• Report: #1108063

Complaint Review: TigerDirect

Thank You

Read how Ripoff Report saves consumers millions.

  • Submitted: Wed, December 18, 2013
  • Updated: Wed, December 18, 2013

  • Reported By: twyrhta — Houston Texas
TigerDirect
Internet, Select State/Province USA

TigerDirect "Processing Priority List" and Backordered Merchandise - "Backordered item - you won't get it unless you're on the priority processing list."

*Author of original report: Order cancelled

*Author of original report: Called on 12/31 after receiving no word

*Author of original report: Called back on 12/19 after no shipment email was received

What's this?
What's this?
What's this?
Is this
Ripoff Report
About you?
Ripoff Report
A business' first
line of defense
on the Internet.
If your business is
willing to make a
commitment to
customer satisfaction
Click here now..

Does your business have a bad reputation?
Fix it the right way.
Corporate Advocacy Program™

SEO Reputation Management at its best!

On Black Friday, many of us were entertained by lofty dreams of cheap merchandise. Companies make their biggest profits, and thus give us their biggest deals. The 2014 holiday season was bound to have some of the best deals ever, and for me it isn't just a chance to buy some TV I wanted for cheap--it's a chance for cashstrapped people, students, etc. to get good presents that they otherwise couldn't afford. I was excited to get my hands on one in particular for my mother: the Microsoft Surface Tablet, which was destined to be one of the best deals of the season. At a $199 price point from Microsoft, it was a steal. But other retailers offered it for an even better deal-- $249 for the Surface and the Black Touch keyboard. Certainly a deal that can't be beat. Staples offered it, Walmart offered it, Best Buy offered it, Microcenter outdid it, and TigerDirect offered it. [continued below]....

..... But finding it in stock proved a bit difficult... until TigerDirect suddenly started taking orders in the middle of the day. Alas, it looked like a Christmas miracle for me! I would be able to purchase the perfect device for my mostly computer illiterate mother. What joy! I quickly placed my order then waited patiently to receive word of shipment pending. In the meantime, Staples had begun selling again online with the item in stock, but of course I did not purchase from them since I already had ordered with TigerDirect. (That was a major mistake.) So I ignored it, and I continued on with my life waiting patiently for my shipping confirmation.

 

A few days later, nothing had happened. I emailed TigerDirect and was told that they had no word on when the item would be back in stock. The next day, I received the following email:

Dear XXXXXX

Thank you for visiting our website. In regard to your recent order: XXXXXXX, due to an unusually large demand, we are temporarily out of stock on the Microsoft Surface RT Tablet M17-101202, however, we have received confirmation from our supplier that more product is on the way.

Your order will receive priority upon receipt in our warehouse and we will send you the usual shipping confirmation email once it ships. The approximate shipping date for your order is estimated to be 12/13/2013.

We appreciate your patience and apologize for the delay. Rest assured we are making every effort to speed up your order.


Regards,

TigerDirect.com Customer Care

What exciting news! My product would finally ship around 12/13, right? Wrong. On 12/18, I contacted the customer service through the chat option on their webpage and, after waiting for about twenty minutes, was put in touch with Relvin Borbolla. The following conversation ensued:

Please wait while we find an agent to assist you... 

