• Report: #822304
Complaint Review:

Petrie Auto Sales

  • Submitted: Fri, January 13, 2012
  • Updated: Tue, March 05, 2013

  • Reported By: can''t stand cheats — springtown Texas United States of America
Petrie Auto Sales
Petrie Auto Sale's 1924 JACKSBORO HWY. Fort Worth, Texas United States of America

Petrie Auto Sales Petrie Storage Scam Artist Fort Worth, Texas

*General Comment: Repo Scam

*UPDATE Employee: Petrie Auto Sales does everything possible to keep customers in their vehicles.

*General Comment: Petrie Auto Sales is a Rip Off

*Author of original report: Signed documents

*Consumer Comment: Confused

REBUTTAL BOX™ | Respond to this Report! | Consumer Comment

What's this?
Corporate Advocacy Program

Show customers why they should trust your business over your competitors...

What's this?
What's this?
Is this
Ripoff Report
About you?
Ripoff Report
A business' first
line of defense
on the Internet.
If your business is
willing to make a
commitment to
customer satisfaction
Click here now..

Does your business have a bad reputation?
Fix it the right way.
Corporate Advocacy Program™

Set the record straight:
Arbitration Program

SEO Reputation Management at its best!

Petrie Auto sale's 
What can I say , nothing good that is for sure.
on or around April 2011 my wife and I went to Petrie Auto Sales.
We were looking for a family sized SUV . The Salesman was very polite, said all the right thing made us feel like we were important. Asked us what kind of down payment we had .I explained that we brought in a 2001 totally customized Red and Black RS Chevy Camaro. The transmission was out so that dropped the value . Still the car was well worth 3000. 
The dealership offered me a fair trade in considering it was a dealership ,,of a 1000 so the deal begins. We were told that there were only two SUV that we could choose from, I was very interested in the one veh shown  it was a 2005 Ford Expedition. very clean kinda high millage , but not so bad. we traded the Camaro , plus 500 dollars for the Ford.. [continued below]....
Now the fun begins. 

 we were given a paper tag and was told that the reg and tags would be in in around 3 weeks . 2 months later we recv the tags and reg.  I had started calling around the three week mark and then on for two month , never go a true answer to why it took so long. our payment were on time up till I want to say Aug.I got a week delq. I called and spoke to a lady Esmeralda, I had made arrangements to make my payment that following Tues. of 500 dollars. that following Tues I did call in and made a 500 dollars payment , by debit card. 

 now back on track.Oct rolls around and we get a call from  Esmeralda stating that we were two weeks behind.My wife exspalined to  Esmeralda that there was no way in any shape or form that we were behind , needless to say my wife got pretty steamed about this , in her defense I feel like she had the rights to considering we have the funds record showing the money taken out. in Aug. So we make our reg normal bi weekly payment. nothing said from this point on. Dec rolls around .

 The Ford begins to have issue ,, I call and advise  Esmeralda that the Ford is knocking and I need it looked at , and that I would make a payment on the Tues coming up. Agreements were made. Take mind this was on a Fri afternoon ,  NOW check this out. That following Sat a Repo truck show up at my home around 9:30 at night , My neighbor come banging on my door telling me someone is stealing my Ford. I run outside stand in front of the repo truck , refusing to move . the driver threatens to run me over , I tell him ,( get to running runner) By this time I am HOT , I demanded to know who he was and why is he hook up to my Ford, the driver refused to proved any information . I has a person go in my home and retrieve my shotgun , I then pointed the gun in the face of the driver and demanded to see papers or drop the truck ., the driver said that he could get out because the emergency brake would lock , I told him he had 3 second to step out and provide paper or I was going to start blowing tires out of his truck.

