty covered the two sensor's that needed to be replaced but the kicker is it didnt cover the transmission fluid, filter and the diagnostic check.So even thow the warrenty paid for most of the repairs I still got left with almost $300 bill from the dealership.The warrenty is'nt a total waste but you still my have to come out of pocket for some of those repairs.

Respond to this report!
What's this?

#3 Consumer Comment

Route 66....Cant beat it

AUTHOR: happy - (United States of America)

I have Route 66 Easy Street Plan (Best Available)....about 3 weeks ago my check engine light came on...took my vehicle in for repairs and it was diagnosed as the oil pressure sensor gone bad.  During einspection, also discovered that my ball joints were bad.  Contacted Route 66 and filed a claim and bothe the ball joints and sensor were replaced...My cost $150 for taxes and oil change.  Warranty cost....a little over $1200.  ONE DAY later the check engine light came back on.  Took it back in and had to move to another shop for diagnosis.  Upon further diagnosis, it wasnt the oil pressure sensor but instead the oil pump.  Not only was the oil pump bad, it had basically destroyed the entire engine.  Contacted warranty company again.  had to have the engine tore apart to find a "failed component" before the warranty company would agree to fix anything.  Well the engine was broked down, and low and behold, several large shavings of metal from failed oil pump and grinding of ball bearings found in oil pan = need a replacement engine.  Warranty company sent out their adjuster to verfify that the engine was fried.  After verification, warranty company contacted me and requested 17 oil change receipts to verfiy that the vehicle maintenance was kept up.  Luckily all of my oil changes were done at three places only and they had records of the oil changes being completed.  I collected the documentation and sent the paperwork and and within a few hours my agent "Zach" contacted me and said he would order an engine and have it shipped to the repair facility to be installed.  My cost $400 for taxes, oil change, seprentine belt, raidaitor, etc.....warranty company cost $4400 for replacement engine plus labor.  Bottom line is if you maintain your vehcile as required, if something fails, the warranty compnay will hold up their end.  In fact I was even given a rental car allowance.  So i paid a little over $500 for a new sensor, ball joints, belts, and a ENGINE which could have easily cost me close to $5000.  Route 66 Easy Street plan has done what is was desinged to do but that was because I did what I was supposed to do and that was take care of my vehicle.
Respond to this report!
What's this?

#4 Consumer Comment

Route 66 looks good to me

AUTHOR: mje - (United States of America)

I'm glad this site exists since I'm looking for info on Route 66 since I'm going to purchase a warranty through them.  I'll continue looking for more reviews, but it looks good so far.

I'd just like to say to the first individual that I've waited plenty of times for AAA towers for over an hour and once, for 2 1/2 hours.  If you never have, then you haven't called them very often or were in a well serviced area.  At least I avoided the ridiculous towing fees.

To the individual who's car blew up: towing is included in the warranty... you should not have driven the vehicle, and what you did caused more damage.
Respond to this report!
What's this?

#5 Consumer Comment

Quote "genius move"

AUTHOR: CaptainDave - (United States of America)

The individual posting the complaint about his car overheating and being told by Route 66 to take the car to the nearest repair facility stated they made the 'Genius Move" of going to the Chevy dealer. The only thing the poster did that was genius was breathing in and out. The rest of the story only proves they may want to use some other form of transportation in the future, obviously they have no idea about the proper care and maintenance of an automobile. If the dealer was so close why not have the vehicle towed and and not risk the damage to the engine. This stupid and cheap mistake on the part of the car owner should have no reflection on Route 66 in this case and what did the the Chevy dealer do wrong? As a prospective purchaser I'm surprised at this and the other dimwit that ran out of gas blaming Route 66 for their own lack of judgement.
Respond to this report!
What's this?

#6 General Comment

Route 66 was a BAD idea!

AUTHOR: Hector Matias - (United States of America)

