• Report: #647081
Complaint Review:


  • Submitted: Sun, October 03, 2010
  • Updated: Sun, October 03, 2010

  • Reported By: truthbetold — vidalia Georgia United States of America
7201 metro blvd minneapolis, Minnesota United States of America

Smartstyles regis corp., smartstyles poorly treated, targeted, mis managed minneapolis, Minnesota

REBUTTAL BOX™ | Respond to this Report! | Consumer Comment

What's this?
Corporate Advocacy Program

Show customers why they should trust your business over your competitors...

What's this?
What's this?
Is this
Ripoff Report
About you?
Ripoff Report
A business' first
line of defense
on the Internet.
If your business is
willing to make a
commitment to
customer satisfaction
Click here now..

Does your business have a bad reputation?
Fix it the right way.
Corporate Advocacy Program™

Set the record straight:
Arbitration Program

SEO Reputation Management at its best!

I was an employee at Smartstyle for just under 3yrs, when I first started I thought it to be a good company to work for, they had benefits, and perks and it was a pleasant enviroment. As time went on we had 3 different district managers in under 6 mos. and a load of different stylist I have worked with atleast 20 or more. Education, temperment, or qualification was not a factor in becoming a store manager. I truly enjoyed working there at first because it was a way to build your clientele and the locations was great.

About 2 years ago I was going to have to leave cause my family situation had changed but the district manager at the time and the old manager along with the person who was becoming the new manager decided to work with me and we came up with something that would work. Every one at smartstyles works on saturday and that wasn't a problem I just was unable to close on saturday because I didn't have any help and was going through a seperation and the childrens father was not in the state anymore. They told me I could work saturday mornings as I could find a daycare that was open to watch them and that I would close every friday night which was fine and I lowered my hours so that I would not be at work between the hours of 2-4, mon.-fri. This agreement was upheld 4 almost 2 years until recently. When I was scheduled to work a saturday from 3-9pm, on the 18 of sept.

On the 12th, I called the store manager and asked her if she had made a mistake with the scheduling and she said that everyone has to close on a saturday, which was not in the p&p manual it just said you had to work. She said the schedule is staying the same. I called the District manager (January Barlow) and I talked to her and explained what the agreement was and she said she would talk to the manager and then she would get back to me. She said if that was the agreement she would not over ride it. I never heard from her again and the schedule did not change. I contacted the prior manager cause she was there when the agreement was made and she remembered.

Later that week on the 16th, I called the DM again and no response still. I tried again on the 17th, she was out of town and still no response. I talked to my manager again and she said that she had talked to her and she said it is staying the way it is, also the SM had recollection of the not working between the hours of 2 and 4 but none of the saturday thing. I got all the schedules that were made for a yr and a half and on none of them did I close on a saturday and she said to me it just happened like that.

That day one of my co-workers called me and said they would work for me that saturday evening and I could just open for her that morning. I calle the SM and the DM to see if that was ok and I didn't get a response from the DM so the store manager told us to go ahead. That day the DM called while we were at work and said we are not allowed to switch shifts with one another (which was never the case if you found someone to swap with you were able as long as the shifts were covered.)

On the 20th, when I came into work the SM said I have to tell you something but you are going to be mad. She said "January called and told me to make sure I put you on the schedule to work when I make the next schedule on saturday" and I asked her she just called to pin point me and she said yes. I was scheduled to work on saturday the 2nd. She was constantly asking me are you coming to work and I told her I would do my best to make it. on Monday I called the R/M Jacqueline Clemens and left her a message (trying to follow the chain of command), I never got a response from her either.

When at work the SM said January's husband is going through an operation and she doesn't have time to deal with this type of stuff, and she has plenty of applicants that are willing to work with out complaining. on thursday the 30th they fired 2 girls, and hired another on friday morning at 9 am.

The one person that I thought would be able to watch my children, her grandfather died and she was out of town. I called in on saturday October 2nd and I was told to bring my key. I was essentially fired for calling in, although I do not have excessive call ins, I have probably missed work a total of about 4 times in the 3 yrs I worked for them. I was told children are not allowed in the shop although my SM had brought her infant and 6 yr old there when she didn't have a babysitter. I have a disabled child and a 8 yr old I can not leave them unattended. I was told that you can't change the schedule after it was submitted however, the store manager changed her schedule on sept.30, because her fiance' had to work on saturday morning and she didn't have a babysitter for her children until the evening. My excuse for calling in was not valid they say but 2 mos. ago, a co-worker called in because he boyfriends, daughter ( not relation) was having a baby that day and she wanted to be there. and that was her excuse. and the list goes on.

Something needs to be done about the unfair treatment of there employees, I feel as though I was targetted and I dnt know the reasoning. How can you follow the chain of command if no one is returning your calls? I have proof that the agreement was upheld even though for some reason no one seems to recall it but the old supervisor. I feel like I have been ripped off. I work to take care of me and my family and it was taken away not because of my quality of work, or because of my lack of ability to perform my job, not even that I had excessive customer complaints or absences but because I called into work.

This report was posted on Ripoff Report on 10/03/2010 07:43 AM and is a permanent record located here: http://www.ripoffreport.com/reports/smartstyles/minneapolis-minnesota-55439/smartstyles-regis-corp-smartstyles-poorly-treated-targeted-mis-managed-minneapolis-m-647081. The posting time indicated is Arizona local time. Arizona does not observe daylight savings so the post time may be Mountain or Pacific depending on the time of year.

Ripoff Report has an exclusive license to this report. It may not be copied without the written permission of Ripoff Report. READ: Foreign websites steal our content

Click Here to read other Ripoff Reports on Smartstyles

Search for additional reports

If you would like to see more Rip-off Reports on this company/individual, search here:

Search Tips
Report & Rebuttal
Respond to this report!
What's this?
Also a victim?
What's this?
Repair Your Reputation!
What's this?