 Needless to say the driver handed me papers, WOW this is a repo order, not sighed just telling you to pick up my Ford, I told him I have spoken to  Esmeralda at Petrie and she new I was coming in and going to bring the truck to the shop to be repaired , I said , don't you like I would have cleaned out the truck if I had any thought that it was being reposed. The driver said look her is the pay hist.  I grabbed both papers pass the gun off to another person once I realized what was going on . Wow there it was , a  500 dollar payment made in Aug , the 18 by debit /credit/ back off the same day and reapplied on the 20th for 250 . NOW IM PISSED .. not only did I make the payments , 250 dollars was stolen from me by the inside office of Petrie, I had requested for the pay hist so many time with out ever getting one , now I know why. The Sherrif show up along with two more ,I explained to them what had happened that I pull a gun on the driver , The sherrif explained to the driver , that it would be in his best intrest noo to sneak up on peple property at all . I could have shot him legally. The repo wasnt legally signed , and has to be summited in front of a judge in our county for a replevine . I went ahead and allowed the driver to take the Ford , considering it was going to the dealer shop anyway , I called Petrie that following Mon, I tried to speak to Rick I believe his name is the owner , was hung up on , I spoke to  Esmeralda she stated , Yes I know that you made arrangements but the owner wanted the truck . I said look  Esmeralda I have a copy of the pay hist and repo order , you set it out for repo , and the payments was back out and miss posted , she said ill transfer you , Mike got on the phone was really tacky to me like I was a piece of crap cursed me out and told me to F my self hung up.

 I have tried to get the truck back , I didn't rev a letter until almost 25 days latter , in the letter it said that I had 14 day to try the veh back or it would be sold, If the difference of the balance wasn't owed wasnt meet than I would owe it to Petrie , if the veh sales for more that I would go to me UNLESS there are added fee that needed to be handle do to the recover of the veh.

I didn't mean to write a book , But come on , the people of Petrie , the owner is a crook . and I now for a fact someone in the office is , 

Just remember PETRIE I finally got the pay hist you refused to provide. 
I wish there was some one that would help me shut this company down.

This report was posted on Ripoff Report on 01/13/2012 12:37 PM and is a permanent record located here: http://www.ripoffreport.com/reports/petrie-auto-sales/fort-worth-texas-76114/petrie-auto-sales-petrie-storage-scam-artist-fort-worth-texas-822304. The posting time indicated is Arizona local time. Arizona does not observe daylight savings so the post time may be Mountain or Pacific depending on the time of year.

Ripoff Report has an exclusive license to this report. It may not be copied without the written permission of Ripoff Report. READ: Foreign websites steal our content

Click Here to read other Ripoff Reports on Petrie Auto Sales

Search for additional reports

If you would like to see more Rip-off Reports on this company/individual, search here:

Search Tips
Report & Rebuttal
Respond to this report!
What's this?
Also a victim?
What's this?
Repair Your Reputation!
What's this?
1Author 4Consumer 0Employee/Owner
Updates & Rebuttals

#1 General Comment

Repo Scam

AUTHOR: Joyce Paul - ()

 I helped my God Son buy a car from Peitre Auto Sales in Fort Worth TX.  He got the dates mixed up on when his first payment was due.  He put $500 down on the car which was all they asked for.  Joe, the saleman did not explain to him that he was asking $900 down and had to make t two payments as first and second payments of $210 and then after that the payment would be $160 per month.  Joe was very nice when he was trying to sell the car.  Because of the mix-up, his payment was actually due on 08-09-14.  Without calling or warning, they repossed the car after 7 days on 08-16-14.  When I asked Joe why they didn't call, Joe informed us that "they don't call, you are grown and it's your responsiblity".  So much for being nice.  That's fine, we all make mistakes.  We could have easily made the $210 payment without any problems.  It cost $350 for their own wrecker to tow the car, plus the $210 payment ($560).  Therefore, this is a rip off by stating that you do everything you can to keep a customer in their car.  Calling would have been the first step.  They prey on people with no credit or bad credit.  You are hoping that an individual cannot pay these fees because you are struggling anyway.  That way, Peitre Auto Sales can keep the car and resale it for the same price.  I will never recommend Peitre Auto Sales to anyone.  When we asked the customer service personell why they didn't call, she stated, "we normally call."  I then gave her my number to call in case my God Son forgets.  No friends here, just scam artists. 

Respond to this report!
What's this?

