Read First:
Purpose: Ramblings to warn about Monster.com, Industry Magazine, TCTalent and Connections between the three.
This is less a complaint than a kind of think about it conspiracy theory. I've seen a lot of hype on this site about TCT and have worked as a scout for them (a whole 3 days) so I know a little about the companies tactics.
(Been behind the scenes on "Open Call", there for the corporate call where they hype you to look for people that look like they can afford the pay the $800, and the pyschological warfare training.) There is no question in my mind they are there to screw people out of their money. Period.
Contacting reportFraud@Monster.com does no good (but you should complain anyway to get their canned response) see if this looks familiar:
"Thank you for bringing this situation to our attention. Please know that our Sales Representatives do their best in screening potential Monster customers in regards to making sure they meet our Terms of Service.
We are in the process of investigating the business practices of TCTalent. As soon as we uncover information that will prove a violation to the Monster Terms of Use, we will take the appropriate action. We appreciate your concern and encourage you to continue alerting us of potential posting issues.
We apologize for the inconvenience."
Also, their legal department has a similar response:
"Thank you for bringing this situation to our attention. Please know that our Sales Representatives do their best in screening potential Monster customers in regards to making sure they meet our Terms of Service. We are in the process of investigating the business practices of TCTalent. As soon as we uncover information that will prove a violation to the Monster Terms of Use, we will take the appropriate action. We appreciate your concern and encourage you to continue alerting us of potential posting issues."
They sound the same. They are from TWO DIFFERENT PEOPLE.
They've known for a while. Further, I followed the connection between TCT and Industry Magazine. When I was a scout, the Office Director told us about Industry Magazine, stating that it was what they used to get a feel for the "Industry". I did ask why they use it... If it was related to TCT. She said no. I've recently went to IndustryMagazine's site. They have no links to the TCT site, nor does TCT link back to them. Why make it SEEM like they are not affiliated? Create credibility.
Basically they are creating their own world, trying to make the companies look unrelated to trick you into believing their BS. They are purposely deceiving you with smoke and mirrors. (they aren't doing the best job; the TCT server has IndustryMagazine's modeling application on their domain.
http://www.tctalent.com/industrymagazine/Default.cfm)
Good hackers cover their tracks. I want to slap these people for making the rest of us look bad. :)
I did a who-is(www.whois.org) on IndustryMagazine.com as well, here are the results:
"
Registrant:
industrymagazine.com
16650 Royal Palm Dr
Groveland, FL 34736-9084
US
Domain Name: INDUSTRYMAGAZINE.COM
Administrative Contact, Technical Contact, Zone Contact:
industrymagazine.com
AA Defrawy
16650 Royal Palm Dr
Groveland, FL 34736-9084
US
4072535000
neil@optionstalent.com
Domain created on 03-May-2002
Domain expires on 03-May-2003
Last updated on 27-Oct-2002
"
Well according to SEC filing, AA Defrawy is a paid consultant to TCT. Further, the 8-K was filed 07-OCT-2002, look at the last update for the domain registration. AA Defrawy is still in charge there. Yeah, that means they ARE NOT independent. No mistake. And this company is run by a known con-artist. And they even used an optionstalent.com address. How quaint.
My Questions:
1) Why do these people try and make Industry Magazine look independent from TCT when they obviously aren't?
2) Why are they still working with KNOWN con-artists if they are such a legit company?
Is Monster.com in on this too? Well, they do post en-Mass for both IndustryMagazine and Transcontinental, and even on the same day! (See the 500+ postings for yourself) [BTW, to Monster's credit: I've seen people get jobs from Montser.com first hand. In fact, I've had SEVERAL reputable interviews from them (but still suckered by the "Dream Job"); but I'm convinced they have a $$$ deal with them. So they are only mostly bad, just be careful with them. They truly are... MONSTERS]
I'm not one for conspiracy theories, but this one has me thinking. Gotta love the internet. :)
CLICK HERE to see an e-mail from the former scout-victim to Monster.com and their response. Plus a letter from Rip-off Report.com to Monster.com Mike
Monmouth, Oregon