• Report: #153278

Complaint Review: Phoenix University Online

Thank You

Read how Ripoff Report saves consumers millions.

  • Submitted: Wed, August 10, 2005
  • Updated: Wed, December 21, 2005

  • Reported By:Montgomery Alabama
Phoenix University Online
3157 E. Elwood Street Phoenix, Arizona U.S.A.

Phoenix University Online, University Of Phoenix is a SCAM! Rip OFF, BIGGEST B S ers EVER! Phoenix Arizona

*Consumer Comment: I've Read enough try somewhere else

*Consumer Comment: To Terri

*UPDATE Employee: Response

*Consumer Suggestion: Robert - Albuquerque, you are working for UOPO and you are paid to try and make them look good on this site. I am tired of your BS.

*UPDATE Employee: Response

*Consumer Suggestion: Financial Aid works a great deal differently than what you seem to expect

*Consumer Suggestion: Financial Aid works a great deal differently than what you seem to expect

*Consumer Suggestion: Financial Aid works a great deal differently than what you seem to expect

*Consumer Suggestion: Financial Aid works a great deal differently than what you seem to expect

*UPDATE Employee: Financial Aid works a great deal differently than what you seem to expect

*Consumer Comment: UOPO needs to be reported to BBB as well

*Consumer Comment: I really am sick to death of dealing with UoP and their misleads, ill information and flat out lies

What's this?
What's this?
What's this?
Is this
Ripoff Report
About you?
Ripoff Report
A business' first
line of defense
on the Internet.
If your business is
willing to make a
commitment to
customer satisfaction
Click here now..

Does your business have a bad reputation?
Fix it the right way.
Corporate Advocacy Program™

SEO Reputation Management at its best!

We have been with UOP Online since March 3rd. Right off we had to resend information, they claimed they never gotten, Many times! I was told by Thomas Howard my enrollment counselor that my first class was to get me use to the online program. I treated as if it was a for real class. After my first 6 weeks with online, I was failing my class and did not know why? I emailed my instructor and asked him why? Being new I would have thought he would have contacted me to help me out, he saw on his end I was failing but said nothing. He emailed me the same syllabus and the same exact info. I thought I was doing what he asked but he never would explain it different to me until the 5th, I repeat the 5th week! Then I understood. But it was too late, I failed the course. I was not the only one, others did too. I did ask to turn in late work and he said no! I am a manager and I have to work shifts that others do not show up to, leaving me to have to turn in late work. He would not have it. I then found out it was a graded class,I failed it. They said that I could not take any other classes until my Federal Aid kicked in. That they had a problem with it getting started and that even if it was in place already they would not pay for a failed course. I had to pay to retake the 5 weeks class over,not only that they put me on probation period for the next 3-5 weeks classes. Said Federal aid would not pay for it, nor VA. I was angry because I told Thomas Howard that he did not help me out I was new and he should have walked me through it. I was on the deans list at my other school, I had had an 4.0,3.73 & 3.20, I come to UOPO and FAIL??? I have been doing well ever since. My GPA as of now at UOPO is 3.5. So you see, I was not helped in my 1st class. I just wanted to move on, Thomas Howard told me there was nothing I could do about the instructor. After fussing about it for a week I just said let's move on. ( I guess they was hoping for me to do that!) So I said let me pay for the next class. They told me to hold on, that they did not want me to pay for this class and when it was over my federal Aid was still not kicked in. (I do not know what difference it would have made at that time , I had to still pay to retake the class, according to UOPO). I told them I did not want to wait too long that my Va would stop if I did. Thomas told me it would not mess with my pay. Well guess What it did. Now My Va is messed up.