All agents are currently busy. Please stand by. 
An agent will be with you in a moment. Thank you for your patience. 
The next available Agent will be with you in a moment. 
All agents are currently busy. Please stand by. 
An agent will be with you in a moment. Thank you for your patience. 
The next available Agent will be with you in a moment. 
All agents are currently busy. Please stand by. 
An agent will be with you in a moment. Thank you for your patience. 
The next available Agent will be with you in a moment. 
All agents are currently busy. Please stand by. 
An agent will be with you in a moment. Thank you for your patience. 
The next available Agent will be with you in a moment. 
All agents are currently busy. Please stand by. 
An agent will be with you in a moment. Thank you for your patience. 
The next available Agent will be with you in a moment. 
All agents are currently busy. Please stand by. 
An agent will be with you in a moment. Thank you for your patience. 
You have been connected to Relvin Borbolla. 
Relvin Borbolla: Thank you for contacting us today, how may I assist you? 
Thomas: Hi. I placed order #XXXXXXXX on 11/29 and was wondering about the status of the stock for the item I ordered. I know it was backordered, and I received an email saying stock was expected on 12/13. It's now 12/18 and no word of when the item will ship. 
Relvin Borbolla: Let me check this order. 
Relvin Borbolla: Please hold on for 2-4 minutes. 
Relvin Borbolla: Thank you for waiting. 
Relvin Borbolla: Upon checking unfortunately, this order is still in backorder and we do not have any updates yet when it will be available. 
Relvin Borbolla: We apologize for any inconvenience. 
Thomas: I don't really understand why you would've taken orders on a product that you don't have and can't deliver within a month. 
Relvin Borbolla: Due to the number of orders placed for this item against the number of stocks we have, we were unable to determine if your purchase was included in the processing priority list. This is the reason why we have not cancelled your purchase until we are able to confirm that we are unable to fill your order within the specified timeframe provided by Tigerdirect. 
Thomas: What the f*** is that supposed to mean? 
Thomas: So I could go a month without the product and not get it because I didn't somehow get on a "priority list"? 
Thomas: You shouldn't have taken orders you can't promise to fill. That's complete bullsh**. 
Thomas: Who can I contact that is in charge of you? 
Relvin Borbolla: Please contact us at 1-800-800-8300 for further assistance. 
Relvin Borbolla: Is there anything else I can assist you with? 
Thomas: Yes, that number is going to put my through to a customer service line that I'll have to wait on for fifteen minutes. Give me a better number. 
Relvin Borbolla: Unfortunately, that is the only number that we have. 
Thomas: So is that the number you call when you need to ask for help? 
Thomas: Is that your supervisor's number? 
Relvin Borbolla: Yes, that is correct. 
Relvin Borbolla: Is there anything else I can assist you with? 
Thomas: Yeah, send me my product. 
Thomas: Or at least be honest about your stock next time. 

 

I immediately called, waited, then spoke with a customer service agent, Fennie (#492116), explaining the problem again and what I had been through, and she said "We no longer have stock for this. Sorry for the inconvenience." I asked to speak with her supervisor, suggesting that if they didn't have the product and wouldn't be able to fulfill the orders, then they shouldn't have taken them. Nor should they have sent me an email that said "We expect to receive stock, and the shipping date for your order is estimated to be 12/13" if they did not expect to actually ship my order. The supervisor was apparently not available, he was "busy on another call" but they had good news for me: stock would be expected today or tomorrow, and she'd like to offer me a $20 gift for being such a valued customer, then transferred me to a program called "Everyday Priveleges Gold". I searched the web for this company and, lo and behold, found that almost every page of Google results had the word "scam" in it at least twice. Everyday Priveleges Gold attempted to sell me on some service that would promise to save me money as long as I paid them money, so I immediately declined. Giving their "valued customers" a chance to sign up for a service whose name is apparently synonymous with "scam" on Google is a nice way to make up for poor customer service, misleading emails, and mishandling of orders.

 

I will update this if anything ever happens, but so far this is absolutely ridiculous. The idea of taking orders for stock you don't have, creating a priority list for those who will get it, and for generally tricking customers into thinking they will receive an order when they might not is outrageous. This worst part of all of this is that I COULD have gotten the order from a trusted retailer that would have delivered by Christmas and turned them down under the impression that I had ordered from a reputable and honest retailer. Happy holidays, right?


This report was posted on Ripoff Report on 12/18/2013 01:47 PM and is a permanent record located here: http://www.ripoffreport.com/r/TigerDirect/Internet-Select-StateProvince-Internet/TigerDirect-Processing-Priority-List-and-Backordered-Merchandise-Backordered-item--1108063. The posting time indicated is Arizona local time. Arizona does not observe daylight savings so the post time may be Mountain or Pacific depending on the time of year.

