• Report: #257861
Complaint Review:


  • Submitted: Fri, June 29, 2007
  • Updated: Wed, February 06, 2013

  • Reported By:san antonio Texas
car.justanswer.com/about-us.aspx Internet U.S.A.

Justanswer.com ripoff Deceptively ask for your info and then leave no options but to pay them for answer San Francisco California

*REBUTTAL Owner of company: Really?

*Consumer Comment: Biggest.Ripoff.Ever.

*Consumer Suggestion: Answer

*Consumer Comment: I am a just answer satisfied customer

*Consumer Comment: Quality of Service

*Consumer Comment: "Unlimited" subscribers are largely ignored

*UPDATE Employee: JustAnswer Rebuttal

*Consumer Comment: Still Waiting

*Consumer Comment: This is, indeed, a scam. Read the fine print carefully!

*Consumer Comment: Try it..You'll like it!

*UPDATE Employee: Customer support response

*Consumer Comment: JustAnswer.com Another Thing To Watch For!

*Consumer Comment: I'm not sure if there are complications should you accept...

*Consumer Comment: I Reada the Terms of Service before accepting my question.

*General Comment: Experts Are Falling by the Wayside

*Consumer Comment: JustAnswer is NOT a scam!

*Consumer Comment: JustAnswer.com: Good experince, Solid answer, worth my $$

*Consumer Suggestion: JustAnswer.com is NOT a scam!

*Consumer Comment: I've used JustAnswer.com twice and plan to use it again. No scams - User gets to ok payment or not.

*Consumer Comment: justanswers provided a quality and satisfactory response to my Audi question


*Consumer Comment: I completely disagree with this poster

*Consumer Comment: Please Read the Terms and Conditions

*UPDATE EX-employee responds: Retraction

*REBUTTAL Individual responds: justanswer.com: Quality staff and quality performance

*REBUTTAL Owner of company: Just Answer is focused on quality and service.

REBUTTAL BOX™ | Respond to this Report! | Consumer Comment

What's this?
Corporate Advocacy Program

Show customers why they should trust your business over your competitors...

What's this?
What's this?
Is this
Ripoff Report
About you?
Ripoff Report
A business' first
line of defense
on the Internet.
If your business is
willing to make a
commitment to
customer satisfaction
Click here now..

Does your business have a bad reputation?
Fix it the right way.
Corporate Advocacy Program™

Set the record straight:
Arbitration Program

SEO Reputation Management at its best!

I did not actually fall for this scam, but I did post a question and followed all steps under the impression that a simple question was going to be answered for free..as i was directed to believe. But when I reached the section asking about being a new user and having to create a login, I decided to create a fake one to make sure this wasn't a scam. After I was "signed in" I was allowed to post a question and choose someone to help me out..here's the good part, at the bottom it gives you only 3 options..pay 10.00, pay 20.00 or pay 30.00..you have to choose one of those in order to move ahead. So, for a laugh, I chose 10.00. It then directs me to a screen that requests a deposit first, and when I checked no, it kicked me out and said to activate my account first. That means I have to prepay first and then get an answer later..what a joke! Seriously, there are numerous sites that offer advice for FREE and it's great advice too. And here's an even better piece of the puzzle..this is what I copied from their terms of service concerning refunds. Which they basically flat out deny, end of story.

Here's an excerpt from their "terms" page:
You set the price that you are willing to pay for a helpful answer. To honor the time Experts spend helping you, you are required to accept an answer (and pay the amount you offered) if it is a helpful answer. A deposit is required before you may view the answer to a question you have posted. Deposits are fully refundable. Please request deposit refunds at http://www.justanswer.com/refund.aspx. Once you've accepted and paid for an answer, however, no refunds are permitted or possible. If you do not like an answer for any reason, your sole remedy is to disregard the answer and not accept or pay for it.

I just wanted to share this with everyone..this is a pathetic scam and I hope noone falls for it!

san antonio, Texas

This report was posted on Ripoff Report on 06/29/2007 11:19 PM and is a permanent record located here: http://www.ripoffreport.com/reports/justanswercom/internet/justanswercom-ripoff-deceptively-ask-for-your-info-and-then-leave-no-options-but-to-pay-t-257861. The posting time indicated is Arizona local time. Arizona does not observe daylight savings so the post time may be Mountain or Pacific depending on the time of year.

