• Report: #220678
Complaint Review:

Gore Research

  • Submitted: Wed, November 15, 2006
  • Updated: Wed, February 16, 2011

  • Reported By:Erie Pennsylvania
Gore Research
4 Terrace Woods Logan, West Virginia U.S.A.

Gore Research AKA David And Amber Gore They cashed my check and are now MIA. Logan West Virginia

*REBUTTAL Individual responds: Response from Lumera

*Consumer Suggestion: What is your personal email address?

*Consumer Suggestion: More Helpful Documentation

*REBUTTAL Owner of company: Apologies

*Author of original report: My ScanTool and Gore Research

*Author of original report: I still have not received ScanTool from Gore Research

*Author of original report: Gore Research ProScan order status update

*REBUTTAL Owner of company: Issue is Being Resolved

*Author of original report: Gore Research ProScan finally delivered but does not work

*Author of original report: Gore Research finally sends order.

REBUTTAL BOX™ | Respond to this Report! | Consumer Comment

What's this?
Corporate Advocacy Program

Show customers why they should trust your business over your competitors...

What's this?
What's this?
Is this
Ripoff Report
About you?
Ripoff Report
A business' first
line of defense
on the Internet.
If your business is
willing to make a
commitment to
customer satisfaction
Click here now..

Does your business have a bad reputation?
Fix it the right way.
Corporate Advocacy Program™

Set the record straight:
Arbitration Program

SEO Reputation Management at its best!

I order ProScan Universal Scan Tool w/USB Interface by mail on September 29, 2006. I enclosed a personal check for the entire amount including shipping.

Amber Gore (for "Gore Research") cashed my check on October 5, 2006. Since placing my order I have received nothing from them. Multiple letters, service requests, telephone calls and emails have gone unanswered. I have repeatedly provided them with copies of my cancelled check, without any response.

I belive I have been bilked out of my $176.99 payment. They continue to advertize product even though they do not respond to their customers.

Erie, Pennsylvania

This report was posted on Ripoff Report on 11/15/2006 01:08 AM and is a permanent record located here: http://www.ripoffreport.com/reports/gore-research/logan-west-virginia-25601/gore-research-aka-david-and-amber-gore-they-cashed-my-check-and-are-now-mia-logan-west-vi-220678. The posting time indicated is Arizona local time. Arizona does not observe daylight savings so the post time may be Mountain or Pacific depending on the time of year.

Ripoff Report has an exclusive license to this report. It may not be copied without the written permission of Ripoff Report. READ: Foreign websites steal our content

Click Here to read other Ripoff Reports on Gore Research

Search for additional reports

If you would like to see more Rip-off Reports on this company/individual, search here:

Search Tips
Report & Rebuttal
Respond to this report!
What's this?
Also a victim?
What's this?
Repair Your Reputation!
What's this?
0Author 7Consumer 3Employee/Owner
Updates & Rebuttals

#1 REBUTTAL Individual responds

Response from Lumera

AUTHOR: Alan Ricks - (United States of America)

This customer, Colin Bailie, recently visited Lumera Diamonds, and found a diamond with a typo (the price for a 1.22 ct. GIA Certified F color diamond of Excellent cut was listed as $1,780; a typical price for this size and quality is $8-9,000).  In an attempt to take advantage of the error, Mr. Bailie immediately ordered the diamond at 10:00pm on 2/14. 

The following morning I contacted Mr. Bailie to let him know that we would not be able to complete the order, and that his card would not be charged.  Mr. Bailie demanded that a diamond of similar quality be sold to him for the erroneous price or he would “put a negative review on every site I can find”.  We were of course unable to honor his request and I did explain our written policy; that while we attempt to have complete accuracy (to date this is the first such occurrence), we cannot be held responsible for typographical errors (this particular error was caused by the supplier who listed the diamond as 1.22 carats instead of the correct 0.22 carats). 

This particular error was caught within hours of displaying, and quickly corrected.  We apologized to Mr. Bailie for any inconvenience, and offered to help him find a diamond of similar quality for the standard price.  It seemed clear that he was only interested in capitalizing on the error and had no intention of purchasing a diamond, so I did not press further.

