Report: #1043831

Complaint Review: Rocket Lawyer

  • Submitted: Tue, April 16, 2013
  • Updated: Wed, April 17, 2013
  • Reported By: tonydorf — Colorado Springs Colorado
  • Rocket Lawyer

    United States of America

Rocket Lawyer They were misleading about setting up a subscription when I downloaded one very simple form. I got absolutely no value from them. Internet

*Author of original report: Issue was fixed years ago

*UPDATE Employee: Rocket Lawyer Would Like To Make Things Right

*UPDATE Employee: Rocket Lawyer Response

Show customers why they should trust your business over your competitors...

I found a simple house sale form online and signed up with rocket lawyer to download it and they charged me $40/month for three months until I found the charge on my credit card. I obviously need to pay more attention to my card statements but they provide almost no value for what they charge. A very good business model if you can work it out. They prey on the fact that most of us have very little knowledge of the law and it's special language (why can't lawyers talk like human beings?). I'm sure that legally they can show they've done nothing wrong and I do have to be more careful, but their business is clearly more interested in making money because someone forgot to cancel a service than providing something useful. So be careful, read the small print and assume they're more interested in screwing you over than helping in any way.
Is this Ripoff Report About you?
Ripoff Report A business' first line of defense on the Internet.
If your business is willing to make a commitment to customer satisfaction Click here now..

Does your business have a bad reputation? Fix it the right way. Corporate Advocacy Program™

Set the record straight: Arbitration Program

SEO Reputation Management at its best!

This report was posted on Ripoff Report on 04/16/2013 07:28 PM and is a permanent record located here: The posting time indicated is Arizona local time. Arizona does not observe daylight savings so the post time may be Mountain or Pacific depending on the time of year. Ripoff Report has an exclusive license to this report. It may not be copied without the written permission of Ripoff Report. READ: Foreign websites steal our content

Search for additional reports

If you would like to see more Rip-off Reports on this company/individual, search here:

Report & Rebuttal
Respond to this report!
Also a victim?
Repair Your Reputation!

Updates & Rebuttals


#1 Author of original report

Issue was fixed years ago

AUTHOR: - ()

I'm sorry I was unable to remove the report. Rocket Lawyer took care of this as soon as they were aware of the problem. I should have gone to them before filing a public complaint. In my (weak) defense, I had taken an ambien that night. I've had to explain too many emails that seemed clever when I was typing them only to realize the next morning I was rambling incoherently. So, long story short, I'm happy with how RL handled my issue and I apologize for flaming them before I asked them to cancel my the membership I incurred for not cancelling before the trial period expired.


Respond to this report!

#2 UPDATE Employee

Rocket Lawyer Would Like To Make Things Right

AUTHOR: Rocket Lawyer - (USA)

Hi Tony,

We are so sorry to hear that you've had this kind of experience with us. If you' have any questions or concerns at this time, please email us at with your email address that you had used to sign up with and the full name on the account. 

Respond to this report!

#3 UPDATE Employee

Rocket Lawyer Response

AUTHOR: jwhelan - ()


 My name is John Whelan and I run the customer service department at Rocket Lawyer. I'm sorry for any confusion or frustration you had while using our site. It is not our intent to force you to read fine print, as a matter of fact, we try to be upfront about our products and what we offer.

We provide a completely free document with no credit card required or a 7 day free trial of our full offering which converts to a monthly membership at the conclusion of the trial. That full offering includes a consultation with an attorney and 40% off their hourly rates, in addition to unlimited document usage.

It sounds as though you signed up for the free trial and did not intend to keep it beyond the 7 days. Please contact me or our customer service team directly so that we can assist you with a refund for the unintended charges. You can reach our customer service department 6am-6pm PT M-F at 877-881-0947. You can also contact me directly at 415-683-0426.

John Whelan
VP of Customer Service

Respond to this report!
Ripoff Report Recommends
ZipBooks Accounting Software

Advertisers above have met our
strict standards for business conduct.