• Report: #984830

Complaint Review: Widget Love widgetlove.com

Thank You

Read how Ripoff Report saves consumers millions.

  • Submitted: Thu, December 20, 2012
  • Updated: Sat, December 22, 2012

  • Reported By: Matthew — Windermere Florida United States of America
Widget Love widgetlove.com
210 Shields Court, Markham, ON L3R 8V2 Internet United States of America

Widget Love widgetlove.com widgetlove Shady shipping practices, requiring additional costs while holding product hostage Internet

*UPDATE Employee: Hi There!

*Author of original report: I have talked multiple times with their CS

*UPDATE Employee: Delivery

What's this?
What's this?
What's this?
Is this
Ripoff Report
About you?
Ripoff Report
A business' first
line of defense
on the Internet.
If your business is
willing to make a
commitment to
customer satisfaction
Click here now..

Does your business have a bad reputation?
Fix it the right way.
Corporate Advocacy Program™

SEO Reputation Management at its best!

I ordered a product from this shady company through eversave, a site like living social.  The product I ordered took forever to arrive, over 6 weeks, well it never really did arrive, instead we received a notice in our mail (two notices on same day, which made us think it was two different products) saying this product would be returned to sender if we did not sign for it by a specific date (actually gave a specific date). Mind you, this product was rather cheap and it was quite odd that they would  put a signature required on such a cheap product, most of these types of products end up in my mailbox or at my front door with little to no issues.  Well we returned to a post office to sign this papar we needed to 5 days prior to the date specified, and the Post office indicated it was requested to be returned early and they apologized profusely to us.  We became upset with the Post Office, and they apologized that the form they left us was not honored, but that it was between me and the merchant.  I asked who the merchant was, and they said the merchant refused to indicate on the shipment any contact information of the company and that all they could tell me was that it was sent from China.  That doesnt tell me much, especially when this company is not a chinese company but a company running a racket from Canada instead, so we  had to wait and see what product we ordered did not arrive.  

When  I contacted them, the scam went into practice.  They said they are not responsible for carrier issues, and that they would be happy to send it out again for an additional fee of course, and with no guarantee they would not pull the same  exact scam on that shipment.  I tried appealing to them that their carrier returned to sender almost a week earlier than specified and that I have never in my life had a product require a pickup of the product at a postoffice (it was small enough to fit into an envelope) and be required to do it within a single day or else it would be returned. After reading enough about this company, I have seen that there are cases against them  for this exact issue and  they must make their money simply by fleecing people for shipping costs, beware of this company, the deal they sell you through eversave, groupon, living social, etc, is simply a means at fleecing you and never delivering your product. Buyer Beware.

This report was posted on Ripoff Report on 12/20/2012 07:33 AM and is a permanent record located here: http://www.ripoffreport.com/r/Widget-Love-widgetlovecom/internet/Widget-Love-widgetlovecom-widgetlove-Shady-shipping-practices-requiring-additional-costs-984830. The posting time indicated is Arizona local time. Arizona does not observe daylight savings so the post time may be Mountain or Pacific depending on the time of year.

Ripoff Report has an exclusive license to this report. It may not be copied without the written permission of Ripoff Report.

Click Here to read other Ripoff Reports on Widget Love widgetlove.com

Search for additional reports

If you would like to see more Rip-off Reports on this company/individual, search here:

Search Tips
Report & Rebuttal
Respond to this report!
What's this?
Also a victim?
What's this?
Repair Your Reputation!
What's this?
1Author 2Consumer 0Employee/Owner
Updates & Rebuttals

#1 UPDATE Employee

Hi There!

AUTHOR: Widget Love Customer Service - (United States of America)

Dear valued Widget Love customer,

We are sorry to hear that your post office did not hold your parcel for the 30 days they were supposed to before returning it to us. We can assure you that we have absolutely no control over whether a parcel is returned to us early or not, and we do sympathize with any inconveniences the missed delivery of your order may have caused.

Given the circumstances of the situation, we would be more than happy to re-evaluate your case. Please contact us directly at the below link and one of our customer service representatives will be happy to assist you immediately.


Alternatively, you may also contact us on our toll-free number at 1-800-990-6771 from Monday to Friday between 10 AM and 6 PM.

Thank you and have a great day!
Respond to this report!
What's this?

#2 Author of original report

I have talked multiple times with their CS

AUTHOR: Matthew - (United States of America)

I have provided my order number and have had multiple conversations with your customer service department, who tells me they track and implement this method because their customers can not be trusted to not simply lie and say they did not receive a cheap $10 product from you.  I find it amazing that a company employs this method on such cheap or low cost items, yet for some reason every other similarly priced product I have ordered from other reputable companies does not require such security to receive, or in my case not receive and have it yanked back before I can claim it. You ask for my order number, yet you seem to know it if you are assuring me my product was sent out.  This company is a suspect company, plain and simple, and only writes on this site in a way that saves face but is basically, cold and unresponsive in direct communications, telling me they can track it was sent to me, yet for some reason they have no tracking on why it was returned to sender within 3 days of delivery, taking over 6 weeks to deliver the product (a seemingly reasonable amount of time for them to provide my product I paid in full for, but the same company that believed they were allowed months to deliver a $10 product from china, believes we should only have 3 days to claim it, whether you are out of town or not, a timeframe the Post Office said was inappropriate and apologized to me profusely but said it was between me and the unnamed merchant that they could not identify, other than the product was delivered from China, that narrows things down and doesnt that throw up flags that they dont even list their name on the package or tracked mail).  You keep falling back on, the delivery carrier we used is not the responsibility of your company, yet, you charged me greatly for a half an ounce package for shipping & handling, then you recalled the product early from my post office, earlier than it was supposed to be recalled according to the post office, something they also apologized for. You got the product back and now you insist I pay additional for this product simply because you sent it, immediately had it returned to sender and then assure me if I just pay you an additional shipping & handling fee, making the shipping for a product I ordered over 2 months ago costing more than the actual product itself, that we can do the same dance all over.  I expect a full refund, including the S&H or the product to be resent under the original payment for S&H, otherwise I see the aggravation you have caused me for something I paid you in full for, as a simple attempt to get an additional fee until the person becomes so frustrated they give up, and you get cost of product, multiple S&H and also do not actually ever have to provide the product.
Respond to this report!
What's this?

#3 UPDATE Employee


AUTHOR: Widget Love - (Canada)

Hi there,

Thanks for the inquiry. Are are not USPS and we do not make USPS Policy. International orders with tracking require signature. This is the policy. We shipped your products, they arrived and you did not claim them. We offered to resend the product to you.

If you can provide us with your voucher number or ORDER ID, we will be able to further assist, but please do understand that we did ship our your product, with tracking!

Please provide your ORDER ID so we can further investigate and help you with resolution as we want to see ALL of our customers happy.

Respond to this report!
What's this?
Report & Rebuttal
Respond to this report!
What's this?
Also a victim?
What's this?
Repair Your Reputation!
What's this?

Advertisers above have met our
strict standards for business conduct.