Mr. Balie did nothing wrong in placing the order, even though it was apparent he was attempting to take advantage of the situation.  He is also under no obligation to accept our apologies for any stress he was caused in not receiving what he felt he was owed.  However, I do take issue with his mischaracterization of the facts, and his attempt at extorting from Lumera something he was not owed.

I worked personally with Mr. Bailie, and am also disappointed that he considers the service and explanation I offered to be reprehensible. I do understand his disappointment, and hope he will eventually come to see that he was in no way mistreated simply because he was not able to take full advantage of an unfortunate error. 

 I wish him the best.
Respond to this report!
What's this?

#2 Consumer Suggestion

What is your personal email address?

AUTHOR: CaribConsult - (Puerto Rico)

Since you've invited us disgruntled customers to send you a personal email, how about putting your personal email address somewhere where we can see it, like your website, for instance?  I'd love to send you a personal email since I always believe in going to the top of the food chain, instead of misinformed flunkies like Crystal.
Respond to this report!
What's this?

#3 Consumer Suggestion

More Helpful Documentation


I purchased a ProScan on about Aug 6, 2010 and received it on about Aug 13, 2010.
I have read the manual and followed all of the instructions, but I have not been able to get my laptop to connect to the module.

The documentation is sparse, otherwise I am sure that I would be able to solve the problem. But this is not uncommon, and with adequate customer support by email or telephone, most suppliers are able to get their customers happy and going.

I understand how much of a shock it is to find out that the documentation that you have supplied with a product is inadequate and the resulting deluge of inquiries. I have experienced that myself. But I would like/need to get my device working.

I propose the following to the Gore's:

I am a computer professional with particular skill in technical writing. If you will respond to my request for help in getting my unit to work, I shall create additional documentation for your manual that will help others to get their units working.

Wes S
CLICK here to see why Rip-off Report, as a matter of policy, deleted either a phone number, link or e-mail address from this Report.
Respond to this report!
What's this?

#4 REBUTTAL Owner of company


AUTHOR: David - (USA)

It is nearly four years after the fact, but I have just stumbled back across this report and wanted to comment.

First of all, I apologize for any and all difficulty you experienced in dealing with us. I do not have enough information to identify you in our database, but I do vaguely remember discussing an issue with Vitaliy, our hardware supplier, regarding a replacement that was made due to defective hardware.

I hope that you have been using the new hardware and have been keeping up with our software releases.

I apologize for the difficulty you experienced in communicating with us. I thought for the longest time that we were experiencing frustrating technical issues with our support/email system. However, I ultimately discovered that there was a certain dishonest individual on our staff that was responsible for most customer-related issues. This person is no longer employed by us, and our complaint volume has dropped to nearly zero since this person has left. Regardless, I'm the owner of the business, and I take full responsibility for the service or lack of service that you received.

If there is anything that we can do for you, please let us know. If you will contact us by visiting our web site and sending a support e-mail and reference this report, we will provide you with a gift to make up for the trouble you experienced during the ordering process with us.

Thank you.
Respond to this report!
What's this?

#5 Author of original report

My ScanTool and Gore Research

AUTHOR: Ronald - (U.S.A.)

While I still haven't heard anything from Gore Research and was just about resolved to being ripped off, Vitaly at scantool.net sent me a replacement for my defective scantool. I just tried it out and it works great with my software.

I still don't have a official CD and serial number for the ProScan software from Gore Research, but I'm going to use the number I received with the original shipment because I paid for it.

Bottom line:

1. The hardware and software advertized by Gore Research is actually an awesome combination, and it works well if you don't get a defective unit.

2. Scantool.net, the company for whom Gore Research is a distributor is an excellent company to deal with. They support their product and talk to customers even when it is not their primary responsibility. Vitaly went out of his way to make things right for me, and he seemed genuinely interested in my predicament.

3. Gore Research rates an F- in customer service despite having a GREAT product.
Respond to this report!
What's this?

#6 Author of original report

I still have not received ScanTool from Gore Research

AUTHOR: Ronald - (U.S.A.)

