• Report: #1007789
Complaint Review:

Destination Ventures International

  • Submitted: Sat, February 02, 2013
  • Updated: Sat, February 02, 2013

  • Reported By: sharon — Buffalo New York United States of America
Destination Ventures International
9000International Dr. Orlando, Florida United States of America

Destination Ventures International Hotelcard.com Screwed me out of Hotel reservations Orlando, Florida

REBUTTAL BOX™ | Respond to this Report! | Consumer Comment

What's this?
Corporate Advocacy Program

Show customers why they should trust your business over your competitors...

What's this?
What's this?
Is this
Ripoff Report
About you?
Ripoff Report
A business' first
line of defense
on the Internet.
If your business is
willing to make a
commitment to
customer satisfaction
Click here now..

Does your business have a bad reputation?
Fix it the right way.
Corporate Advocacy Program™

Set the record straight:
Arbitration Program

SEO Reputation Management at its best!

We purchased a Cruise/Hotel package deal from NBC's Today Show's "Steals and Deals" in December 2011. We were to receive a 4 night cruise for 2 adults and 2 nights hotel stay. Booking the cruise was no problem. Booking the hotel was and we never received the hotel reservations. We cannot even get our $22 we paid in taxes.

We followed all directions to book the hotel rooms, paid the taxes and were emailed the reservation details and I quote "you will be guaranteed a hotel, unless notified otherwise within 48 hours after your reservation request." The date of the reservation request was August 28, 2012.

In December 2012, we were sent an email trying to offer us more hotel card discounts if we would change our reservations. We did not respond to them as we were already booked on our cruise and needed the hotel rooms. The cruise was booked for January 7, 2013.

On December 31, 2012, 6 days before our first hotel booking, we received an email telling us we did not have a room booked either on the 6th of 11th of January 303, because of a major football game in the area. I had already called the hotel earlier in December and had been told we were not booked there.

Once again we were offered pin numbers for discounts, however, they weren't really discounts because you had to pay first and expect to get reimbursed later. If they were not willing to answer their emails or answer their phones for my request to get my $22 in taxes back why would I trust them to reimburse me for these pitiful 10% discounts at $200 a night hotels. I have copies of all emails received for the cruise and package.

What we ended up doing, after 2 days of attempting to book a room in Miami or Ft. Lauderdale before and after our cruise, we rented a car to drive 2.5 hours to my brother-in-laws to stay with them before and after the cruise.

I filed a complaint with the Better Business Bureau and the company's response was that they would refund my $22 in taxes that I paid and would refund up to $75 a night for hotel rooms if I provided a receipt for the rooms. I responded that we were not able to find a room due to the football game and explained how we rented a car to drive out of the area and get lodging at brother-in-laws. At this point I expect to get my $22 in taxes returned and $150.00 for hotel rooms never provided. The company did not respond to the further request of the Better Business Bureau and they have closed the complaint.

My next course of action will be the Florida State Attorney Generals office and the credit card companies used in this transaction. Of Course, also your website. I also emailed NBC's Today Show and got no response from them

As of this date the company has not responded to my refusal to offer them  

This report was posted on Ripoff Report on 02/02/2013 10:44 AM and is a permanent record located here: http://www.ripoffreport.com/reports/destination-ventures-international/orlando-florida-32819/destination-ventures-international-hotelcardcom-screwed-me-out-of-hotel-reservations-orla-1007789. The posting time indicated is Arizona local time. Arizona does not observe daylight savings so the post time may be Mountain or Pacific depending on the time of year.

Ripoff Report has an exclusive license to this report. It may not be copied without the written permission of Ripoff Report. READ: Foreign websites steal our content

Click Here to read other Ripoff Reports on Destination Ventures International

Search for additional reports

If you would like to see more Rip-off Reports on this company/individual, search here:

Search Tips
Report & Rebuttal
Respond to this report!
What's this?
Also a victim?
What's this?
Repair Your Reputation!
What's this?