Report: #574212

Complaint Review:

  • Submitted: Wed, February 24, 2010
  • Updated: Wed, February 24, 2010
  • Reported By: Genie — Lusby Maryland U.S.A.
    PO. Box 618305-- Orlando, FL 32861-8305

Show customers why they should trust your business over your competitors...

The following message was just recently sent to me. Since I have been getting numerous offers for work since I started in February I thought I would finally come here and post all this in an effort to warn other desperately looking job seekers such as myself. This company and its affiliates [CAREER-NETWORK.COM CAREERFANCY.COM CAREER-NETWORK.COM POWERAPPLICATIONS.COM] has NO MORAL CODE. They do nothing but prey on people who are out here in the cyber world seeking to find honest work. Those of us taking the time to do job searches (which are tedious and very time consuming) are doing nothing but wasting valuable time filling out these bogus job applications, wasting precious time creating original cover letters to respond to scammers who are requesting nothing but our personal information for their own greedy gains. Only to have us jump through hoops by again being directed to a sites which do nothing but request you to fill in redundant information that their mother site has already collected when you first enrolled.

CAREER-NETWORK.COM / CAREERFANCY.COM / CAREER-NETWORK.COM POWERAPPLICATIONS.COM does nothing but harvest email address and then tries offering you stuff through affiliated third parties. Whos list btw you are now on once you enroll. All you need to do is read their terms of agreement to notice that it is so open ended (like craigs lists agreement) that you are open for nothing but spam, scams, and bulk solicitations from god only knows who. So youd better tweak those spam filters cause youre in for a big surprise.

I stumbled across this site one day while searching for employment. I had done craigs list thing amoung other legit online sites, either locally or directly filing out numerous applications. All for the purpose of seeking legitimate, honest work, which seems to be the only way to apply anywhere these days. Even the job fairs Ive attended have directed me to do this. After awhile anyone can quickly loose track of who you have given your resume to and who has your information. Especially if youre out of work for a long time and have been aggressively seeking employment.

In any event I was suspect the first time I found this site, which occurred within two days after seeking employment via online methods. How I got to the site initially I don't remember now. Ive been aggressively visiting online job sites and or direct company sites for almost a month now and frankly have lost track of which site has my info. After reading the other posters about this company it wouldn't surprise me if it all stemmed from craigs list. Since after posting their first I immediately getting bogus job offers. .craigs list does seem to do nothing but supply any job seeker or resume poster with a plethora of spam sites and bogus employers sending you emails for dubious positions. I have received positions either directly from craigs or this site for positions that appeared to be either illegal, a scam or worse. Like possibly looking to get your banking info or even steal your identity (I have even reported some of them to the FCC). These sites are getting all this info willingly and for FREE from us! Because we are giving it to them in the hopes of finding a decent honest job and by following the rules of engagement, which is to fill out numerous job application requests. Applications that ask us for our names, addresses, phone numbers, and other personal identifiable information. In some cases they are bold enough to ask us to send away for a free credit report so that THEY can verify your work history? HINT: A credit report will not verify your work history it will however show them your birth date, current home address social security number along with who you owe and what the account number is for those accounts. Nuf said!

Additionally in the email they send you regarding what appears to be a legitimate job offer, will send you a link directing you to another site called CAREER FANCY. This site will list a few details about the job you were just sent and then request you to fill out some info about yourself. Career Fancy is nothing but a squeeze page from CareerNetwork . BTW Career Fancy requests the same information you have already supplied to CareerNetwork when you joined the site initially. Once again you go through the questions about your educational preferences and even if you click through and show no interest in their offer it will present you with a hard sell asking you why you dont want to get more education, before it allows you to move forward to the meat and potatoes of the job. Its none of their business why! Its all an effort to market you to a product or redirect you. Also the company address is nothing but a PO Box no phone number to contact anyone for help. Your just directed to an email box to fill out a beef and hope someone will answer your question(s). To date I have not heard a word regarding my question. What I have received to date (most of which I have deleted until today) are job offers all classified as Featured Jobs. However, they are all for jobs that only require basic skills anyone can do very limited specialized training or limited education and not for positions that I applied for initially. They dont inform the user of where the job is (not even what city its located in) yet they request the user to through the online application and again of course click through the bogus questions regarding your desire or lack thereof of continuing your education again. Dont they have that information from the mother site in which I already provided my resume to when I joined? How else would the employer making the offer be able to contact me in the first place?

I actually followed the first offer I got from them and filled out the form with a bogus name and was directed to their home page in order to search for a job? There was no confirmation that the information I had just supplied to them was even received, and although I entered several different key word searches I got nothing, zero, nada, zip, or jobs popped up that I was not qualified for. Today since I have nothing else to do these days but fill out online resumes, I followed the links below and once again ran into the same merry go round. This finally led me here to file a RipOff report on my personal experience in the quest for gainful employment. Why not I would have spent as much time filling out any online application as I would have perhaps saving my fellow brethren some consternation and angst who like me needs honest work and is willing and able if only their was honest work to be found! This site and its affiliates are all bogus their unethical, possibly illegal tactics to collect harvest and use personal information in an effort to spam the users in the end should be shut down permanently. Any unemployed attorneys out there up for a cause?  

************************************************************************************ Hi Confidential,  (NOTE: a portion of the lengthy link has been removed to disable it)

After reviewing your resume, we wanted to let you know about a vacant _______position that may interest you. It offers $_____ to $_____ per hour plus benefits. By selecting the link below, you can find out more about the position and apply:

I would like to learn more about the (LINK Removed) opening.

Best of Luck, Cynthia Kaufman HR Coordinator

If you cannot access the webpage through the hyperlink, you can copy and paste the link at the bottom of this message into your browser. Do_not contact me with future_employment_offers

CareerNetwork, Inc.-- PO. Box 618305-- Orlando, FL 32861-8305

Is this Ripoff Report About you?
Ripoff Report A business' first line of defense on the Internet.
If your business is willing to make a commitment to customer satisfaction Click here now..

Does your business have a bad reputation? Fix it the right way. Corporate Advocacy Program™

Set the record straight: Arbitration Program

SEO Reputation Management at its best!

This report was posted on Ripoff Report on 02/24/2010 08:55 AM and is a permanent record located here: The posting time indicated is Arizona local time. Arizona does not observe daylight savings so the post time may be Mountain or Pacific depending on the time of year. Ripoff Report has an exclusive license to this report. It may not be copied without the written permission of Ripoff Report. READ: Foreign websites steal our content

Search for additional reports

If you would like to see more Rip-off Reports on this company/individual, search here:

Report & Rebuttal
Respond to this report!
Also a victim?
Repair Your Reputation!
Ripoff Report Recommends
ZipBooks Accounting Software

Advertisers above have met our
strict standards for business conduct.