• Report: #1086010
Complaint Review:

Clearly Creative Talent Inc.

  • Submitted: Fri, September 20, 2013
  • Updated: Sat, October 19, 2013

  • Reported By: JXXXXXXXXX — Calgary Alberta
Clearly Creative Talent Inc.
Suite 420 Calgary, Alberta Canada

Clearly Creative Talent Inc. Clearly Creative TAlentClearly Creative Model & Talent Management Misrepresentations of searching for Extras for "Hell on Wheels" using Facebook ADs and numerous other gigs... Calgary Alberta

*Author of original report: ANGER and THREATS - By Clearly CreativeTalent Inc.

REBUTTAL BOX™ | Respond to this Report! | Consumer Comment

What's this?
Corporate Advocacy Program

Show customers why they should trust your business over your competitors...

What's this?
What's this?
Is this
Ripoff Report
About you?
Ripoff Report
A business' first
line of defense
on the Internet.
If your business is
willing to make a
commitment to
customer satisfaction
Click here now..

Does your business have a bad reputation?
Fix it the right way.
Corporate Advocacy Program™

Set the record straight:
Arbitration Program

SEO Reputation Management at its best!

I believe that Clearly Creative Talent form Calgary is possibly making misrepresentation in terms of product and services they are claiming to offer. I have seen other postings on Google, of similar events of "Fee Grabbing and Misrepresentations". My series of events are as follows;

In the first week of Sept around September 5-6, I responded to a Facebook Post; posted by Clearly Creative Talent Agency on my newsfeed "Hell On Wheels Season 3 - Clearly Creative Talent" @ clearlycreativetalent.com. I was then contacted by Creative Representative via email/telephone to come in for an interview. I went in on the premise of their "Hell on Wheels" ad looking for extras.

Creative Facebook Post

Some of the talent from Clearly Creative were on set as background performers, putting in really long days for lucrative rates of pay. If you’re interested in working as an actor, extra, or model in and around Calgary, we’re expanding our roster. - See more at: http://clearlycreativetalent.com/hell-on-wheels-season-3/#sthash.a63dKPSi.dpuf. [continued below]....


On September 9th 2013, I interviewed by Taylene Clunis, when I commented I was there for the "Hell on Wheels" extras position advertised, she side stepped the issue. By saying she was only in charge of arranging corporate events “easy $”, such as handing out FREE Calgary Sun Newspapers and other social events, and that someone else handled the Hell on Wheels bookings. She was insistent that I sign up that minute and she then made a call to someone on her fancy iPhone, and said “yes this person will be looking for extras”. So I took her at her word that this maybe a possibly as presented. She said that the ACTRA membership was FREE, but that Clearly Creative would be charging me a $169 + GST = $177.45 (admin charge) for their time and efforts. I had a gut instinct that this may not be on the up and up. But I decided to take a chance as they put on a great "song & dance".  After signing up I was then given instructions to log into www.actorsden.com to complete my profile. This website is presented (with an additional cost) as part of the” Package”, whereby Actors/Models input photos, bio and talents. You are required to check the job postings daily.

So after logging into Actors Den daily and checking job postings, which were slim at best, most postings were for corporate events, hosts/hostess bartenders, promotional handouts (Calgary Sun), a few extra postings for Heartland; but no Hell on Wheels postings. I sent an email to Creative about no postings for Hell on Wheels, I was then shuffled around, saying keep checking Actors Den they are coming we don't know when but they are coming.

Sept 11, 2013


I understand your concern for not seeing a job posting for Hell on Wheels, however we get the casting calls when we get the casting calls they are not constantly filming for it. Keep checking your Actors Den and I'm sure something your interested in will pop up soon! We will be looking for extras for Heartland very soon and are also looking for events staff right now.

Carli- Admin - Creative Talent Management Inc.

I continued logging into Actors Den daily in anticipation of seeing something of value posted as per my expectations of extras on sets, only to be greeted with the limited postings mostly corporate promotional gigs....

Then after trying to log into Actors Den on September 19, 2013, only 10 days after signing up and paying my Creative Fees, my Actors Den account was turned off, I called the 1-877-228-8026 for tech support. I was told to call Clearly Creative as they had suspended my account. I immediately emailed Creative and called to inquire as to why was I suspended, as I followed their instructions of checking the Actors Den website.

What happen next is baffling to say the least. I received an email from Lee Robert of Creative stating the following;

We have tried to reach you reach you several times but have not been able to. Again at 9:07 am this morning after receiving your email I called again only to again not be able to leave a message as the customer I was calling is unavailable. This is a breach of your contact and we can not further per resent you. In addition you have not been behaving in a professional manner which is also a breach of you contact and can result in legal proceedings if we determine your action to have cause a loss of income to our agency. Although membership with our agency is totally free we do have the right on who we choose to recommend to our clients to hire. I personally have submitted your printed profile by by UPS to several clients in efforts to find you employment a service which you paid the first $169.00 for, and the agency had been paying the balance of in efforts to secure you employment. But as a result of your breech of contract I can no longer recommend you as talent or spend agency money to promote you. Please be aware, although we have not made the decision to seek out compensation for losses and damages as a result of your actions, we can and may choose to do so in the future. Im sorry this relationship did not work out as we had hoped and wish all the success in other areas of your life. You may also look to the credits at the end of Hell On Wheels to see the names of different ACTORS who are under contract with Clearly Creative Talent, as well as many other productions, not just movie extras.

