Report: #906520

Complaint Review: C J Morgan & Associates

  • Submitted: Tue, July 03, 2012
  • Updated: Tue, July 03, 2012
  • Reported By: Elise — Terrell Texas United States of America
  • C J Morgan & Associates
    9621 S Fm 148 Scurry, TX 75158
    Scurry, Texas
    United States of America

C J Morgan & Associates CMC Builders & Designers Incomplete and Non-Industry Standard Concrete work, Damage to swimming pool Scurry, Texas

*REBUTTAL Owner of company: Morgan Company Response to Rip Off Report

Show customers why they should trust your business over your competitors...

BBB CASE#: 91222173
Concrete work performed not to industry standard, finished product not performed to what I was promised, work site remains unfinished. pictures avail.

Work was clearly specified and was to be industry standard. Was promised concrete to be at a minimum of 4 inches thickness with 3/8 rebar internally. Thickness varies from 2.5 inches to 4 in some areas. Most rebar was set as specified, some was not.

Ramps were poured and it was specifically stated that they we to go from the elevated areas
'to grade' (by definition a ramp is meant to connect two different levels, no dropped ledge is ever intended). Ramps remain well above grade with at least a 2" drop off.

Mr. Morgan told me that making the ramps go fully to grade (ground surface level) is considered 'landscaping work' and isn't part of his job. The definition of landscaping does not fit his thoughts or work performance. [continued below]....
..... As a disabled person with a motorized chair, a 2" drop means that I cannot  use the ramps provided.

After seeing that the ramps did not go to surface level I offered to accept if he would at least put a bed of sand at the drop offs so I could add sod to them. Again he informed me that what I was asking for was 'landscaping work' (even though I was going to buy and place sod) and there was no way he would do anything else. I am no longer willing to accept the sand and sod offer, The concrete should have been formed and poured correctly.

At the edges of 3 large concrete pads his crew poured the base of the concrete is above grade and was left exposed, leaving the exposed areas to wait for washout and eventual breakage.

As a by-product of the concrete work there was much debris remaining that has caused other damage. A nail was found in a tire which required a patch (not such a big deal really) but a far bigger problem was a piece of steel rebar that had rolled into our swimming pool at the deep end. By the time we noticed the rebar (about 3 days later) and removed it there was a rusted mark about 3/4" X 12" embedded into the surface of the pool, draining and refinishing of the pool will be required.

On the work site there were several landscape timbers / railroad ties that were to be removed.
The concrete lead man contacted someone to haul them off and those individuals came by, picked through them and chose the best ones, then left. Today the remaining timbers are still on site and have not been removed.

Finally, I had them replace my wooden double gate at the driveway. Ever since the first rain one panel has sagged and causes the need to lift that panel or slam the gate hard to get it to latch.

Three times I have called Mr. CJ Morgan asking him to complete the job and still all items remain in question and are un-repaired or incomplete.

The ramps need to be cut back and re-poured to grade as specified, exposed bases of concrete need to be back-filled and sloped correctly for good drainage, the double gate needs to be repaired or replaced, Landscape timbers and concrete form boards need to be removed from the property.
Additionally a pool resurfacing company (that both parties agree to use) needs to be called out to drain the pool, remove the rusted area and resurface the pool then apply paint to the entire interior pool surface so there is a match, not an obvious patched area.
Is this Ripoff Report About you?
Ripoff Report A business' first line of defense on the Internet.
If your business is willing to make a commitment to customer satisfaction Click here now..

Does your business have a bad reputation? Fix it the right way. Corporate Advocacy Program™

Set the record straight: Arbitration Program

SEO Reputation Management at its best!

This report was posted on Ripoff Report on 07/03/2012 07:24 PM and is a permanent record located here: The posting time indicated is Arizona local time. Arizona does not observe daylight savings so the post time may be Mountain or Pacific depending on the time of year. Ripoff Report has an exclusive license to this report. It may not be copied without the written permission of Ripoff Report. READ: Foreign websites steal our content

Search for additional reports

If you would like to see more Rip-off Reports on this company/individual, search here:

Report & Rebuttal
Respond to this report!
Also a victim?
Repair Your Reputation!

Updates & Rebuttals


#1 REBUTTAL Owner of company

Morgan Company Response to Rip Off Report

AUTHOR: Morgan Company - (USA)

The Morgan Company provided the owner with 2 contracts:  1) Concrete work for driveway and walkway and 2) dig a pond and spread dirt around driveway and walkway and around the rest of the property as determined with dirt available. 

ONLY the contract for the walkway and driveway was signed and work initiated and completed per contract specifications.  All work done to code. 

The owner complained that dirt was not spread around the driveway and walkway.  After explaining that the dirt to be spread was the dirt from his pond, and he refused to enter into the second contract for the pond work.  It was explained that the Morgan Company would be happy to do the dirt work, but that the cost of the dirts and labor would be the resposnibility of the homewoner. 

A complaint was filed with the BBB, and arbitration was offered.  However, arbitration was refused by the homeowner.

The Morgan Company, at its own expense, placed the dirt around the walkway and driveway.  The homeowner's wife stated she was pleased with the dirt work.  The BBB, regarding Case # 91222173, reported that the Morgan Company had done everything possible to satisfy the homeowner's complaint. 

In over 40 years of business, it is not reasonable to think that no complaints have ever been received.  However, the Morgan Company works diligently to ensure the satisfaction of all its customers.  We are a Member of the BBB with an A+ rating.  We take this rating very seriously and the responsibility to all our custormers.  It is because of our responsibility and the workmanship we offer is what allows us to continue to be in business for 45 years. 



Respond to this report!
Ripoff Report Recommends
ZipBooks Accounting Software

Advertisers above have met our
strict standards for business conduct.