Ripoff Report has an exclusive license to this report. It may not be copied without the written permission of Ripoff Report.

Click Here to read other Ripoff Reports on TigerDirect

Search for additional reports

If you would like to see more Rip-off Reports on this company/individual, search here:

Search Tips
Report & Rebuttal
Respond to this report!
What's this?
Also a victim?
What's this?
Repair Your Reputation!
What's this?
REBUTTALS & REPLIES:
3Author 0Consumer 0Employee/Owner
Updates & Rebuttals

#1 Author of original report

Order cancelled

AUTHOR: twyrhta - ()

On 12/31 I sent an email to a number of executives at TigerDirect detailing my concerns with their customer service and the poor circumstances surrounding this case. The email was basically a recap of everything above. I also sent the email to sales@tigerdirect.com. On 1/1, I received the following response from Generoso at the Sales team:

Dear Valued Customer: 

Thank you for your email. 

We do apologize that we did not notify you accordingly on the matter. Upon checking order number XXXXXXX was placed last November 11, 2013. We also review the chat that you have here in tigerdirect. Prior to that as we check the item today we do apologize that it is no longer available we will not carry the item anymore. Due to that please accept our sincerest apologies for the matter. Since the item will be discontinued i already process the cancellation of the order was process, for the inconvenience we would like to offer you a $5 Gift Card that you can use on your next purchase. Again we apologize for the matter. 

Thank you for your patience. 


Thank you for visiting our website. We appreciate your business. If you have further inquiries and reply to this email, please make sure to include your entire message, so we can address it appropriately. Please feel free to contact me at the phone number below should you require any further assistance. 

Sincerely, 
Generoso 

TigerDirect.com Customer Advocate 

If you've read anything else written on this page you'll know two things: first, I placed the order on Nov 29, not Nov 11; second, that I have been lied to and mislead multiple times by multiple different sources, foreign and domestic.

Apparently Generoso could not be bothered to take an extra second to proofread or get the relevant information correct. Second, the Surface RT is not a discontinued item and certainly was not when I placed my order over a month ago on November 29. Also, is $5 for an item which I will no longer be able to purchase for my mother, nor give as a present, nor even see really considered a satisfactory "sincerest apology"? I have responded by demanding more information from someone that is personal, proofread, and poignant. I don't think that is asking too much. When everyone gets back to work tomorrow, we'll see what happens.

Respond to this report!
What's this?

#2 Author of original report

Called on 12/31 after receiving no word

AUTHOR: twyrhta - ()

I was told on 12/19 by Estelle K that the item would ship "this week or next." Those weeks have no gone by. It has been over a month since the item was ordered, and I am no closer to receiving it. I decided to call the number she suggested, which was the billing and processing center. The person there was very understanding and offered to transfer me to a customer service manager that was on site in her facility. She told me to make sure I spoke with a customer service manager and not to take "no" for an answer. She also warned me that if they couldn't provide the item they would offer me a different one. I don't want a different one. I've also noticed the inventory on their website now simply says "Available In Store." (If it's available in store, why don't they just send those of us waiting one of those items? Basically, TigerDirect had inventory but prioritized stores over orders they already took. They are selling them in stores for more than the orders they took, so why lose the money by fulfilling ours, right?)

After holding for 29 minutes, I spoke with Keith. He told me they would not be getting inventory of this item "for a long time" and that the replacement item also would not receive inventory "for a while." I asked to speak with his manager, explained everything written above, and told him it was ridiculous that they couldn't just pull an item off the shelves of some of their stores and send them to people who've placed orders. He explained that the "inventory control systems" were different, so they couldn't. I told him that was ridiculous; it's the same company and there's really no reason they can't just demand those stores pull the product and send them to a distribution warehouse, but I didn't want to yell at him for it since it's not like he's the guy in charge of that. He told me he would get a manager for me. I went back on hold. After fifteen minutes he returned. He told me that he "spoke with the manager" and there are many people for whom this is a problem, and they have been speaking with the PM (whoever that is) to get more of the item to fulfill the orders. They have ordered more, but the earliest they will likely arrive is 2-3 weeks. There was nothing more he could do for me... I'd just have to wait another month or two if I wanted to see the item. 

