Report: #1041809

Complaint Review:

  • Submitted: Mon, April 08, 2013
  • Updated: Fri, April 19, 2013
  • Reported By: George — Garland Texas

    United States of America

Show customers why they should trust your business over your competitors...

I made an order online for a tablet computer from and paid for rush handling.  Later I received a DHL tracking number and DHL indicated that they had only received shipping information but no package yet.  The next day there was still no tracking update so I checked order status which showed as in packing.  I opened online chat and rep told me that despite paying the rush order fee that it would likely take at least 48 hours anyway.  I stated that since a day had already passed and DHL still had no package that the order would not be rush processed.  The rep told me that if I would wait until the order processed and sent an email complaint that they would issue a credit for half of the fee.  I also noted that at that point the item could no longer be ordered as it now showed to be out of stock.  The rep assured me that since my card was charged, the tracking number was sent and the item was in packing status that I should rest assured that the order would eventually ship.  I told her that was unacceptable.  They were simply offering to refund half of what they stole.  I told her that this was clearly a fraud and that they should automatically refund the rush charge if they failed to provide the service. I also stated that should they fail to do so that i would file a complaint with the relevant authorities.  The chat session then dropped.  A few minutes later I received an email stating that had canceled the order as they were out of stock.  I then checked online and found the same model of the item but with a higher price.  The following Monday I received an email stating that they would refund the money in 3-5 days. 

This is a company that operates a rush order fee fraud and then retaliates if a customer complains.  They wait until the transaction has cleared and get to hold the money for a week before they refund it.  This has probably netted them a pretty penny.  Caveat emptor - Just because they're big doesn't mean they are honest or ethical.  The California AG should shut this place down.
Is this Ripoff Report About you?
Ripoff Report A business' first line of defense on the Internet.
If your business is willing to make a commitment to customer satisfaction Click here now..

Does your business have a bad reputation? Fix it the right way. Corporate Advocacy Program™

Set the record straight: Arbitration Program

SEO Reputation Management at its best!

This report was posted on Ripoff Report on 04/08/2013 11:21 PM and is a permanent record located here: The posting time indicated is Arizona local time. Arizona does not observe daylight savings so the post time may be Mountain or Pacific depending on the time of year. Ripoff Report has an exclusive license to this report. It may not be copied without the written permission of Ripoff Report. READ: Foreign websites steal our content

Search for additional reports

If you would like to see more Rip-off Reports on this company/individual, search here:

Report & Rebuttal
Respond to this report!
Also a victim?
Repair Your Reputation!

Updates & Rebuttals


#1 UPDATE Employee

Please contact Newegg

AUTHOR: Newegg Support - ()

Dear Valued Customer,

Thank you for your feedback. We apologize for the inconvenience that you encountered with your order.

We would be glad to look further into this issue for you. Please send us an email to and we will do everything we can to resolve this issue to your satisfaction.

Thank you again for your time, and we look forward to hearing from you soon.
Respond to this report!

#2 Author of original report

Read Complaints before Filing Rebittal

AUTHOR: clist - ()

Thanks for explaining how the rush shipping rip-off works.  You certainly did not bother giving out that information when you offered the rush processing.  Your assertion that you did so in an email following the taking of the money as well now asking that I give you an email to insure that you return it only underlines that this is a scam.  How about a system that returns it automatically when you fail to deliver?  Whoa.  Give up the fraud?  No way.  We designed it this way.

No thanks to your cynical offer.  Read my complaint carefully and you will note that YOU cancelled the order.  You refunded the full amount but only after you cancelled the order in retalliation and then held the funds for a week before refunding.  Amazing how fast these companies can take your money and how many obstacles they set up to giving it back after they had their way with you.

At a bare minimum your should offer to re-instate the order AND refund the rush fee. Pay close attention folks.  It's a rip-off by design and in practice.  Remember -

Respond to this report!

#3 REBUTTAL Owner of company

Addendum to previous rebuttal

AUTHOR: Newegg Support - ()

Hello again.   We also would like for you to send us your order information to so we can make absolutely certain that you have been credited for any rush order processing fee that was previously charged.

Thank you again for your time, and we look forward to hearing from you soon.
Respond to this report!

#4 UPDATE Employee

Rush Processing

AUTHOR: Newegg Support - ()

Hello and thank you for bringing this matter to Newegg's attention.  We sincerely apologize for any inconvenience or hardship this matter may have caused. 

In regards to rush processing, the information we provide regarding how this works is included in an email to you with your order information which states that we will do everything we can do attempt to have the order processed in an expedited manner. 

Also, we are always more than happy to refund the cost of the rush processing if it doesn't go through.  We apologize if this was not communicated to you clearly.  If you have any further questions, we are always more than happy to look further into a matter for you.   You can contact us at 1-800-390-1119 to get a hold of our customer service department. 

Thank you again for letting us know that you had an issue, and I hope this information is helpful. if not, again, please feel free to reach out to us as we are always more than happy to assist!
Respond to this report!
Ripoff Report Recommends
ZipBooks Accounting Software

Advertisers above have met our
strict standards for business conduct.