Report: #1388478

Complaint Review: Amethyst Garden Inn - Savannah Georgia

  • Submitted:
  • Updated:
  • Reported By: nikki e — san diego California USA
  • Amethyst Garden Inn 402 E Gaston Savannah, Georgia USA

Amethyst Garden Inn Want to be scammed out of $600? Then this is the place for you... Savannah Georgia

*REBUTTAL Owner of company: Customer did not want to pay for services...

Show customers why they should trust your business over your competitors...

Is this
Report about YOU
listed on other sites?
Those sites steal
Ripoff Report's
We can get those
removed for you!
Find out more here.
How to fix
Ripoff Report
If your business is
willing to make a
commitment to
customer satisfaction
Click here now..

Unfortunately, this place has gone downhill tremendously since the last review in 2015--I'm guessing it's due to new ownership.

Upon arrival at 12 noon, my best friend Teryn, her 11 year old daughter, and myself were greeted by the front desk clerk for check in. She informed us that they had assigned us a smaller room than we would probably want, and so she offered the larger room for an additional $30/night. Upon seeing the larger room, we agreed and paid for the entire weekend's stay upfront ($600+). We then proceeded to spend the next 9 hours siteseeing and touring Savannah. 

At 9 pm, Teryn received a call from the front desk clerk saying the owner had come by and said that he doesn't allow 3 people in the room we checked into, and our only options were to pay for a second room (at $300/night) or pack up and go elsewhere. She apologized profusely, saying the owner wouldn't budge, but that she would refund us for the inconvenience. We could actually hear him next to her telling her what to say to us, but refused to talk with us directly. After an unsuccessful 1.5 hrs on the phone with Expedia (who we'd booked the room through) saying that because Amethyst House collected our money directly their hands were tied, we headed back to collect our things and move to another hotel. 

Once there, the owner refused to refund our money saying we'd already checked in, but he would be "generous" and allow us to all stay in the room for an additional $90/night. We of course declined, instead insisting on the refund we'd been promised. Even though the front desk clerk was upfront with the owner and admitted she'd checked us all into the room earlier and then offered a refund when the owner told her that was a mistake, he still adamantly refused any solution that didn't involve him collection more money. We had to pack up at midnight with an 11 year old and go to another hotel, all the while he's still refusing to refund us our money even though we didn't stay even one night. 

There are SO many beautiful places to stay in Savannah and so many wonderful people who will treat you with kindness and welcome you to this great city--don't waste your time or money on this fraudster who will scam you out of $600 and then kick you out into the streets.


This report was posted on Ripoff Report on 07/26/2017 08:17 PM and is a permanent record located here: https://www.ripoffreport.com/reports/amethyst-garden-inn/savannah-georgia-31401/amethyst-garden-inn-want-to-be-scammed-out-of-600-then-this-is-the-place-for-you-sav-1388478. The posting time indicated is Arizona local time. Arizona does not observe daylight savings so the post time may be Mountain or Pacific depending on the time of year. Ripoff Report has an exclusive license to this report. It may not be copied without the written permission of Ripoff Report. READ: Foreign websites steal our content

Search for additional reports

If you would like to see more Rip-off Reports on this company/individual, search here:

Report & Rebuttal
Respond to this report!
What's this?
Also a victim?
What's this?
Repair Your Reputation!
What's this?

Updates & Rebuttals


#1 REBUTTAL Owner of company

Customer did not want to pay for services...

AUTHOR: Innkeeper - (USA)

POSTED: Wednesday, October 04, 2017
Owner at Amethyst Garden, responded to this review 
The guest in this review booked directly with Expedia for a specific room, “Lantana”, for 2 people. The website provides detailed information about the room, and its maximum occupancy, which for “Lantana” is 2 people.

The guest arrived with a party of 3 and a dog. (The Inn’s policy does not allow for pets). 

Considering the circumstances, as a courtesy, we offered multiple possible solutions, including a free upgrade to a larger room, and that she pay the nominal additional fee for the third guest. We even offered a one-time exception for the dog.

The guest called Expedia; she was told that her reservation was for 2 people, and that she would have to pay for the additional person. At this point, the guest refused the options and demanded a full refund. She then called the police. The police interviewed all parties, reviewed the reservation records, and ultimately escorted the guests out of our inn. 

This was an unfortunate incident, and we regret that we were not able to work out a mutually acceptable solution.

Respond to this report!
What's this?

Advertisers above have met our
strict standards for business conduct.

What do hackers,
questionable attorneys and
fake court orders have in common?
...Dishonest Reputation Management Investigates Reputation Repair
Free speech rights compromised

Segment Now