Ripoff Report has an exclusive license to this report. It may not be copied without the written permission of Ripoff Report. READ: Foreign websites steal our content

Click Here to read other Ripoff Reports on Justanswer.com

Search for additional reports

If you would like to see more Rip-off Reports on this company/individual, search here:

Search Tips
Report & Rebuttal
Respond to this report!
What's this?
Also a victim?
What's this?
Repair Your Reputation!
What's this?
0Author 23Consumer 3Employee/Owner
Updates & Rebuttals

#1 REBUTTAL Owner of company


AUTHOR: Barry G - ()

I have worked at JA for six years. I have a family, and a cat. I have worked in appliances off and on for nearly 30 years. Do you think I have learned something over that period of time?

Let me tell you. There is no and I mean NO way i would mislead anyone, that would be stupid. If I want someone to return then I have to work to be correct. Sure we all make mistakes and I make them, just like everyone else. My main point is I am not out there to rip somebody off and I find it appaling that anyone would think that I am.

This is a piss poor report to be putting on the net

Barry G.

Respond to this report!
What's this?

#2 Consumer Comment


AUTHOR: Katie50 - (United States of America)

"JustAnswer does not guarantee that you will receive a response from an Expert, or that you will be satisfied with your communication with an Expert. In the rare instance that no Expert responds at all to your question within thirty (30) days, JustAnswer will provide you, as part of the Site access benefits, with copies of or access to other previously asked questions and answers on JustAnswer in a category related to your question (as determined by JustAnswer in its sole discretion)."

This is a quote from the JA representative. So you are telling me that:
A.) Even if i pay you the $50 to answer my question i'm not guaranteed an answer.
B.) If i try to contact you for help, i'm not guaranteed that the person "helping me" is going to treat me like a civil human being and be nice.
C.) If you cant answer me all i get for my $50 are questions and answers to and from other people? what good does that do me?

This is a ripoff... All i wanted to know was how to tell what kind of book I had and after being on "JustAnswer" for less than 5 minutes it made me angry enough to to take the 10 minutes out of my life to post reviews on as many sites possible.  Just to make sure no one gets scammed by these people. 
Respond to this report!
What's this?

#3 Consumer Suggestion


AUTHOR: Katie50 - (United States of America)

Call a lawyer! Talk to someone and see if there is any way you can get your money back. Especially if you have contacted them to stop the charge and they are continuing to do so.

You could also cancel the card. If it's a debit card, talk to your bank. explain the situation and put a stop to the charges from there.
Respond to this report!
What's this?

#4 Consumer Comment

I am a just answer satisfied customer

AUTHOR: Alice - (USA)

 Hi, I just wanted to let you know I have used Just Answer since 2009. Just answer has been there for me every step of the way. They are in no way a rip off. I have 3 experts that help me with every kind of problem I have. I am sorry you believe this company is a rip off. I don't. I spent a lot of money on them but they are worth every dime to me. I do not work for them.I am just a very happy customer.
Respond to this report!
What's this?

#5 Consumer Comment

Quality of Service

AUTHOR: Anonymous - (Canada)

Emily Su-lan Reber Porter, J.D., (Harvard Law School), is the Director of Expert Quality.

Quality is key at JustAnswer they say.  "Our
Expert Quality team is focused on the quality of Experts and their
answers to customers on the site." Really. Well I am sorry Ms. Porter
that even though you have a JD from Harvard you have minus zero
understanding of the Parenting, the Relationship, Mental Health and
Agony Aunt Categories. You have one so-called Expert who violates the
Hippocratic Oath  by interfering in customer's therapy sessions.
Question after question is answered by Kate McCoy showing her violations
of interfering with the person's therapy. So really, you are a lawyer
and you are monitoring the quality of expert's answers and you allow
Kate McCoy to violate the ethics of the mental health profession. And
furthermore, you have a category - JustAnswer.Psychoanalysts. Really!
How many of your experts are licensed psychoanalysts? Most of your
experts in mental health have only a master's degree in social work or
counseling. Yes, you have some people who are very well qualified but
most of your experts are not. And in Agony Aunt you have a computer
person, a car mechanic answering people's questions about psychological
matters. Really --- you watch over quality? That's watching over
quality. You have secret shoppers - what are the expert qualifications
of your secret shoppers. They would know if an answer is correct or not
if they are not in the field. Really!
Respond to this report!
What's this?