Please fell free to contact me about this matter if you wish.

Thank You

Lee Robert 403-521-0077

I was taken aback from this email - I called into question his statement, I checked my cell phone log and there was no record of any calls as per the times stated, nor any voice mails were left by Mr. Lee Robert or any other representative from Creative as stated by Lee Robert. I also asked him to prove and verify that he did in fact make any representations on my behalf as claimed. All I was asking for was clarification on his points, nothing more, nothing less. Instead I was greeted with comments from Lee Robert that I had been terminated as client by himself and the agency.


This is confusing, I’m not sure what you are referring too in your reference in this email. Acting unprofessional?

I did as instructed sign up on Actors Den, check the job postings everyday, which I did.


I have yet to see any of your numbers on my call history on my cell phone, so I will dispute this claim of trying to contact me several times.

You seem to reach me just fine by email as a secondary, I have yet to see any further emails from you, since Sept 10, 2013. When I asked for assistances on logging onto Actors Den. I sent a further email asking about Hell on Wheels extra positions via email, as this is what has been presented in Public Forum on Facebook.


Do you have a record of these recommendations you sent by UPS as claimed in this email?

If you have discontinued acting on my behalf after 1 week, then I am requesting a full refund of my fees of $169 + GST.

I will then quietly move on after my fees being refunded.




Upon being terminated I then asked for my fees to be refunded. I was then greeted with the following comments from Lee Robert.

As stated your contact has been cancelled as you do not have an answering service as required per your contact!

All agents use BLOCKED numbers to AVOID having undesirable people contact back on our home or cell phones.

As your receipt states membership with the agency is FREE!

You did pay 169.00 for us to make colour copies of your profile and courier them to possible clients and this payment is NON_REFUNDABLE as clearly stated on your receipt.

We as mentioned have not decided to seek compensation for damages as a result of your past actions at this time, although they have been documented.

We do ask if you wish to have further communication with our corporation that it is done through your lawyer, and do not contact us by any other means, as our staff have felt belittled and threatened by your communication with us.


Lee Roberts


I quickly response giving them another chance to do right as I was feeling that Clearly Creative Talent was looking for an excuse to keep my funds paid for now questionable services that Mr. Robert was claiming transpired without any proof from his end. I am a father and I equate this to the same behavior my children display when you catch their hand in the cookie jar :)

I’m Sorry to hear your comments,


As this appears to be cash grab on your end, as per all the complaints posted on the internet.

It’s really sad as you give people hope that something will actually happen, my fault for not Googling your firm sooner.


I was told in person by Taylene that I needed a phone with a Voice Mail and not an “answering service” but simple voicemail, so that your firm can leave messages. If you did call why did you not leave a message? There is no record of you calling my cell number as it is with me 24/7.

Your Facebook “spam ad” which I answered said you were looking for extras for Hell on Wheels, this was a misrepresentation on your part. When I sat in your offices I approached the subject. In fact I was side stepped by Taylene stating she only handles Corporate Promotions, someone else handles other bookings.


I am disputing all your claims and I was willing to take the high road on this matter.

My Lawyer’s name is XXXXX XXXXXXX of XXXXXXXXX, which is not a light weight firm by any means.

Send any documentation you wish over to XXXXXXXXXXX.


I will give you one more opportunity to do the right thing and refund the fee your firm charged me.


Lee Robert communicated one more time with the following


XXXXXXXXXXX is also OUR lawyers.


As you have been requested to NOT contact us again unless through a lawyer and choose to continue to Harass our company, we have no other choice but to report it as so to the police as such and have it documented.

Your registered mail will now include a copy of the contact you signed,that was made buy the staff of Miller Thompson along with an invoice of $70.00 fine as per your Signed contract, as you don't have voicemail, and therefore we can not leave you messages about ANYTHING. Once payment has been received from you for set fine in you contract, you will receive a receipt for your funds in the mail to the address you have given us on file.

As we had previously stated we did not wish to seek compensation for loss and damages, this fine is the first, and may not be the last of many larger charges to come, if you don't choose to STOP harassing and threading our company and staff. Although If your statement of spending so much time in court is true? Maybe thats what your looking for.

WE will NOT respond to any further communication from you unless by your lawyer and hope you move on. Your profile seemed to be that of a professional and we are sorry our relationship did not turn out to be a successful one, and AT THIS point have decided to cut our losses and move on as professionals. We hope you choose to do the same. 

This almost becomes beyond laughable, Creative terminates the agreement, and then they now want to fine me $70's and cut their loses which turned into a $177 cash grab, one can only wonder how many times this has been repeated “wash, rinse and repeat”.

