Report: #478130

Complaint Review: NewPro

  • Submitted: Mon, August 10, 2009
  • Updated: Thu, December 17, 2009
  • Reported By: Nashua Massachusetts
  • NewPro
    26 Cedar St
    Woburn, Massachusetts

NewPro Gutters/Windows rips off senior citizens, then lies about their 100% Guarantee Woburn Massachusetts

*UPDATE Employee: A response from Newpro

Show customers why they should trust your business over your competitors...

NewPro is proud to target senior citizens, on fixed incomes, to have extremely expensive and unnecessary work done to their homes. Given the chance, their management will even justify their actions. Using deceptive sales tactics and increasing pressure (i.e. sign this contract today and I'll save you $600), once the contract is signed there is no longer a "100% Customer Satisfaction Guarantee or your money back." The weasels at NewPro will then reveal lots of fine print and clauses that don't appear on the guarantee itself or even on their own website.

A 77 year old, retired teacher on a very fixed income, made the mistake of answering a knock on her door from NewPro. After hearing their sale's pitch, she wanted to do some comparison shopping, as she had no idea how much rain gutters should cost. But with the reduction of $600 for immediate signing, soon they had the signed contract and within 1 1/2 hours, had installed a mere 54 feet of gutters and two downspouts. Cost at the retail level at Home Depot: $460 in materials. Amount charged by NewPro: $3600.00.

WARNING: Don't let NewPro near your premises.
While the installation crew should have been installing the gutters, they were rummaging through the garage and roll-away tool boxes kept inside. Once done, they left the driveway littered with sharp shards of sheet metal, screws and debris from their work. For $3600.00, you'd think they would at least clean up the job site. But the final straw: the gutters don't even work. They are slanted away from the downspouts and all the gutters leak! But NewPro has offered to fix these improperly installed gutters, but now the victim is smart enough to keep anyone from NewPro off her property.
Stay away from these scumbags!

Nashua, Massachusetts
Is this Ripoff Report About you?
Ripoff Report A business' first line of defense on the Internet.
If your business is willing to make a commitment to customer satisfaction Click here now..

Does your business have a bad reputation? Fix it the right way. Corporate Advocacy Program™

Set the record straight: Arbitration Program

SEO Reputation Management at its best!

This report was posted on Ripoff Report on 08/10/2009 12:21 PM and is a permanent record located here: The posting time indicated is Arizona local time. Arizona does not observe daylight savings so the post time may be Mountain or Pacific depending on the time of year. Ripoff Report has an exclusive license to this report. It may not be copied without the written permission of Ripoff Report. READ: Foreign websites steal our content

Search for additional reports

If you would like to see more Rip-off Reports on this company/individual, search here:

Report & Rebuttal
Respond to this report!
Also a victim?
Repair Your Reputation!

Updates & Rebuttals


#1 UPDATE Employee

A response from Newpro

AUTHOR: Newpro - (USA)

In the case of this customer complaint, a NEWPRO canvasser did indeed knock on the door of the woman the author of the report is referring tohis mother. NEWPRO does not single out any one demographic in its canvassing efforts, so the age of the woman had absolutely nothing to do with our efforts to sell. The canvasser inquired about the customers interest in the said product. It was the customers willingness to have our representative come to her house two days later which precipitated the customer entering a contract.


On the day of the product demonstration, which was two days after the canvasser first approached the customer and only one day after a NEWPRO representative called the customer to verify if she still had interest, the customer willingly signed a contract for $3,633 to have gutter protection, new gutters, and downspouts installed on her home. At the time this contract was initiated, she was also given a copy of the federal right of rescission which she signed and acknowledged receipt of clearly stating she had (3) business days to cancel this transaction.


9 Days after the contract was signed, we sent a measure technician to the customers home and at no point did she indicate to him that she wished to cancel the transaction. Eight (8) days later, on the date of the customers scheduled installation, NEWPROs installation crew installed the system per the contract.


It is not our policy at NEWPRO to void a contract simply because the customer and her son feel they paid too much money. The author of this report priced materials at Home DepotI can assure you that in no way reflects NEWPROs costs for a completely different type of Gutter Protection system. Id also like to stress that the customer had four opportunities to cancel this installation prior to us dispatching the crew to do the work and failed to do so on each and every occasion.


Additionally, the author demanded we refund 100% of the price and remove our own product.


As far as the proclaimed deceptive sales tactics goes, like many other products, such as gas and oil, we cant guarantee that our prices will remain the same throughout the year.  We always try to give our customer the best possible price with any discounts that are allowed on the day that we visit.


The customer & the author of this report were both told that NEWPRO will dispatch a service technician at her convenience to adjust the system to operate in the proper manner. It was the customers refusal to allow us to do this that has resulted in the poor performance.


Regarding the money back guarantee, the canvasser did in no way offer the customer a money back guarantee on the gutter protection system. Our money back guarantee is in reference to NEWPROs windows and has various stipulations that are not applicable to gutter protection.


Respond to this report!
Ripoff Report Recommends
ZipBooks Accounting Software

Advertisers above have met our
strict standards for business conduct.