#6 Consumer Comment

"Unlimited" subscribers are largely ignored

AUTHOR: caveat-emptor - (United States of America)

All the wild praise that the posters above have heaped on Just Answer is similar to what attracted me to the service. I will admit that there were several experts early on who were extremely responsive and helpful, and their advice was much appreciated at the time. HOWEVER, unless you are willing to "tip" the experts on a regular basis, you will soon start getting no answers at all, or very very late ones. To top it all off, tonight I got a response from Just Answer suggesting that I would get MORE INTEREST from the experts if I offered to tip them. I immediately cancelled my "unlimited" subscription and told them why. Now I'm telling everyone else. If you will only be asking occasional questions, this is probably a fine service. But speaking as someone who has spent $38 a month for  close to a year, I'm insulted and outraged at their high pressure tactics trying to get more than the agreed upon price for the service.
Respond to this report!
What's this?

#7 UPDATE Employee

JustAnswer Rebuttal

AUTHOR: EthanA - (United States of America)


I am the customer service supervisor at JustAnswer.  Customer satisfaction is a foremost priority at JustAnswer and while we respectfully disagree with the points raised within your letter, we appreciate the chance to respond to your concerns.

We do not advertise free advice on either the site itself or in our Google advertisements.  As described in our Terms of of Service (Terms) available at http://ww2.justanswer.com/terms-service-0, JustAnswer.com is a paid question and answer website.  The service is straightforward: customers submit a question and then pay to have that question shown to Experts to answer it.  Prior to providing payment, customers are asked to read and acknowledge their agreement to the Terms, which clearly outlines the question payment system. 

In addition, starting on the websites homepage, there is a link to these Terms on nearly every one of JustAnswer webpages.  The Terms of Service begins with a hyperlinked table of contents that allows customers easy access to the
section of their choice, among them Charges and Refund Policy.

We also have a 30 day satisfaction guarantee.  Here is what we say in our terms and conditions:

Once you receive an answer from an Expert, you will be asked whether you found the answer to be helpful and would like to accept it. You are requested to accept the answer if you find it to be helpful (as determined by you in your sole discretion). By accepting an answer, you are instructing and authorizing that a portion of your payment be paid to the Expert instead of to JustAnswer. By accepting more than one answer, you are authorizing JustAnswer to charge your payment source (for example, the credit card or PayPal account you provided to JustAnswer) multiple times and instructing and authorizing that a portion of each of your payments be paid to the Expert instead of to JustAnswer. For example, if you accept two answers, your payment source will be charged twice the price.

JustAnswer does not guarantee that you will receive a response from an Expert, or that you will be satisfied with your communication with an Expert. In the rare instance that no Expert responds at all to your question within thirty (30) days, JustAnswer will provide you, as part of the Site access benefits, with copies of or access to other previously asked questions and answers on JustAnswer in a category related to your question (as determined by JustAnswer in its sole discretion).

JustAnswer takes customer satisfaction seriously. Accordingly, if you do not accept an answer and are not satisfied with your experience on JustAnswer for any reason, then as your sole remedy you may request a refund within thirty (30) days of when you paid to ask your question on JustAnswer here or by calling Customer Service (available 24 hours a day, 7 days a week) at            888-587-8220      . Please check here before requesting a refund to make sure you have viewed the most up-to-date responses to your question. If you do not request a refund within thirty (30) days of your payment, JustAnswer is not required to provide you a refund for any reason and shall be entitled to retain the full amount of your payment as compensation for providing the Site access benefits related to your question.  

We work diligently to ensure all customers are happy with their experience on the site and hope that we have been able to adequately respond to your concerns. 
Respond to this report!
What's this?

#8 Consumer Comment

Still Waiting

AUTHOR: Freddy - (United States of America)

I'm not sure what to think, but I have been waiting over an hour for some information.  When I read elsewhere on the net that this might be a scam I had my credit cards stopped after waiting over an hour for help.  I would advise to never use this service.  
Respond to this report!
What's this?

#9 Consumer Comment

This is, indeed, a scam. Read the fine print carefully!

AUTHOR: Mantikor - (United States of America)

I was in a situation in a foreign country where I needed some medical advice but was not able to easily see a doctor.  JustAnswer popped up as I searched the internet.  Needing to know whether or not my case was serious I went ahead and paid for an answer that was really pretty good.  It was somewhat generalized but what do you really expect when the doctor cannot examine you? So I have no real problem with the answer.  My problem is that now they have charged me the same price again and going back to the site I notice you must opt out of the automatic renewal each month.  That is stuck down in the fine print details. The service I received was worth the original amount I spent on it - it is NOT WORTH IT AGAIN. 