So as of today 5 months later... Still no Federal Aid! I called the Federal Aid dept. talked to Aleen and was told all UOPO needed to do was certify that I am in school. And UOPO says they can not do anything that it's Federal Aid. UOPO says I have an overlapping Loan. Which I do not! It's just an excuse to keep things Going. I have called and called Thomas Howard and he refuses to call, I had to go to several different financial aid to help me at UOPO. So far not results as of yet! Now Va is saying I was not in school because UOPO has not reported me as being in school. I told UOPO I was leaving and they told me I better not, just yet or I will pay more. I want to get an attorney on this, I want out. I know if I get out now they will not follow through with my Va or federal Aid for payment. I WILL NOT get my credits until all is paid. I am Very upset, I have been to the DR. for this stress. I stay on the phone everyday near about it and I get no where. I do more work then they do. They are the ones that know the ropes and all I did was trust them. I believe them because they are supposed to be knowledgeable of enrollment. Now they told me To fill out an 2005/2006 Fasfa and I will have to wait up to 60 days to find out if they will help. I need help and Now!!! Please help me if you can. There is more to this story then you know. JFYI, I emailed a copy of rip off report to my new Financial Aid at UOPO and he told me unfortunately that A LOT of the things you read is true about UOPO. I save it in case I get can get an attorney. This in no way has to do with any wrong doing on my behalf, Phoenix has a thing going and I will let every one I can know about it.

Terri
Montgomery, Alabama
U.S.A.

Click here to read other Rip Off Reports on University Of Phoenix

This report was posted on Ripoff Report on 08/10/2005 08:07 PM and is a permanent record located here: http://www.ripoffreport.com/r/Phoenix-University-Online/Phoenix-Arizona-85304/Phoenix-University-Online-University-Of-Phoenix-is-a-SCAM-Rip-OFF-BIGGEST-B-S-ers-EVER-153278. The posting time indicated is Arizona local time. Arizona does not observe daylight savings so the post time may be Mountain or Pacific depending on the time of year.

Ripoff Report has an exclusive license to this report. It may not be copied without the written permission of Ripoff Report.

Click Here to read other Ripoff Reports on Phoenix University Online

Search for additional reports

If you would like to see more Rip-off Reports on this company/individual, search here:

Search Tips
Report & Rebuttal
Respond to this report!
What's this?
Also a victim?
What's this?
Repair Your Reputation!
What's this?
REBUTTALS & REPLIES:
0Author 12Consumer 0Employee/Owner
Updates & Rebuttals

#1 Consumer Comment

I've Read enough try somewhere else

AUTHOR: David - (U.S.A.)

Real simple both City University and Seattle University are two on-line schools that have a very good track record. There are alot of schools out there that are for profit. If you want a on-line school find one that is not for profit.
I went and finished my first and second degrees through a combination of online and classroom and just started my Masters. This is being paid for by my Employer which is nice. I have found that for a working adult online is the best way to go but it is nice to have a classroom when needed. Also there are some online and classroom courses. So look around there are several good schools out there and they usually do not have ads all over the place.
Good Luck
Respond to this report!
What's this?

#2 Consumer Comment

To Terri

AUTHOR: Scott - (U.S.A.)

Terri, I have been doing some major research of some of these online schools. I am trying to make an informed decision on which school to attend and which online schools are accepted by employers. I have read all of the complaints here about UoP as I was seriously considering attending this college. I want to thank you and everyone else that have come forward here. I will not be attending this college after reading all of this crap. Nore Axia, which is also owned by the Appollo group. Even if 1/3 of these people are not correct and are acting out off of their own mistakes and anger, that leaves the rest of the reports here. If there was infact some degree of truth to the UoP reps that are here, calling everyone a liar then there would not be so many people here posting about them. You mentioned attending Walden University. Please email me at onfire1515@sydcom.net and tell me your experiance there. I will continue to research other schools.

Also, I have called some of the larger businesses around my area that are in the hi tech market and had some interesting chats with the general managers and administration personell that are in charge of hireing. I informed them of the war that is growing online with online college grads and the colleges they attended dealing with their online degrees not being accepted in the workplace due to conserns about the quality of the education they recieved in the online schools vs the traditional classroom schools. I found that some are prejudise but roughly 80% said that they didn't care what college or university the applicant obtained their degree. They just want to know that you have that degree. But before you are hired, the applicant that was fresh out of college must pass a written or demonstrated test for the hireing personell to prove that they have the knowelge they claim. Now, haveing stated that, I would be looking for a online college that offered a sound education and would not advise you take the easy schools such as PCDI/Ashworth college. I would love to attend Devry but I just don't want to spend $60,000 just for a bachalors degree. Yes, Devry has also been reported to this site as a ripoff. But there are only 6 posts. Count them, 6, during their history unlike our friends at UoP. I am sorry that these colleges ripped you off but PLEASE, do your research before you do anything in life. Do not count on the counelors to answer your questions truthfully. For instance, Devry told me they have a 91% job placement rate. I highly dought that. Little things like that will trick you up and then they have you. Ask a lot of questions and then follow up with research. The internet and the telephone are wonderful tools for research. I hate reading posts on here of people getting shammed out of their money or their credit trashed and therefore their life ruined for the next 7 to 10 years. I wish everyone here the best in life!
Respond to this report!
What's this?

