• Report: #372992

Complaint Review: SteelMaster Buildings, LLC

Thank You

Read how Ripoff Report saves consumers millions.

  • Submitted: Mon, September 15, 2008
  • Updated: Wed, April 23, 2014

  • Reported By:Florence Mississippi
SteelMaster Buildings, LLC
1023 Laskin Road, Suite 109 Virginia Beach, Virginia U.S.A.

SteelMaster Buildings, LLC Be SURE Before Ordering! Virginia Beach Virginia

*Consumer Comment: BUYER BEWARE

*Consumer Comment: got burnt too

*Consumer Comment: got burnt too

*UPDATE Employee: SteelMaster Buildings, LLC Response

What's this?
What's this?
What's this?
Is this
Ripoff Report
About you?
Ripoff Report
A business' first
line of defense
on the Internet.
If your business is
willing to make a
commitment to
customer satisfaction
Click here now..

Does your business have a bad reputation?
Fix it the right way.
Corporate Advocacy Program™

SEO Reputation Management at its best!

SteelMaster Buildings are probably first-rate. I'll never know because I will never do business with them again.

I ordered a building from them and put down $1,000 as a deposit. When I went to my city hall two weeks later to get a building permit, I found out that my town does not allow such metal structures. I immediately called SteelMaster to cancel the order and was told that I could not get my deposit back, regardless of the reason. To make a long story short, I finally did get 1/3 of my deposit back ($375) but it took months. I have no idea what order processes could have cost $625, but in the contract I signed it did indeed say that there were no refunds.

Kudos to Georgette Cyr with SteelMaster customer service for being a reliable and friendly company contact.

My advice to anyone interested in buying from SteelMaster: First and foremost, establish up front whether you can erect the building in your area.

Second, do not fall for the sales tactic that I fell for: "We have a building left over from our show in Kentucky that is perfect for you and will save you lots of money". Not true.

In other words, "Let The Buyer Beware".

Chuck C
Florence, Mississippi
U.S.A.

This report was posted on Ripoff Report on 09/15/2008 09:38 AM and is a permanent record located here: http://www.ripoffreport.com/r/SteelMaster-Buildings-LLC/Virginia-Beach-Virginia-23451/SteelMaster-Buildings-LLC-Be-SURE-Before-Ordering-Virginia-Beach-Virginia-372992. The posting time indicated is Arizona local time. Arizona does not observe daylight savings so the post time may be Mountain or Pacific depending on the time of year.

Ripoff Report has an exclusive license to this report. It may not be copied without the written permission of Ripoff Report.

Click Here to read other Ripoff Reports on SteelMaster Buildings, LLC

Search for additional reports

If you would like to see more Rip-off Reports on this company/individual, search here:

Search Tips
Report & Rebuttal
Respond to this report!
What's this?
Also a victim?
What's this?
Repair Your Reputation!
What's this?
REBUTTALS & REPLIES:
0Author 4Consumer 0Employee/Owner
Updates & Rebuttals

#1 Consumer Comment

BUYER BEWARE

AUTHOR: unhappy camper - ()

!!!BUYER BEWARE!!!

These are quonset style buildings. Many counties across the U.S., and most home owner's associations will not allow you to erect this type of building on your property.

Be VERY certain that you will be allowed to erect one of these buildings BEFORE giving this company any money or signing their contract because they will not give you a dime of it back.

Since losing nearly $3,500 of my money this way, I've read other reviews online from others who have also lost money.

Yes. I signed a contract that said that the downpayment was not refundable. I am at fault for my own stupid decision.

Just don't let yourself be pressured into signing a contract to "lock in your price" before you have authorization in hand to erect the building, because this company will afford you no sympathy and will cut you no slack.

Respond to this report!
What's this?

#2 Consumer Comment

got burnt too

AUTHOR: got burnt - (United States of America)

Try to tell the pushy salesperson you want to think about it, or check codes before purchase. He'll give you the "give me a deposit to hold it for you" song and dance. Yes I bought a 30x40 from Steelmaster and it collapsed in a 2004 snowstorm. No they are not a fully snow "self cleaning" building, unless you heat it 24-7. On a cold frosty day turn the heat on in one of these buildings and be prepaired to get rained on by the melting frost on the tin. I do NOT recomend this building for cold climates or at all really. Four of these in Pennsylvainia fell in the same storm, do NOT trust them if they have snow build on them. Tell the salespeople to quit showing pictures of collapsed pole buildings because yours is capeable of the same.
Respond to this report!
What's this?

#3 Consumer Comment

got burnt too

AUTHOR: got burnt - (United States of America)

Try to tell the pushy salesperson you want to think about it, or check codes before purchase. He'll give you the "give me a deposit to hold it for you" song and dance. Yes I bought a 30x40 from Steelmaster and it collapsed in a 2004 snowstorm. No they are not a fully snow "self cleaning" building, unless you heat it 24-7. On a cold frosty day turn the heat on in one of these buildings and be prepaired to get rained on by the melting frost on the tin. I do NOT recomend this building for cold climates or at all really. Four of these in Pennsylvainia fell in the same storm, do NOT trust them if they have snow build on them. Tell the salespeople to quit showing pictures of collapsed pole buildings because yours is capeable of the same.
Respond to this report!
What's this?

#4 UPDATE Employee

SteelMaster Buildings, LLC Response

AUTHOR: Steelmaster Buildings - (U.S.A.)

Chuck -

We are as frustrated as you that you were unable to construct the steel building that you purchased. However, some of the details of your report do not clearly explain how we responded to your request to cancel the contract on your building.

On May 12, 2008, you authorized a contract with our company to purchase a steel building from our company.

On June 25, 2008, we received a very nice letter from you that explained how a new town ordinance did not allow you to build a steel building in excess of 225 square feet. You also explained that your building would be used as an aircraft hangar and that size restriction would not allow you to utilize the building for that purpose.

Upon receipt of your correspondence, we crafted a letter to you dated July 8, 2008 agreeing to issue you a partial refund of your deposit in the amount of $375. The difference between and refund and the deposit was applied to the costs incurred by our company for both engineering and administrative fees.

In less than 2 months from your purchase date and within 2 weeks of the receipt of your letter, we released you from the legal contract you authorized and refunded your deposit less our incurred costs.

Your advice to our future customers on checking with their counties on whether they can build prior to purchasing the building is excellent. We encourage our customers to do their homework on county regulations prior to purchasing as it is impossible for us to keep up with continuously changing county and city regulations throughout the United States. However, we do have some customers that who are so interested in purchasing high demand specials and closeouts to save money on their buildings that they decide to move forward with the purchase decision before they do their research, either because they do not plan to obtain a building permit or for other reasons.

Thank you for your comments on the service that Georgette in our Customer Service Department. She has been a member of the SteelMaster family for over 10 years and is truly an asset to our company and the customers she serves. We appreciate you mentioning that she is a "reliable and friendly company contact".

Again, we are truly sorry that you were not able to complete your building project with a SteelMaster building. We feel that are the premier arched steel building company in the industry and strive to be the business of choice for those interested in a steel structure. Our goal with each and every customer is to provide excellence in customer service from inquiry to purchase to construction and beyond!

If you would like to learn more about our company, we invite you to review our website where you will find numerous customer testimonials and news articles that describe our company and the buildings that we sell. Our website is www.SteelMasterUSA.com.

Best of luck to you Chuck with your building project!
Respond to this report!
What's this?
Report & Rebuttal
Respond to this report!
What's this?
Also a victim?
What's this?
Repair Your Reputation!
What's this?

Advertisers above have met our
strict standards for business conduct.



Ripoff Report Legal Directory