Respond to this report!
What's this?

#10 Consumer Comment

Try it..You'll like it!

AUTHOR: Joe Milner - (United States of America)

I like how this guy didnt fall for this scam!  He didn't use there services but now wants to discredit them! What a Piece of Work, this jerk is.

I did use their services, after I called a local Attorney and he wanted a 2,000 retainer for a case he couldn't possibly even win!  Thank God for these guys at Justanswer they saved me a ton of money and the Attorney who I did hire used exactly what Justanswer told me to use.
Had I not contacted them and if we used the original idea my lawyer had to file the petition it would have been blown out of Court the first hearing.

I was a little apprehensive about this company also,  but although they want your credit card info they do not run it until you approve the answer they gave you!
I mean come on who is that confident in thier services that they don't even charge you if you don't like thier answer...try that with any other lawyer.

Thank you Justanswer!
I would gladly recommend you to anyone, and have!
Joe Milner
Respond to this report!
What's this?

#11 UPDATE Employee

Customer support response

AUTHOR: Adam-JAhelp - (United States of America)


I am sorry to hear that you were unhappy with your experience on the site. My name is Adam and I work for JA, I would like to reach out to you to address some of the issues that addressed in your post.

There are indeed a lot of free sites on the internet, however, as you have discovered, JA is not one of them. The difference between JA and other free sites is that if you post a Medical or Legal question on our site, the responding Expert is always a Doctor or Lawyer who has had their credentials independently verified.

As you also pointed out in your post, in reference to the Terms of Service. We have a %100 satisfaction gurantee and your deposit is always fully refundable if you are not happy with the response from the Expert.

You can reach us anytime using the Contact Us link on the help page on our site if you have any further questions or concerns.



Respond to this report!
What's this?

#12 Consumer Comment

JustAnswer.com Another Thing To Watch For!

AUTHOR: Ashley - (United States of America)

Another one you have to look out for, which has happened to me. I signed up to ask a question with my email address. I asked a Question, paid for it. Then 2 month's later from looking at my bank statement, noticed they've been taking 18.00 ($28) out of my bank each month for some subscription ? Anyway, I did not sign upto this so I went back to the site & tried to login with my details, it would not let me, username or password incorrect. So not only have the signed me up without my permission, they have deleted my details from their database so that I no longer have access to the account.

I emailed them telling them I would expect a full refund as I did not sign up to this etc. No reply.

This has been 4 month's now they've been charging me, that's 72 ($113) that they've conned out of me. So I emailed them again.. no reply. Does anyone actually know what I can do about this ?

Glasgow, Scotland
Respond to this report!
What's this?

#13 Consumer Comment

I'm not sure if there are complications should you accept...

AUTHOR: NK360 - (United States of America)

    I just tried it, didn't like the answer, felt uneasy about having that money on hold, and deleted my account by contacting customer service, and within about 3-5 minutes, I had the question taken down, and my money back. If anything, we as the consumers are the ones that can kind of get a free ride from them by putting the cash on hold, asking the question, getting an answer that we may actually like, and then just closing the account afterwards (noooooo I'm not saying go ahead and do that). Like the title states, however, I'm not sure if there are complications after accepting an answer, because I just didn't accept (probably for the best, because one option I did notice was that you could refer a friend to be an expert...possibly meaning you don't need a professional background?...no thanks...no thanks.)
Respond to this report!
What's this?

#14 Consumer Comment

I Reada the Terms of Service before accepting my question.

AUTHOR: Taken - (United States of America)

So I read the terms before of service before accepting my question.  I only accepted one question though the have been hounding me that I have an answer to accept for the question that expanded on my first question.

Anyways I did not accept any answer past the first one but did pay $38 for the complete answer I received. 

I was satisfied with the answer and felt the person did need to be paid for their answer.  I however did not want to pay for a subscription.

I understood that they wanted the deposit but I did not understand that if I did not like the answer I would have to request a refund for the money I deposited and it could take 30 days or longer to get my money back.  They really need to explain that better because it is the first step in getting your question answered.

Well I thought I approached this logically and informed and I tried cancelling before the next month.  I received a response bnack that I needed to do it by support ticket on the website and would receive an answer back within 1 - 2 hours (which never happended) so I went back to the terms of service and took this line from it: 

If you wish to terminate your service, you may do so by furnishing us with written notice of your decision. Your notification must be sent via e-mail to info@justanswer.com. Cancellations will be effective within 7 business days. All debts and fees must be paid before cancellation can take effect. Termination of your account does not affect your liability or obligations under the Terms.

