• Report: #903575

Complaint Review: Empire Today

  • Submitted: Wed, June 27, 2012
  • Updated: Thu, June 28, 2012

  • Reported By: mattieis — Ormond Beach Florida United States of America
Empire Today
Internet United States of America

Empire Today Empire today rips off yet another Customer Internet

*Author of original report: Emire Today

*UPDATE Employee: ET Customer Support

*Author of original report: Empire today - Part 2

*UPDATE Employee: ET Customer Support

What's this?
What's this?
What's this?
Is this
Ripoff Report
About you?
Ripoff Report
A business' first
line of defense
on the Internet.
If your business is
willing to make a
commitment to
customer satisfaction
Click here now..

Does your business have a bad reputation?
Fix it the right way.
Corporate Advocacy Program™

SEO Reputation Management at its best!

I just want to let EVERYONE know of my beyond horrible experience with Empire today. I have been a long time repeat Customer who has spent $40-$50k with them over the last 5 years between my two homes. Everything in our first house went perfect, couldn't have asked for more. Our second home, trouble from day one. We stuck with them though because they always stood behind their product and gave discounts when appropriate (like when it took almost 1 year to get our Plantation Shutters), so we continued. Just recently they installed hardwood floor in our family room and master bedroom, at first we were very pleased, so please in fact we had them come back and install hardwood in our guest room and our upstairs hallway. Well after a week or so, I guess once all the glue was completely dry we started to find boards that were loose, hollow underneath (no glue) and that our floor was very wavy. After numerous calls and complaints they finally sent a "supervisor" to see the work. he agreed it was not done properly and they agreed to tear up almost 600 square feet and replace at their expense. Since they stood behind their product we decided to extend the hardwood into our front foyer. When the crew finally showed to start the tear out they sent two people (2), only 2 to tear up 600 feet and reinstall that plus another 200 (ish) square feet which had tile that had to be torn up as before they could start. The installers were great, very apologetic and worked long hours to try to please us and get the job done as quickly as possible. After day one very little progress was made as this is such a chore to tear up hardwood, worse then tile and much more of a mess. I called and was told we would receive a credit and that also an additional crew would be sent the following day to speed things up. Well, needless to say, no additional people were sent to speed things up nor was a credit issued. Saturday morning comes, tile is torn up for the additional work and theinstallers come and say we must pay before they could start to lay down the wood. So I call the office and am told that even though 4 days had passed since I was told I would receive a credit, no one had decided how much it would be and that I needed to pay the full price or the installers would be sent home. Well, I got pissed, rightfully so, I believe because no one had done their job and decided on how much the credit would be. So after multiple arguments with multiple "managers" and me becoming increasingly angry I lost my temper and yelled/screamed, ranted and raved to no avail. FINALLY after all these calls, the original "manager" who had said the floor would need to be redone calls me. I of course have a major attitude and he asked why. I replied that you know exactly why and that if you had returned one of my phone calls over the last 5 days he would know exactly what was going on. I lost it with him and hung up on him. He later called me back and we argued, then he called me a Pr^&ck. So the call process began again and I called everyday trying to speak with a manager who could actually make a decision on what my credit should be and to complain that I was called a Pr^&ck by their "Manager" i was told everyday from the 13th of June until the 25th of June that the General Manager would be calling me, he never did until finally yesterday after another Manager (who was very nice named matthew) called and spoke with me first. He then said the GM would call me in the afternoon and he basically had been waiting to call me since my last encounter with the excellent customer service people tuned out so well. So yesterday afternoon Brian, the "GM" calls me and plays (maybe he wasn't playing) *** and tells me he has been unaware of the issues and that he did not know he was supposed to call me, even though no less then 5 managers at this point had specifically said he would be calling me. So after he calls and (plays ***) he informs me he has to call me the following day (today) which to my amazement, he did. he informs me he will give me a whopping credit of $50/day x 3 which I told him was not ok, he replied that is his standard credit. So my question is, is a Consumer who has spent $40-$50k and still has a pending order of $4700 a "standard" client or should I receive something more? For 4 days we were unable to use our home due to the mess created by fixing their poor installation, our Children had to stay in their rooms, our cats and dogs had to be locked up in a bedroom and I was unable to work from the dust and jackhammers being used (I work from home). I asked for a $500 credit which I believe to be more then fair, especially from a Consumer who has spent so much money with them and repeatedly used them and sent them business,. He then said that was all he was going to do and asked if he could help with anything else;. I then exchanged a few unkind words and hung up|. Moral of the story - DON'T use EMPIRE TODAY, they could careless about their Clients and will scr#$w you the second they get the chance?. They are a horrible company and a Nationwide Company who could careless about you, the Consumers that keep them in business;. Our installers had told me it had been nearly two weeks since the last job they had from Empire Today, you would think in a slow market they would take that extra step to make you happy?. THEY WON'T, they could CARELESS about you and only want to get your money, then churn and burn you!. This is the reason that the excellent Management that used to be there when I had work done from them previously are all gone!. Spend your hard earned money on a local small "Mom and Pop" company who actually cares about you, your satisfaction and your business. 