Boy am I glad I found this website. I am FURIOUS that I got Route 66 Extended warranty service!!! I bought it thinking I would be ok of my car broke down some time. I knew it was good insurance when I most needed it. I own a 2006 Monte Carlo with only 50,000 miles and take EXCELLENT care of it. So last week it began to leak anti-freeze and it overheated on me twice. So I call Route 66 and speak to a claims adjuster who tells me that they will cover the leak and to take it to any shop I decide to go to. So I make the genius move of going to the Chevy dealer, since I won't be paying out of pocket. I prep my car to go, by filling the radiator with coolant and all I well. The dealer is only 6 miles away so I know I'll make it. I drive 4 miles, eyeballing the temp guage the whole way. As soon as the needle is below the red, I pull over and let the fan cool off the engine. I wait 30 minutes and start her up, no problem. The needle is below the halfway mark and I drive off. TWO BLOCKS from the dealer, the car completely shuts off. I get it towed to the dealer, they look it over and it turns out the engine gaskets blew because of the overheating. They call Route and they deny the claim because I drove negligent! They said I knew there was a chance the car would overheat and blow the engine and I drove it anyway! I am NOT a mechanic. How the hell am I supposed to know that would happen? I told the guy that I never got to the red hash mark on the guage and he says "gauges don't always work, the engine was already overheated" WHAT??? I told him I don't calibrate gauges I stopped when I knew there was a risk of overheating. He told me that the last two times the engine overheated, I knew it had that problem and I drove anyway, therefore I was negligent. I'm a grown a$$ man and I bawled my eyes out. I have no money at all and I need that car to work. So I'm in a world of hurt thanks to Route 66. With no way to get my car back and no way to get around. I'm beyond screwed and they don't care. The guy I spoke to claimed to be the manager and didn't care when I told him I was going to cancel the plan. I asked him how to go about canceling my plan and his answer was just to look on the website and figure it out. The website is so vague it does not help at all. So now what, Route 66??? Where are you when I need you the most???
Respond to this report!
What's this?

#7 REBUTTAL Individual responds

Experiences

AUTHOR: melly - (United States of America)

My car broke down at work and I live 45 mins away, When I called Route 66 They sent me a tow truck within 30 mins. and even offered me a ride to the service center. They was nice and very concerned on how I was going to get around. They paid for my car repairs with no concerns. Thanks Route 66 you are the best. Eveyone has diffrent experiences and maybe your experience was a lesson learned. 

  "Experience is determined by yourself not the circumstances of your life."

Respond to this report!
What's this?

#8 Author of original report

That was their statement

AUTHOR: SideOfTheRoad - (United States of America)

I never stated i ran out of gas. I asked for gas and a tow truck if the gas did not resolve the issue. I got neither and they never showed. My car was towed by AAA to my repair shop where is was fixed without my warranty.
Respond to this report!
What's this?

#9 Consumer Comment

Say What?

AUTHOR: Larry - (U.S.A.)

In your original post you stated that your vehicle "broke down on the freeway."  But the response from Route 66 and your updates indicate that you actually ran out of gas!  In a snow storm.  You wanted someone to drop everything and bring you gas in a blizzard because you drove past how many gas stations?  What was the matter with them?  No S&H stamps?
Respond to this report!
What's this?

#10 Author of original report

At least they tried

AUTHOR: SideOfTheRoad - (United States of America)

Route 66 Warranty admitted they knew they were at fault and did try to make it right with me. I do not recommend them based off my experience but they did something to attempt to better the situation. It could have possibly been a mishap oh their end but maybe now they will work with more reputable contractors. I have nothing more to say except i hope no one has to go through what i did.   
Respond to this report!
What's this?

#11 Author of original report

Dont be misinformed or fooled.

AUTHOR: SideOfTheRoad - (United States of America)

Wouldnt any one call a different company if they hadn't received service with-in 2 hours? Not only does this company work with shady and dishonest contractors but they report with false information arranged to make them appear not at fault. I also want to note i have a report from the Utah Highway department sating the time and location of indecent.  I requested fuel/tow after a total of 3 hours i saw neither from Route 66. Like i stated in my first post i received a tow and fuel at no additional cost with-in 20 minutes of my phone call to AAA. Thank you AAA for caring enough about your customers to work with reputable contractors and ensuring that we are taken care of promptly.
Respond to this report!
What's this?

#12 UPDATE Employee

Roadside Assistance experience

AUTHOR: John - (United States of America)

The original service provider that was dispatched did not have a form of payment to purchase the gas that was to be delivered to the customer. This was a mistake by the provider and they have been reprimanded by the tow network administrator. The second service provider was dispatched and when he called the customer to advise that they were on the way, the customer decided that he wanted the vehicle towed and no longer wanted fluid delivery. The provider was on the way with a service truck since it was a fluid delivery (not a tow truck). They were going to have to dispatch out a tow truck, but the customer declined.

This is not a reflection of the warranty services that Route 66 provides as we deal with independent contracted tow providers.
Respond to this report!
What's this?
Report & Rebuttal
Respond to this report!
What's this?
Also a victim?
What's this?
Repair Your Reputation!
What's this?

Advertisers above have met our
strict standards for business conduct.



Ripoff Report Legal Directory