• Report: #69830
Complaint Review:


  • Submitted: Wed, October 22, 2003
  • Updated: Fri, October 24, 2003

  • Reported By:East Wenatchee Washington
201 Spring Garden St Philadelphia, Pennsylvania U.S.A.

Ascentive, Active Speed RIP OFF!!! PREVARICATORS, FALSE ADVERTISING Philadelphia Pennsylvania

*UPDATE Employee: Customer was offered refund, we bent the rules

REBUTTAL BOX™ | Respond to this Report! | Consumer Comment

What's this?
Corporate Advocacy Program

Show customers why they should trust your business over your competitors...

What's this?
What's this?
Is this
Ripoff Report
About you?
Ripoff Report
A business' first
line of defense
on the Internet.
If your business is
willing to make a
commitment to
customer satisfaction
Click here now..

Does your business have a bad reputation?
Fix it the right way.
Corporate Advocacy Program™

Set the record straight:
Arbitration Program

SEO Reputation Management at its best!

Only after reading the rip-off reports, did I realize I had been had. Ascentive charged my credit card, immediately, rather than 30 day guaranteed trial period. I cancelled well within the trial period, as their service is useless and constipates your computer!

The only alternative is to ask your credit card company to nullify the charges. Fortunately, I documented EVERY communique', which your credit card company will require.

These folks are very unscrupulous! WeatherBug advertises for them and it would be helpful to complain to them, also!

Good Luck with YOUR complaint!!

East Wenatchee, Washington

This report was posted on Ripoff Report on 10/22/2003 10:42 AM and is a permanent record located here: http://www.ripoffreport.com/reports/ascentive/philadelphia-pennsylvania-19123/ascentive-active-speed-rip-off-prevaricators-false-advertising-philadelphia-pennsylva-69830. The posting time indicated is Arizona local time. Arizona does not observe daylight savings so the post time may be Mountain or Pacific depending on the time of year.

Ripoff Report has an exclusive license to this report. It may not be copied without the written permission of Ripoff Report. READ: Foreign websites steal our content

Click Here to read other Ripoff Reports on Ascentive

Search for additional reports

If you would like to see more Rip-off Reports on this company/individual, search here:

Search Tips
Report & Rebuttal
Respond to this report!
What's this?
Also a victim?
What's this?
Repair Your Reputation!
What's this?
0Author 1Consumer 0Employee/Owner
Updates & Rebuttals

#1 UPDATE Employee

Customer was offered refund, we bent the rules

AUTHOR: Sam - (U.S.A.)


I have looked at the customer in question's account and email history.

Customer in question started their free trial on September 9th, 2003.

They were billed on October 10th, 2003, 30 days later.

All customers are provided with the terms, one of which states that if they do not cancel within their trial period, they will be charged.

In looking at the customer's email history, I found that the customer did indeed contact us before his trial period, however, they were about problems with installation. They were answered.

The first email wanting to cancel was recorded in our server on October 12th, 2003. That is two (2) days after their free trial had ended.

Because of the this the customer was offered a partial refund, we bent the rules for this person because they were having difficulty and it would be wrong to charge them the full amount, however they agreed to the terms.

The partial, pro-rated refund required that the customer only pay $9.95, and we would refund the rest. However, this customer stated in numerous emails that he couldn't find our address to send it to us.

Our mailing is clearly printed on the refund form that was sent to him (A link in the email), it is also on his receipt, and on our webpage:

www.ascentive.com click "Contact us"

He was claiming that we were not providing him with an address. When we stated where our address was (Also including our fax number) he replied that he had posted a complaint on here:

>>From: "Andy xxxxx"
Subject: Re: [GSR] Cancellation

-----Original Message-----
Oh, I finally did my research! I went to the RIPOFF page! My report is
there, along with all the others...I have your address! Had to find it the
hard way! EVEN in this letter, you would NOT give it to me!>>

This was received after we had informed him the page our address was located on.

Anyone wishing to confirm this, please go to:


As you can see, the very first thing is our mailing address.

Also, here is a copy of the customer's cancelation along with our reply offering a partial refund:

< From: no mail
Subject: RE: [SUB CANCEL] T2003101400M6Z551193[T20031017000RZ551742]
To: agentreply@mail.ascentive.com


I am sorry to hear that you have had a negative experience with Ascentive and we want to change that. While all customers are responsible for full payment on any invoices generated prior to canceling (as per the EULA), we can offer you the option of a partial refund, if you really are sure that the service is not right for you. This is part of your Satisfaction Guarantee.

If there is no other way we can help you with your service, you can submit a refund form. By filling out the form, your subscription will be canceled immediately and you will receive a refund for your last service invoice. You will be responsible for $9.95 to cover the length of time beyond your free trial period. Your last login date was October 16th, 2003. That shows you are using the software after your free trial.

Original Charge: $39.95
Pro-rated refund: $9.95

Rather than filling out the refund form and terminating your service prematurely, you have the option of keeping the subscription to the end of your paid period. You will be sent a courtesy email reminder (to the email address you left on file with us) two weeks before your subscription ends, reminding you of the renewal date (to change any of your contact information, please log into your account with your user name and password at https://access.ascentive.com).

To file for your refund, please follow the instructions listed on the web site below:

*Make sure you type in the address correctly to reach the online refund form.

WARNING: by submitting a refund form, your service will be prematurely terminated. You will no longer be able to enhance your computer and Internet with your Ascentive service!

Ascentive Billing Department

-----Original Message-----
Cancellation sent on Thu, Oct 16, 2003 5:23 PM



Account Name: XXXXXXXXX

Name: Andy XXXXX


Reason for Cancellation:
I hate what the program does to my computer; have trouble turning it off; then it is slow while on...ENOUGH!
I requested cancellation 10/12/03, well ahead of my 30 day trial!!! Refund my credit card.

st= 1
RH= proxys.sj3.marketscore.com
cn= 1728816-1066350201-10288>>

We are happy to help customers with problems, we have bent our rules because it is unethical to take a customer's money when they are having problems. We offered a partial refund, and informed the customer where our address was located.
Respond to this report!
What's this?
Report & Rebuttal
Respond to this report!
What's this?
Also a victim?
What's this?
Repair Your Reputation!
What's this?