 I don't think I need to say how excruciatingly unhappy this makes me. I could have ordered the item, on 11/29, from a reliable vendor like Staples or Best Buy. Let's not forget that TigerDirect is no small company; it's parent, Systemax, consolidated both CompUSA and Circuit City into TigerDirect. The lesson for companies here is a pretty simple one: don't offer inventory on an item that you don't have and won't have in the foreseeable future. Assuming the average lifespan of a tablet/computer is around 3 years (which seems more than fair given the refresh cycles), the two months of time that passes will be 5.6% of the device's life. If three months passes, that's 8.3% of the device's lifespan spent in limbo. Considering the Surface RT was released Oct 26, 2012, that makes this device about a year and four months old by the time I will see it. Doing some maths, that makes this device 45% depreciated by the time I will see it. To be fair, I will have paid about 41.6% of its original cost for 65% of the original item's lifespan by the time I receive it. So that seems about fair, right?

Wrong. The market values its depreciation at a rate of about $323.08 per year, since in Oct 2012 it would've retailed for around $600 with touch keyboard and in Nov 2013 it was on sale for $250. At that depreciation rate, the item will cost $-43.16 this time next year. Since it's gone negative in two years of consistent depreciating value (which is fair considering most items lose value quicker the longer they are around), it's more likely that the lifespan of such a device is only 2 years, not 3. Thus by the time I receive the Surface tablet, it will have lost more than 50% of its value (if I get it around Jan 26, it will have 37.5% of its lifespan remaining before it can be considered completely outdated. That means I'll have paid 41% of its original value for 37.5% of its original lifespan. If I get the item on Feb 26, I'll have paid 41% of the original cost for only 33.3% of the item's original lifespan. Some more maths makes this even more disappointing. If you bought the item at full original cost, you would've paid $6 for every 1% of the Surface's lifespan; in other words, you would've paid $25 per month of the item's lifespan. I, however, will pay $7.51 for every 1% of my Surface's measley 8 month remaining lifespan; that means I'm paying $31.30 per month of Surface's remaining time before it's labelled "outdated." Some bargain, huh?

Respond to this report!
What's this?

#3 Author of original report

Called back on 12/19 after no shipment email was received

AUTHOR: twyrhta - ()

No shipment went out yesterday, so I decided to contact again today to see if I could get some clarity. First, I contacted Roger, a customer service manager whose number I found through some intense Googling. He did in fact work for Tiger as a customer service manager, but he was unavailable. I left a message at around 9am, and I have not received a call back by now (2pm). I contacted the chat again, to see if maybe I could get a quick "Yes, this product is shipping today". No such luck. Estelle K. (extension 5380) told me the Surface would ship next week. After telling her I spoke with a rep yesterday, she instead said that they would ship "either this week or next." In case any one is keeping track, next week is Christmas (and will be nearing one month since time of order). This was the conversation:

