Report: #28216

Complaint Review: Best Buy

  • Submitted: Tue, August 27, 2002
  • Updated: Thu, August 29, 2002
  • Reported By: Estes Park CO
  • Best Buy
    217 E. Flatiorns Cir
    Broomfield, Colorado
    U.S.A.

Show customers why they should trust your business over your competitors...

Best BuyWorst Buy

Where has the customer service gone in this great country of ours? I received a Digital Video Camera for Christmas from my girlfriend, which cost over $800 including the PERFORMANCE GUARANTEE plan. I had the use of my camera for January, February, and part of March 2002. The new camera then died on me. I figured since we paid almost $200 extra for the service plan that I would be taken care of.

Well, I was wrong. I was told that the camera must be sent in, and that it could take up to three months to get serviced. I then frequently went into the Best Buy Broomfield to check on the status of my camera. I was told that they had no idea where my camera was. Only after much persistence, I found out that my camera was sitting in at a Best Buy service area and was waiting to be sent out. This lasted a couple of weeks. Why was it waiting to be sent out?

Finally two months after I sent the camera in I received my camera back. One problem, it still did not work. During this time I missed two vacations, and several graduations. I could have gotten all of this if I had my camera working.

So, I proceeded to go back to Best Buy to see what type of solution they could offer. The answer was none. I was told that I would have to resend my camera back to the service area and go through the process once again.

What a rip off, what good is the performance guarantee plan, I asked? I was told that if I did not have this plan then I would have to pay for all the repairs and shipping. Wow, pretty rough you must be thinking, and it's not over yet.

I sent my camera out for the second time to get repaired. I also called the Best Buy Corporate and spoke to Marcus Benson (952) 947-2000 who is a corporate consumer relation. I told him that I felt that I have been a victim of fraud. I felt as though I was sold an $800 camera that was a lemon. I was told that it was Best Buys policy to handle repairs in this manner and that he would send out a $100 gift certificate for my troubles.

I knew this was not a solution but at least it helped ease the pain. I was also told that if the camera were to break down again, then Marcus would get me a brand new camera. I was satisfied with this solution even though I had missed another vacation and now a wedding.

So finally after almost two more months of "servicing" my camera I got it back. The only problem is that it still did not work correctly. This was the last straw. I spent over $800 on a camera almost nine months ago. I had the camera a total of two months where is has worked correctly. Seven months of servicing is not acceptable.

When I went into Best Buy Broomfield for the last time I was told once again that I would have to send off the camera for servicing, and that it was Best Buys policy not to replace that camera until I have sent it in four times. Stephan was on duty as Manager at the time.

His "solution" to the problem was for me to purchase another camera from Best Buy that I could use while my lemon was being repaired for the third time, and that I would get a refund on the second camera when I received my first camera back in working condition.

So, they want me to spend more money at a place that has been nothing but a nightmare to begin with. I don't think so. I have put in several calls to Marcus Benson at Best Buy Corporate with no reply. I still don't have a camera, but only a bad taste in my mouth for a company that should have some corporate responsibility. Best Buy...Not even close.

Unhappy former customer,

Dustin M. Block
Superior, Connecticut
Is this Ripoff Report About you?
Ripoff Report A business' first line of defense on the Internet.
If your business is willing to make a commitment to customer satisfaction Click here now..

Does your business have a bad reputation? Fix it the right way. Corporate Advocacy Program™

Set the record straight: Arbitration Program

SEO Reputation Management at its best!

This report was posted on Ripoff Report on 08/27/2002 02:54 PM and is a permanent record located here: http://www.ripoffreport.com/reports/best-buy/broomfield-colorado-80020/best-buy-ripoff-broomfield-colorado-28216. The posting time indicated is Arizona local time. Arizona does not observe daylight savings so the post time may be Mountain or Pacific depending on the time of year. Ripoff Report has an exclusive license to this report. It may not be copied without the written permission of Ripoff Report. READ: Foreign websites steal our content

Search for additional reports

If you would like to see more Rip-off Reports on this company/individual, search here:

Report & Rebuttal
Respond to this report!
Also a victim?
Repair Your Reputation!

Updates & Rebuttals

REBUTTALS & REPLIES:
0Author
2Consumer
0Employee/Owner

#1 Consumer Comment

I feel your pain!

AUTHOR: Tom - ()

You're story is common with how this company does business. I think they've gotten too big to handle their obligation to service. It won't surprise me at all to soon read this place is having a "Going Out Of Business" sale. They seem to have created a sales formula that makes money at the consumer's expense. Their profit is made buy selling sevice contracts which they don't honor. Eventualy no one will buy there again. (Check out www.BestBuySux.org)

There used to be a chain here in Connecticut called "Nobody Beats The Wiz". Well guess what. SOMEBODY beat them because their stores closed down.

To me, Best Buy is nothing more than a boil on the a*s of society. Hopefully, their management will soon be working for McDonalds or pumping gas, where they belong.
Respond to this report!

#2 UPDATE Employee

Sorry

AUTHOR: Dave - ()

First I would like to say sorry for the way that you were treated at teh Broomfield store. I am a service technician for one of the other stores. One of the biggest problems with the Performance Service Plans is that we MUST attempt a repair on the items first.

In your case with the camera and I am sure you were not told about this is that we have to in most cases use and outside vender or the manufacture to fix the camera. I will not blame anyone but us (Best Buy) for the time that it took but when the camera goes to the outside vender we really have very little control over time.

I just want to appologize for any misleading information that you were given on the service plan.
Respond to this report!
Ripoff Report Recommends
ZipBooks Accounting Software

Advertisers above have met our
strict standards for business conduct.