Report: #1000152

Complaint Review: Active Sound

  • Submitted: Sun, January 20, 2013
  • Updated: Sun, January 20, 2013
  • Reported By: AverageJoeTaxpayer — Yanceyville North Carolina United States of America
  • Active Sound
    2302 High Point Rd Suite A
    United States of America

Show customers why they should trust your business over your competitors...

I brought my vehicle to active sound with a working system and decided to upgrade. After installing the new system, it worked for ten minutes then there was no sound. After trying to replace a few components, they sold me another unit for $150 more. It worked fine for a few hours, then shut down. By this time, I was home. I notice that if I leaned on the center console, it popped back on. The wiring for the amp is located there. I was advised that it was a problem that had nothing to do with the new unit or installation. Yet there was no problem until now. They offered to require everything for another $150. When I asked for my money back, they said they didn't have that much in the store. So they are trying to stall me into frustration. All i want is a refund and to never do business here again. This is a terrible operation.
Is this Ripoff Report About you?
Ripoff Report A business' first line of defense on the Internet.
If your business is willing to make a commitment to customer satisfaction Click here now..

Does your business have a bad reputation? Fix it the right way. Corporate Advocacy Program™

Set the record straight: Arbitration Program

SEO Reputation Management at its best!

This report was posted on Ripoff Report on 01/20/2013 11:28 AM and is a permanent record located here: The posting time indicated is Arizona local time. Arizona does not observe daylight savings so the post time may be Mountain or Pacific depending on the time of year. Ripoff Report has an exclusive license to this report. It may not be copied without the written permission of Ripoff Report. READ: Foreign websites steal our content

Search for additional reports

If you would like to see more Rip-off Reports on this company/individual, search here:

Report & Rebuttal
Respond to this report!
Also a victim?
Repair Your Reputation!

Updates & Rebuttals


#1 UPDATE Employee

5 months to find obscure posting and lies

AUTHOR: active - ()

To say we never offered to fix the problem by going back to the origonal radio you chose is a bold face lie. Its funny you did not complain about the dvd player not working in your orgional complaint because thats a lie also. We communicate with Kustom Car Toys and that $4500 is another lie. As far as knowing the condition of the 10+ year old equipment that I am supposed to be able to predict the working order of, the only equipment I can predict the working order of is the equipment we sell, so if you are trying to integrate older equipment, it happens that I can tell you after dealing with car audio for over 15 years you may may have problems with the older equipment.                                                                                                                          

If you were looking for an immediate response, you know our contact information which you convienently left out and I see why. In the end it does not matter how much you are spending somewhere else because we do not care to do buisness with you for any amount of money especially if we have to deal with someone of your mentality and moral caliber. I wish you good luck in future car audio endevours and in life.


Respond to this report!

#2 Author of original report

Too Little Too Late..5 months late that is

AUTHOR: Average Joe Taxpayer - ()

You guys offered to fix it for $150 more. You never offered the less expensive unit and fixing the problem at no charge. And any shop as you said (who knows what there doing) would have known this would have been a problem before install. But all is well. The next day my issue was fixed by for $35. And they bypassed my ground wire so I could actually "watch" a dvd free of charge. I've since spent over $4500 with them and have been very pleased.

Respond to this report!

#3 UPDATE Employee

Response to complaint

AUTHOR: active - ()

     The wires for the amp that you are referring to under your arm rest is from the factory. It is a typical place that premium amplifiers are located for GM trucks and SUV's along with other electronic modules, typically ones that contain bose systems. If you are having problems with that particular amplifier there are two options, 1)Have the dealership repair the factory parts 2)Bypass the factory amplifier to the new stereo and allow that stereo to power your speakers therefore eliminating the factory amplifier. This is not an uncommon situation when dealing with vehicles that have factory amplifiers where other speakers or radios are being added to make the stereo system louder especially as these vehicles get older. Considering that the system is now being used in a manner that it was not origonally built for, I would suggest allowing the new equipment to take the place of the factory equipment being that your new radio has its own amp built in and is currently not being used. Otherwise, the equipment you are having problems with cannot be addressed by an aftermarket stereo shop as we do not service factory equipment. I am sorry that you are unhappy that this part is not working properly in your vehicle, but we cannot be responsible for parts that we had nothing to do with. Now I can guarntee that if new wires were run from the new stereo to the speakers then we would have all points covered and your problems would be eliminated, but at this point we can only ensure the working order of the new equipment you have purchased. As far as paying another $150 for another stereo, that was your choice, we offered to reinstall the first stereo that was $150 less and do the rewire at no extra cost, but you chose to keep the more expensive radio. When the first radio was replaced and the problem persisted with the second radio the issue with your factory equipment was realized and you were asking us to repair the factory equipment, which at this point was over 10 years old, and which as I stated above, we do not repair factory equipment. If you check with any other car stereo shop that knows what they are doing I promise you they will tell you the same thing and will charge you more than $150 to perform the rewire necessary for your vehicle. If at that point you decide you want us to complete the job the offer will stand.

Respond to this report!
Ripoff Report Recommends
ZipBooks Accounting Software

Advertisers above have met our
strict standards for business conduct.