This report was posted on Ripoff Report on 06/27/2012 08:43 AM and is a permanent record located here: http://www.ripoffreport.com/r/Empire-Today/internet/Empire-Today-Empire-today-rips-off-yet-another-Customer-Internet-903575. The posting time indicated is Arizona local time. Arizona does not observe daylight savings so the post time may be Mountain or Pacific depending on the time of year.

Ripoff Report has an exclusive license to this report. It may not be copied without the written permission of Ripoff Report.

Click Here to read other Ripoff Reports on Empire Today

Search for additional reports

If you would like to see more Rip-off Reports on this company/individual, search here:

Search Tips
Report & Rebuttal
Respond to this report!
What's this?
Also a victim?
What's this?
Repair Your Reputation!
What's this?
REBUTTALS & REPLIES:
2Author 2Consumer 0Employee/Owner
Updates & Rebuttals

#1 Author of original report

Emire Today

AUTHOR: mattieis - (United States of America)

Just for the record - I am not completely satisfied.  How could I be just because I was given a $500 refund?  It took me 12 days to get it, many hours of trying to call, being put on hold,lied to about getting a call back and broken promises.  So the only thing I am satisfied with is I got my credit I was promised and I got the satisfaction of you losing my business and current order of almost $5,000 and that hopefully my posts will deter a future consumer from doing business with you.
Respond to this report!
What's this?

#2 UPDATE Employee

ET Customer Support

AUTHOR: Business Response - (USA)

Matt, we regret the difficulty that you initially encountered in resolving this matter. We never want that experience for our customers, as we always want to work with them to solve any issues that may occur. While the delay is disappointing, were glad that we have been able to resolve this matter to your satisfaction. Please contact us with any other questions or concerns. Thank you. Rebekah Clerk,

National Customer Service Manager
Respond to this report!
What's this?

#3 Author of original report

Empire today - Part 2

AUTHOR: mattieis - (United States of America)

As I said on facebook (which someone deleted the post) I appreciate the fact that I was given the credit I was promised, however, it should not have taken 12 days of me calling and them me needing to post in a public forum to get what I was told I would receive.  Had I not done that I would have only been given a $150 credit which was not acceptable.  Had I not brought this to the Public and this just stayed privately between Empire Today and myself the right thing would not have been done.  You looked at me as only ONE Consumer, but as soon as I brought it to the attention of the "world" Empire Today was more then happy to step up and do the right thing, which to me shows that you don't care about me as a Client on my own, but once my horrible experience was made public it mattered because potentially it would keep Empire Today from another potential sale from someone else who did their homework prior to making a purchase from your company.  This should have NEVER happened, I should have been taken care of properly because A) I am a good customer who had spent $40-$50k in a couple of year period with Empire Today B) Empire Today did a poor installation and because of that my house had to be torn up and became unlivable for 5 days C) Because one of your Managers called me a Pr^&ck, which deserved or not (after my yelling and rants and raves) should have never happened and wouldn't have if just one person had done what they said they would do which is call me back and make sure my issues were resolved and I was happy D) and Empire Today did a proper install in the first place.

So again, thanks for giving me the credit I rightfully deserved, it is just sad it took all of this to get it.  Other Consumers who spend their hard earned money should be aware of this and make sure they spend it in the right place and realize that spending maybe $200 more with a local "Mom & Pop" shop so they can support the local economy and spend the money with someone who will really appreciate the business.
Respond to this report!
What's this?

#4 UPDATE Employee

ET Customer Support

AUTHOR: Business Response - (USA)

Matt, while were disappointed that you were not completely satisfied with your experience, we understand that weve been in contact with you about these issues, and weve reached an agreeable resolution. We always make customer concerns a top priority, and we encourage your to call us at 888-588-2315 x4195 or email [email protected], if you have any other questions or concerns. Thank you. Rebekah Clerk, National Customer Service Manager
Respond to this report!
What's this?
Report & Rebuttal
Respond to this report!
What's this?
Also a victim?
What's this?
Repair Your Reputation!
What's this?
X