#2 UPDATE Employee

Petrie Auto Sales does everything possible to keep customers in their vehicles.

AUTHOR: Petrie Auto Sales - ()

  Petrie Auto Sales works hard to help customers keep their vehicles.  Contrary to popular belief, repossesions do not make us more money than letting the customer keep the car.  It causes us to lose customers number one, costs time, and costs a lot of money to repossess a car and try to sell it again.  If the customer did in fact have their payment receipts, which we offer all of our customers, then they would have had no problem with their payment verification.   The vehicle license plates, that the customer mentioned, is filed through the State of Texas, and there are delays that are not in our control.  

The normal procedure requires the buyer to come into our store to sign for their title and license plates, if the customer does not do this in a timely manner then it will cause a delay and in some circumstances we sign for the customer per the power of attorney that they sign.  Signing by power of attorney can cause delays as well.  I assure anyone that this customer was contacted numerous times to handle this as soon as possible, just like we do for all of our customers.   Keep in mind that your "paper plates" which are your temporary tags, are good for 60 days or about 2 months.  We try to contact our customers by mail, by phone, and even by email in some circumstances to give them notice regarding their vehicle being repossessed, if the customer's contact information is not correct or up to date then they would not receive this notice in a timely manner. 

We offer every customer in person, by phone, by mail, and by email to update their contact information with us.  As far as the repossession is concerned, we offer, in certain situations, payment options to help the customer keep their vehicle.  If these payment arrangements are not made as promised, then we are left with having to reposses the vehicle much to our dismay.  The customer signed a form stating that they would not hinder our repossession drivers when attempting a repossession, which is a law by the way.  The customer also admits to committing a crime as well, by pulling a gun on our driver, who is obviously there to do his job.  A repossession order does not require a judge to sign off on it either, the State of Texas makes it pretty clear, if you don't pay then the lien holder has every right to repossess the vehicle. 

All of our vehicles are sold as is and we even offer "in house" warranty plans as well.  If the customer did not purchase the warranty plan then it is up to the customer to have their own mechanic fix the vehicle.  In certain situations, we will allow the customer to have their vehicle worked on in our shop at their expense, if it will keep the customer in their vehicle.  We treat all of our customers with respect and strive to maintain a positive relationship.  We can get anyone, I mean anyone, approved for an auto loan when everyone else says no.  Our customers are the only reason we are able to be in business, so why would we and how could we treat customers as the complaint says and still be in business?

Respond to this report!
What's this?

#3 General Comment

Petrie Auto Sales is a Rip Off

AUTHOR: another ripped off customer - (United States of America)

I completely agree.  This company should be shut down.  They take advantage of people and kick them while they are down.  Esmarelda is a problem and the number one scammer.  I am sure she sleeps well though because she obviously does not have a conscience.
Respond to this report!
What's this?

#4 Author of original report

Signed documents

AUTHOR: can''t stand cheats - (United States of America)

The repo order was signed by the dealership.
The repo order in wise county was to be signed by a judge per the county sheriff .
It wasn't signed by a judge . The repo agent entered a gated lock property . Not lock for the repo , for our live stock. The payment wasn't behind as stated . Proof is in the pay host sheet again the I recv from the repo agent.
Funny thing is about 2 months ago I saw the suv back on their lot . Funny how I was told it was going to be auditioned off.
Last but not least . I didn't recv any doc to be able to retrieve the truck back until approx 25 day later .
I would love to provide the pay host showing were I paid 450 dollars to Petrie , payment paid by my visa debit card . Reversed off and reapplied 2 days layer for only 225 leaving us 2 weeks behind .
Thanks for your response . Please feel free to ask anymore question . I'd you'd like I can provide docs . To prove my complaint
Respond to this report!
What's this?

#5 Consumer Comment


AUTHOR: Anonymous - (United States of America)

When i was reading your report you stated that the repo letter was not signed and then towards the you stated it was sign SO which was it?
Respond to this report!
What's this?
Report & Rebuttal
Respond to this report!
What's this?
Also a victim?
What's this?
Repair Your Reputation!
What's this?