#3 UPDATE Employee

Response

AUTHOR: Robert - (U.S.A.)

Terri,

I have worked in customer service for a very long time. If there is one thing I know it is not to take anything personal from a customer. Your comments on my two mistakes in spelling, while correct, do not do anything to prove your point.

By posting on this public board, you are subject to public comments and criticism. The comments I have made have been in no shape or farm, an attack on your person. Please do not take these things personally. I am forming my opinion based on what you wrote coupled with my experience.

I am not paid by UOP to post on this site. As a matter of fact I think it is frowned on to even post a comment. The very fact that I am validating you with a response should signal to you that I as a counselor care about students and their opinions.

I work as a team lead for an online enrollment team so I take it upon myself to train other counselors. I encourage our counselors to frequent this website in an effort to view mistakes made by our past employees.

Good Luck at Walden Terri and thank you for your opinions.
Respond to this report!
What's this?

#4 Consumer Suggestion

Robert - Albuquerque, you are working for UOPO and you are paid to try and make them look good on this site. I am tired of your BS.

AUTHOR: Terri - (U.S.A.)

Robert,

I do not need you to tell me how things went in my case, you are working for UOPO and you are paid to try and make them look good on this site. I am tired of your BS. I am not an expert in your school only (was) a student!!!!!!!!!! Plain and simple, when I say 6 weeks that is 5 weeks on and 1 week off, so there you have it! If they all were as politically correct as yourself maybe we would not have the problems we are having. So shut up!!!!!!!!!! I do not know all the in's ands outs and I never claimed to have!!!!!! I only know the HELL YOUR SCHOOL HAS PUT ME THROUGH!!! Getting a higher education should not have to be so stressful!!!! For your retarded 411, I did get approved by FASFA, UOPO WOULD NOT CONFIRM THAT I WAS ENROLLED,I called Fasfa, Ed dept, and they all said I had no outstanding loans or overlapping loans, your school just wanted to let me take as many classes a possible, forcing me to stay and making me owe a lot of money, they even tried not to except my personal loan to pay off my account saying they do not except personal loans! They knew I would find out like the others had , that UOPO is a Sh1tty School! I did not say UOPO did not let me file for federal Aid, never once did I say that! I said they would not confirm I was in school so Federal Aid would disperse the money! That is what I said and you can BANK ON THAT!!!! I tried to get them to confirm I was in school again before I switched school, and they said the same thing, that UOPO just pulled a new NSLDS and the NSLDS said I had an overlapping loan and outstanding Loan. I have contacted NSLDS, Dep of ED and they said that they show no such thing!!!! That the person at UOPO must be new or did not know what they were DOOOOINGGGGGG!!!! I even went to the NSLDS Site and pulled my own info and the Dep Of Ed and NSLDS stated that the info I pulled on myself was exactly the same info UOPO sees, so they do not know why UOPO is telling me the things they are saying! SO you can say what you want to cover UOPO @ss, the fact remains, If I did not meet the terms and obligations at UOPO, I would not have meet the terms and obligations at Walden University!!! FASFA if FASFA, they do not change the rules from school to school!!

As far as VA, under the advisement of MY enrollment adviser, I was to WAIT! EVEN AGAINST MY WILL!!!!! They would not sign me up for the next class!!!!! So I could not start it until they allowed me too, I keep fussing for 4 weeks to start, afraid It would mess up my VA AND IT DID!!!! That was not fault of mine, It was UOPO enrollment and Financial Aid working together tell me to wait! I DID NOT WANT TOO BECAUSE OF IT MESSING WITH MY VA!!!!! I had to paid out of pocket for 7 months! I got a personal federal loan to pay it all off! So there you have it! You did not work with me so you can only speculate what had happen, you CAN NOT STATE THE FACTS!!!!!!!!!!! Only I can do that, because I went through the Sh1t!!!! I have proof of everything I have stated here and am 100% willing to show anyone whom wishes to see it!!!!! Take me to court, I have NOT said anything here I can not back up!
P.S. I also have letters from Sallie Mae that shows that UOPO has returned my approved Federal Loans!!! HUMMMMMM!!!!! So Please stay out of what you do not know, you can only tell me your experiences and give me suggestions. ( Which I do not need now, because I am no longer with UOPO)You have no Idea what the Hell I went through!
By the way MR.UOPO MAN..... Use Spell Check!!!! LOL
Respond to this report!
What's this?