I should have trusted my gut instinct the first time when I sat in their office with Taylene (I should have gotten up and walked out). I will tip my hat off to them; they have a Great Elevator Pitch. All they had to do was refund my $177.45. It's kind of sad, in a way that they put so much effort in not fulfilling their responsibilities as laid out in their agreement that they make you sign. I will also consider my legal options as that there is more than enough supporting claims of similar actions by Creative. I'm surprised there are not any "class" action suits against this group.

I almost forgot to mention is that after you have paid their "fee" it states “MEMO: NO REFUNDS!” on the bottom of the receipt.  They use this as their baseline and try to intimidate you with this.

This report was posted on Ripoff Report on 09/20/2013 08:40 AM and is a permanent record located here: http://www.ripoffreport.com/reports/clearly-creative-talent-inc/calgary-alberta-t2e-8t8/clearly-creative-talent-inc-clearly-creative-talentclearly-creative-model-talent-manag-1086010. The posting time indicated is Arizona local time. Arizona does not observe daylight savings so the post time may be Mountain or Pacific depending on the time of year.

Ripoff Report has an exclusive license to this report. It may not be copied without the written permission of Ripoff Report. READ: Foreign websites steal our content

Click Here to read other Ripoff Reports on Clearly Creative Talent Inc.

Search for additional reports

If you would like to see more Rip-off Reports on this company/individual, search here:

Search Tips
Report & Rebuttal
Respond to this report!
What's this?
Also a victim?
What's this?
Repair Your Reputation!
What's this?
1Author 0Consumer 0Employee/Owner
Updates & Rebuttals

#1 Author of original report

ANGER and THREATS - By Clearly CreativeTalent Inc.

AUTHOR: Jer O - ()

I sent an email to Creative at 10:30am on Friday October 18, 2013, saying that I would be stopping by to allow them to refund my fees as per their false BBB Refund Claim, on October 10, 2013.

I stopped by the Clearly Creative Talent Inc. office in Calgary with my son at approximately 2:20pm Friday October 18, 2013. I was told by the receptionist that Mr. Lee Robert just ran out of the office minutes earlier throwing up. (I found this a bit too convenient). That being said they had me wait in reception until one of their Agents was free.

I was asked into the agent's office and asked why I was there, I produced the BBB email report saying that Clearly Creative stated that they gave me a FULL REFUND on my Credit Card. I said this was not the case and impossible, because they do not have my credit card information. I then pulled out my Bank Debit Card, and requested that they can now fulfill their obligation of a FULL REFUND as stated in their email.

I was then told by the agent that she did not know how to do a refund, I replied "really - you just finished taking a new client's money minutes ago on your debit machine" She replied "nope I do not know how to do a refund", then proceeded to call Mr. Lee Robert on her office phone.

She then handed the phone to me with Mr. Lee Robert on the other end. He proceeded to tell me that I went about this all wrong way, and demanded that I leave their offices immediately or they would call the police (I actually wish they would have called the police, as I would have gladly filed a Fraud/Misrepresentation complaint). On his closing remarks he told me that he would be suing me. I replied " that is fine and that I will gladly see you in court".

This is very confusing as they stated on October 10, 2013 that they have provided $177.45
full refund of "FEES" on their BBB complaint (which is completely false), and when I show up to have Clearly Creative fulfill their obligation, I am met with anger and threats by Mr. Lee Robert.

In closing he sounded perfectly healthy to me on the phone, no coughing, he was not out of breath or at least sounded like a man who was sick. Mr. Lee Robert sounded quite angry that I would dare to show up and point blank call them out on their continuous lies.

I was very polite and professional and did not cause a scene in front of potentially new customers sitting in their reception area. I have given them every opportunity to do the right thing, Instead they insist on using bully tactics with misleading actions and statements.


Clearly Creative's False Claim of a FULL REFUND

This was recieved by me from the BBB on October 10,2013, where by Creative claim to have refund me my fees on my Credit Card

Complaint filed against:  Clearly Creative Talent    
Complaint status:  Forward Business Response to Consumer
Case Description:  I believe that Clearly Creative Talent form Calgary is possibly making misrepresentation in terms of product and services they... 
Category: Sales Practice Issues
Case opened date: 2013-09-20 
Case closed date:  

Desired Resolution: $177.45
full refund of "FEES" 

On October 10, 2013, the business provided the following information:
Please note we refunded the monies recived from JXXXXX for the printing we did for him, yesterday on his credit card with Moneris systems


My Response to BBB on October 10, 2103 - RE: Clearly Creative's False Claim of a FULL REFUND


There seems to be a mistake, Creative claims of a full refund on my credit card is false. I did not use a credit card for payment of Creative's fees. I used my debit card and the only way they can refund money on my card is for me to be physically present in order for me to swipe my card, and authorize the refund.

I would be more than too happy to go to their offices with my debit card and have them refund my fees, and bring a positive resolution to this experience.



Respond to this report!
What's this?
Report & Rebuttal
Respond to this report!
What's this?
Also a victim?
What's this?
Repair Your Reputation!
What's this?