I have done so and I still have not received a response to my termination request.

I advise anyone who wishes to use this site...BUYER BEWARE!  If you can afford it go to a real lawyer and if not expect to hand them about $100 or so and your time and energy.

You can always go to Legal aid in your city if you can't afford the lawyer...try not to use this site it is built to take customers on an unsuspecting ride.

No matter how good the intentions are of the actual experts Just Answer.com owners are not honest!  I did not leave feedback because they ask for it before the transaction is complete and that made me leary becasue how can I say anything goo when I havene't found the outcome yet.

Be honest and tell people exactly what is going to happen because there are people out there that would use the service knowing what was going to happen.  As long as I know exactly what it will cost me I would have still used the service but now that I have found out they will continue to charge me for a service I want nothing to do with, it makes me very angry.

I am working on having my husband build a website strictly devoted to helping people to see Justanswer.com for what it really is doing while sending their clients to more reputable avenues.

I am also working with my credit card company to stop Just Answer from future charges which is disheartening becuase I cancelled the service as their terms of service requires.

Don't Use Justanswer.com you will regret it.


Respond to this report!
What's this?

#15 General Comment

Experts Are Falling by the Wayside

AUTHOR: Sleepy - (USA)

I am an expert at justanswer.com, and yes it is not free.  I only got 50% of the pay from a question, but 80% of the pay from a tip.  So those of you that use it, always pay low then add a large bonus if you truly want to pay the expert.

I am an expert in my field, and that is easily verified.  I have done a great job, but the pay was not all that great for the work involved...but I enjoyed it...in fact I have gotten the customers choice award and had 100% satisfaction.

JustAnswer then got the idea to use a third party firm to verify their experts in order to make themselves look more legit.  They chose Lexis Nexis who was known to loose identities of people in the past (just google Lexis Nexis breach), then required the expert to pay for it and get their money back via 100% pay until it was paid off.  Not bad except for the required trust of Lexis Nexis with my SSN and birth date.  I requested another method of verification and lost my ability to answer questions since I refused to give my information to Lexis Nexis.

The Lexis Nexis verification is a joke, they could not even verify people worked for large companies for the ones that took the chance with their personal information, and it has caused many of the good experts to just plain leave JustAnswer.  Some that are left I know for certain are not experts, not even good amateurs...their verification consists of minimal checks that mean nothing, now some experts are still available at just answer...but its a crap shoot at best.  What you have left is people who do not have the brains to check out Lexis Nexis before they give away their identities, do not want to have them calling their place of employment to do a check, or those who really don't care because they have nothing to loose if you got their identity in the first place.

I now help out of the free sites as I did before I got into the just answer gig.

Respond to this report!
What's this?

#16 Consumer Comment

JustAnswer is NOT a scam!

AUTHOR: Doc - (U.S.A.)

I have used JustAnswer, most recently, just yesterday, and if you read the explanation they give you, the deposit is only that...a deposit. If you don't like the answer they give you, you don't have to accept it, and the person that gave the answer will not be paid. At that point, you have the option of either leaving the deposit in place, for future use, or requesting an automatic refund to your credit card or PayPal account, whichever you used.
The quality of responses I have received there have been excellent. The "experts" I have dealt with are, in fact, experts in their field.
To deprive yourself of a valuable service, by your own failure to read that which is put in front of you is your prerogative. But to call such a service a SCAM, without any basis for the accusation is irresponsible and in my opinion, unforgivable.
Respond to this report!
What's this?

#17 Consumer Comment

JustAnswer.com: Good experince, Solid answer, worth my $$

AUTHOR: Reddirt - (U.S.A.)

I just wanted to report that my experience w/ JustAnswer.com very positive & well worth the money.

I also want to point out that this kind of a website may bring out all the DumbQuestion.duh people out there which in turn can bring on criticism by all those living in the land of ComplainsAboutEverything.wah
Respond to this report!
What's this?

#18 Consumer Suggestion

JustAnswer.com is NOT a scam!

AUTHOR: B Swift - (U.S.A.)