Despite these assurances from David Gore at Gore Research, I have not heard anything at all from, and I have not received my replacement ScanTool, nor a refund of my money.

I did contact Vitaly at Scantool.net (apparently the company for which Gore Research/David Gore is a dealer/distributor). Vitaly has been easy to deal with and seems to understand what is going on, but I still have not resolved this issue.

I paid my money on September 29, 2006 and still do not have a functional ScanTool.
Respond to this report!
What's this?

#7 Author of original report

Gore Research ProScan order status update

AUTHOR: Ronald - (U.S.A.)

I sent my defective ProScan interface device back to Gore Research by Priority Mail on November 27, 2006. USPS confirms that it was delivered to their Godby Street address on the afternoon of November 29, 2006. My shipment included all parts I received, including cables and CD rom. An enclosed letter explained the situation and requested replacement with a functional unit with USB capabilities (as ordered) or a refund. I asked that they contact me immediately by telephone and/or email.

Since then I have also sent two emails to David Gore at his personal address at gore-research.com, along with explanation and requested that they contact me by telephone and/or email.

So far no response. I don't understand how they can have the time to cash my check but not to do anything else. Seems to me an ordinary response to being overwhelmed would be to raise the price and hire staff or farm out the tasks or just stay up all night until the work is done.

I'm still waiting.
Respond to this report!
What's this?

#8 REBUTTAL Owner of company

Issue is Being Resolved

AUTHOR: David - (U.S.A.)

My name is David Gore, and I own Gore Research. We are a very small business, and our sales grew dramatically this year. Order fulfillment and customer service became a major issue very fast. We were processing and shipping all orders ourselves, but on November 17, 2006 we outsourced our shipping to our manufacturer in Arizona. Therefore, our shipping issues have been resolved, and all of our orders are now shipping same-day or next business day. Outsourcing order-fulfillment provided us with additional resources to dedicate to customer service.

I sincerely apologize to you and anyone else who encountered slow shipping or slow customer service from our company.

I cannot identify your order with the information you have provided. I have searched all orders from Pennsylvania during the time frame you specified, but I can't find anyone with the first name Ronald. So please send me a personal email, which is my first name [at] gore-research dot com, and I will be more than happy to make sure that you are taken care of.

I see that your update to this report on the 27th indicates that you did receive your merchandise in the mail. I'm not sure if I understand why it does not work properly, but we can definitely arrange for a replacement or a refund. I just hope that once this issue is resolved, you will make a final post verifying that you are satisfied with the outcome.

Thank you and I apologize,
David Gore
Owner, Gore Research
Respond to this report!
What's this?

#9 Author of original report

Gore Research ProScan finally delivered but does not work

AUTHOR: Ronald - (U.S.A.)

On November 20, 2006 I finally got a shipment from Gore Research. They sent a serial version (and no adapter) rather than the USB version I ordered. After buying the necessary serial/USB interface I learned that the hardware was defective.

After plugging the OBDII cable into the port on any of several compatible vehicles the green light (indicating power presence) lighted but faded away to nothing after about 10 seconds. According to the technical information from the manufacturer, this indicated that the unit was defective or not receiving power.

Gore Research is a distributor for ScanTool.net, producers of the ElmScan unit. It is rebranded for Gore Research.

I have every reason to believe that the product SHOULD work find, it just doesn't.

I'm sending it back to Gore Research today for their 30 day unconditional guarantee, and we'll see what happens now.
Respond to this report!
What's this?

#10 Author of original report

Gore Research finally sends order.

AUTHOR: Ronald - (U.S.A.)

On November 20, 2006 I finally received my order from Gore Research. However, while I ordered a USB cable/adapter, they sent me instead a useless serial-serial cable. I have not yet tried out the product, but the OBD2 adapter looks fairly generic and just like one that does work for me.

I had long given up on receiving anything from Gore Research, so I bought what I needed elsewhere. Now I have two OBD2 devices -- one with the wrong cable. I'm hoping to get it working somehow and giving it as a gift.
Respond to this report!
What's this?
Report & Rebuttal
Respond to this report!
What's this?
Also a victim?
What's this?
Repair Your Reputation!
What's this?