• Report: #689244
Complaint Review:

Crossings Book Club, Crossings.com

  • Submitted: Mon, January 31, 2011
  • Updated: Thu, February 03, 2011

  • Reported By: Katie — Tucson Arizona USA
Crossings Book Club, Crossings.com
1225 South Market Street Mechanicsburg, Pennsylvania United States of America

Crossings Book Club, Crossings.com Crossings.com, Crossings Book Club, Direct Brands Inc. BEWARE they are Stealing from and Defrauding their LOYAL customers! Mechanicsburg, Pennsylvania

*Author of original report: Update #1

REBUTTAL BOX™ | Respond to this Report! | Consumer Comment

What's this?
Corporate Advocacy Program

Show customers why they should trust your business over your competitors...

What's this?
What's this?
Is this
Ripoff Report
About you?
Ripoff Report
A business' first
line of defense
on the Internet.
If your business is
willing to make a
commitment to
customer satisfaction
Click here now..

Does your business have a bad reputation?
Fix it the right way.
Corporate Advocacy Program™

Set the record straight:
Arbitration Program

SEO Reputation Management at its best!

Let me first begin by informing folks that this company is owned and operated by Direct Brands Inc. Who does happen to be a member of the BBB. They have several different addresses and phone numbers as they own and operate several different 'brands' if you look them up on BBB's site it shows all their A.K.A.'s

I am very upset with how this so called 'Christian book club', has treated me! I have been a LOYAL customer for more than a year now, I signed up for the club knowing full well that in doing so I was making a specific commitment to purchase a particular amount of items within a specific time period, which I did complete in every way and have every bit of documentation proving that, And fully intending to remain a LOYAL CUSTOMER for many years to come! But apparently that's something that this company doesn't care to have!

The last order in the amount of $32.63 I made and paid for in full on 12-6-10, #40638229, specifically to fulfill my commitment, as well as to provide Christmas gifts to my mother, my sister and my eldest daughter. I have always received my orders from them withing a 3 week time period... Well, not this time, So I decide to call them on 1/20/11 to find out what is going on with my order... I'm told that "apparently the order was returned undelivered" , ok, so she tells me she will reship it right away and apologizes for the long delay, I think ok, Everyone makes mistakes sometimes, they're extremely late but at least I will be able to get the books to my family members soon so no harm, no foul... Then I log into my bank account on 1/24/11, and see an additional charge of $34.63 to crossings.com! So I try to call them, nothing, so I email them to find out what they're charging me an additional $34.63 for and for them to please fix this problem as I have already paid for the order. I get the automated "we will get back to you" email response, so I wait. Then on 1/26/11 I get their email response as follows ;

Dear Member,

We apologize for any inconvenience.

Unfortunately, your account has been suspended. At this time we are unable to send the selection(s) you ordered.

When you joined Crossings Book Club you agreed to purchase 3 books in 1 year. You have not purchased your required number of books in the specified time frame.

We consider this a failure to abide by the terms of your original agreement with us. Since you have not lived up to this aspect of your membership agreement, we have found it necessary to suspend your account and to add a charge for the books which you agreed to buy when you joined the club, but have yet to purchase.

Since the total balance due of $40.78 has been paid, you will be sent a catalog and redeemable contract fulfillment book vouchers to select the book(s) you choose to receive, and your book club account will be reactivated. Your book(s) will be shipped at no additional charge once you redeem your voucher(s).

We appreciate your understanding and cooperation.

Since the shipment we sent never reached you, we have credited back to your account. If you paid by credit/debit card, we've issued a credit to the card that was charged.

We have checked our records and have found that your reshipment orders is cancelled. First you need to redeem the contract fulfillment voucher in order to receive additional orders.

Simply visit us online at: http://www.booksonline.com/ or any of our catalogs You can use the search tool on our Web site to find the books or authors that interest you. Please choose 2 book(s). Just e-mail us with your choice(s). We'll send your order as soon as we hear from you.

If you ever have any questions or comments regarding our club or your account with us, feel free to contact at this e-mail address.