Please wait while we find an agent to assist you... 
All agents are currently busy. Please stand by. 
An agent will be with you in a moment. Thank you for your patience. 
The next available Agent will be with you in a moment. 
All agents are currently busy. Please stand by. 
An agent will be with you in a moment. Thank you for your patience. 
The next available Agent will be with you in a moment. 
All agents are currently busy. Please stand by. 
An agent will be with you in a moment. Thank you for your patience. 
The next available Agent will be with you in a moment. 
All agents are currently busy. Please stand by. 
An agent will be with you in a moment. Thank you for your patience. 
The next available Agent will be with you in a moment. 
All agents are currently busy. Please stand by. 
An agent will be with you in a moment. Thank you for your patience. 
The next available Agent will be with you in a moment. 
All agents are currently busy. Please stand by. 
An agent will be with you in a moment. Thank you for your patience. 
The next available Agent will be with you in a moment. 
All agents are currently busy. Please stand by. 
An agent will be with you in a moment. Thank you for your patience. 
The next available Agent will be with you in a moment. 
All agents are currently busy. Please stand by. 
An agent will be with you in a moment. Thank you for your patience. 
The next available Agent will be with you in a moment. 
You have been connected to Estelle K. 
Estelle K: Hello, and thanks for contacting us today, please hold on while I get that information for you. 
Thomas: Hi, I'd like to know the status of my order. #XXXXXX. 
Thomas: Thank you. :) 
Estelle K: these units are shipping out by next week. 
Thomas: I was told yesterday on the phone that it would ship yesterday or today. 
Thomas: After being told on 12/3 that they would ship on 12/13. 
Thomas: Can I have your employee ID number, please? 
Estelle K: I have been told that the surfaces are going out this week or by next week. 
Estelle K: My extension is 5380. 
Estelle K: Is there anything else I can assist you with? 
Thomas: Do you have an employee ID, not an extension? 
Estelle K: that is my id. 
Thomas: Is there a number I can call to speak with an America-based customer service manager? 
Estelle K: 800 800 8300 option 2. 
Thomas: Thank you, Estelle. You've been much more helpful than most people I've spoken with. 
Estelle K: THE surfaces are definitely going to ship. We are confident of that. It is in the works. 
Thomas: I hope so. This is getting ridiculous, and yesterday I was told something about possibly not getting it because I wasn't on the priority processing list. 
Estelle K: We are told that units are shipping this week and next. 
Estelle K: We try our best to see what is in the system, in this case was are being advised that the units are shipping this week and next. 
Estelle K: sorry, I am not able to be more specific. 
Thomas: I'm guessing they won't arrive in time for Christmas, despite being ordered in November with no indication given, at any point or in any written documents, that the 6-8 day shipping I paid for would not be enough to get them in time for Christmas? 
Estelle K: Frustrating for you, I understand that they are understanding the need to ship asap for this holiday season. 
Estelle K: when the order does ship, the tracking number should allow be available. 
Thomas: Well, this has been an utterly disappointing experience, so thank you. 
Estelle K: I am sorry, the Surfaces are definitely much in demand. 
Estelle K: I wish they would have had more inventory on them. 
Estelle K: I hope this isn't by design? 
Thomas: What? 
Thomas: I understand that they were in demand, I'm just not sure why you guys took orders on an item you didn't have in stock and couldn't guarantee incoming stock, either. It's not like you're making any extra money from pulling people's chains like this. In fact, you're probably losing it. It's unlikely I'll purchase anything from Tigerdirect in the future given the ridiculous amount of loops I've been pulled through, the numerous false information 
Thomas: I've been given, the incredibly poor customer service I've dealt with. You might get my $250, but it's unlikely that any of the customers who're going through this will give you another cent. It's just bad business. And the customer service agents I've spoken with have been utterly unapologetic about it. 
Estelle K: I understand. 
Estelle K: I think that inventory was promised to us and for that reason we offered it on our web site. 
Thomas: Well, thank you very much for your help. 
Estelle K: thank you. I look forward to this being resolved. 
Estelle K: Have a great day, and thanks for providing us with the opportunity to assist you today! 

Estelle was far more helpful than anyone else has been, though at this point I just don't know if I can trust anyone's time frames. I've been told four different time frames, so I thought I would call. If the representative on the phone could give me the same answer as Estelle, then I'd trust it (for now). I immediately called their customer service line, 800-888-6111, rather than the number she advised (which I'd called already yesterday). After 1 hour and 25 minutes passed while on hold, it became a game for me to see how long it would take for someone to answer. (These 1-800 calls are still free, right?) I ate lunch, took a shower, and now I'm writing this. The customer service from TigerDirect is downright abhorrent. I finally gave up at 2 hours and 17 minutes.

Respond to this report!
What's this?
Report & Rebuttal
Respond to this report!
What's this?
Also a victim?
What's this?
Repair Your Reputation!
What's this?

Advertisers above have met our
strict standards for business conduct.



Ripoff Report Legal Directory