#5 UPDATE Employee

Response

AUTHOR: Robert - (U.S.A.)

Terri,

Bachelor's classes last 5 weeks and Master's classes are 6 weeks long. I based my assumption on the following statement "After my first 6 weeks with online...".

Whenever you do your FAFSA application you are applying for both Loans and Grants. You would have gotten an EFC code to help determine the amount of grant money. Since you did not meet the terms and obligations you never recieved any loan or grant money you would have been eligible for. You make it seem like UOP doesn't let their students file for grants which is not true.

Terri, I am also a Veteran CURENTLY collecting my GI Bill benefits and I work with students who use GI Bill benefits. There is no reason to instruct me on who is eligible for benefits. My only mention of Vocational Rehab is the FACT that this is the only program that requires a passing grade to maintain eligibility. If you do a search on the GI Bill website and look up the term "non-punitive grades" you will see that they may reduce or stop benefits if you do not meet the terms of your certification. Typically an I or W grade falls in this category but not an F.

As stated previously, if you are out of class for more than 29 days. In the case of GI Bill you cannot have a break longer than 21 days or you will have to re-apply for the GI Bill again (filing another 22-1995).

In any case, no matter what level of financial aid you had, you would have had enough to cover the first two classes. By the time the second class is over, about 70-80 days have passed giving you time to collect your GI Bill to cover out of pocket AND the loan would have posted on the account.

Regardless it seems that the ordeal is done and over with and you found a school you are happy with. Good luck with that and all your future endeavors.
Respond to this report!
What's this?

#6 Consumer Suggestion

Financial Aid works a great deal differently than what you seem to expect

AUTHOR: Terri - (U.S.A.)

Robert - Albuquerque

I am going for my Bachelors Degree not Masters!!!What you do not seem to understand it has now been almost 8 months and still no Federal Aid. I did go to Walden University site and signed up in early Aug to start classes in late Aug, I did not tell UOPO that I was doing this. Just before I did I called UOPO once more just to see what they would say. Again they could not get it started. They said I had an outstanding LOAN and overlapping Loan,as they have been saying from the start! (which I do not)I then went to Sallie Mae to get a loan,so I could pay off UOPO, I got a federal loan,went through perfectly, I paid off UOPO,at the same time I finished all of my paper work with Walden University and Guess What WALDEN UNIVERSITY HAD NO PROBLEM IN GETTING MY FEDERAL AID APPROVED AND TO MY SURPRISE I EVEN GOTTEN A PELL GRANT!! I even gotten 25% off of my entire tuition!! I then withdrew from UOPO. They are now paid in full and I now have my official transcripts and UOPO are behind me NOW!!! As far as VA is concerned...Yes I do have GI Bill but no it is not Vocational Rehab . It's strictly a Bill that Every solider is entitled to if they are discharged honorably and served the required time in service and NO VA DOES NOT PAY for the full cost of the course!!!!!! I was in attendance, It was UOPO that told me to wait and I told them no, that it would mess my Va pay up if I miss to many days, they said No it will not mess your VA pay up!( GUESS WHAT!!! IT DID MESS IT UP!!) I called every week begging them to let me start my next class,I failed my first anyway and had to pay out of pocket so why wait! They insisted that I should wait until my Federal Aid kicked in, knowing that federal Aid was not going to pay for the retake of that failed class. Which I was not helped with the understanding of the syllabus. My first Class with UOPO! I contacted my instructor several times, by the time he would return my email, it was too late and even at that, all he said was to refer to my syllabus! then I emailed him again and a week later, was told the same. The third time he answered a week later (AGAIN!)that is when he finally explained it, to where I understood it, but by then I was in the 4th week. I had already failed the first 3 weeks! I do understand turning in a assignment in late, HOWEVER THEY ARE THE ONES THAT STATED WE WILL WORK WITH YOU IF YOU NEED TO TURN IN LATE WORK. I told him in advance but at the rate he returns emails it would not have mattered anyway. Also it amazes me at how all of your assumptions of my problems were wrong. I am a freshman going for my Bachelors, Just a reg VA (does not pay for all my classes)also my attendance was due to the advisement of my enrollment adviser, waited 8 months with one excuse after another as to why we can not use Federal Aid. It does seem you had good intentions but you only knew what I typed on that report. Which I guess I could have went into more details, but when your mad you tend to leave out a lot! I will not recommend UOPO, as a matter of fact I have not, I have told a lot of my friends about my experiences with UOPO. ALSO It seems to me a lot of other people has had the same problems as I have had! I read their info and felt like I was reading my own problems, like they read my mind! Thank you for your impute!
Respond to this report!
What's this?

