• Report: #23234

Complaint Review: Phil Stalling Classic Cars

Thank You

Read how Ripoff Report saves consumers millions.

  • Submitted: Sat, June 22, 2002
  • Updated: Thu, March 08, 2007

  • Reported By:Vicksburg Mi
Phil Stalling Classic Cars
2525 Mount Vernon Road Newark, Oh 43055 Newark, Ohio U.S.A.

Phil Stalling Classic Cars ripoff fraudulent ripoff business Newark Ohio

*General Comment: Mental health referral

*Consumer Comment: You were correct!!

*Consumer Comment: Feedback helps keep people honest

*Consumer Comment: Feedback helps keep people honest

*Consumer Comment: Feedback helps keep people honest

*Consumer Comment: Feedback helps keep people honest

*Consumer Comment: OH WELL

*Author of original report: I stand by my comments

*UPDATE Employee: was not as he described!

What's this?
What's this?
What's this?
Is this
Ripoff Report
About you?
Ripoff Report
A business' first
line of defense
on the Internet.
If your business is
willing to make a
commitment to
customer satisfaction
Click here now..

Does your business have a bad reputation?
Fix it the right way.
Corporate Advocacy Program™

SEO Reputation Management at its best!

This company uses deceptive advertising and false description of the products it advertises for sale. The vehicle I placed a deposit on was advertised and described as being "in excellent restorable condition, needing only "normal" dent removal and minimal rust repair. The door posts were described as being solid, the floorboards solid with minimal rust, the runningboards as being solid without holes and the cab and fenders as being "in very good overall condition".

Reality was the truck had either been rolled or something had fallen on the top as there wwre several places where 3/8 of an inch of bondo had been put in, the door posts were rusted thru at the bottom, the runningboards had several 1" holes in them. The fenders so marginal that they were unusable.

Phil Stalling pleaded poverty when I requested a refund of my deposit, but promised to refund my deposit as soon as he could get some money together. This never happened and Mr. Stalling never refunded one cent of my money even though I have a recording of his promise to do so. Out of the area buyers BEWARE you will have to appear in small claims court in that county to file suit!

In my opinion this is a shoestring operation and one of the most deceptive, and downright dishonest businesses I have ever dealt with. I recommend that anyone even thinking about doing business with this company go eleswhere!

Bob
Ka,lamazoo, Michigan


This report was posted on Ripoff Report on 06/22/2002 11:14 AM and is a permanent record located here: http://www.ripoffreport.com/r/Phil-Stalling-Classic-Cars/Newark-Ohio-43055/Phil-Stalling-Classic-Cars-ripoff-fraudulent-ripoff-business-Newark-Ohio-23234. The posting time indicated is Arizona local time. Arizona does not observe daylight savings so the post time may be Mountain or Pacific depending on the time of year.

Ripoff Report has an exclusive license to this report. It may not be copied without the written permission of Ripoff Report.

Click Here to read other Ripoff Reports on Phil Stalling Classic Cars

Search for additional reports

If you would like to see more Rip-off Reports on this company/individual, search here:

Search Tips
Report & Rebuttal
Respond to this report!
What's this?
Also a victim?
What's this?
Repair Your Reputation!
What's this?
REBUTTALS & REPLIES:
0Author 9Consumer 0Employee/Owner
Updates & Rebuttals

#1 General Comment

Mental health referral

AUTHOR: Carnut - ()

I must first apologize for my tardiness. I just came across this.     One simply has to ask the question. Is this guy crazy?!  Buying an ol car is a gamble Every time! Most vehicles that have managed to survive all these years have been loved, cared and polished for years. They've had modifications, updates and cosmetics spanning 30, 40, 50 plus years. While others have sat in fields begging for someone to come and restore them. Everyone has their own opinion as to what makes a car cool as it relates to the latest trends and of course ones own budget. Then over the years These classics deteriorate and need restored.