The person that filed a complaint stating "JustAnswer.com" requires answers to be paid for in advance, was confused and clearly mistaken. They stated you have to pay for an answer before you get it... This is untrue. I use this site for many reasons, but primarily for accurate responses to pet issues which occur in late night hours or are would be too expensive to consult a vetrinary specialists. JUSTANSWER.COM IS A BLESSING!! Responses are timely, thorough, informed and legit. Most of all YOU DO NOT PAY IN ADVANCE FOR ANSWERS!!

Yes, there is no doubt that you can get answers to questions all over the internet for free, as you mentioned... but good luck on how accurate they'll be!! I wouldn't trust the life of my pet to just anyone that happens to answer. JustAnswer.com pre-qualifies their experts in advance and rejects applications of those not suitable or too inexpereinced. Other internet sites you could be talking to ANYONE and not have a clue whether the advice is actually legit or not. JA's experts respond only to those questions they're qualified to answer and because you're dealing with professionals in each industry, there is a fee, but the amount is voluntary and YOU HAVE TO ACCEPT THE ANSWER for your funds to be transferred to the expert from your account.

When you sign up, they ask that an account be established with a small deposit simply to verify your willingnes to pay as promised. THE FUNDS ARE HELD IN YOUR ACCOUNT as a deposit. When you post a question, YOU specify how much you are willing to pay for an answer (i.e. $9, $15, $30 or other amount) You choose according to what priority you want you want your question to be treated. I've NEVER gotten an unsatisfactory answer. As a matter of fact, EVERY SINGLE QUESTION I'VE POSTED HAS BEEN RESPONDED TO BY EXPERTS THAT GO ABOVE AND BEYOND TO ANSWER EVERY ASPECT OF MY SITUATION AND MORE!!! I've always gotten far more than my money's worth and am glad to pay a small fee to get that kind of service!


B Swift
Respond to this report!
What's this?

#19 Consumer Comment

I've used JustAnswer.com twice and plan to use it again. No scams - User gets to ok payment or not.

AUTHOR: Gina - (U.S.A.)

Users of JustAnswer.com are asked to provide a good faith deposit in the event that they find the answer they receive is valuable and worth paying for. The whole site is based on the premise that consumers will be fair and will contribute if they receive an answer that is helpful. I used the service twice - 2 emergency medical questions about cats - during the wee hours of the night. I chose a $9 "fee" once and $15 the other time. Neither fee was withdrawn from my account (via PayPal) until I accepted the answer. Both answers were well worth the fee I chose to pay.

The staff is comprised of experts that are matched to your concern. For run-of-the mill general info, there may be other services that do not ask for a fee, but this site is not run-of-the mill. If you really need an expert answer, it is a very valuable option. I cannot recommend it highly enough.
Respond to this report!
What's this?

#20 Consumer Comment

justanswers provided a quality and satisfactory response to my Audi question

AUTHOR: Frisbee - (U.S.A.)

Angela posted that Justanswers.com was a scam. I disagree. I found the site tonight because I wanted information regarding a major engine failure I just encountered. They offered up three on-line experts that could answer my question. I asked my question and it asked me to register. AS I expected. When I completed registration, it gave me 3 options of payment amount, 9, 15, or 30 dollars. I chose the 9 which I'm sure most people do. I went to dinner and found my answer when I returned home. The answer was more than I expected. Understandable and accurate. I appreciated the quick accurate response. They provided $2 off my next question, IF I would fill out a 4 question survey. Which I did, and I was awarded the $2 discount applied to my account. They also provided me a 10% discount for my next charges IF I would provide some referal emails of my friends or family... which I also did. The site did exactly what it said it would do. I will repost if something unusual happens with my American Express, otherwise it was as expected. I'm not sure who would expect to log on and feel that any question should be answered for free? Someone naive. Anyway, a $9 dollar question that the answer could help pay for the $11,400 dollar repair is well worth it. I got what I expected. And am THANKful a sit like justanswers.com is out there for us!! And the answer I recieved was on Valentines Day... those justanswers experts were answering my stupid questions on Valentines Day! Bet they are in the dog house... :)
Respond to this report!
What's this?

#21 Consumer Comment


AUTHOR: Jean - (Afghanistan)

I have used this service many times to talk to law professionals. The service has been top notch and would have cost me AT LEAST 10 times more if I had consulted a professional in some other way. The poster is wrong - they do not force you to pay. There was one time when I did not feel I had received an appropriate answer, and I just rejected it. I suspect that it is JUSTANSWER.COM that gets ripped off by the public, AND NOT THE OTHER WAY AROUND.

