Report: #827092

Complaint Review: Sonic Electronix

  • Submitted: Mon, January 23, 2012
  • Updated: Mon, January 30, 2012
  • Reported By: rdmj — Illinois United States of America
  • Sonic Electronix
    28340 ave Crocker suite 202
    Internet, California
    United States of America

Show customers why they should trust your business over your competitors...

I purchased the auto remote start from Sonic Electronic on 12/09/11. My order number is 1349099 and 1349004 which include items Viper 4704V ($209.99) and Xpresskit PKALL ($39.99) for my Acura 2010 RDX model.

I had it installed professionally in my car but when everything was done it was not working the technician tried everything even called Sonic Tech Support; it turned out the unit was defective.  Nothing was working.   In the end the installer had un-install everything because product has defects in it and return back to me.

I called Sonic and they provided me RMA # 85040.  I have sent all items back via UPS as directed by Sonic I did not know that Sonic only provided me one item RMA number which was for Xpresskit PKALL ($39.99) but in reality there was two items.   I found that out when I called 1/11/2012 to ensure my credit was processed before I reorder another one.  Until then Sonic never called me to ask me what happened with this order, I also explained this to Andrew who then told me to wait a few days in the mean time, I can reorder another one. 

So I did. I ordered the 5904 $364.98.   They provided me the wrong labels, with incorrect weight on it.  During this conversation Andrew put notes in the system to link another RMA # together to ensure full credit will be issued RMA # 86748 Viper 4704V ($209.99). Now its 1/17/2012 Andrew tells me that they did not receive everything, which is impossible to believe if they claim not all parts were returned how could they have even processed a  credit? I also spoke to a Justin who said he cant do anything about it, that I should have my car checked out make sure its not there. 

On this particular day I wasted an entire day waiting for on the phone to speak to someone, and went to the dealer and they assured me nothing is in the car.  When Ive been saying all along everything was returned.  I left a message for Justin, Andrew and Nathans secretary and as of today 11/20/2012 I have not received any call back, Great customer service.  I also told Justin, if this is how the company scams customers and not provide credit then that is unethical.  Still have not heard from anyone.  I would not install this new unit until my credit is processed, if this not cleared up then I will definitely file a complaint to BBB, as well consumer complaint board.  This is not how you treat customers.

I would like my full credit from Sonic for amount of $249.98. Attach files are documents for proof of purchase and RMA #S for credit from Sonic. I have highlighted in yellow in items what I purchase and RMA #S for credit from Sonic.

After a string of emails..they claim the did not receive the "brain" behind the unit....When everything was sent back...What doesn't make any sense is that i purchased another unit....that should be common sense...but nope they have been so difficult and the CEO of the company implies that a customer is a liar...I have all the emails to show how he speaks to a customer.  Unprofessional....straight out refuses to issue a credit to me for $209.....I refuse to buy or keep any of there products...I hope this message gets around and people turn away from them.....I already know 2 continuing Auto installers who refuse to buy from them based on the emails i have received.
Is this Ripoff Report About you?
Ripoff Report A business' first line of defense on the Internet.
If your business is willing to make a commitment to customer satisfaction Click here now..

Does your business have a bad reputation? Fix it the right way. Corporate Advocacy Program™

Set the record straight: Arbitration Program

SEO Reputation Management at its best!

This report was posted on Ripoff Report on 01/23/2012 11:13 AM and is a permanent record located here: The posting time indicated is Arizona local time. Arizona does not observe daylight savings so the post time may be Mountain or Pacific depending on the time of year. Ripoff Report has an exclusive license to this report. It may not be copied without the written permission of Ripoff Report. READ: Foreign websites steal our content

Search for additional reports

If you would like to see more Rip-off Reports on this company/individual, search here:

Report & Rebuttal
Respond to this report!
Also a victim?
Repair Your Reputation!

Updates & Rebuttals


#1 UPDATE Employee

Packaging Discrepency Caused Issue- Sonic Corrected

AUTHOR: Sonic Electronix Management - (United States of America)

On behalf of our CEO, we apologized for the situation that developed. When we received your RMA, there were two separate products returned to our facility. When your installer packaged everything for return, he mistakenly placed the brain of your Viper alarm in the other products box; causing us to believe that part was never received.

We sent that product back to our vendor: when we checked our inventory to confirm the brain wasn't in our possession, nothing was ever located. When you reached out to our CEO in relation to this issue, he stood behind our Store Policy because, at the time, it appeared that part was missing.

We recently received that product back from our vendor, at which point, we realized the brain of your alarm was returned within that merchandise. We immediately contacted you to relay the good news; as well, processed your full refund from our account.

It was never our intention for you to experience this inconvenience; we admit our Warranty Department should have caught that discrepancy prior to returning anything to our vendor. We've addressed this issue internally to prevent future occurrences. Additionally, this problem has now been properly reconciled. We sincerely appreciate your cooperation.
Respond to this report!

#2 Author of original report

How Nice the customer was right after all....

AUTHOR: rdmj - (United States of America)

Getting a phone call from SONIC today to tell me i the part was there........and a full credit will be issued.....apologized for the issue...that came from a customer service lead...

If only the company had stood by the customer....but NOPE all I received was accusations of being dishonest and keeping a the CEO.... who questioned my level of integrity....

He has said too much...and his claim to stand by his team a thorough investigation .....before you deny a customer and accuse them....

You would think the CEO would at least apologize....Nope....nothing....he's too good for himself.
Respond to this report!

#3 UPDATE Employee

Alarm Returned Incomplete: Warranty Voided

AUTHOR: Sonic Electronix Management - (United States of America)

We realize you experienced a defect with your Viper alarm; however, we approved your RMA for return as we had no problem covering you under our 30 day Return Policy. We also understand there were issues processing your RMA; this arose from the fact your merchandise was ordered on two separate transactions, and was a mere oversight by our Customer Commitment Representative you were dealing with. However, that situation was addressed and we were able to get everything processed correctly.

Upon inspection of your merchandise, we noticed the key part (the brain) of your Viper 4704V was missing. We would not have denied your warranty if your merchandise was received complete. You requested a full refund without returning that crucial part; thats like asking to return a vehicle to a car dealer without an engine. We cant receive any credit from our vendor with an incomplete product. On our Store Policy we state returns are voided if the products arent sent back complete.

*Copy of Return Policy*
Return Exceptions

Although our return policy is quite flexible on most items, there are some exceptions, as written below:

- Any product not purchased from
- Any product without a valid, readable serial number, including but not limited to products with missing, damaged, altered, or otherwise unreadable serial number
- Any product that is returned without all original packaging and accessories, including the retail box, manuals, cables, and all other items originally included with the product

Weve done everything possible to work through your issues; however, given the circumstances, we ask you to understand our position as a business. You stated three people were in possession of your alarm, including yourself, prior to sending anything back to our facility; meaning, those other individuals should be suspect having kept your brain, not us. We've verified your contents thoroughly and the main part of your alarm was missing from your packaging. If you can locate the brain for us, we'd be willing to accept your desired resolution on this matter.

Weve tried to work through your frustration by compensating you (per our CEO) with our system cost on your purchased replacement; however, we cant process a refund as requested without first receiving the brain. You've now insisted on returning your second alarm for a full refund; that request will be honored so long as everything is received, complete. We appreciate your understanding.
Respond to this report!
Ripoff Report Recommends
ZipBooks Accounting Software

Advertisers above have met our
strict standards for business conduct.