NOTICE! Those consumers located in the European Union, effective 5/24/2018 due to the GDPR, citizens of any GDPR applicable country or anyone sitting in, or operating from, such country are prohibited from using this site. Read our Terms of Service to learn more. By using our site you understand and agree to these terms. Don't blame us... blame Europe! This site uses cookies to store information on your computer which may track your browsing behavior on our site and provide you with ads or other offers that may be relevant to you. Some are essential to make our site work; others help us improve the user experience. Read our Privacy Policy to learn more.

Report: #155326

Complaint Review: Kanes Furniture - Melbourne Florida

  • Submitted: Mon, August 29, 2005
  • Updated: Wed, September 05, 2007
  • Reported By: Rockledge Florida
  • Kanes Furniture
    3401 West New Haven Avenue
    Melbourne, Florida

Kanes Furniture does not honor their warranty when you get defective furniture, ripoff Melbourne Florida

*UPDATE Employee: Warranties are not open ended

*UPDATE Employee: Kane's Furniture Does Honor Warranties

Show customers why they should trust your business over your competitors...

Is this
Ripoff Report
About you?
Ripoff Report
A business' first
line of defense
on the Internet.
If your business is
willing to make a
commitment to
customer satisfaction
Click here now..
On December of 2004 I purchased an "Italian Leather" reclining sofa and matching chair. Within weeks the sofa was leaning on both ends and you could not sit in it comfortably. I called Kanes and told them of the problem and they agreed to send a "technician" out.

It took almost a month to have them show up and the tech said the sofa was defective. He tried tightening up the bolts underneath and when he was done agreed to report back to Kanes about the defect to try and find a remedy.

Over a month went by and I contacted them. They said the Technician did not report the defect. I informed them of the real story and they said they would talk with him and get back with me.

They called and left a voice message that stated "These sofas are known to have this problem and the only thing they would do is come out and place Shims under the sofa to try and straighten it up. I sent them a certified letter stating that their "temporary" fix does not fall under a repair for a "defective frame and I demanded a suitable replacement or a "permenant" repair.

I never heard back from them again. The one year warranty will run out this December and they know it. Also the "Italian Leather" sofa and chair turned out to be "Chinese" not "Italian made".

Rockledge, Florida

This report was posted on Ripoff Report on 08/29/2005 09:33 AM and is a permanent record located here: The posting time indicated is Arizona local time. Arizona does not observe daylight savings so the post time may be Mountain or Pacific depending on the time of year. Ripoff Report has an exclusive license to this report. It may not be copied without the written permission of Ripoff Report. READ: Foreign websites steal our content

Search for additional reports

If you would like to see more Rip-off Reports on this company/individual, search here:

Report & Rebuttal
Respond to this report!
Also a victim?
Repair Your Reputation!

Updates & Rebuttals


#1 UPDATE Employee

Warranties are not open ended

AUTHOR: Steve - (U.S.A.)

Alot of the time consumers only listen to half of what is said. I believe that all the gentleman heard was warranty and did not listen to anything else or, read the warranty card/paperwork that was given to him.

I know several that have used the warranties and have not had a problem.
Respond to this report!

#2 UPDATE Employee

Kane's Furniture Does Honor Warranties

AUTHOR: Shannon - (U.S.A.)

Consumer purchased a reclining sofa and matching chair on November 22, 2004. The pieces were successfully delivered to the residence on December 2, 2004. On May 17, 2005 our Melbourne store location received a call from the customer reporting that the reclining sofa was leaning on one side and they were concerned that the frame was broken. A service technician was dispatched to the residence on June 4, 2005 and according to his report the reclining sofa was not broken or defective. He reported that on the reclining sofa there are separate sections that are all bolted to a flat rectangular frame. Each section moves independently from other sections. It is normal for the end sections to move back & forth at the top if you grab it and move it from side to side because they are only connected at the bottom. Our service technician inspected the bolts to all the sections to ensure they were tight and confirmed that the end sections were not leaning. He also reported that if you were to look at the gaps in the back of the sectional it would have the appearance that the end sections were leaning when they really were not.

Our records indicate that on June 22, 2004 our Assistance Store Manager at the time had placed a call to the customer informing them that no manufacturing defects were detected. We offered the customer a second service appointment as a courtesy to add shims to the reclining sofa to lessen the appearance of leaning. The customer did not schedule any appointments at this point in time. We did not hear back from the customer until our Melbourne Store Manager received a certified letter on September 2, 2005. Our records indicate that she had left a voice message at the phone number we had on record on September 1st and then again on September 2, 2005. Approximately on September 12, 2005 we still had not received a response from the consumer regarding this matter. Therefore, our Melbourne Store Manager had sent them a letter requesting a return call to further discuss resolution options. We received a return call from the customer on September 20, 2005 and we offered to have a second service technician visit the home to adjust the sofa to their satisfaction and if the merchandise couldn't be adjusted we would allow the customer the opportunity to return the pieces and reselect something else.

A different service technician was dispatched to the residence on September 23, 2005. According to his report he was unable to adjust the reclining sofa to the customer's satisfaction therefore the customer was able to reselect something else. On September 29, 2005 the customer returned to our Melbourne store location and purchased different merchandise which was delivered to the residence on October 22, 2005 & November 1, 2005. Thank you for allowing me the opportunity to state our position regarding this matter.

Kindest Regards,
Shannon L. McCarty
Corporate Customer Service Manager
Respond to this report!