I highly recommend this service and have had communication with the owners, who definitely are professional and want to ensure satisfaction.
Respond to this report!
What's this?

#22 Consumer Comment

I completely disagree with this poster

AUTHOR: Jim - (U.S.A.)

While searching the internet late at night for a medical answer concerning our kitten, I found JustAnswer.com. Since our only other choice was to find an all-night emergency vet clinic, I was happy to deposit $30.00 to get connected with a professional. The advice we got worked perfectly and probably saved us $100 plus time and gas money.

IMO, this is an EXCELLENT website/company and they provide a valuable service. For that service and advice, they deserve (and the professionals they have on contract) deserve to be paid.

There is a lot of cheap or free advice on the web, take it for what it's worth!
Respond to this report!
What's this?

#23 Consumer Comment

Please Read the Terms and Conditions

AUTHOR: Going2sue - (U.S.A.)

I have not idea why you feel you have been "taken"

This is not a scam

You have experts who are paid only when customers look at the answer provided and then pay. The site acts like an Escrow Agent. You give them their money for them to hold. The expert answers. If you like it you pay. But for you it is better. You do not need to qualify why you dont spend the money.

You make no sense. It is clear you do not know how to read. Why do you think you needed to put a "VALUE PRICE" Was that a global market survey? Do you think the experts work for free.

The terms are clear, and I suggest you read Terms of Service more clearly. You are the type of person that gets "screwed over" by a credit card or insurance company because you dont know how to read.

Wake up.
Respond to this report!
What's this?

#24 UPDATE EX-employee responds


AUTHOR: Professor Of Medicine - (U.S.A.)

Are the complaints and rebuttals in this thread about JustAnswer.com (JA) facts or fiction? What is the reader to believe? Perhaps I can help.

On October 8, 2007, I refuted Ripoff Report 257861 using the screen name Professor of Medicine (http://www.ripoffreport.com/reports/0/257/RipOff0257861.htm). At that time, I was working to get rid of bogus health experts on JA. People who had no training and no certification in areas such as medicine and nursing. In effect I was the unofficial, unpaid, volunteer, quality assurance expert who wanted to make the JA health group the best on the Internet.

Shortly thereafter I, and others, began to see changes in JA management and operations that were detrimental to the work of the highly qualified experts who were trying to help people. The front line troops. Unfortunately, those who objected to those changes were either not heard or ignored. The ones who became louder, were banned from the site. Quoting from one of the earlier reports in this thread, We lost some good d**n experts because of that. Hammer's gone, the fellow that was adopting the kid is gone, one of the really good docs. A few others I can't think of off my head. People that had an opinion. Can't have no opinions on JA. He's right, and I might be that doc.

My complaints and suggestions were, at first, sent privately to Mr. Kurtzig. His lack of response led me to be frank and open in the experts lounge by naming names and calling a spade a spade. Mr. Kurtzig banned me from the lounge after I termed management as amateurish. I accepted that, intending to back off from quality assurance (for which I never was thanked) and to return to answering questions. If Mr. Kurtzig did not want to have the best health site on the web the decision is his. The hour was late when I received his message of my banning. I, then, used the internal messaging system to let the moderators, and several of the nurses on line, know that they would not see me in the lounge but I would still be available for consultation. I notified the moderators because they were accustomed to e-mailing me, during the night, for help with difficult health questions and those questions that needed immediate attention. No sooner did I send these messages that I received one from Mr.Kurtzig accusing me of, allegedly, spamming. Several experts had complained about receiving my informative message and I was banned from the site for two months.

It is interesting that all of the nurses who received that announcement denied complaining to Mr.Kurtzig. Most, of which, are still in contact with me. It is now generally known that management does read what are termed Personal (by dictionary definition, private) Messages. A fact that JA has denied for years.

I have not applied for reinstatement to JA. My goal was not to profit from answering questions but to assure that only qualified, certified experts answered health questions and that all the answers that I was able to read were true and accurate. Other questionable answers were called to my attention by good Experts who wanted another opinion about answers they thought were not accurate. We were cleaning house and working to improve the admissions evaluation procedure. Both came to an abrupt halt and people are now admitted to the health category without verification of claimed training and licensure. At one point, I had offered to verify credentials at no cost to Mr. Kurtzig. He never responded to my offer. Now, people have to challenge a suspect person and pay for verification of the others credentials. This just does not happen.