The term classic means any car over 25 years in any condition! From "barn fresh to prestine". Not to be confused with " classy ".  Which is a positive term used to describe an object. Anyway, these are the kinds of cars Phil Stallings deal with. 95% of his cars are under 20k. From parts cars, barn fresh cars and occasionally a high end car or two to the likes of BarrettJackson. On that note don't be fooled by reality T.V. Nor does he restore these cars. They are bought, cleaned up, touched up and polished. So therefore you bought someone else's bondo, rust or repair. And Yes he does a have two man show in the back helping him.  These are ordinary car nuts. And yes Daryl is a little " unique ". (Miss you buddy)

Having said that, I have bought 4 cars from Phil over the years and have followed Phils website and ads for 20 plus years as I used to live in Newark. I love old cars and his inventory is exactly what the little guys are looking for. Affordable prices not barrett jackson prices. Keep in mind that this is a hobby loved by millions. Back to your complaint. I'm sorry to hear you had a bad experience buying a classic from Phil but that really shines a light on you and the mistakes you made along the way. It's sounds like you made a hasty decision based on your emotion for this truck. First of all you seem like you have some what of an idea on how to use technology. Hence you are using this website. Did you request pictures?

Enough to satisfy you desire? Being a smart guy, you must have. Right?! You are only 275 mile, four hours away. Did you take a ride down on a nice weekend to check it out. Those that love ol cars and this hobby would go to the ends of the earth to get he right car for the right price and the adrenaline of a good haggle. You sir, have made it obvious that you were shopping for champagne on a beer budget. Car guys ask questions, understand "as-is/where-is", and definetly do research before buying a classic. . What one perceives as a Pile of bolts another perceives as a "treasure".  

Also, One must understand the market. You sir, do not. Also, Putting your name and address doesn't give your complaint any more credit than the random guy hiding behind his computer in "blog"esphere. And since Phil has managed to make a living for over 50 years, this should be a testament to this niche market and his love for the hobby. ( I don't see him making millions ripping off guys like you, nor does have a million dollar inventory and a million dollar establishment) if he did, rest assured your classic would have cost more. My advise to you sir is, have a little more street smarts. Do your research before you purchase anything used or of age. You will only benefit yourself by doing so.

You will save yourself the embarrassment of writing a bogus blog because you have buyers remorse. Or your wife didn't agree with your purchase. I would like to thank folks like Phil for keeping this hobby alive. Some things seems expensive, but that the art of negotiation. I love it. Keep it up phil. Oh yea, and for the guy who claims he lives in Newark and has un covered Phil's secret "second shop" off the radar in Utica,,,way to go duesch bag, that shop has been rented to a local tow truck company for years and those are impounds. hahahahaha!  Way to go Sherlock!  (Here's your "sign") so again I ask the question " is this guy crazy?!  Go bucks!!! Beat Michigan 

Respond to this report!
What's this?

#2 Consumer Comment

You were correct!!

AUTHOR: A. - (U.S.A.)

I live in the Newark Area and I have to warn you, Phil Stalling is a sleezy used car guy.

This guy has 2 lots, one in newark and one in Utica, The newark lot is full of marginal cars and the Utica lot is a graveyard. He says his cars are restorable, but he cuts corners and sells from the bottom of the barrel. He says he has Classic cars, but this is a lie!
Respond to this report!
What's this?

#3 Consumer Comment

Feedback helps keep people honest

AUTHOR: Bob - (U.S.A.)

Yes I got suckered by Darryl saying "send me a deposit or it will be gone" my fault, absolutely.

The feedback I present has value in that without it other people may get suckered the same way I did. I consider it a responsibility to provide feedback both positive and negative about businesses or individuals who I do business with. This is a significant reason why e-bay works and I do not buy or sell to people who have negative feedback.

Phil Stalling (Darryl) misrepresented the condition of the vehicle I placed a deposit on and Mr. Stalling himself did not honor his promise to refund my deposit when he had the money. POTENTIAL BUYERS BEWARE!
Respond to this report!
What's this?

#4 Consumer Comment

Feedback helps keep people honest

AUTHOR: Bob - (U.S.A.)

Yes I got suckered by Darryl saying "send me a deposit or it will be gone" my fault, absolutely.

