Report: #862313

Complaint Review: Household Furniture & Appliances

  • Submitted: Sun, April 01, 2012
  • Updated: Tue, February 26, 2013
  • Reported By: Carol — Grants Pass Oregon USA
  • Household Furniture & Appliances
    626 S.W. 6th St.
    Grants Pass, Oregon
    United States of America

Household Furniture & Appliances Holey Sofa, Deceptive Sale, Misrepresentation of Goods Grants Pass, Oregon

*REBUTTAL Owner of company: Carol, I am sorry you were not satisfied.

Show customers why they should trust your business over your competitors...

I went into this store shopping for a NEW sofa, I found one I liked & asked the saleswomen if there was anything wrong with it, she said "nothing is wrong with it, "it's just marked as is because the mfg. has just discontinued the fabric & the style" 

I looked around some more & looked at a leather set that was nice but had a 6-7" scratch on the side of it. I  pointed out the mar to the saleswomen & she said "oh, that's just a fold in the fabric"  like I'm stupid & can't tell the difference? 

I went back to my original selection & asked her again if there was anything wrong with it, she stated again there was "Nothing wrong with it" , I could not inspect it myself because it was jammed up against some other furniture & NO way to get around it.  

I paid for it & had it delivered. Within 3 hrs. of it being in my house I turned on the lamp next to the end of the thing & discovered a 2" hole!  I called the store immediately & asked them to come pick it up as I would not accept a holey sofa. 

Their offer was I pay them $100.00 for restocking & they would pick it up or they would repair it. I did not go shopping for a sofa that needed repair, I could have gotten one from the Goodwill or a yard sale if that's what I had wanted, & for alot less dough. 

This saleswomen blatantly lied to me & they expect me to accept this disceptive crap & their holey merchandise.  It's now one month later & the sofa sits unused & covered up in my living room waiting from either some satisfaction from my credit card company or a court of law. 
Is this Ripoff Report About you?
Ripoff Report A business' first line of defense on the Internet.
If your business is willing to make a commitment to customer satisfaction Click here now..

Does your business have a bad reputation? Fix it the right way. Corporate Advocacy Program™

Set the record straight: Arbitration Program

SEO Reputation Management at its best!

This report was posted on Ripoff Report on 04/01/2012 04:13 PM and is a permanent record located here: The posting time indicated is Arizona local time. Arizona does not observe daylight savings so the post time may be Mountain or Pacific depending on the time of year. Ripoff Report has an exclusive license to this report. It may not be copied without the written permission of Ripoff Report. READ: Foreign websites steal our content

Search for additional reports

If you would like to see more Rip-off Reports on this company/individual, search here:

Report & Rebuttal
Respond to this report!
Also a victim?
Repair Your Reputation!

Updates & Rebuttals


#1 REBUTTAL Owner of company

Carol, I am sorry you were not satisfied.

AUTHOR: Robert - (United States of America)

Carol, I am sorry that you were not satisfied with your sofa. The sofa that you purchased was sold as a floor model clearance item at a significant price reduction and it was fully disclosed by our sales associate and the sale tag on the sofa that it was being sold as is, with no manufacturers warranty. The sofa was sold with no known defects. You had the opportunity to inspect the sofa at the time of purchase and again at the time of delivery and, in both instances, you signed the store invoice for the purchase and again for the delivery with no notification of any issues regarding the sofa. You didnt notify Household that you found a hole in the sofa until hours after delivery had been made. A representative of Household went to your home to inspect your sofa and found that there was a slight seam separation. It is unknown when this issue may have occurred but Household, under no obligation, offered to repair the sofa for you. This was not satisfactory to you as you thought that sofa should be returned for refund. Even if the sofa was not sold as a clearance, as-is floor model and was under a manufacturers warranty, a return would not fall within policy as warranty covers a repair before any other options are available. Against our policy, you were offered the opportunity to return the sofa subject to a $100 restocking fee which is 20% of the discounted price paid for the sofa. Carol,  Household did attempt to satisfy you in a reasonable manner. I would also like to note that the Better Business Bureaus response to Household with reference to your complaint was, we believe that your company has made a good faith effort to resolve the matter and we have closed this case. All paperwork regarding this issue is on file at Household. If you would like to discuss this issue further please contact me directly. Robert Marks General Manager
Respond to this report!
Ripoff Report Recommends
ZipBooks Accounting Software

Advertisers above have met our
strict standards for business conduct.