#7 Consumer Suggestion

Financial Aid works a great deal differently than what you seem to expect

AUTHOR: Terri - (U.S.A.)

Robert - Albuquerque

I am going for my Bachelors Degree not Masters!!!What you do not seem to understand it has now been almost 8 months and still no Federal Aid. I did go to Walden University site and signed up in early Aug to start classes in late Aug, I did not tell UOPO that I was doing this. Just before I did I called UOPO once more just to see what they would say. Again they could not get it started. They said I had an outstanding LOAN and overlapping Loan,as they have been saying from the start! (which I do not)I then went to Sallie Mae to get a loan,so I could pay off UOPO, I got a federal loan,went through perfectly, I paid off UOPO,at the same time I finished all of my paper work with Walden University and Guess What WALDEN UNIVERSITY HAD NO PROBLEM IN GETTING MY FEDERAL AID APPROVED AND TO MY SURPRISE I EVEN GOTTEN A PELL GRANT!! I even gotten 25% off of my entire tuition!! I then withdrew from UOPO. They are now paid in full and I now have my official transcripts and UOPO are behind me NOW!!! As far as VA is concerned...Yes I do have GI Bill but no it is not Vocational Rehab . It's strictly a Bill that Every solider is entitled to if they are discharged honorably and served the required time in service and NO VA DOES NOT PAY for the full cost of the course!!!!!! I was in attendance, It was UOPO that told me to wait and I told them no, that it would mess my Va pay up if I miss to many days, they said No it will not mess your VA pay up!( GUESS WHAT!!! IT DID MESS IT UP!!) I called every week begging them to let me start my next class,I failed my first anyway and had to pay out of pocket so why wait! They insisted that I should wait until my Federal Aid kicked in, knowing that federal Aid was not going to pay for the retake of that failed class. Which I was not helped with the understanding of the syllabus. My first Class with UOPO! I contacted my instructor several times, by the time he would return my email, it was too late and even at that, all he said was to refer to my syllabus! then I emailed him again and a week later, was told the same. The third time he answered a week later (AGAIN!)that is when he finally explained it, to where I understood it, but by then I was in the 4th week. I had already failed the first 3 weeks! I do understand turning in a assignment in late, HOWEVER THEY ARE THE ONES THAT STATED WE WILL WORK WITH YOU IF YOU NEED TO TURN IN LATE WORK. I told him in advance but at the rate he returns emails it would not have mattered anyway. Also it amazes me at how all of your assumptions of my problems were wrong. I am a freshman going for my Bachelors, Just a reg VA (does not pay for all my classes)also my attendance was due to the advisement of my enrollment adviser, waited 8 months with one excuse after another as to why we can not use Federal Aid. It does seem you had good intentions but you only knew what I typed on that report. Which I guess I could have went into more details, but when your mad you tend to leave out a lot! I will not recommend UOPO, as a matter of fact I have not, I have told a lot of my friends about my experiences with UOPO. ALSO It seems to me a lot of other people has had the same problems as I have had! I read their info and felt like I was reading my own problems, like they read my mind! Thank you for your impute!
Respond to this report!
What's this?

#8 Consumer Suggestion

Financial Aid works a great deal differently than what you seem to expect

AUTHOR: Terri - (U.S.A.)