The feedback I present has value in that without it other people may get suckered the same way I did. I consider it a responsibility to provide feedback both positive and negative about businesses or individuals who I do business with. This is a significant reason why e-bay works and I do not buy or sell to people who have negative feedback.

Phil Stalling (Darryl) misrepresented the condition of the vehicle I placed a deposit on and Mr. Stalling himself did not honor his promise to refund my deposit when he had the money. POTENTIAL BUYERS BEWARE!
Respond to this report!
What's this?

#5 Consumer Comment

Feedback helps keep people honest

AUTHOR: Bob - (U.S.A.)

Yes I got suckered by Darryl saying "send me a deposit or it will be gone" my fault, absolutely.

The feedback I present has value in that without it other people may get suckered the same way I did. I consider it a responsibility to provide feedback both positive and negative about businesses or individuals who I do business with. This is a significant reason why e-bay works and I do not buy or sell to people who have negative feedback.

Phil Stalling (Darryl) misrepresented the condition of the vehicle I placed a deposit on and Mr. Stalling himself did not honor his promise to refund my deposit when he had the money. POTENTIAL BUYERS BEWARE!
Respond to this report!
What's this?

#6 Consumer Comment

Feedback helps keep people honest

AUTHOR: Bob - (U.S.A.)

Yes I got suckered by Darryl saying "send me a deposit or it will be gone" my fault, absolutely.

The feedback I present has value in that without it other people may get suckered the same way I did. I consider it a responsibility to provide feedback both positive and negative about businesses or individuals who I do business with. This is a significant reason why e-bay works and I do not buy or sell to people who have negative feedback.

Phil Stalling (Darryl) misrepresented the condition of the vehicle I placed a deposit on and Mr. Stalling himself did not honor his promise to refund my deposit when he had the money. POTENTIAL BUYERS BEWARE!
Respond to this report!
What's this?

#7 Consumer Comment

OH WELL

AUTHOR: MIKE - (U.S.A.)

BOB, I AM SURE YOU ARE A GROWN MAN WITH GOOD THINKING AND SOUND MIND. HAVING SAID THAT WHY DID YOU NOT LOOK AT THIS TRUCK BEFORE SPENDING ANY MONEY? SOUNDS TO ME LIKE YOU USED BAD JUDGEMENT ON YOUR PART NOT THE DEALER I BUY MUSCLE CARS AND LOOK BEFORE ANY MONEY IS INVOLVED.
Respond to this report!
What's this?

#8 Author of original report

I stand by my comments

AUTHOR: Bob - (U.S.A.)

I adamently stand behind every word in my original statement. I too own a small business and rely on customer referrals to stay in business. Perhaps Mr. Stalling treats people in Ohio differently because they can influence his business more directly but this vehicle was not as described which I can prove by the written and taped verbal descriptions I received from Daryl. A resident of the county Mr. Stalling does business in in Ohio can file suit in small claims court but out of area buyers BEWARE because you will have to file suit in his county and travel there to appear which may cost more than it's worth (my case).

I filed my report to warn potential buyers that this IS a dishonest business and they should be extremely cautious about giving these people a deposit or doing business with them.

Since Mr. Stalling refuses to honor his verbal committment to refund my money I can only warn potential customers of my experience. I will supply further details via e-mail (bob@shermanappliance.com) or phone(269) 341-9455.
Respond to this report!
What's this?

#9 UPDATE Employee

was not as he described!

AUTHOR: dave - (U.S.A.)

This gentleman has no business owning a motor vehicle! everything he states in his complaint is false. We have been business for over 35 years in this small town and have sold many fine vehicles (AND PROJECT VEHICLES) to all 50 states and many countries with very few complaints, which whenn they have occurred have all been handled fairly! This "gentleman" just plain changed his mind and was not willing to accept the fact. He was told up front the terms of a non-refundable deposit and we described this truck to "T". It was not as he described. HE IS OUTRIGHT LYING!

Respond to this report!
What's this?
Report & Rebuttal
Respond to this report!
What's this?
Also a victim?
What's this?
Repair Your Reputation!
What's this?

Advertisers above have met our
strict standards for business conduct.



Ripoff Report Legal Directory