Also, our members have expressed interest in an automated system which would allow them to access account information. We created the Automated Answering Service with these requests in mind. Our Automated Answering Service 1-888-954-2665 is available from 5:30 AM Sunday through 2:30 AM Sunday, Eastern Time. It allows you to place an order, verify account balance and last payment information, pay an existing balance with a credit card, as well as respond to your monthly selection. Many members find this a quick and efficient method to perform account business.

If you prefer to speak to a Customer Service Representative, our telephone number is (717) 918-2665, available Monday through Friday between 8:00 AM and 5:00 PM, Eastern Time.

Of course, you always have the option of writing us at Member Service Center, PO Box 916400, Rantoul, IL 61866.
If we may be of further service, please don't hesitate to contact us.



Customer Service

Why would they suspend my account and cancel my reshipment!?! And I most certainly did fulfill my commitment and as mentioned before have all documentation proving that! Obviously worried, I log into my bank account and discover that they did refund the one of the charges of $33.63 but I can't believe it, they have charged me again! This time in the amount of $40.78 for not fulfilling my commitment! So they are trying to cheat me out of my order and steal my money when this whole issue is obviously because of their shipping mistake! And they have the gall to ask me to order 2 more books from them!?! Wow! Of course I emailed them right back asking why on earth they would do this! As of today 1/31/10 I still haven't heard anything back! I will try calling them again tomorrow, regardless if they finally send me an email response or not. This may seem like a small amount of $ and not worth the hassle to some, but it's the principal of it. I refuse to allow any person, let alone a company who are held to certain laws of practice take cheat me and steal from me! And I want to help make sure they don't do this to other customers!

There is no way they're going to get one over on this customer, I will follow through with this all the way to courts if I have to! And I will be posting updates as they occur!

This report was posted on Ripoff Report on 01/31/2011 09:04 PM and is a permanent record located here: http://www.ripoffreport.com/reports/crossings-book-club-crossingscom/mechanicsburg-pennsylvania-17055/crossings-book-club-crossingscom-crossingscom-crossings-book-club-direct-brands-inc-689244. The posting time indicated is Arizona local time. Arizona does not observe daylight savings so the post time may be Mountain or Pacific depending on the time of year.

Ripoff Report has an exclusive license to this report. It may not be copied without the written permission of Ripoff Report. READ: Foreign websites steal our content

Click Here to read other Ripoff Reports on Crossings Book Club, Crossings.com

Search for additional reports

If you would like to see more Rip-off Reports on this company/individual, search here:

Search Tips
Report & Rebuttal
Respond to this report!
What's this?
Also a victim?
What's this?
Repair Your Reputation!
What's this?
1Author 0Consumer 0Employee/Owner
Updates & Rebuttals

#1 Author of original report

Update #1

AUTHOR: Katie - (USA)

After posting this and calling them the next day, I was again hung up on, so I decided to file a complaint with the BBB against the Owner/operator of the company, I post ed to the BBB a shorter version of what I wrote above... I figured I'd get something achieved this way because although Crossings Book Club is not a member of the BBB, the company who owns and operates them is, and what do you know!, I got a response! The email I received is (Below), I have edited it for privacy of course... I just hope that they didn't further screw up and actually make another charge rather than a credit and that they have actually sent my original order, I will update once more to confirm weather or not this was done as they have promised...

February 2, 2011

Better Business Bureau


1337 N Front St

Harrisburg, PA 17102


Dear Ms. (Person @ the BBB):

I am writing in response to the inquiry you forwarded for (CUSTOMER).

We apologize that Ms. (CUSTOMERs) December 6, 2010 order for (BOOK #1), (BOOK #2) and BOOK #3) was not received or reshipped, as requested.

On January 21, 2011,


applied a charge of $40.78 to the credit card (CUSTOMER) authorized us to use for the two books remaining in her CROSSINGS BOOK CLUB purchase commitment. As an accommodation, we have reprocessed Ms. (CUSTOMER)s order for the three books noted above. The items will be shipped at no additional charge. A credit in the amount of $7.15 has been issued to Ms. (CUSTOMER)s

card (the difference between the $40.78 charge and the $33.63 cost of the original order).For confirmation, Ms. (CUSTOMER) may contact her credit card provider.


Respond to this report!
What's this?
Report & Rebuttal
Respond to this report!
What's this?
Also a victim?
What's this?
Repair Your Reputation!
What's this?