Robert - Albuquerque

I am going for my Bachelors Degree not Masters!!!What you do not seem to understand it has now been almost 8 months and still no Federal Aid. I did go to Walden University site and signed up in early Aug to start classes in late Aug, I did not tell UOPO that I was doing this. Just before I did I called UOPO once more just to see what they would say. Again they could not get it started. They said I had an outstanding LOAN and overlapping Loan,as they have been saying from the start! (which I do not)I then went to Sallie Mae to get a loan,so I could pay off UOPO, I got a federal loan,went through perfectly, I paid off UOPO,at the same time I finished all of my paper work with Walden University and Guess What WALDEN UNIVERSITY HAD NO PROBLEM IN GETTING MY FEDERAL AID APPROVED AND TO MY SURPRISE I EVEN GOTTEN A PELL GRANT!! I even gotten 25% off of my entire tuition!! I then withdrew from UOPO. They are now paid in full and I now have my official transcripts and UOPO are behind me NOW!!! As far as VA is concerned...Yes I do have GI Bill but no it is not Vocational Rehab . It's strictly a Bill that Every solider is entitled to if they are discharged honorably and served the required time in service and NO VA DOES NOT PAY for the full cost of the course!!!!!! I was in attendance, It was UOPO that told me to wait and I told them no, that it would mess my Va pay up if I miss to many days, they said No it will not mess your VA pay up!( GUESS WHAT!!! IT DID MESS IT UP!!) I called every week begging them to let me start my next class,I failed my first anyway and had to pay out of pocket so why wait! They insisted that I should wait until my Federal Aid kicked in, knowing that federal Aid was not going to pay for the retake of that failed class. Which I was not helped with the understanding of the syllabus. My first Class with UOPO! I contacted my instructor several times, by the time he would return my email, it was too late and even at that, all he said was to refer to my syllabus! then I emailed him again and a week later, was told the same. The third time he answered a week later (AGAIN!)that is when he finally explained it, to where I understood it, but by then I was in the 4th week. I had already failed the first 3 weeks! I do understand turning in a assignment in late, HOWEVER THEY ARE THE ONES THAT STATED WE WILL WORK WITH YOU IF YOU NEED TO TURN IN LATE WORK. I told him in advance but at the rate he returns emails it would not have mattered anyway. Also it amazes me at how all of your assumptions of my problems were wrong. I am a freshman going for my Bachelors, Just a reg VA (does not pay for all my classes)also my attendance was due to the advisement of my enrollment adviser, waited 8 months with one excuse after another as to why we can not use Federal Aid. It does seem you had good intentions but you only knew what I typed on that report. Which I guess I could have went into more details, but when your mad you tend to leave out a lot! I will not recommend UOPO, as a matter of fact I have not, I have told a lot of my friends about my experiences with UOPO. ALSO It seems to me a lot of other people has had the same problems as I have had! I read their info and felt like I was reading my own problems, like they read my mind! Thank you for your impute!
Respond to this report!
What's this?

#9 Consumer Suggestion

Financial Aid works a great deal differently than what you seem to expect

AUTHOR: Terri - (U.S.A.)

Robert - Albuquerque

I am going for my Bachelors Degree not Masters!!!What you do not seem to understand it has now been almost 8 months and still no Federal Aid. I did go to Walden University site and signed up in early Aug to start classes in late Aug, I did not tell UOPO that I was doing this. Just before I did I called UOPO once more just to see what they would say. Again they could not get it started. They said I had an outstanding LOAN and overlapping Loan,as they have been saying from the start! (which I do not)I then went to Sallie Mae to get a loan,so I could pay off UOPO, I got a federal loan,went through perfectly, I paid off UOPO,at the same time I finished all of my paper work with Walden University and Guess What WALDEN UNIVERSITY HAD NO PROBLEM IN GETTING MY FEDERAL AID APPROVED AND TO MY SURPRISE I EVEN GOTTEN A PELL GRANT!! I even gotten 25% off of my entire tuition!! I then withdrew from UOPO. They are now paid in full and I now have my official transcripts and UOPO are behind me NOW!!! As far as VA is concerned...Yes I do have GI Bill but no it is not Vocational Rehab . It's strictly a Bill that Every solider is entitled to if they are discharged honorably and served the required time in service and NO VA DOES NOT PAY for the full cost of the course!!!!!! I was in attendance, It was UOPO that told me to wait and I told them no, that it would mess my Va pay up if I miss to many days, they said No it will not mess your VA pay up!( GUESS WHAT!!! IT DID MESS IT UP!!) I called every week begging them to let me start my next class,I failed my first anyway and had to pay out of pocket so why wait! They insisted that I should wait until my Federal Aid kicked in, knowing that federal Aid was not going to pay for the retake of that failed class. Which I was not helped with the understanding of the syllabus. My first Class with UOPO! I contacted my instructor several times, by the time he would return my email, it was too late and even at that, all he said was to refer to my syllabus! then I emailed him again and a week later, was told the same. The third time he answered a week later (AGAIN!)that is when he finally explained it, to where I understood it, but by then I was in the 4th week. I had already failed the first 3 weeks! I do understand turning in a assignment in late, HOWEVER THEY ARE THE ONES THAT STATED WE WILL WORK WITH YOU IF YOU NEED TO TURN IN LATE WORK. I told him in advance but at the rate he returns emails it would not have mattered anyway. Also it amazes me at how all of your assumptions of my problems were wrong. I am a freshman going for my Bachelors, Just a reg VA (does not pay for all my classes)also my attendance was due to the advisement of my enrollment adviser, waited 8 months with one excuse after another as to why we can not use Federal Aid. It does seem you had good intentions but you only knew what I typed on that report. Which I guess I could have went into more details, but when your mad you tend to leave out a lot! I will not recommend UOPO, as a matter of fact I have not, I have told a lot of my friends about my experiences with UOPO. ALSO It seems to me a lot of other people has had the same problems as I have had! I read their info and felt like I was reading my own problems, like they read my mind! Thank you for your impute!
Respond to this report!
What's this?