Mr. Kurtzig has the capacity to develop a site that, both, makes money for him and helps people in need. This is particularly true in health, pets, and legal, where a bad answer can have disastrous effects. He apparently has no desire to do so. It matters not that he says that JA is an entertainment site. That will not prevent an automobile accident or death from a brain tumor.

Although I do not have access to the site I receive daily e-mails, copies of lounge message threads and questions with bad answers. I probably know more about what is happening on the site that Mr. Kurtzig does. I do know that on a daily basis I hear from more experts than Mr. Kurtzig. Perhaps because people know that I am more receptive than he, and that I care for the common good.

Professor of Medicine
Respond to this report!
What's this?

#25 REBUTTAL Individual responds

justanswer.com: Quality staff and quality performance

AUTHOR: Professor Of Medicine - (U.S.A.)

I am not an employee of justanswer.com (JA), but there is no category listed above in which I fit. When my time from other duties permits, I provide answers to difficult medical question and am the unpaid volunteer quality assurance person for the Health category of JA.

I need not dispute Angela's statements beyond stating that some are in error.

Let me summarize my experiences and expertise that are brought to bear daily for JA. I am a retired medical school Professor of Medicine, Physiology, and Biophysics. Since my retirement from the medical school, I served first as Vice President for Academic Affairs and now as Provost of the Institute of Biomechanics where, at age 75 I still actively teach; the Institute is a not-for-profit teaching and research organization.

An expert in insurance, impairment, and disability medicine, I have identified 11 JA clients whom I believe qualify for Social Security disability and am guiding them through the process; there is no charge for this additional service beyond the sum elected by the client when submitting the original question.

Since I read the other expert's answer, I can vouch for the quality of JA's product.

Clients are asked to place a deposit in order to see the answer, but nobody needs to pay if not satisfied with the answer. And payment can be as low as $5.00 which is acceptable for those i financial duress although JA prefers a minimum of $9.00. Here Angela is in error about the suggested fees.

Many cases I have dealt with take days, even weeks of daily communication. One began in February and was not concluded until the end of April. The client paid $9.00.

Here are (verbatim) comments from clients. I include these feedback comments (with all their warts) that, are among the 99% positive feedbacks I have received. There are experts who have 100% positives.

"Excellent and knowlegeable Physcian. With forty years experience I would take his advise anytime. God Bless my dear Doctor and may you visit Ma sometime in the near future God Bless"

"he has given me more help then my own drs.had i not taken a chance on your site, i would not have met such a positive person, willing to go that extra mile to help people like me, i give him 10 out of 10"



This is the kind of feedback which JA experts receive.

JA charges because client fees are the only way it can pay the bills and maintain the site.

Does it seem as if we do not have the expertise needed to answer health questions?

Does it seem that JA is simply interested in the bottom line?

Quality does have a price.

All are invited to visit the site and draw their own conclusions.

Professor of Medicine
Respond to this report!
What's this?

#26 REBUTTAL Owner of company

Just Answer is focused on quality and service.

AUTHOR: Justanswer - (U.S.A.)

Hi Angela,

I'm sorry that you don't feel great about your experience at Just Answer. We do not claim to give free answers anywhere on our site. As you noted, there are lots of sites that are free out there and we're not one of them. If you have a simple question that doesn't require a sophisticated answer, then I encourage you to use the free sites. But, you should give us a try when you have an important question. We have Doctors, Lawyers, Veterinarians, Accountants, Mechanics, etc... answering questions on our site. You will not find Experts with these kinds of credentials and experience on the free sites. We are focused on quality and service at Just Answer. If you want to diagnose yourself on the internet for free, or handle legal issues without a Legal Expert, that's your prerogative.

We have been in business since 2003 and have over a million happy customers.

Here are comments by one customer in our "Home Improvement" section today (10/8/2007):
"Wow! I appreciate this info. so much. I've spent at least 5 hours on the internet trying to find anything that sounded like what I had. The answers you found seem to be right on target. I'm really glad to know that the insects involved don't automatically kill the tree as this is a big old oak that would leave a major hole in my yard. Now I'll go to work on finding out what are the best things locally I can do to decrease their numbers. Thanks again!!!"

And, here are lots more testimonials from satisfied (and paying) customers:

Again, I'm sorry that you did not see the value in it, but many, many people do.

Andy Kurtzig
CEO, Just Answer
Respond to this report!
What's this?
Report & Rebuttal
Respond to this report!
What's this?
Also a victim?
What's this?
Repair Your Reputation!
What's this?