#10 UPDATE Employee

Financial Aid works a great deal differently than what you seem to expect

AUTHOR: Robert - (U.S.A.)

Terri,

First off I am sorry for the trouble you have gone through.

From your statements about your first class lasting 6 weeks I deduce you were enrolled in a Master's program. Truly at this level of learning your instructor assumed you would be able to make sense of the syllabus. You should have getten feedback from your instructor on a weekly basis letting you know how you were doing in class. This feedback come to your student account at your student email address: username@email.uophx.edu.

As far as turning in late assignments, it is up to the instructor to accept them. Regardless of your schedule and such, that is no reason for them to accept work that is not runed in on time. Otherwise everyone would abuse that privelege.

Think about yourself as a manager. If your employees came in to work late every single day claiming they had to stay up late to study, would you just accept that every employee you managed not meet your company's scheduling needs? Absolutely not. They need to manage their time better.

As far as the financial aid not kicking in, it can take up to 90 days for the funds to post on your account at UOP. If you fail the first class then this screws up the expectations that your first class is covered by financial aid.

However, you mentioned using VA benefits. I can only assume you are using some sort of GI Bill entitlement since Vocational Rehab pays for the full cost of the course anyway. GI Bill does not depend on your letter grade, it only depends on your attendance.

If you were to attend a whole class and fail, GI Bill will pay for the prorated amount of attendance. If you were in class for two weeks and dropped, GI Bill will still pay for those two weeks. If you drop after one week of attendance then GI Bill will not pay for your one week.

I can attest that there are good and bad counselors at UOP but everything that is done is in accordance and compliance with regulations set by the Dept of Education, the Federal Government and the Dept of Veterans Affairs.

Hope this helps.
Respond to this report!
What's this?

#11 Consumer Comment

UOPO needs to be reported to BBB as well

AUTHOR: Terri - (U.S.A.)

I went to BBB and UOPO was not listed as a problem Company. They had BBB saying they had no complaints in 3 years and that they resolved Issues in the past. UOPO needs to be reported to BBB they have a clean record with BBB and the truth needs to told about them!
Respond to this report!
What's this?

#12 Consumer Comment

I really am sick to death of dealing with UoP and their misleads, ill information and flat out lies

AUTHOR: Rebecca - (U.S.A.)

If you find an attorney, let me know! I really am sick to death of dealing with UoP and their misleads, ill information and flat out lies.

I have been given the run around for 7 months now and see no end in site. The only thing I have left to do is to call the Director of the Finance Dept. and leave messages...luckily, someone from Tech. support accidentally gave me her full name and extension. So I can also email her.

I'm praying that an email and a call will resolve the situation, but I am not hopeful after what has already happened...and what has already NOT happened.
Respond to this report!
What's this?
Report & Rebuttal
Respond to this report!
What's this?
Also a victim?
What's this?
Repair Your Reputation!
What's this?

Advertisers above have met our
strict standards for business conduct.



Ripoff Report Legal Directory